Irving, TX
W.O. Harrington Share
Uploaded By: mitchdrums Hole #5 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: Basket back up the hill straight ahead in the open. Longest hole on the course.



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
warm up/ lunch break

5+    2/25/2014   2/25/2014
Review By: guarenteedace
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: clean, well maintained
some elevation
centraly located
quick round
Cons: teeboxes are embarassing, essentially ruts
only 9 holes and quite short
few trees means boredome
hard to figure out where to go the first time you go
Other Thoughts: wo isnt aweful but its not great. i use it as a warmup for better courses and i used to play here on lunch break as its hardly ever crowded. can be completed in 30 min solo. dont go out of your way to play here if youre visiting, theres better places

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

No frills course

5+    2/20/2014   2/21/2014
Review By: FarFromPar
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -no crowds, never waiting at a tee to throw
-open holes good for testing out new discs
-easy to run through twice for a very quick 18 hole round
-gentle elevation shots
-generally well maintained. Ive never seen trash lying around and fields are usually mowed
-one or two disc round friendly
-very unlikely to loose a disc (although it is possible)
Cons: -non-technical, wont need many discs or different throws
-poor (non-existant) hole signs
-dirt teepads are pretty worn
-wide open course means wind can play a factor
-lack of any real hole design can seem pretty boring
Other Thoughts: Nothing outstanding at this course but i like to go because it is so close to me. No super long holes or super short ones, every hole is kind of middle or the road. Definately a course where you can score par or even under par. In all the times ive played here ive only seen a few other dgers on the course. I like to use this as my practice course. A good place to take out a new disc or work on technique. Signs on each hole for distance and such would be great. And kudos to whomever put those posts in the ground to mark the teepads. I remember my first time there i just guessed at where a couple of the tees were. I wouldnt go out of my way to play here, but its close and it gets the job done.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tucked in by the side of DFW

2-4    10/10/2013   10/10/2013
Review By: thejake78
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good central location near DFW Airport
- Park appears to be primarily developed as a disc golf course, no playground equipment
- Beginner-friendly
- OB raises the challenge a bit (brushy creek, airport fence)
- Uses a little bit of elevation (particularly #1 and #2)
- Not a very busy course
- Easy to get in a quick round
- Generally the design makes use of the available land
Cons: - No course map on-site
- Without a map, could be a little confusing in a couple places
- Poor signage (a tall stake with a number on it)
- Dirt tee pads are rutted a bit, and are nothing more than worn-in places in the grass
- Not a lot of challenge to be had; a few holes are straight shots across the field
- Throwing OB, especially over the airport fence, likely means you've lost your disc
- For some reason a picnic table is present and a little uncomfortably close to the baskets on #2 and #9
Other Thoughts: - No real obvious "signature" holes, but the layout is far from poorly-designed.
- Easy to get creative and make up your own layout/safari

This is a little nine-hole course tucked into a piece of land literally next to DFW airport grounds. The field being used is not large, but the course likely is making the best use of the available land. There are a few trees scattered throughout, which are used in the layout fairly well, and the perimeter is wooded. Overall, though, this would be considered fairly open. Stepping up the tee pads to something a bit better would be nice, but they're not horrible. I could see bringing a beginner out here and not overwhelming them too badly. The hole distances are above pitch-putt-type distances, but there's not much in the way of bomber holes here. Overall this is a very playable, if not extremely challenging or memorable course. It's probably not worth going too far out of your way to try with so many other courses in DFW, but a nice, quick round can be had here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    7/10/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 44  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 10.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice little course close to the airport. Baskets are in good shape and course is pretty open, with well maintained grass.
Cons: Natural teepads, no signage, hard to follow the course layout. No trash cans or restrooms
Other Thoughts: I would like teepads and some kind of signage to at least know where the holes start.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Probably a waste of time.

2-4    4/29/2013   5/4/2013
Review By: ericl244
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I can't think of any real pros to this course, other than that it was really close to my apartment, and they used quality baskets.
Cons: No tee pads at all, some of them were worn down enough to the point were you could tell that's where you were supposed to throw from. The others were indistinguishable.
Other Thoughts: This could be a great park if some of us could go out there with some mulch and posts to mark the tee boxes out. It would be a really good beginner course and place where you could go to add a new throw or disc to your game without running the risk of losing anything.

Until that point, this park is literally just a field with baskets in it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Secluded Gem

2-4    4/20/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: UFOWTF
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 4/29/2013
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Wide open throws. Not crowded. Not much in the way of a good time. Surprisingly clean
Cons: A large I dont know what plant is next door and it is noisy and smells like poison down near the creek. I am not sure if the poison is washing down from the airport or the plant of some kind next door. The jets flying over is also noisy. The tees are not marked but if you have a map or can figure it out it has some fun times. .
Other Thoughts: A good park to bring a friend that is a beginner. Nice sunsets. It looks like someone shot the trash can with a tec 9 sub machine gun.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 This course needs love

1    1/3/2012   1/6/2012
Review By: Soulfire75
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very secluded course ( I was the only person there the whole game). A good course to work on your drive without alot of obstacles. A couple of nice elevated tee shots.
Cons: The course is not marked very well at all and not really maintained by the looks of it. The tees are rutted out pathches of dirt (when you can find them) and about half of the baskets are not marked. Without the map it was very confusing for me atleast.
Other Thoughts: I was kind of dissapointed in the course but there is alot of potential there. Someone needs to come in and spruce it up a little and give it a little love. On a side note you can "customize" the course to your liking it's small enough and very quiet.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Quick 9

1    9/20/2011   9/20/2011
Review By: Hoeser
Played: 74  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very small field/course, you can blow through it in 30 minutes easily. The sunset with airplanes flying by looks awesome! None of the holes were very long, I was able to birdie 3 using nothing but a Star Mako mid-range and an Aviar putter!
Cons: Hard to navigate and not very challenging, except by the trees. Except for the sunset, it was not very memorable course, although it was adequate for a quick round at dusk.
Other Thoughts: Not really worth a special trip, but it was the closest course for me on a work trip and it was a good use of 30 minutes before going to dinner :)

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

5+    9/15/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: mtlknee3
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) Usually very few people at course

2) All course is open with limited obstacles

3) Beginner-intermediate course
Cons: 1) Lay out sometimes confusing if you haven't played it regularly

2) Dirt tee boxes with out signage to mark which holes you are throwing
Other Thoughts: Limited space could room for improvement in layout, and possibly making course a little more challenging
Signage of any kind would make this course easier to navigate

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My Namesake course on the road named the same as my home course (/alley /iew) it had to be played

1    1/18/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 684  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) A decent ele/ation change on this course which is nice.

2) Creek behind baskets 1, 3, and right of #4 basket. It really isn't in play too much but at least it is there.

3) Garbage cans and picnic table by the parking lot woul dmake for a nice afternoon with the girlfriend or significant other, but don't come here expecting a challenge.

4) This would be a perfect course to practice in the wind as it is wide open to the west where the pre/ailing winds would come from.

5) Distance throws would also be nice practice here. It looks almost like it was once a golf dri/ing range just in its layout.
Cons: 1) 9 open turf holes with minimal obstacles . . . pretty boring.

2) Grass tees are wore to dirt . . . I'm not sure why this course would recei/e so much play, but apparently it is a good location in the heart of the area between Dallas and Ft. Worth.

3) Holes 6 and 7 are just wierd in their layout.

4) Adjacent to airport property so it is loud and the perimeter fence you shouldn't cross . . . . so don't throw in there!
Other Thoughts: I wish the course with the same name as me was better, but I had it on my radar because of its name. Little did I know it is along /alley /iew road which is the name of my home course in New Berlin, WI. I just had to play it, and I can check it off as another course played, but thats about it. Not worth a trip for anyone not named Harrington

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.