Irving, TX 
W.O. Harrington Share
Uploaded By: mitchdrums Hole #8 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 232ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee: Basket up the hill behind the tree



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Needs some trees planted

1    3/17/2015   3/23/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 338  Reviewed: 161  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course uses what is available as best it can. There are a few uphill shots and a couple of downhill shots too.
What few trees are present are incorporated well.
Rounds should play quickly here and there is a good mix of moderate length and longer holes too.
This is a course that a beginner might enjoy and the threat of losing a disc is minimal here.
Hole 9 was the best hole IMO.
Cons: 4's and 8's tee stake was missing, however just look for the dirt area that looks like a tee box.
The grass could be long at times.
No trash cans or benches, not that you would need to sit down but that option is still nice.
The course can get swampy after a heavy rain and many of the tees are showing signs of rutting, and might be slick after a hard rain.
Wind will be a factor here and in the summer months it could get hot here because of lack of shade.
My main con with this course is the lack of obstacles to shape lines and make for fun shots. Its mainly just a wide open field with baskets and this makes for boring discing in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: If you are in a hurry and want to play a quick round then this would be a good course to do it on. This course was getting some play upon my visit so some players seem to be enjoying it. For my tastes I think the planting of some trees to shape lines would help spice things up here. Also the addition of at least the distances on the tee stakes would be an improvement. If you are looking for a place to work on your open shots then hit this course up. If you like a more technical course or a course that makes you shape lines then you will want to hit up another course in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

W.O. Harrington

1    12/26/2014   12/27/2014
Review By: hotstang
Played: 106  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: Quite.
Decent for a quick round.
Good baskets considering the out of the way course.
Well maintained considering location.
Good for working on forehand and backhand.
Cons: Need signage.
Teepads should be added considering wear of the course.
Not much of a challenge.
Other Thoughts: Would be a good little course with a little work.
Needs 2 tee pads.

Wind Tunnel

5+    4/27/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: Slimrn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 1.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -There is a port-a-potty.
Cons: -30+mph winds daily.

-9 holes.

-All totally straight shots.

-The "tee pads" resemble pre-dug graves.

-Random condoms hanging on the fence.
Other Thoughts: Who could ask for more? Seriously, not much to see here folks.


PS- If you think your spouse is cheating on you, check the parking lot of this place- it is full of middle aged folks making out/banging like 16 year olds when mom isn't home.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

warm up/ lunch break

5+    2/25/2014   2/25/2014
Review By: guarenteedace
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -clean, well maintained
-if you lose a disc, well you messed up real bad
-some elevation
-centraly located
-quick round
-hole 1 is semi-exciting...
-if you're into easy birdies, well theres 9 in a row right here at WO. this is really a con but whatever
Cons: -teeboxes are embarassing, essentially ruts, dont break an ankle.
-only 9 holes and quite short
-few trees means boredome
-can be played with a putter only
-hard to figure out where to go the first time you go
Other Thoughts: wo isnt aweful but its not great. i use it as a warmup for better courses.I used to play here on lunch break as its hardly ever crowded (wonder why). i could finish in 30 min solo. dont go out of your way to play here if youre visiting, if you do you're wasting your time

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

No frills course

5+    2/20/2014   2/21/2014
Review By: FarFromPar
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -no crowds, never waiting at a tee to throw
-open holes good for testing out new discs
-easy to run through twice for a very quick 18 hole round
-gentle elevation shots
-generally well maintained. Ive never seen trash lying around and fields are usually mowed
-one or two disc round friendly
-very unlikely to loose a disc (although it is possible)
Cons: -non-technical, wont need many discs or different throws
-poor (non-existant) hole signs
-dirt teepads are pretty worn
-wide open course means wind can play a factor
-lack of any real hole design can seem pretty boring
Other Thoughts: Nothing outstanding at this course but i like to go because it is so close to me. No super long holes or super short ones, every hole is kind of middle or the road. Definately a course where you can score par or even under par. In all the times ive played here ive only seen a few other dgers on the course. I like to use this as my practice course. A good place to take out a new disc or work on technique. Signs on each hole for distance and such would be great. And kudos to whomever put those posts in the ground to mark the teepads. I remember my first time there i just guessed at where a couple of the tees were. I wouldnt go out of my way to play here, but its close and it gets the job done.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Tucked in by the side of DFW

2-4    10/10/2013   10/10/2013
Review By: thejake78
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good central location near DFW Airport
- Park appears to be primarily developed as a disc golf course, no playground equipment
- Beginner-friendly
- OB raises the challenge a bit (brushy creek, airport fence)
- Uses a little bit of elevation (particularly #1 and #2)
- Not a very busy course
- Easy to get in a quick round
- Generally the design makes use of the available land
Cons: - No course map on-site
- Without a map, could be a little confusing in a couple places
- Poor signage (a tall stake with a number on it)
- Dirt tee pads are rutted a bit, and are nothing more than worn-in places in the grass
- Not a lot of challenge to be had; a few holes are straight shots across the field
- Throwing OB, especially over the airport fence, likely means you've lost your disc
- For some reason a picnic table is present and a little uncomfortably close to the baskets on #2 and #9
Other Thoughts: - No real obvious "signature" holes, but the layout is far from poorly-designed.
- Easy to get creative and make up your own layout/safari

This is a little nine-hole course tucked into a piece of land literally next to DFW airport grounds. The field being used is not large, but the course likely is making the best use of the available land. There are a few trees scattered throughout, which are used in the layout fairly well, and the perimeter is wooded. Overall, though, this would be considered fairly open. Stepping up the tee pads to something a bit better would be nice, but they're not horrible. I could see bringing a beginner out here and not overwhelming them too badly. The hole distances are above pitch-putt-type distances, but there's not much in the way of bomber holes here. Overall this is a very playable, if not extremely challenging or memorable course. It's probably not worth going too far out of your way to try with so many other courses in DFW, but a nice, quick round can be had here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/10/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 49  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice little course close to the airport. Baskets are in good shape and course is pretty open, with well maintained grass.
Cons: Natural teepads, no signage, hard to follow the course layout. No trash cans or restrooms
Other Thoughts: I would like teepads and some kind of signage to at least know where the holes start.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Probably a waste of time.

2-4    4/29/2013   5/4/2013
Review By: ericl244
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I can't think of any real pros to this course, other than that it was really close to my apartment, and they used quality baskets.
Cons: No tee pads at all, some of them were worn down enough to the point were you could tell that's where you were supposed to throw from. The others were indistinguishable.
Other Thoughts: This could be a great park if some of us could go out there with some mulch and posts to mark the tee boxes out. It would be a really good beginner course and place where you could go to add a new throw or disc to your game without running the risk of losing anything.

Until that point, this park is literally just a field with baskets in it.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Secluded Gem

2-4    4/20/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: UFOWTF
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 4/29/2013
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Wide open throws. Not crowded. Not much in the way of a good time. Surprisingly clean
Cons: A large I dont know what plant is next door and it is noisy and smells like poison down near the creek. I am not sure if the poison is washing down from the airport or the plant of some kind next door. The jets flying over is also noisy. The tees are not marked but if you have a map or can figure it out it has some fun times. .
Other Thoughts: A good park to bring a friend that is a beginner. Nice sunsets. It looks like someone shot the trash can with a tec 9 sub machine gun.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 This course needs love

1    1/3/2012   1/6/2012
Review By: Soulfire75
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very secluded course ( I was the only person there the whole game). A good course to work on your drive without alot of obstacles. A couple of nice elevated tee shots.
Cons: The course is not marked very well at all and not really maintained by the looks of it. The tees are rutted out pathches of dirt (when you can find them) and about half of the baskets are not marked. Without the map it was very confusing for me atleast.
Other Thoughts: I was kind of dissapointed in the course but there is alot of potential there. Someone needs to come in and spruce it up a little and give it a little love. On a side note you can "customize" the course to your liking it's small enough and very quiet.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.