Wales, WI 
Wales Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 272ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
If you just want to get out there...

1    6/9/2016   9/28/2016
Review By: Kegelexercise
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 22.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's the only 18 hole course within probably a 10-15 mile radius (a few shorter ones closer), so there's that.

I suppose it's also a good place to come practice if you want to hone your skills with airing out drives or throwing on a windy day, because the course is about as wide open as it gets, and there are enough long-ish holes that beginner to intermediate level players can air it out. One hole does play over a retention pond - RHBH throwers may have to choose different lines to avoid it.
Cons: There just wasn't much to work with on this course, so I suppose the designers did what they could, but this course was nearly devoid of variety. The front 9 is practically nothing but 200-300' wide open holes, and the back 9, though it does incorporate a bit more variance in terrain, and does incorporate more of the forestry that's present, is still very wide open.

One of the baskets was also missing (16?) when I played, and I saw a good amount of stupid HS student type graffiti around, so there is an impression to be had that this just isn't a course that's all that well cared for.
Other Thoughts: Someone one time posted a safari-type setup where you'd be tossing at different baskets (like, say, toss at basket #6 from tee #1) from much longer lengths, and this setup honestly seemed more compelling, and incorporated more obstacles than the actual course itself...that's the general feel of this course.

Again, I think the course designers did what they could with the limited ammo they had to work with (full disclosure: this safari setup I mentioned above crossed fairways a ton of times, so it isn't really viable for full-time play), so this course isn't complete garbage, but the only reasons I can really think to stop and play here are if you're looking to hone your craft on a windy day, you have a mission to play every area course, or you're a beginner just figuring out the basics...it's not a course that offers a whole lot other than that. Nearby Oakwood is honestly a better course...play the 9 holes once from each tee location, and it's a more compelling 18 hole experience than Wales.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

skip it.

1    9/4/2016   9/4/2016
Review By: JLHJLH
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: cute tee posts.
Cons: no shade (you can actually see who is playing at all the holes at the same time), no challenge, but, if it were only that I'd say it was acceptable for practice. On this day the grass had not been cut for at least four weeks and without trash cans the garbage was terrible, found broken whiskey bottles on two of the tees. NO community pride here . . . . looks like it was put together to help babysit . . . .looks like the babies need to be sat.
Other Thoughts: SOMEONE, should care about this park. Today it did not look like anyone does. The few players we saw were mysteriously "happy" high school types. Guess they don't have anything better to do. Not going back any time soon.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beginner Friendly

1    6/25/2016   6/27/2016
Review By: knivile1
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained and clean course in a diverse city park.

Well defined fairways and rough. Rough was decently thick but not so bad as to make a disc irretrievable.

Beginner friendly and would make a great course for kids and new players just learning the sport. All baskets were visible from the teepads.

Interesting handmade wood stump tee signs with hole number and distance. "Ace" posts also provided at each teepad so that graffiti is not placed on tee signs or baskets.

Minimal non-disc golf traffic on course.
Cons: Teepads short on most holes.

Lack of benches and especially trash cans. Ended up picking up quite a bit of trash during my round; typical water and beer bottles/cans and food wrappers.

Lack of updated course map and information on the kiosk before hole 1. Map shows only the front 9 and no mention of a back 9.

Missing basket at hole 16. Guess it's been gone for quite some time now.
Other Thoughts: Very well maintained multi-use park with typical baseball/softball and soccer fields as well as playground equipment and other facilities. Non disc golf traffic on the course was non-existent as the course starts on the opposite side of the main parking lot.

Wide open shots on all holes, with no real danger or risk/reward potential. Wind was up the day I played so it made putting interesting on the front 9 but still not difficult.

Water really doesn't come into play unless you are a beginner with a problem of hyzering out too quickly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/27/2015   8/27/2015
Review By: par4
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A lot of work has been done recently. The place looked like it was in poor shape for a while. Started to notice a difference late last year.
Pros: all holes are marked and baskets have been replaced - some longer holes in the back 9.
-course has a more natural appearance now.
- clean and well taken care of.
Cons: many short holes.
tee pads are a little short.
Other Thoughts: I rated the course higher due the phenomenal changes to course. I hope the city park district keeps it up.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Just another Course

1    7/27/2015   7/27/2015
Review By: Horsman
Played: 112  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Concrete Teepads
- 18 Holes
- Very easy to get to from the Freeway and pretty wasy to at least find the course
- A lot of open holes, so if you like the hyzer shot you are going to be in heaven
Cons: - The length of the teepads isnt as bad as a lot of the people are saying. Im 6'6" and have a big stride and they were not an issue for me. What was an issue though was the step up to the teepads. Almost all of the teepads are not flush with the ground so it is quite annoying to not be able to throw a comfortable shot.
- Baskets. Im not sure what Mach baskets they are but they spit out a lot.
- Teesigns - only 2 holes on the entire course had teesigns. The only way you knew that you threw to the correct hole was if you played the hole and then looked at what the basket was numbered. It was very annoying.
- No teesigns means no distances.
- Finding the first hole was a chore for me. I walked around for 15 minutes before I actually found hole 1.
- The back nine is a pretty long walk away from the front nine. No arrows pointing you the right way. No help getting there at all. I walked around for about 15 minutes again trying to find hole 10.
- The course lacks individuality in hole design. Most are just hyzers, not too many difficult shots out there.
Other Thoughts: Overall I didnt mind the course but there needs to be some upgrades before I would ever consider going back and playing.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice open course

1    4/25/2014   4/26/2014
Review By: murphy0105
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clean and we'll taken care of. Tee pads and signs on most holes. Nice open course with a mix of short and long holes especially on the back 9. Lots of water to play around or over and room for hyzer bombs.
Cons: Can't say what hasn't. They need to build up behind the tees since they are short.
Other Thoughts: It was gusting to 30 mph when I went so every hole was a challenge but I could see where it would get a bit repetitive if it was calm. Worth taking a stop though.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Random course to play

1    8/10/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: Dr.Hyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fairly open with scattered trees.
There isn't much Terry could do with the realistate.
While it may seem repetative, it's set up with some signature holes.
The extent of difficulty here lies on:
-How well a righty or lefty can throw anhyzer's or flicks on a few holes
-Elevation changes
-Water hazards
Other than that, hyzer lines are readily available for both RH and LH players.
There are longer holes players can unleash a bomb on without fear of going deep into woods.
For the most part, this course can deffinetely help players tune up their fairway drivers and midranges in wide open situations.
Cons: The tee pads are deffinetely too short. Some aren't flush with the ground and will hinder any typical run up.
Basket 7 is missing. It's replaced with a garbage can.
This put a damper on the round. I would like to putt at a basket, not a trash can. Took the review rating down from "decent-typical" to "reasonable" for me.
Being generous.
Other Thoughts: There were 30 mph gusts on the day I went out there. Which was good.
This provided challenge to hit long 2's and save 20 ft pars. Except on hole 7... Which I accidently parked..
Other than the wind factor for challenge.
For me, this was a change of pace. I'm used to tunnel shots and different scenery. So I wouldn't call it passible if your looking for something different..
My favorite holes were: 3, 8, 12 and 18.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Little bit of boring, little bit of fun

5+    8/25/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: kamojoe
Played: 133  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Some elevation
--WATER hazards (4 holes)
--Very well groomed
--Gazebo by hole 1
--Front 9 offers some fun ace runs
--Back 9 offers some distance and challenge
--Water holes are quite challenging
--Good signage
--Back 9 has less traffic if you would rather just jump on there
--Trees will grow into better obstacles eventually
Cons: --Roughly half of the holes have no obstacles and are quite boring
--TEEPADS ARE SHORT and very frustrating for the longer holes
------Too much of a step up on the teepad if you want to get a running start
--There are a lot of groups that don't even know about the back 9 because of the long walk between holes 9 and 10
--Gold and Blue level players won't find much of a challenge here
Other Thoughts: This course is set in a very nice little park outside of Delafield, WI. The little amount of elevation and the few water hazards do make this course worth playing, but not worth a drive of over 25 minutes. The front 9 would be an excellent place for beginners to learn, however the back 9 would throw them off with hole 10 being unplayable for them (requires a 250' drive to get over water). Even with all of the cons, I still seem to have fun playing here. It is usually quite windy, and that makes for a more interesting round than it would normally be.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty boring and open

1    6/11/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large mostly flat park with a couple minor elevation changes, and two small ponds. The ponds come into play on the back nine for a little more risk and challenge, and the front nine plays up and down a small rise a couple times. There are some small trees that will grow up into nice obstacles eventually.

There is a good variety of hole lengths, with some ace runs and some holes where you can rip a longer drive. The back nine is more interesting and less played, so you can go straight to the better part of the course and have it more to yourself (I'm not really sure why, but I saw several groups of locals leave after the front nine). The baskets are in good shape and catch well. There are nice tee signs, and other than the transition from 9 to 10 there is good flow with no other navigation issues. The concrete pads are level and in good shape, though they seemed a little small.
Cons: The course is wide open and quite boring. Distance and wind are the only real obstacles on most holes, and there aren't that many long holes. The ponds could have been used more, there are plenty of other shots that could use the water to make the course more interesting, and there are some more wooded areas that would bring a little more balance if the course incorporated them.

The walk from 9 to 10 is not at all obvious, 10 is way down by the far end of the parking lot. This might be part of the reason so much of the traffic on the course seems to only play the front 9. The course was pretty crowded with large groups of young kids all throwing at the same time and not waiting for people to clear the hole before teeing off, seems like it could be a frustrating place to play on nice days.
Other Thoughts: This is a boring course with not enough challenge for experienced player and nothing to teach newer players to throw more than one shot. Unless you can't get to another course, this one is pretty boring and not worth the trip. The back nine is a little more interesting and less played, but it's still not anything all that interesting.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/16/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: Disc Golf Greg
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice course locals
-Signs are all there
-Baskets in good condition
-Parking was not an issue
-Semi crowded but still flowed alright
-Cement tees
-18 holes, I'm from Chicago and there are a lot more 9 hole courses than 18 ones around here so this was a plus.
-Grass was cut
-No litter
-Tucked away from other park activities
Cons: -Holes are repetitive
-A lot of the courses around Chicago are like this, they could of done so much better with the Wisconsin landscape.
-Too easy, even for beginners
-Deuce or die course
-No Hole where you can let a fully thrown driver just cruise
-No shot variety
Other Thoughts: Not worth a long car ride plain and simple. If your a local I can understand playing this course daily. I was in the area camping and played it everyday, but if Miniwaukan Park (next closet course) wasn't so poorly marked with tee signs then I would of played there instead. Reminds me a lot of Mayfair park and O' Brien park which I also gave a 2 disc rating to.

The back 9 are more difficult than the front 9 but still pretty easy. Come in the morning and you'll have the course to yourself until around 11-12.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.