Disc Golf Store
Irving, TX 
W.O. Harrington Share
Uploaded By: mitchdrums Hole #9 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee: Basket on top of the last hill



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 My Namesake course on the road named the same as my home course (/alley /iew) it had to be played

1    1/18/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) A decent ele/ation change on this course which is nice.

2) Creek behind baskets 1, 3, and right of #4 basket. It really isn't in play too much but at least it is there.

3) Garbage cans and picnic table by the parking lot woul dmake for a nice afternoon with the girlfriend or significant other, but don't come here expecting a challenge.

4) This would be a perfect course to practice in the wind as it is wide open to the west where the pre/ailing winds would come from.

5) Distance throws would also be nice practice here. It looks almost like it was once a golf dri/ing range just in its layout.
Cons: 1) 9 open turf holes with minimal obstacles . . . pretty boring.

2) Grass tees are wore to dirt . . . I'm not sure why this course would recei/e so much play, but apparently it is a good location in the heart of the area between Dallas and Ft. Worth.

3) Holes 6 and 7 are just wierd in their layout.

4) Adjacent to airport property so it is loud and the perimeter fence you shouldn't cross . . . . so don't throw in there!
Other Thoughts: I wish the course with the same name as me was better, but I had it on my radar because of its name. Little did I know it is along /alley /iew road which is the name of my home course in New Berlin, WI. I just had to play it, and I can check it off as another course played, but thats about it. Not worth a trip for anyone not named Harrington

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

1    10/30/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: Pelbis
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly open fields. Unless you really blow a shot, you shouldn't lose discs here. This is very simple and non-threatening and is where I will probably drag my girlfriend to try to get her interested.
Cons: Tee boxes are patches of dirt where players have scraped the ground. No stakes, no course markers. No maps. This is close to my house, so I might squeeze in a round after work before the sun goes down, but this probably isn't worth traveling for.

The baskets aren't marked either. Someone said there was tape on them? I never saw it. And the pictures show "tee scratches" that have grown over, they are nowhere near that big now.
Other Thoughts: Thank goodness for the pictures posted on this site. From the pics, it's easy to navigate the course. You start next to the road, and each hole moves further from the road. So when you're looking for the next "tee scratch" travel in that direction. The exception is when you reach the back fenceline and start to work your way back to the parking lot. There are two holes along the side fence.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 30 minutes after work

5+    8/18/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: robappleg8
Played: 76  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Between work and home
Ace run potential
Not crowded
Great for beginners
Cons: Dirt tees need work
Not mowed often
Not challenging
Other Thoughts: Its great for a quick solo 9 after work, but if I have time and am with friends we go somewhere else

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 W.O./ Without Obstacles or Wreally Open

1    7/13/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole 1 is a pretty cool hole and has the only concrete Tee pad. You are standing on a hill (not a giant one) with trees on the left and right until about 200 ft. out where it opens up with the pin another 100 ft. or so. On this hole you can throw over the trees since you have some elevation help. Good place for wind practice on some days and when it's not, it's a good place to introduce someone to the game because it's not busy, mostly open, not SUPER short and has all of its disc catchers. Short grass and very clean and well maintained. Felt kind of secluded because there are no park roads or walking paths meandering through the course. There were some trees, just not a lot of them. Great place to practice with your drivers.
Cons: Too open and easy for experienced golfers. Hard to find the next pad because some are not worn in enough. Most baskets have no hole number. No Tee signs, except for 1 that has nothing but someones ace on it. Very little shade or challenge to be found here.
Other Thoughts: This course has enough land to where someone should have planted some trees. It's almost like a blank canvass as far as the open field goes. Over time it could be a wooded maze.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ghost Town

1    6/10/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -not a soul in sight, you've got the place to yourself
-nice DGA baskets
-beginner friendly
-easy to score well
Cons: -no signs
-dirt tees in poor condition
-difficult navigation
-not challenging at all, no obstacles, wide open

i imagine it is always as windy as it was when i was there
Other Thoughts: This little 9 holer seems really out of place here. Right next to the airport and there aren't any homes or people nearby. I'm curious how this came to be a DG course.

The course is nothing more than a field with 9 baskets. The back end of the field has a creek (dry in the summer) that 2 baskets sit in front of and the opposite end has a handful of trees that frame 2 baskets and 2 tees. Since everything is open, navigation is very tricky. Look for the worn dirt teepads.

Very easy to catch a quick round if for some reason you happen to be next to the airport with 20-30 mins to kill. Perhaps convenient if you're picking someone up and their flight is late.

All that said, I had a surprisingly good time here considering how poor the course is, maybe only because I scored so well (4 down!). I probably wouldn't consider coming back though.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A 9 Holer In The Middle Of Nowhere!

1    12/31/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course was not crowded
-It seems to be out in the middle of nowhere
-Beginner friendly
-Decent baskets
-Short and open holes
-Some baskets have the hole number, but they are real small to see
Cons: -Can be tough to navigate without a map
-Not really much of a challenge here
-Dirt tees
-Can get very muddy after a good rain especially down by the creek
-No signs
Other Thoughts: I'm not really sure if it is worth getting off of the freeway for. I don't think I will be rushing to play this one anytime soon. I would play Fritz Park before I played this one.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Test your D

2-4    8/4/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: xiaohouzi
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open. Never crowded. Good for testing your drives and dealing with the wind across the flat ground of the airport.

Can play all 9 holes in 20 minutes if you're in a pinch for time.
Cons: Not technical.
Other Thoughts: Great course to play to get your driving technique down. Really learn to get the motion down.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

1    5/19/2009   5/19/2009
Review By: skipbo1
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice easy course to play on. Not very crowded.
Cons: only 9 holes. no signs to tell you where to go. a few holes close to the dfw airport fence.
Other Thoughts: I liked the course, it is simple and fun to play. . The locals do a great job keeping the course in good shape, and mowed. If you are looking for another place to play, this course is a must play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 OK

1    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cool course for the land its on and for being 9 holes. Everything is pretty much a hyzer for RHBH players. Nothing is too long so an average player can reach everything. No places to lose plastic, although I bet if the creek is up there is a chance there. Good baskets and yes you can play this course super fast.
Cons: Windy. In an open field and very little trees so the wind is brutal. No tee signs but not to hard to navigate due to it being so open. Same shot on all the holes gets old quick!
Other Thoughts: Not worth the drive just to play here but if your close by hit it up. There is some potential for long tees, which would bring in some different shots. And if some trees were planted it could be cool. Not the worse 9 holer around.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great For a Quickie

5+    4/1/2009   4/3/2009
Review By: Unlearn
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great lunch hour or "happy hour" course. It plays very fast and short. A great beginner course with very little challenging obstacles with exception of the fence on the east side. Very quiet and fun!
Cons: No signage, and it is really hard to tell what hole is what. When we went there was no basket at hole 2 (This has since been replaced).
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course and is very challenging in the wind. It is a great course for a quick round and keeping your skills up. You can easily play 18 in an hour.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.