Irving, TX 
W.O. Harrington Share
Uploaded By: mitchdrums Hole #9 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee: Basket on top of the last hill



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
warm up/ lunch break

5+    2/25/2014   2/25/2014
Review By: guarenteedace
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -clean, well maintained
-if you lose a disc, well you messed up real bad
-some elevation
-centraly located
-quick round
-hole 1 is semi-exciting...
-if you're into easy birdies, well theres 9 in a row right here at WO. this is really a con but whatever
Cons: -teeboxes are embarassing, essentially ruts, dont break an ankle.
-only 9 holes and quite short
-few trees means boredome
-can be played with a putter only
-hard to figure out where to go the first time you go
Other Thoughts: wo isnt aweful but its not great. i use it as a warmup for better courses.I used to play here on lunch break as its hardly ever crowded (wonder why). i could finish in 30 min solo. dont go out of your way to play here if youre visiting, if you do you're wasting your time

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

No frills course

5+    2/20/2014   2/21/2014
Review By: FarFromPar
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -no crowds, never waiting at a tee to throw
-open holes good for testing out new discs
-easy to run through twice for a very quick 18 hole round
-gentle elevation shots
-generally well maintained. Ive never seen trash lying around and fields are usually mowed
-one or two disc round friendly
-very unlikely to loose a disc (although it is possible)
Cons: -non-technical, wont need many discs or different throws
-poor (non-existant) hole signs
-dirt teepads are pretty worn
-wide open course means wind can play a factor
-lack of any real hole design can seem pretty boring
Other Thoughts: Nothing outstanding at this course but i like to go because it is so close to me. No super long holes or super short ones, every hole is kind of middle or the road. Definately a course where you can score par or even under par. In all the times ive played here ive only seen a few other dgers on the course. I like to use this as my practice course. A good place to take out a new disc or work on technique. Signs on each hole for distance and such would be great. And kudos to whomever put those posts in the ground to mark the teepads. I remember my first time there i just guessed at where a couple of the tees were. I wouldnt go out of my way to play here, but its close and it gets the job done.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tucked in by the side of DFW

2-4    10/10/2013   10/10/2013
Review By: thejake78
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good central location near DFW Airport
- Park appears to be primarily developed as a disc golf course, no playground equipment
- Beginner-friendly
- OB raises the challenge a bit (brushy creek, airport fence)
- Uses a little bit of elevation (particularly #1 and #2)
- Not a very busy course
- Easy to get in a quick round
- Generally the design makes use of the available land
Cons: - No course map on-site
- Without a map, could be a little confusing in a couple places
- Poor signage (a tall stake with a number on it)
- Dirt tee pads are rutted a bit, and are nothing more than worn-in places in the grass
- Not a lot of challenge to be had; a few holes are straight shots across the field
- Throwing OB, especially over the airport fence, likely means you've lost your disc
- For some reason a picnic table is present and a little uncomfortably close to the baskets on #2 and #9
Other Thoughts: - No real obvious "signature" holes, but the layout is far from poorly-designed.
- Easy to get creative and make up your own layout/safari

This is a little nine-hole course tucked into a piece of land literally next to DFW airport grounds. The field being used is not large, but the course likely is making the best use of the available land. There are a few trees scattered throughout, which are used in the layout fairly well, and the perimeter is wooded. Overall, though, this would be considered fairly open. Stepping up the tee pads to something a bit better would be nice, but they're not horrible. I could see bringing a beginner out here and not overwhelming them too badly. The hole distances are above pitch-putt-type distances, but there's not much in the way of bomber holes here. Overall this is a very playable, if not extremely challenging or memorable course. It's probably not worth going too far out of your way to try with so many other courses in DFW, but a nice, quick round can be had here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This course needs love

1    1/3/2012   1/6/2012
Review By: Soulfire75
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very secluded course ( I was the only person there the whole game). A good course to work on your drive without alot of obstacles. A couple of nice elevated tee shots.
Cons: The course is not marked very well at all and not really maintained by the looks of it. The tees are rutted out pathches of dirt (when you can find them) and about half of the baskets are not marked. Without the map it was very confusing for me atleast.
Other Thoughts: I was kind of dissapointed in the course but there is alot of potential there. Someone needs to come in and spruce it up a little and give it a little love. On a side note you can "customize" the course to your liking it's small enough and very quiet.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Quick 9

1    9/20/2011   9/20/2011
Review By: Hoeser
Played: 77  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very small field/course, you can blow through it in 30 minutes easily. The sunset with airplanes flying by looks awesome! None of the holes were very long, I was able to birdie 3 using nothing but a Star Mako mid-range and an Aviar putter!
Cons: Hard to navigate and not very challenging, except by the trees. Except for the sunset, it was not very memorable course, although it was adequate for a quick round at dusk.
Other Thoughts: Not really worth a special trip, but it was the closest course for me on a work trip and it was a good use of 30 minutes before going to dinner :)

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Test your D

2-4    8/4/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: xiaohouzi
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open. Never crowded. Good for testing your drives and dealing with the wind across the flat ground of the airport.

Can play all 9 holes in 20 minutes if you're in a pinch for time.
Cons: Not technical.
Other Thoughts: Great course to play to get your driving technique down. Really learn to get the motion down.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

6/28/2008   6/28/2008
Review By: JDMcCalip
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good for beginners. Not many hazards.
Cons: Very few trees, surrounded by 12' high chain link fence (easy to lose a disc behind). Not particularly well kept, no real markings for the tees.
Other Thoughts: This would be a great place to work on driving technique, open space without many obstacles.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.