Irving, TX 
W.O. Harrington Share
Uploaded By: mitchdrums Hole #9 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee: Basket on top of the last hill



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Wind Tunnel

5+    4/27/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: Slimrn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 0.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -There is a port-a-potty.
Cons: -30+mph winds daily.

-9 holes.

-All totally straight shots.

-The "tee pads" resemble pre-dug graves.

-Random condoms hanging on the fence.
Other Thoughts: Who could ask for more? Seriously, not much to see here folks.


PS- If you think your spouse is cheating on you, check the parking lot of this place- it is full of middle aged folks making out/banging like 16 year olds when mom isn't home.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My Namesake course on the road named the same as my home course (/alley /iew) it had to be played

1    1/18/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) A decent ele/ation change on this course which is nice.

2) Creek behind baskets 1, 3, and right of #4 basket. It really isn't in play too much but at least it is there.

3) Garbage cans and picnic table by the parking lot woul dmake for a nice afternoon with the girlfriend or significant other, but don't come here expecting a challenge.

4) This would be a perfect course to practice in the wind as it is wide open to the west where the pre/ailing winds would come from.

5) Distance throws would also be nice practice here. It looks almost like it was once a golf dri/ing range just in its layout.
Cons: 1) 9 open turf holes with minimal obstacles . . . pretty boring.

2) Grass tees are wore to dirt . . . I'm not sure why this course would recei/e so much play, but apparently it is a good location in the heart of the area between Dallas and Ft. Worth.

3) Holes 6 and 7 are just wierd in their layout.

4) Adjacent to airport property so it is loud and the perimeter fence you shouldn't cross . . . . so don't throw in there!
Other Thoughts: I wish the course with the same name as me was better, but I had it on my radar because of its name. Little did I know it is along /alley /iew road which is the name of my home course in New Berlin, WI. I just had to play it, and I can check it off as another course played, but thats about it. Not worth a trip for anyone not named Harrington

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 W.O./ Without Obstacles or Wreally Open

1    7/13/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole 1 is a pretty cool hole and has the only concrete Tee pad. You are standing on a hill (not a giant one) with trees on the left and right until about 200 ft. out where it opens up with the pin another 100 ft. or so. On this hole you can throw over the trees since you have some elevation help. Good place for wind practice on some days and when it's not, it's a good place to introduce someone to the game because it's not busy, mostly open, not SUPER short and has all of its disc catchers. Short grass and very clean and well maintained. Felt kind of secluded because there are no park roads or walking paths meandering through the course. There were some trees, just not a lot of them. Great place to practice with your drivers.
Cons: Too open and easy for experienced golfers. Hard to find the next pad because some are not worn in enough. Most baskets have no hole number. No Tee signs, except for 1 that has nothing but someones ace on it. Very little shade or challenge to be found here.
Other Thoughts: This course has enough land to where someone should have planted some trees. It's almost like a blank canvass as far as the open field goes. Over time it could be a wooded maze.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ghost Town

1    6/10/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -not a soul in sight, you've got the place to yourself
-nice DGA baskets
-beginner friendly
-easy to score well
Cons: -no signs
-dirt tees in poor condition
-difficult navigation
-not challenging at all, no obstacles, wide open

i imagine it is always as windy as it was when i was there
Other Thoughts: This little 9 holer seems really out of place here. Right next to the airport and there aren't any homes or people nearby. I'm curious how this came to be a DG course.

The course is nothing more than a field with 9 baskets. The back end of the field has a creek (dry in the summer) that 2 baskets sit in front of and the opposite end has a handful of trees that frame 2 baskets and 2 tees. Since everything is open, navigation is very tricky. Look for the worn dirt teepads.

Very easy to catch a quick round if for some reason you happen to be next to the airport with 20-30 mins to kill. Perhaps convenient if you're picking someone up and their flight is late.

All that said, I had a surprisingly good time here considering how poor the course is, maybe only because I scored so well (4 down!). I probably wouldn't consider coming back though.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A 9 Holer In The Middle Of Nowhere!

1    12/31/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course was not crowded
-It seems to be out in the middle of nowhere
-Beginner friendly
-Decent baskets
-Short and open holes
-Some baskets have the hole number, but they are real small to see
Cons: -Can be tough to navigate without a map
-Not really much of a challenge here
-Dirt tees
-Can get very muddy after a good rain especially down by the creek
-No signs
Other Thoughts: I'm not really sure if it is worth getting off of the freeway for. I don't think I will be rushing to play this one anytime soon. I would play Fritz Park before I played this one.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good For Practice Not to Play

2-4    9/19/2008   10/27/2008
Review By: Stan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2008
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not crowed. Easy access to a highway. It is very open. There are a few trees, but they really don't come into play. Hole #1 is a interesting down hill shot.
Cons: Dirt tee boxes are hard to find. It's difficult to know where the next hole is...I had to ask someone. There are no tee box signs. The grass is not well maintained...kind of high with some stickers. The holes are not very challenging or creative...mostly 250-300 ft, straight shots.
Other Thoughts: It is basically a collection of baskets in an open field. This is a good place for practice. Not really some place you'd make an effort to go play. Sneak over there during lunch to practice your drives and putting,,,but you'll be disappointed if you drive there for your weekend disc adventure.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.