Wales, WI 
Wales Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
4 / 397ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Good Beginner Course

5+    4/3/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: Tree LOVE
Played: 44  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Huge gravel parking lot, so there is always plenty of parking.

- Nice concrete tee pads

- There are nice signs on almost every hole with the distance of the hole shown. Only 1 or 2 signs have been stolen or broken off. (There is at least a large wooden post at every tee pad that the signs are, usually, bolted to; and they can all easily be seen from the previous basket.) The course is very easy to navigate so the signs aren't that essential.

- DGA baskets are all in good condition with the hole number on top of each one

- There is a nice little 'open walled' shelter with a few benches right in between the parking lot and the front 9 which provides much needed shade on a hot day, or a nice place for lunch or a picnic.

- THE FRONT 9 is FLAT (except for #3 which is downhill), short, and basically wide open. There are very few, sporadically placed, trees which will probably come into play for beginners. There is really no long grass or weeds to lose a disc in. Advanced players will have no problems easily navigating the front 9 without hitting a single tree. The front 9 is ideal someone learning to play, beginners, and testing out new plastic.

- THE BACK 9 is also very flat, but there are some larger trees and narrow, but somewhat thick, tree lines that are "more involved" with play. The back nine is a little longer than the front, with water coming into play on holes 10, 11, 12, 15, and 18 in the form of 2 small man-made ponds. (This could be a con for beginners, so be careful!) The water on holes 10, 11, and 15 can easily be thrown over or avoided with a little skill, due to very large fairway sizes. The basket locations on holes 12 and 18 are closely placed directly behind the 2 small ponds on the course; but, those 2 holes are only about 260' each, so they can easily be cleared.

- The larger pond stays fairly clean and is nice to look at while playing the holes surrounding it. Not to mention, it also intimidates a lot of lesser skilled players, which makes for less crowded play.

- This course is very good to go for those aces. There are several names on just about every post.
Cons: - THE FRONT 9 is very short and forgettable. Hole 3 is the longest on the front 9 at about 400'. The other 8 on the front 9 are all under 300'. Did I mention that it was short? You can basically use the same shot for every single hole. That is... straight. The course is SO wide open and it does not force you to mix it up and use different shot types.

- THE BACK 9 is somewhat difficult to locate if you have never played the course, and is a long walk from the end of hole 9. The tee pad for hole 10 is behind the tiny cement structure in the far corner of the main parking lot, down by the playground equipment. The last few holes on the back 9 are rarely entirely mowed during the summer with long grass, weeds, and flowers growing throughout the fairways to almost waist high. There is usually a single run made by a mower down the fairway to the basket on those holes, but the long grass can get quite annoying.

- The smaller pond by holes 11 and 12 gets dirty and smelly during warmer weather. There are also copious amounts of tadpoles and small frogs in the small pond during the summer, as it is a popular breeding ground.

- Restrooms are usually unlocked and available, but they are located in the building at the center of the baseball diamonds, which is quite a long walk.

- This course is short! For advanced players it will probably seem like a putt and approach type course where you mainly throw a midrange and putter, with the occasional drive. It is better suited for a warm-up round or teaching somebody how to play.
Other Thoughts: - Very clean with rarely any vandalism. It is actually a pretty attractive course, but there is really no 'WOW' factor that would really make you remember any of the holes if you came here for the first time.

- I would be careful not to park directly behind the basket on 18. I have come dangerously close to hitting a few cars parked there myself.

- I usually resort to exclusively playing the back 9 some days, because the less experienced players usually shy away from the water. Also, the front 9 really doesn't present itself as much of a challenge for non-beginners and is quite dull.

- This is not a destination course by any means, though it is a good course to learn how to play. If you are looking to make a long drive to play a course in this area, I would look elsewhere.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Lunch break course

5+    8/11/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: pondskimmer908
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a very easy course, mostly straight shots. minimal obstacles. low traffic usually can play the front nine in less than 20 mins. it is a great course to get out for a little practice or to teach some one to play on, and it is easy to find.
Cons: the back nine has a few killer water hazzards for beginers. yes they are easy to completely avoid, but i have 99% of my discs because of these hazards. for the more skilled players they are easier to just throw over. it also is a very short course with boring holes. on hole 7 in the summer if your disc goes into the weed it is tough to find discs because they seem to vanish. and most of all the ponds get pretty smelly!
Other Thoughts: i live close to this course and it is a good way to kill 20-40mins especially when you have a small group. great for taking girlfriends/boyfreinds to for some fun!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner Course

5+    7/14/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: artonos
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a few longer holes. It also has a bunch of short holes to test out mid range discs. This is a great course to practice with new discs or to introduce someone to the game.

The area is gorgeous. The water is a good addition to the course, even if it only really comes into play on one hole. The water is easy to avoid or throw over on the other 3.
Cons: The water isn't that threatening. Almost all of the holes are very easy. Only 2-3 holes over 400 feet. Elevation isn't really used much. The ponds smell pretty bad, even if you don't get too close to them. I don't think I'm ever going to go back.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 C- = a little below average

1    4/29/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 381  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.3 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == D+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C-
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Make the Drive to Mukwonago

1    6/3/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: Doctor Faustus
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very Nice Park, Clearly Marked Tees, Very Pretty area of Wisconsin, About halfway between Madison and Milwaukee. Great beginners course, if you want to get someone involved in disc golf, this is the place to do it. Short holes no obstacles.
Cons: There is nothing to this course... it as though someone took a field and turned it into a disc golf course, then planted some trees. Short Holes.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Little Intrigue; Good for Beginners

1    4/22/2009   4/22/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 137  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clearly-numbered DGA baskets in great shape. All concrete tee pads, with nice tee maps at almost all of them, with hole distance.

This course is in kindof a pretty area, a wide open field with a few pine trees and saplings throughout. However, its pretty obvious, from the moment you walk up to tee 1, what you're in for: a wide open course with no terrain. The front nine are all in the field, almost all direct shots with maybe a tree or two in play. No real technical challenges here, its all about distance, and driving into the wind. The front nine and back nine flow pretty well (though there's a long walk from 9 to 10) but the course is so open there's really not much to most of the holes. The wind on this course was blowing hard when I was there, and made the course seem longer. It was probably the most challenging part of the course. On a calm day, this course would be much easier.

The front nine is extremely bland an open. On at least two holes, a pair of saplings is planted on either side of the fairway about 15-20 ft apart. I suppose in 10 yrs, this will force some control for a direct shot at the basket, but for now, not so much, and sadly the front nine could probably do with a few dozen more saplings planted at strategic locations on the fairways. In ten years it would make it a better course. The front nine seems geared towards younger/more inexperienced players, as it isnt too long and very forgiving. Its also very hard to lose a disc. On a calm day, this would be a nice setting for someone to casually learn the game.

The back nine set up the difficulty a notch, though not nearly enough to make up for the lackluster front nine. From hole 10, the difference is noticeable. The holes play around 2 ponds and a thin band of woods separating a grassy avenue from the second lake. Hoel ten is a long one, playing over the larger first lake and to a basket tucked under the edge of the tree-band. Holes 11 and 12 play back and forth over the second lake, and 13 plays into the tree-band from the other side. After several longer open holes, 18 shoots back across the large pond to finish it off. The ponds are used fairly well, forcing you to carry the water at about 200-260, which forces some tough decisions of whether to go for it or take the safe route around. Also, these holes bring trees into play along one side of a few fairways, making it possible to get into a tight spot if you shank one.
Cons: This huge open field is like a wind tunnel, and the direction of the holes in relation to the wind seems to make the course play longer and tougher, mainly because your drives are less predictable and not as accurate. The wide open nature of this course means that the difficulty varies with the wind conditions. On a calm day, the whole course would be much, much easier, especially the front nine. Not surprisingly, every tee sign on the front nine was covered with recorded aces, sometimes in strings of less than a week apart on the same hole. These holes are pretty forgettable, as previous reviews have stated. There is little terrain in play, especially on the front nine, and with just a few small trees to contend with on the sides of the fairways, there's not much to this course, just field distance and general accuracy.

Even the pond-carrying shots of the back nine are still quite bland because there is nothing else to the hole but that. The most interesting hole on this course is probably 10, because its over 400 ft, and involves both a water crossing and a basket somewhat protected by trees, so i suppose that's this course's signature hole if any.

For beginners this course is probably great fun, but for me, it was very uninspiring, not to mention fighting the wind got old really fast.
Other Thoughts: Tee 10 is down behind the brick structure on your left at the far end of the parking lot. Tee 1 is nearer to the covered tables before the lake. I don't fault Terry for the design of this course. The area he had to work with is just a wide open, flat field with a few small ponds in it. Given the terrain, he did a good job, but there's not much to work with here. This course is well-kept and in great shape though. Good maintenance and design, bland geography still makes for a decent course, but this is not one Im going to return to. The nearby courses in Watertown, New Berlin and Whitewater are all more fun and technical, I'd rather play one of those and skip this one in the future.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Average Beginner Course

5+    9/10/2011   3/16/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 900  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice baskets, Nice concrete Tee pads. Nice signage (missing hole #8 tee sign) on each hole with minimal vandalism. Baskets are in good shape too.

2) Very beginner friendly course (well the front 9 is ok for beginners). Keep the beginners off the back 9 or they will lose a few discs in the water.

3) Nicely maintaned park with all sorts of other things to do there.

4) Nice variety of hole distances. Only 1 hole shorter than 200' which is good and up to 426'.
Cons: 1) The back 9 is not so beginner friendly. It gets a little more technical and all the water is on the left where beginners tend to throw! If they have any skill they can avoid the water by going around, but odds are beginners will try and throw around but still throw into the water.

2) Entire front 9 except for #3 has easily accessible baskets. Just in reach for a young (well newer, not young) disc golfer like myself I can get it within putting range on most of the front 9 and a few on the back nine.

3) Overall not enough challenges to warrant a weekly or biweekly trip to this course, but it is still disc golf and if I find myself in the area I will swing in. I wouldn't avoid it at all costs, but I wouldnt go out of my way for it.


4) Weak turf in some spots, especially around the pond and some of the back 9. Because of that I imagine it to be very wet and slick after rains, and after the snow thaw!
Other Thoughts: I tried to play this course the day before I did play it. It was a sunday and I drove into the parking lot and the place was overrun with 13-14 year old disc golfers in groups of 4 or more. I decided to try it on a monday instead and I got there at 3:00 PM and it became overrun with 13-14 year olds again because school must have let out. I am not saying I had a problem with the kids, but that certainly isn't the crowd I want to be playing disc golf with or around. It looks like it is just the local hangout for all the kids who live out that way!

Not much has changed with this course in a long time . . . there was a basket stolen earlier this summer which as of September still had not been replaced . . . instead a garbage can was put in its place.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 um....eh?

1    11/23/2008   11/23/2008
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 69  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -some good long ripper holes
-nice cement tee pads
-great signage
-two technical holes over water
-great "practice" 18 holer for adv. players
- a bunch of 200-270 ace-able holes
-family oriented park
-well kept park
Cons: -flat.flat.FLAT
-first 9 holes are forgettable
-second 9 holes almost as forgetable
-um, did I mention flat?
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses where almost the whole park is dedicated to the disc golf course, at least the first nine holes. Problem is the first nine holes are on a flat field with MAYBE a few trees as obstacles. Looking at how many people have put their name on the tee poles for aces you can imagine how boring this course could get.

The saving grace of this 18 holer is the back nine, but not by much. There are two man made ponds that come into play on a few holes and they are at the distance of choosing safety or sorrow. We played the first water hole during the start of winter when it was iced over and we had a BLAST skipping discs off the ice and hoping for an ice-skip-ace. Our fellow DGer dam near made one, twice. Vid hopefully on the way.

Great signage, great tees help this course rise from mediocrity, but not by much. Not a destination course for sure.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Meh.

7/7/2007   7/7/2008
Review By: Iceman
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course will make you feel like a disc golf rock star. Front 9 are short and wide open, while back 9 are medium length and all basically wide open as well. Two or three holes have big water hazards on them which some might find a little thrilling although the water is easily avoidable with little skill.
Cons: This course provides little challenge to anyone over a beginners ability.
Other Thoughts: A good place to bring your girlfriend to play, or anyone new to the sport. They won't get frustrated at overly tough holes and you can practice your approaches and putts. Win win situation.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.