Menomonie, WI 
Wakanda Park Share
Uploaded By: pvilleDiscgolfer Hole #12 (Taken 6/2009)
4 / 480ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
a spread out 18

5+    11/15/2012   11/15/2012
Review By: AdmiralQuack
Played: 72  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1- the entire park is utilized for this 18 hole course
2-consistent designed concrete tee pads (except #1)
3-a wide variety of shots required to score well
4-enough trees and other hazards to keep it challenging
5-alternate basket settings on 9 of the 18 holes
6-varying terrain and slope usage- 4holes uphill, 3 down
7-varying distance from 185' to 550'
8-spread out so little congestion when busy
9-a nice view of Lake Menomin (other than mid-summer, see cons)
10-benches or tables at 12 holes
11- NO dogs allowed so no land mines (except sometimes 11-13, see cons),
Cons: 1-almost every sign has been destroyed or weathered
2-they pull trash cans in November, so trash builds up
3-Lake Menomin turns Shrek green and stinky in mid-summer
4-tee 2, 3 basket, transition to 9, 10, 14 are all difficult to locate the first time through
5-once in a while park goers get in the way, but not too often. 18 is the biggest possibility due to the playground equipment located next to it
6-duck and goose droppings get thick on 11-13 due to Lake Menomin being alongside
7-after finishing 15 you have to backtrack to 16, making it possible to be in the way of a group behind, or hitting someone ahead of you
Other Thoughts: I have played 60 rounds on this course since April, and I still enjoy throwing here. Some holes are more challenging than others, but even the shorties aren't too easy. All skill levels should enjoy throwing here. Plenty of picnic areas with pavilions and grills, playground equipment for kids to enjoy while you throw, as well as a swim park, ball fields and lots of running room for children.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wakanda Wierd

1    3/11/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 713  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice park with all sorts of activities, jungle gyms, picnic tables and pavilions, baseball and other sports fields too.
2) Teesigns have Hole #, distance, and sponsors. I would always like to see a diagram on tee-signs, especially if there are multiple basket locations.
3) There is a brick by some of the baskets that indicates where the next tee is.
4) Excellent property with all sorts of differing elevation change. There are rolling fairways, small drop-offs, large drop-offs, level shots, and even a few uphill shots too. They used the elevation changes well along with the
5) Excellent variety of plant material and foliage density. While there weren't many tightly wooded holes, they did have a few sections that were pretty tight. They also had a lot of sections that were park-like but they still had a lot of trees to work around, and then a few more open holes with just a few key features and obstacles to avoid.
6) Excellent distance variation on this course ranging from the 100's, 200's, 300's and even a 400' and a 500' hole.
7) Old school park like course that has a good amount of variety. These courses will never be top notch courses in my mind only because I enjoy more densely wooded holes. This course has moderately wooded holes and fairly open holes but no dense woods, but it does this so well I can hardly fault the course for what doesn't exist on the property.
Cons: 1) Lots of the teesigns are missing or damaged. I am not sure if it is vandalism or if they were just old.
2) The flow of the course is a little goofy with it being broken into many different sections of the park. 1, 2, and 3 are in one area, then 4-9 are in another area, 10-13 are in another area, and finally 14-18 are in another area. This is the only way they could put a course in this park so it is better than nothing. The first time I stopped here I couldn't find all of the holes because it was under 6 inches of snow and there were no footprints. There also were no directionals to guide you from one section of the course to the next.
3) The bricks indicating the next tee were missing on many holes. If you are going to do something like this it should be consistent.
4) I am putting this in the cons section only because it was visually unappealing, but there was a third set of chains that were painted yellow in the middle and I am wondering if that was supposed to be for visibility, because it certainly was not for catching ability, they had no effect on your disc staying in or falling out.
5) There is a whole lot of goofiness on #14-16. The backtracking from 14 to 15 and 15 to 16 is weird and it also makes those holes pretty dangerous and an absolute backup in a tourney. You will need to wait for the group in front of you to walk back down the fairway to get to the next tee . . . two holes in a row.
6) Were the concrete tees installed backwards or was the course rerouted? I have only played concrete tees that are wider at the back and more narrow at the front, but not at Wakand, they are reversed.
Other Thoughts: I was unable to play this course the first time I went to the course because of the 6 inches of snow on the ground. I played 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 8, and then I left the course, because I couldn't find the tees and struggled to even see all of the baskets. I had tried for 2 years to make my stop along the way to MN (which I make 2-3 times a year), and I finally got back here.
I enjoyed the course overall once I looked past the difficulty finding tees and the baskets. It is a well done park-like course with a good variety of shots and holes, distance variation is ok, and the foliage density is moderate.
I didn't find many birdie holes out there, but plenty where a bogey is possible which was a little surprising considering the course isn't dramatically long. It is a well designed course in terms of the holes presented, but the routing and lack of good signage takes away from it in the end. I know this is generally only a factor the first time you play a course, but I like courses to be available and playable to travelers, because that is what I am.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Park Course

5+    9/10/2011   12/27/2011
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 69  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wakanda Park is a nice city park course with an old school feel. This course has been in the ground since 1999 and I remember playing traveling baseball tournaments here as a kid and wondering what all the weird baskets were. The course plays threw rolling hills and a wide variety of vegetation and different shot types. There are some really great views of Lake Menomonie and some beautiful holes as well. The Menomonie area is a budding disc golf mecca in western Wisconsin with 3 very playable courses and 2 top notch course within 15 miles. Jason Hendrickson and the Stout Disc Golf Club have put in a ton of work on the local courses and it shows. This is a great area to spend the weekend playing disc golf and there are plenty of other activates to keep you entertained if you don't want to throw all day long.

1.Nice size grippy tee pads (wish there were two per hole)

2.Nice older Mach 2 Baskets that are in good shape.

3.Some holes have two pin placements (I wish they all did)

4.Great use of available land. The elevation is used well.

5.Some of the holes are long but this course is fairly beginner friendly and pretty hard to lose a disc on.

6.Diversity of shot types and hole lengths. This course has it all ups, downs, lefts, and rights. Tightly wooded shots and wide open bombers. Hole lengths range from 200' to 600' so even the big arms can unload.

7.O.B. comes into play on many holes adding challenge and risk/reward opportunities.

8.The course flows pretty well with only a few longer walks. (Bring a course map there are no signs)

9.The course is well maintained and clean with plenty of garbage cans and the grass is always mowed.

10.Tons of other activates in the park that do not really interfere with the course. Grills, Volley ball, Baseball, swimming and others.

11.Located in a College town so there are plenty of fun bars and good restaurants.
Cons: There are not a whole lot of bad things to say about Wakanda. It is a multi-use park course so most people already have a stereotype towards a course like this but it is much better than your average pitch and putt. There are only two big cons and the others are just nit-picky things that you can expect from this type of course.

1.The biggest con IMO is all the greens are flat and wide open. I can only think of one or two holes where you may have a chance of a roll away and that would be on a really bad putt. The rest of the course has so much diversity it would be really great if the designers could find a way to make the greens more interesting. Easy Greens is one of my pet peeves.

2.There are no tee signs or next tee signs near the pins. This makes it hard to find your way the first time threw the course. I really like tee signs and this is a big letdown for me at such a well designed course.

3.There is only one tee pad per hole. I think if the park added one shorter pad per hole with a bit of a different line to the basket the course would instantly be .5 stars better. Even if it was a natural pad that had a marker of some sort. The course would be more suitable for all ability levels and it would change things up a bit for the locals.

4.There are some risky throws where other park users may be at risk. It is not as bad as most park course because the design keeps the course away from other activates for the most part. (keep an eye out)
Other Thoughts: All in all Wakanda is a blast to play. It is not the best course in the area but it is not the worst ether. It is smack dab in the middle. If you only have time for one round I would recommend playing Brickyard but if you have the whole day start at the Middle school than play Wakanda then head over too Brickyard for a few tough rounds and finally finish your day at Lambs Creek with some cold beer and hot food after your round.(Lambs Creek is owned by a bar) I will play Wakanda any time that I am in Menomonie for more than one or two rounds. Menomonie makes for a great day trip for me since it is only 45mins away. I enjoy myself every time I visit this great DG town.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pit Stop

1    10/6/2011   10/8/2011
Review By: HeavyCritters
Played: 90  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Nice mix of long and short holes.
2. Good tee pads.
3. Very scenic - Plays inside a pretty park, with Lake Menomin coming into play on a couple of holes.
4. Park is clean.
5. There is some trickery in the design to make play more interesting.
Cons: 1. Bring a course map. I'm glad I did. There is NO directional signage anywhere to be found on this course. The map saved me from missing 5 or 6 holes.



Other Thoughts: Overall, I really enjoyed this course and will pit stop to play it again on my weekly trek from Minnesota to Wisconsin. I would have given it 3.5 discs, but the lack of signage, and the amount of time I spent cursing the day I was born while looking for the next tee (even with a course map!) will put it at a 3 disc rating.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fundamentally Sound Wakanda

2-4    4/16/2011   4/23/2011
Review By: superberry
Played: 167  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This city park course is very fundamental. Great balance of shot slection, sound offering of varied types of holes within the offered terrain, and some really unique holes for a city park.
There is very good variety here - long open 500'+ rippers, a decent downhill bomber (downhill with approximately 350' flatland power throw required), OB lake, tall mature city park tree lined holes, good use of OB with walking paths, roads, and a lake, and a good mix of long and short holes.
Good variety of shot selction with hyzers, annys, overhand, short, long, uphill downhill, etc.
Good OB. Hole 1 and 2 have an asphault walking path as OB. Holes 4, 5, 8, 10, 11, 13, 16, 18 can bring a road into play as OB. And Holes 11 and 12 leave you with the fear of sahnking into a lake (although a nice beach area lake you could wade into).
Alternate pin placements on a few holes.
Hole 10 is one of the best, follwed by a pleasant downhill ripper #11. 10 is a uphill hole that plays up one hill, across a ravine, and up a taller hill to a pin framed under the limbs of a pine tree. It really requires a bullet of a 350' uphill throw with no fade because the entire left side drops sharply through the thick woods to the lake. There is a big cheater hyzer route available, but you might flirt too much with the OB road on the right.
After the lake holes, you make your way up into the tall tree park area and holes 14 and 17 offer a chance to roll or kick downhill to the road along the lake.
Cons: With a typical city park setting, greens are almost entirely wide open. Nothing within 20-40'. This is disappointing. I like challenge and thought process behind putting at a pin on a slope where blowby and rollaway could be a game changer.
Probably a busy park. Lots of traffic, walkers, kids play area, adjacent to a residential area, etc.
While there were some alternate pin locations, most holes had just one. All holes had just one tee. This is a HUGE con in a city park where short tees can be used by noobs to learn a love of the game by simply walking to the course.
Being in a city park, you won't be 'losing yourself' here at all.
Holes 15 and 16 are too close to one another. If there is a lot of wind, so are 12 and 13.
Other Thoughts: This is a typical city park style course. Played amongst roads, paths, etc and under a mostly manicured grassy area of tall mature trees.
While it doesn't necessarily blow you away, the design is pretty good and offers a lot of variety, as well as challenge with the OB I talked about.
With the newer residential area by holes 6 and 7, I can see the course running into problems with 'typical' disc golfers, their actions, their language, their vandalism not being taken lightly by the residents. Look for a redesign soon.
I did not regret playing here, I might actually play again, but definitely only after playing many of the layouts at Brickyard, and enjoying a risky beating at Lambs Creek.
It stacks up as a 3 with other city park courses I've rated. It's one of the better 3-disc courses I've played.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice quiet course

1    9/18/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: djphilzy
Played: 23  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: variety of hole types. a few blind bombers, a few links style open holes. short and long fairways. I will be back next trip up to the Chippewa Vally.
Cons: Some road crossing confusion half way through but no problem thanks to the locals!
Other Thoughts: I will be back next trip up to the Chippewa Vally.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park

2-4    9/19/2008   9/19/2008
Review By: jamiemetts
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: a variety of starting points and great exercise. Takes you down toward the lake and up toward the animal park and all around in between. Great for friends hanging out.
Cons: Some hills, some trees. very long distance inbetween basket an next starting point.
Other Thoughts: wear good shoes and a smile and you'll have a great time.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center