Menomonie, WI 
Wakanda Park Share
Uploaded By: extreme18rotation  
Wakanda Logo



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Good for a park

5+    4/4/2015   4/6/2015
Review By: RDisc12
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good mix of long and short holes
-All tees are concrete and plenty long for any approach
-Lots of elevation change
-All skill levels can play however some long holes may be frustrating for less experienced players
-Benches and picnic tables on almost every hole
-Parking right next to hole 1 and hole 18
Cons: -Signs are missing or vandalized and unreadable
-Cours map not posted at hole 1 so print it or have it on your phone before your first outing
-Hole layout is somewhat confusing the first time through
-Hole 12 throws directly across the beach (Typically not a problem because nobody swims in the green lake)
-Baskets are very hard to find your first time or when the pin position is changed (Small 3" orange flags mark the tops of the baskets)
Other Thoughts: -This course is well played on a daily basis by many people (College population included) however it is large enough that waiting to play on a hole by hole basis is rare
-Wind can become an issue at this course on holes 10-18

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 a spread out 18

5+    11/15/2012   11/15/2012
Review By: AdmiralQuack
Played: 72  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1- the entire park is utilized for this 18 hole course
2-consistent designed concrete tee pads (except #1)
3-a wide variety of shots required to score well
4-enough trees and other hazards to keep it challenging
5-alternate basket settings on 9 of the 18 holes
6-varying terrain and slope usage- 4holes uphill, 3 down
7-varying distance from 185' to 550'
8-spread out so little congestion when busy
9-a nice view of Lake Menomin (other than mid-summer, see cons)
10-benches or tables at 12 holes
11- NO dogs allowed so no land mines (except sometimes 11-13, see cons),
Cons: 1-almost every sign has been destroyed or weathered
2-they pull trash cans in November, so trash builds up
3-Lake Menomin turns Shrek green and stinky in mid-summer
4-tee 2, 3 basket, transition to 9, 10, 14 are all difficult to locate the first time through
5-once in a while park goers get in the way, but not too often. 18 is the biggest possibility due to the playground equipment located next to it
6-duck and goose droppings get thick on 11-13 due to Lake Menomin being alongside
7-after finishing 15 you have to backtrack to 16, making it possible to be in the way of a group behind, or hitting someone ahead of you
Other Thoughts: I have played 60 rounds on this course since April, and I still enjoy throwing here. Some holes are more challenging than others, but even the shorties aren't too easy. All skill levels should enjoy throwing here. Plenty of picnic areas with pavilions and grills, playground equipment for kids to enjoy while you throw, as well as a swim park, ball fields and lots of running room for children.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty weak course

2-4    9/22/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 154  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 11.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are 18 holes here. Baskets were in decent shape. Good mix of long/short holes. Thats all i got here.
Cons: The flow throughout the course was kind of a joke, very hard to figure out where you're going at times. Other activities can get in the way of your round in spots. The signs were almost all missing, broken, or vandalized. The ones that were there were so weather worn you couldn't read them anyway. Very, very bland course. There are bricks by some pins with next hole # and arrow. Those don't help if the pin is in an alternate position though. Couldn't find #2 tee so we threw from #1 basket. #15 tee is set in what looks like a drainage ditch...really?
Other Thoughts: Go to Axldog Acres or Brickyard unless you need to check it off your list like i did. Very dissappointing course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic Course

1    4/14/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: Fighter
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Gorgeous view of water from many holes
+ Elevation and water bring challenge
+ Concrete pads
+ Flow of course is well designed
Cons: - Some holes are repetitive
- Playground area can be a concern when busy
- Some signs are vandalized, first time navigation can be an issue

Other Thoughts: Highlights of the course were the water holes for sure, very beautiful views. Some of the holes by the playground area can be an issue to worry about skipping into, but not that bad in general. Some blind holes might require a yell or two to be sure not only golfers are clear but walkers as paths can be close. Very enjoyable course in general, will not disappoint

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wakanda

1    6/24/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: Frolfer102
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variety of distances and difficulties.
Cons: The signs were in bad shape and very hard to read. The course was very confusing to where the next hole was.
Other Thoughts: A very fun course to play at and would definitely recommend.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wakanda Park

5+    4/14/2012   4/18/2012
Review By: SleekrBeekr
Played: 48  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees with maps.
Multiple pin locations on some of the holes.
Nice and spread out so it doesn't get too backed up when busy.
Good mix of short and long holes, requiring use of accuracy and distance.
Layout has you playing through trees, up and down hills, and along side water.
Free!
Park, beach, walking trails, bathrooms, and city pool very close to the course, so there's a lot of activities to keep families busy.
The course is in town, so restaurants, grocery stores, and gas stations aren't too far away and the course is easy to find.
Cons: Some of the maps on the tees have been vandalized and/or removed.
Plays through the park and close to a few roads, so occasionally you have to wait on pedestrians and vehicles.
The layout can get a little confusing with a some backtracking on a couple of the later holes.
Since the holes are kind of in sections, split up by roads, hills, or playgrounds, making your way to the next hole can sometimes get confusing.
It's really not too bad, but for someone playing the course for the first time, it's easy to get a bit mixed up.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a very nice course. The layout is challenging enough for intermediate/advanced players without being too challenging for casual or beginning players. The course plays through trees, has elevation changes, and a couple holes play near the water. All that offers a nice variety of holes and adds to the replay value.
There are a ton of things to do in the park. They have a couple nice playgrounds, picnic areas/grills/pavilions, beach, city pool, and lots of other things very near the course.
The course is well maintained by the city of Menomonie, and is an area that has some great courses nearby. This course is very fun and pairs well with Brickyard in Menomonie, Axldog in Boyceville, or even some of the other smaller courses in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wakanda Wierd

1    3/11/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 840  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice park with all sorts of activities, jungle gyms, picnic tables and pavilions, baseball and other sports fields too.
2) Teesigns have Hole #, distance, and sponsors. I would always like to see a diagram on tee-signs, especially if there are multiple basket locations.
3) There is a brick by some of the baskets that indicates where the next tee is.
4) Excellent property with all sorts of differing elevation change. There are rolling fairways, small drop-offs, large drop-offs, level shots, and even a few uphill shots too. They used the elevation changes well along with the
5) Excellent variety of plant material and foliage density. While there weren't many tightly wooded holes, they did have a few sections that were pretty tight. They also had a lot of sections that were park-like but they still had a lot of trees to work around, and then a few more open holes with just a few key features and obstacles to avoid.
6) Excellent distance variation on this course ranging from the 100's, 200's, 300's and even a 400' and a 500' hole.
7) Old school park like course that has a good amount of variety. These courses will never be top notch courses in my mind only because I enjoy more densely wooded holes. This course has moderately wooded holes and fairly open holes but no dense woods, but it does this so well I can hardly fault the course for what doesn't exist on the property.
Cons: 1) Lots of the teesigns are missing or damaged. I am not sure if it is vandalism or if they were just old.
2) The flow of the course is a little goofy with it being broken into many different sections of the park. 1, 2, and 3 are in one area, then 4-9 are in another area, 10-13 are in another area, and finally 14-18 are in another area. This is the only way they could put a course in this park so it is better than nothing. The first time I stopped here I couldn't find all of the holes because it was under 6 inches of snow and there were no footprints. There also were no directionals to guide you from one section of the course to the next.
3) The bricks indicating the next tee were missing on many holes. If you are going to do something like this it should be consistent.
4) I am putting this in the cons section only because it was visually unappealing, but there was a third set of chains that were painted yellow in the middle and I am wondering if that was supposed to be for visibility, because it certainly was not for catching ability, they had no effect on your disc staying in or falling out.
5) There is a whole lot of goofiness on #14-16. The backtracking from 14 to 15 and 15 to 16 is weird and it also makes those holes pretty dangerous and an absolute backup in a tourney. You will need to wait for the group in front of you to walk back down the fairway to get to the next tee . . . two holes in a row.
6) Were the concrete tees installed backwards or was the course rerouted? I have only played concrete tees that are wider at the back and more narrow at the front, but not at Wakand, they are reversed.
Other Thoughts: I was unable to play this course the first time I went to the course because of the 6 inches of snow on the ground. I played 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 8, and then I left the course, because I couldn't find the tees and struggled to even see all of the baskets. I had tried for 2 years to make my stop along the way to MN (which I make 2-3 times a year), and I finally got back here.
I enjoyed the course overall once I looked past the difficulty finding tees and the baskets. It is a well done park-like course with a good variety of shots and holes, distance variation is ok, and the foliage density is moderate.
I didn't find many birdie holes out there, but plenty where a bogey is possible which was a little surprising considering the course isn't dramatically long. It is a well designed course in terms of the holes presented, but the routing and lack of good signage takes away from it in the end. I know this is generally only a factor the first time you play a course, but I like courses to be available and playable to travelers, because that is what I am.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Park Course

5+    9/10/2011   12/27/2011
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 74  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wakanda Park is a nice city park course with an old school feel. This course has been in the ground since 1999 and I remember playing traveling baseball tournaments here as a kid and wondering what all the weird baskets were. The course plays threw rolling hills and a wide variety of vegetation and different shot types. There are some really great views of Lake Menomonie and some beautiful holes as well. The Menomonie area is a budding disc golf mecca in western Wisconsin with 3 very playable courses and 2 top notch course within 15 miles. Jason Hendrickson and the Stout Disc Golf Club have put in a ton of work on the local courses and it shows. This is a great area to spend the weekend playing disc golf and there are plenty of other activates to keep you entertained if you don't want to throw all day long.

1.Nice size grippy tee pads (wish there were two per hole)

2.Nice older Mach 2 Baskets that are in good shape.

3.Some holes have two pin placements (I wish they all did)

4.Great use of available land. The elevation is used well.

5.Some of the holes are long but this course is fairly beginner friendly and pretty hard to lose a disc on.

6.Diversity of shot types and hole lengths. This course has it all ups, downs, lefts, and rights. Tightly wooded shots and wide open bombers. Hole lengths range from 200' to 600' so even the big arms can unload.

7.O.B. comes into play on many holes adding challenge and risk/reward opportunities.

8.The course flows pretty well with only a few longer walks. (Bring a course map there are no signs)

9.The course is well maintained and clean with plenty of garbage cans and the grass is always mowed.

10.Tons of other activates in the park that do not really interfere with the course. Grills, Volley ball, Baseball, swimming and others.

11.Located in a College town so there are plenty of fun bars and good restaurants.
Cons: There are not a whole lot of bad things to say about Wakanda. It is a multi-use park course so most people already have a stereotype towards a course like this but it is much better than your average pitch and putt. There are only two big cons and the others are just nit-picky things that you can expect from this type of course.

1.The biggest con IMO is all the greens are flat and wide open. I can only think of one or two holes where you may have a chance of a roll away and that would be on a really bad putt. The rest of the course has so much diversity it would be really great if the designers could find a way to make the greens more interesting. Easy Greens is one of my pet peeves.

2.There are no tee signs or next tee signs near the pins. This makes it hard to find your way the first time threw the course. I really like tee signs and this is a big letdown for me at such a well designed course.

3.There is only one tee pad per hole. I think if the park added one shorter pad per hole with a bit of a different line to the basket the course would instantly be .5 stars better. Even if it was a natural pad that had a marker of some sort. The course would be more suitable for all ability levels and it would change things up a bit for the locals.

4.There are some risky throws where other park users may be at risk. It is not as bad as most park course because the design keeps the course away from other activates for the most part. (keep an eye out)
Other Thoughts: All in all Wakanda is a blast to play. It is not the best course in the area but it is not the worst ether. It is smack dab in the middle. If you only have time for one round I would recommend playing Brickyard but if you have the whole day start at the Middle school than play Wakanda then head over too Brickyard for a few tough rounds and finally finish your day at Lambs Creek with some cold beer and hot food after your round.(Lambs Creek is owned by a bar) I will play Wakanda any time that I am in Menomonie for more than one or two rounds. Menomonie makes for a great day trip for me since it is only 45mins away. I enjoy myself every time I visit this great DG town.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pit Stop

1    10/6/2011   10/8/2011
Review By: HeavyCritters
Played: 156  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Nice mix of long and short holes.
2. Good tee pads.
3. Very scenic - Plays inside a pretty park, with Lake Menomin coming into play on a couple of holes.
4. Park is clean.
5. There is some trickery in the design to make play more interesting.
Cons: 1. Bring a course map. I'm glad I did. There is NO directional signage anywhere to be found on this course. The map saved me from missing 5 or 6 holes.



Other Thoughts: Overall, I really enjoyed this course and will pit stop to play it again on my weekly trek from Minnesota to Wisconsin. I would have given it 3.5 discs, but the lack of signage, and the amount of time I spent cursing the day I was born while looking for the next tee (even with a course map!) will put it at a 3 disc rating.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the drive

2-4    6/5/2011   10/4/2011
Review By: Freebird
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Makes nice use of terrain, good variety of wooded, open, left, right, and some "chicken" holes where you have to decide to go for a score and risk losing a disc, or play it safe. Tees and baskets are nice, and it's a park so there are bathrooms, water, picnic tables and grills, etc.
Cons: It can be hard to get around the first couple times as it's not real well marked. Some holes play through or real close to other park users, 18 in particular plays right through a picnic area and sometimes just can't be played. The lake and woods provide some opportunities to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: It's nothing spectacular, but if you don't have fun playing here you must have been trying not to have fun. This course is 40 miles from home but we play it 2 - 3 times a year for sure.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.