Wales, WI 
Wales Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 298ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Nice open course

1    4/25/2014   4/26/2014
Review By: murphy0105
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean and we'll taken care of. Tee pads and signs on most holes. Nice open course with a mix of short and long holes especially on the back 9. Lots of water to play around or over and room for hyzer bombs.
Cons: Can't say what hasn't. They need to build up behind the tees since they are short.
Other Thoughts: It was gusting to 30 mph when I went so every hole was a challenge but I could see where it would get a bit repetitive if it was calm. Worth taking a stop though.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Random course to play

1    8/10/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: Dr.Hyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly open with scattered trees.
There isn't much Terry could do with the realistate.
While it may seem repetative, it's set up with some signature holes.
The extent of difficulty here lies on:
-How well a righty or lefty can throw anhyzer's or flicks on a few holes
-Elevation changes
-Water hazards
Other than that, hyzer lines are readily available for both RH and LH players.
There are longer holes players can unleash a bomb on without fear of going deep into woods.
For the most part, this course can deffinetely help players tune up their fairway drivers and midranges in wide open situations.
Cons: The tee pads are deffinetely too short. Some aren't flush with the ground and will hinder any typical run up.
Basket 7 is missing. It's replaced with a garbage can.
This put a damper on the round. I would like to putt at a basket, not a trash can. Took the review rating down from "decent-typical" to "reasonable" for me.
Being generous.
Other Thoughts: There were 30 mph gusts on the day I went out there. Which was good.
This provided challenge to hit long 2's and save 20 ft pars. Except on hole 7... Which I accidently parked..
Other than the wind factor for challenge.
For me, this was a change of pace. I'm used to tunnel shots and different scenery. So I wouldn't call it passible if your looking for something different..
My favorite holes were: 3, 8, 12 and 18.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Little bit of boring, little bit of fun

5+    8/25/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: kamojoe
Played: 103  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Some elevation
--WATER hazards (4 holes)
--Very well groomed
--Gazebo by hole 1
--Front 9 offers some fun ace runs
--Back 9 offers some distance and challenge
--Water holes are quite challenging
--Good signage
--Back 9 has less traffic if you would rather just jump on there
--Trees will grow into better obstacles eventually
Cons: --Roughly half of the holes have no obstacles and are quite boring
--TEEPADS ARE SHORT and very frustrating for the longer holes
------Too much of a step up on the teepad if you want to get a running start
--There are a lot of groups that don't even know about the back 9 because of the long walk between holes 9 and 10
--Gold and Blue level players won't find much of a challenge here
Other Thoughts: This course is set in a very nice little park outside of Delafield, WI. The little amount of elevation and the few water hazards do make this course worth playing, but not worth a drive of over 25 minutes. The front 9 would be an excellent place for beginners to learn, however the back 9 would throw them off with hole 10 being unplayable for them (requires a 250' drive to get over water). Even with all of the cons, I still seem to have fun playing here. It is usually quite windy, and that makes for a more interesting round than it would normally be.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty boring and open

1    6/11/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large mostly flat park with a couple minor elevation changes, and two small ponds. The ponds come into play on the back nine for a little more risk and challenge, and the front nine plays up and down a small rise a couple times. There are some small trees that will grow up into nice obstacles eventually.

There is a good variety of hole lengths, with some ace runs and some holes where you can rip a longer drive. The back nine is more interesting and less played, so you can go straight to the better part of the course and have it more to yourself (I'm not really sure why, but I saw several groups of locals leave after the front nine). The baskets are in good shape and catch well. There are nice tee signs, and other than the transition from 9 to 10 there is good flow with no other navigation issues. The concrete pads are level and in good shape, though they seemed a little small.
Cons: The course is wide open and quite boring. Distance and wind are the only real obstacles on most holes, and there aren't that many long holes. The ponds could have been used more, there are plenty of other shots that could use the water to make the course more interesting, and there are some more wooded areas that would bring a little more balance if the course incorporated them.

The walk from 9 to 10 is not at all obvious, 10 is way down by the far end of the parking lot. This might be part of the reason so much of the traffic on the course seems to only play the front 9. The course was pretty crowded with large groups of young kids all throwing at the same time and not waiting for people to clear the hole before teeing off, seems like it could be a frustrating place to play on nice days.
Other Thoughts: This is a boring course with not enough challenge for experienced player and nothing to teach newer players to throw more than one shot. Unless you can't get to another course, this one is pretty boring and not worth the trip. The back nine is a little more interesting and less played, but it's still not anything all that interesting.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/16/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: Disc Golf Greg
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice course locals
-Signs are all there
-Baskets in good condition
-Parking was not an issue
-Semi crowded but still flowed alright
-Cement tees
-18 holes, I'm from Chicago and there are a lot more 9 hole courses than 18 ones around here so this was a plus.
-Grass was cut
-No litter
-Tucked away from other park activities
Cons: -Holes are repetitive
-A lot of the courses around Chicago are like this, they could of done so much better with the Wisconsin landscape.
-Too easy, even for beginners
-Deuce or die course
-No Hole where you can let a fully thrown driver just cruise
-No shot variety
Other Thoughts: Not worth a long car ride plain and simple. If your a local I can understand playing this course daily. I was in the area camping and played it everyday, but if Miniwaukan Park (next closet course) wasn't so poorly marked with tee signs then I would of played there instead. Reminds me a lot of Mayfair park and O' Brien park which I also gave a 2 disc rating to.

The back 9 are more difficult than the front 9 but still pretty easy. Come in the morning and you'll have the course to yourself until around 11-12.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner Course

5+    4/3/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: Tree LOVE
Played: 36  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Huge gravel parking lot, so there is always plenty of parking.

- Nice concrete tee pads

- There are nice signs on almost every hole with the distance of the hole shown. Only 1 or 2 signs have been stolen or broken off. (There is at least a large wooden post at every tee pad that the signs are, usually, bolted to; and they can all easily be seen from the previous basket.) The course is very easy to navigate so the signs aren't that essential.

- DGA baskets are all in good condition with the hole number on top of each one

- There is a nice little 'open walled' shelter with a few benches right in between the parking lot and the front 9 which provides much needed shade on a hot day, or a nice place for lunch or a picnic.

- THE FRONT 9 is FLAT (except for #3 which is downhill), short, and basically wide open. There are very few, sporadically placed, trees which will probably come into play for beginners. There is really no long grass or weeds to lose a disc in. Advanced players will have no problems easily navigating the front 9 without hitting a single tree. The front 9 is ideal someone learning to play, beginners, and testing out new plastic.

- THE BACK 9 is also very flat, but there are some larger trees and narrow, but somewhat thick, tree lines that are "more involved" with play. The back nine is a little longer than the front, with water coming into play on holes 10, 11, 12, 15, and 18 in the form of 2 small man-made ponds. (This could be a con for beginners, so be careful!) The water on holes 10, 11, and 15 can easily be thrown over or avoided with a little skill, due to very large fairway sizes. The basket locations on holes 12 and 18 are closely placed directly behind the 2 small ponds on the course; but, those 2 holes are only about 260' each, so they can easily be cleared.

- The larger pond stays fairly clean and is nice to look at while playing the holes surrounding it. Not to mention, it also intimidates a lot of lesser skilled players, which makes for less crowded play.

- This course is very good to go for those aces. There are several names on just about every post.
Cons: - THE FRONT 9 is very short and forgettable. Hole 3 is the longest on the front 9 at about 400'. The other 8 on the front 9 are all under 300'. Did I mention that it was short? You can basically use the same shot for every single hole. That is… straight. The course is SO wide open and it does not force you to mix it up and use different shot types.

- THE BACK 9 is somewhat difficult to locate if you have never played the course, and is a long walk from the end of hole 9. The tee pad for hole 10 is behind the tiny cement structure in the far corner of the main parking lot, down by the playground equipment. The last few holes on the back 9 are rarely entirely mowed during the summer with long grass, weeds, and flowers growing throughout the fairways to almost waist high. There is usually a single run made by a mower down the fairway to the basket on those holes, but the long grass can get quite annoying.

- The smaller pond by holes 11 and 12 gets dirty and smelly during warmer weather. There are also copious amounts of tadpoles and small frogs in the small pond during the summer, as it is a popular breeding ground.

- Restrooms are usually unlocked and available, but they are located in the building at the center of the baseball diamonds, which is quite a long walk.

- This course is short! For advanced players it will probably seem like a putt and approach type course where you mainly throw a midrange and putter, with the occasional drive. It is better suited for a warm-up round or teaching somebody how to play.
Other Thoughts: - Very clean with rarely any vandalism. It is actually a pretty attractive course, but there is really no 'WOW' factor that would really make you remember any of the holes if you came here for the first time.

- I would be careful not to park directly behind the basket on 18. I have come dangerously close to hitting a few cars parked there myself.

- I usually resort to exclusively playing the back 9 some days, because the less experienced players usually shy away from the water. Also, the front 9 really doesn't present itself as much of a challenge for non-beginners and is quite dull.

- This is not a destination course by any means, though it is a good course to learn how to play. If you are looking to make a long drive to play a course in this area, I would look elsewhere.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Lunch break course

5+    8/11/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: pondskimmer908
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a very easy course, mostly straight shots. minimal obstacles. low traffic usually can play the front nine in less than 20 mins. it is a great course to get out for a little practice or to teach some one to play on, and it is easy to find.
Cons: the back nine has a few killer water hazzards for beginers. yes they are easy to completely avoid, but i have 99% of my discs because of these hazards. for the more skilled players they are easier to just throw over. it also is a very short course with boring holes. on hole 7 in the summer if your disc goes into the weed it is tough to find discs because they seem to vanish. and most of all the ponds get pretty smelly!
Other Thoughts: i live close to this course and it is a good way to kill 20-40mins especially when you have a small group. great for taking girlfriends/boyfreinds to for some fun!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner Course

5+    7/14/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: artonos
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a few longer holes. It also has a bunch of short holes to test out mid range discs. This is a great course to practice with new discs or to introduce someone to the game.

The area is gorgeous. The water is a good addition to the course, even if it only really comes into play on one hole. The water is easy to avoid or throw over on the other 3.
Cons: The water isn't that threatening. Almost all of the holes are very easy. Only 2-3 holes over 400 feet. Elevation isn't really used much. The ponds smell pretty bad, even if you don't get too close to them. I don't think I'm ever going to go back.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 C- = a little below average

1    4/29/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.6 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == D+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C-
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Make the Drive to Mukwonago

1    6/3/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: Doctor Faustus
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very Nice Park, Clearly Marked Tees, Very Pretty area of Wisconsin, About halfway between Madison and Milwaukee. Great beginners course, if you want to get someone involved in disc golf, this is the place to do it. Short holes no obstacles.
Cons: There is nothing to this course... it as though someone took a field and turned it into a disc golf course, then planted some trees. Short Holes.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center