Wales, WI 
Wales Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 254ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Random course to play

1    8/10/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: Dr.Hyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly open with scattered trees.
There isn't much Terry could do with the realistate.
While it may seem repetative, it's set up with some signature holes.
The extent of difficulty here lies on:
-How well a righty or lefty can throw anhyzer's or flicks on a few holes
-Elevation changes
-Water hazards
Other than that, hyzer lines are readily available for both RH and LH players.
There are longer holes players can unleash a bomb on without fear of going deep into woods.
For the most part, this course can deffinetely help players tune up their fairway drivers and midranges in wide open situations.
Cons: The tee pads are deffinetely too short. Some aren't flush with the ground and will hinder any typical run up.
Basket 7 is missing. It's replaced with a garbage can.
This put a damper on the round. I would like to putt at a basket, not a trash can. Took the review rating down from "decent-typical" to "reasonable" for me.
Being generous.
Other Thoughts: There were 30 mph gusts on the day I went out there. Which was good.
This provided challenge to hit long 2's and save 20 ft pars. Except on hole 7... Which I accidently parked..
Other than the wind factor for challenge.
For me, this was a change of pace. I'm used to tunnel shots and different scenery. So I wouldn't call it passible if your looking for something different..
My favorite holes were: 3, 8, 12 and 18.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Little bit of boring, little bit of fun

5+    8/25/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: kamojoe
Played: 97  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Some elevation
--WATER hazards (4 holes)
--Very well groomed
--Gazebo by hole 1
--Front 9 offers some fun ace runs
--Back 9 offers some distance and challenge
--Water holes are quite challenging
--Good signage
--Back 9 has less traffic if you would rather just jump on there
--Trees will grow into better obstacles eventually
Cons: --Roughly half of the holes have no obstacles and are quite boring
--TEEPADS ARE SHORT and very frustrating for the longer holes
------Too much of a step up on the teepad if you want to get a running start
--There are a lot of groups that don't even know about the back 9 because of the long walk between holes 9 and 10
--Gold and Blue level players won't find much of a challenge here
Other Thoughts: This course is set in a very nice little park outside of Delafield, WI. The little amount of elevation and the few water hazards do make this course worth playing, but not worth a drive of over 25 minutes. The front 9 would be an excellent place for beginners to learn, however the back 9 would throw them off with hole 10 being unplayable for them (requires a 250' drive to get over water). Even with all of the cons, I still seem to have fun playing here. It is usually quite windy, and that makes for a more interesting round than it would normally be.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/16/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: Disc Golf Greg
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice course locals
-Signs are all there
-Baskets in good condition
-Parking was not an issue
-Semi crowded but still flowed alright
-Cement tees
-18 holes, I'm from Chicago and there are a lot more 9 hole courses than 18 ones around here so this was a plus.
-Grass was cut
-No litter
-Tucked away from other park activities
Cons: -Holes are repetitive
-A lot of the courses around Chicago are like this, they could of done so much better with the Wisconsin landscape.
-Too easy, even for beginners
-Deuce or die course
-No Hole where you can let a fully thrown driver just cruise
-No shot variety
Other Thoughts: Not worth a long car ride plain and simple. If your a local I can understand playing this course daily. I was in the area camping and played it everyday, but if Miniwaukan Park (next closet course) wasn't so poorly marked with tee signs then I would of played there instead. Reminds me a lot of Mayfair park and O' Brien park which I also gave a 2 disc rating to.

The back 9 are more difficult than the front 9 but still pretty easy. Come in the morning and you'll have the course to yourself until around 11-12.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner Course

5+    4/3/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: Tree LOVE
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Huge gravel parking lot, so there is always plenty of parking.

- Nice concrete tee pads

- There are nice signs on almost every hole with the distance of the hole shown. Only 1 or 2 signs have been stolen or broken off. (There is at least a large wooden post at every tee pad that the signs are, usually, bolted to; and they can all easily be seen from the previous basket.) The course is very easy to navigate so the signs aren't that essential.

- DGA baskets are all in good condition with the hole number on top of each one

- There is a nice little 'open walled' shelter with a few benches right in between the parking lot and the front 9 which provides much needed shade on a hot day, or a nice place for lunch or a picnic.

- THE FRONT 9 is FLAT (except for #3 which is downhill), short, and basically wide open. There are very few, sporadically placed, trees which will probably come into play for beginners. There is really no long grass or weeds to lose a disc in. Advanced players will have no problems easily navigating the front 9 without hitting a single tree. The front 9 is ideal someone learning to play, beginners, and testing out new plastic.

- THE BACK 9 is also very flat, but there are some larger trees and narrow, but somewhat thick, tree lines that are "more involved" with play. The back nine is a little longer than the front, with water coming into play on holes 10, 11, 12, 15, and 18 in the form of 2 small man-made ponds. (This could be a con for beginners, so be careful!) The water on holes 10, 11, and 15 can easily be thrown over or avoided with a little skill, due to very large fairway sizes. The basket locations on holes 12 and 18 are closely placed directly behind the 2 small ponds on the course; but, those 2 holes are only about 260' each, so they can easily be cleared.

- The larger pond stays fairly clean and is nice to look at while playing the holes surrounding it. Not to mention, it also intimidates a lot of lesser skilled players, which makes for less crowded play.

- This course is very good to go for those aces. There are several names on just about every post.
Cons: - THE FRONT 9 is very short and forgettable. Hole 3 is the longest on the front 9 at about 400'. The other 8 on the front 9 are all under 300'. Did I mention that it was short? You can basically use the same shot for every single hole. That is… straight. The course is SO wide open and it does not force you to mix it up and use different shot types.

- THE BACK 9 is somewhat difficult to locate if you have never played the course, and is a long walk from the end of hole 9. The tee pad for hole 10 is behind the tiny cement structure in the far corner of the main parking lot, down by the playground equipment. The last few holes on the back 9 are rarely entirely mowed during the summer with long grass, weeds, and flowers growing throughout the fairways to almost waist high. There is usually a single run made by a mower down the fairway to the basket on those holes, but the long grass can get quite annoying.

- The smaller pond by holes 11 and 12 gets dirty and smelly during warmer weather. There are also copious amounts of tadpoles and small frogs in the small pond during the summer, as it is a popular breeding ground.

- Restrooms are usually unlocked and available, but they are located in the building at the center of the baseball diamonds, which is quite a long walk.

- This course is short! For advanced players it will probably seem like a putt and approach type course where you mainly throw a midrange and putter, with the occasional drive. It is better suited for a warm-up round or teaching somebody how to play.
Other Thoughts: - Very clean with rarely any vandalism. It is actually a pretty attractive course, but there is really no 'WOW' factor that would really make you remember any of the holes if you came here for the first time.

- I would be careful not to park directly behind the basket on 18. I have come dangerously close to hitting a few cars parked there myself.

- I usually resort to exclusively playing the back 9 some days, because the less experienced players usually shy away from the water. Also, the front 9 really doesn't present itself as much of a challenge for non-beginners and is quite dull.

- This is not a destination course by any means, though it is a good course to learn how to play. If you are looking to make a long drive to play a course in this area, I would look elsewhere.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Lunch break course

5+    8/11/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: pondskimmer908
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a very easy course, mostly straight shots. minimal obstacles. low traffic usually can play the front nine in less than 20 mins. it is a great course to get out for a little practice or to teach some one to play on, and it is easy to find.
Cons: the back nine has a few killer water hazzards for beginers. yes they are easy to completely avoid, but i have 99% of my discs because of these hazards. for the more skilled players they are easier to just throw over. it also is a very short course with boring holes. on hole 7 in the summer if your disc goes into the weed it is tough to find discs because they seem to vanish. and most of all the ponds get pretty smelly!
Other Thoughts: i live close to this course and it is a good way to kill 20-40mins especially when you have a small group. great for taking girlfriends/boyfreinds to for some fun!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Make the Drive to Mukwonago

1    6/3/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: Doctor Faustus
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very Nice Park, Clearly Marked Tees, Very Pretty area of Wisconsin, About halfway between Madison and Milwaukee. Great beginners course, if you want to get someone involved in disc golf, this is the place to do it. Short holes no obstacles.
Cons: There is nothing to this course... it as though someone took a field and turned it into a disc golf course, then planted some trees. Short Holes.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Little Intrigue; Good for Beginners

1    4/22/2009   4/22/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clearly-numbered DGA baskets in great shape. All concrete tee pads, with nice tee maps at almost all of them, with hole distance.

This course is in kindof a pretty area, a wide open field with a few pine trees and saplings throughout. However, its pretty obvious, from the moment you walk up to tee 1, what you're in for: a wide open course with no terrain. The front nine are all in the field, almost all direct shots with maybe a tree or two in play. No real technical challenges here, its all about distance, and driving into the wind. The front nine and back nine flow pretty well (though there's a long walk from 9 to 10) but the course is so open there's really not much to most of the holes. The wind on this course was blowing hard when I was there, and made the course seem longer. It was probably the most challenging part of the course. On a calm day, this course would be much easier.

The front nine is extremely bland an open. On at least two holes, a pair of saplings is planted on either side of the fairway about 15-20 ft apart. I suppose in 10 yrs, this will force some control for a direct shot at the basket, but for now, not so much, and sadly the front nine could probably do with a few dozen more saplings planted at strategic locations on the fairways. In ten years it would make it a better course. The front nine seems geared towards younger/more inexperienced players, as it isnt too long and very forgiving. Its also very hard to lose a disc. On a calm day, this would be a nice setting for someone to casually learn the game.

The back nine set up the difficulty a notch, though not nearly enough to make up for the lackluster front nine. From hole 10, the difference is noticeable. The holes play around 2 ponds and a thin band of woods separating a grassy avenue from the second lake. Hoel ten is a long one, playing over the larger first lake and to a basket tucked under the edge of the tree-band. Holes 11 and 12 play back and forth over the second lake, and 13 plays into the tree-band from the other side. After several longer open holes, 18 shoots back across the large pond to finish it off. The ponds are used fairly well, forcing you to carry the water at about 200-260, which forces some tough decisions of whether to go for it or take the safe route around. Also, these holes bring trees into play along one side of a few fairways, making it possible to get into a tight spot if you shank one.
Cons: This huge open field is like a wind tunnel, and the direction of the holes in relation to the wind seems to make the course play longer and tougher, mainly because your drives are less predictable and not as accurate. The wide open nature of this course means that the difficulty varies with the wind conditions. On a calm day, the whole course would be much, much easier, especially the front nine. Not surprisingly, every tee sign on the front nine was covered with recorded aces, sometimes in strings of less than a week apart on the same hole. These holes are pretty forgettable, as previous reviews have stated. There is little terrain in play, especially on the front nine, and with just a few small trees to contend with on the sides of the fairways, there's not much to this course, just field distance and general accuracy.

Even the pond-carrying shots of the back nine are still quite bland because there is nothing else to the hole but that. The most interesting hole on this course is probably 10, because its over 400 ft, and involves both a water crossing and a basket somewhat protected by trees, so i suppose that's this course's signature hole if any.

For beginners this course is probably great fun, but for me, it was very uninspiring, not to mention fighting the wind got old really fast.
Other Thoughts: Tee 10 is down behind the brick structure on your left at the far end of the parking lot. Tee 1 is nearer to the covered tables before the lake. I don't fault Terry for the design of this course. The area he had to work with is just a wide open, flat field with a few small ponds in it. Given the terrain, he did a good job, but there's not much to work with here. This course is well-kept and in great shape though. Good maintenance and design, bland geography still makes for a decent course, but this is not one Im going to return to. The nearby courses in Watertown, New Berlin and Whitewater are all more fun and technical, I'd rather play one of those and skip this one in the future.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Average Beginner Course

5+    9/10/2011   3/16/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice baskets, Nice concrete Tee pads. Nice signage (missing hole #8 tee sign) on each hole with minimal vandalism. Baskets are in good shape too.

2) Very beginner friendly course (well the front 9 is ok for beginners). Keep the beginners off the back 9 or they will lose a few discs in the water.

3) Nicely maintaned park with all sorts of other things to do there.

4) Nice variety of hole distances. Only 1 hole shorter than 200' which is good and up to 426'.
Cons: 1) The back 9 is not so beginner friendly. It gets a little more technical and all the water is on the left where beginners tend to throw! If they have any skill they can avoid the water by going around, but odds are beginners will try and throw around but still throw into the water.

2) Entire front 9 except for #3 has easily accessible baskets. Just in reach for a young (well newer, not young) disc golfer like myself I can get it within putting range on most of the front 9 and a few on the back nine.

3) Overall not enough challenges to warrant a weekly or biweekly trip to this course, but it is still disc golf and if I find myself in the area I will swing in. I wouldn't avoid it at all costs, but I wouldnt go out of my way for it.


4) Weak turf in some spots, especially around the pond and some of the back 9. Because of that I imagine it to be very wet and slick after rains, and after the snow thaw!
Other Thoughts: I tried to play this course the day before I did play it. It was a sunday and I drove into the parking lot and the place was overrun with 13-14 year old disc golfers in groups of 4 or more. I decided to try it on a monday instead and I got there at 3:00 PM and it became overrun with 13-14 year olds again because school must have let out. I am not saying I had a problem with the kids, but that certainly isn't the crowd I want to be playing disc golf with or around. It looks like it is just the local hangout for all the kids who live out that way!

Not much has changed with this course in a long time . . . there was a basket stolen earlier this summer which as of September still had not been replaced . . . instead a garbage can was put in its place.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 um....eh?

1    11/23/2008   11/23/2008
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -some good long ripper holes
-nice cement tee pads
-great signage
-two technical holes over water
-great "practice" 18 holer for adv. players
- a bunch of 200-270 ace-able holes
-family oriented park
-well kept park
Cons: -flat.flat.FLAT
-first 9 holes are forgettable
-second 9 holes almost as forgetable
-um, did I mention flat?
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses where almost the whole park is dedicated to the disc golf course, at least the first nine holes. Problem is the first nine holes are on a flat field with MAYBE a few trees as obstacles. Looking at how many people have put their name on the tee poles for aces you can imagine how boring this course could get.

The saving grace of this 18 holer is the back nine, but not by much. There are two man made ponds that come into play on a few holes and they are at the distance of choosing safety or sorrow. We played the first water hole during the start of winter when it was iced over and we had a BLAST skipping discs off the ice and hoping for an ice-skip-ace. Our fellow DGer dam near made one, twice. Vid hopefully on the way.

Great signage, great tees help this course rise from mediocrity, but not by much. Not a destination course for sure.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.