Clearwater, FL 
North East Coachman Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #9 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 272ft.   3 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    3/7/2014   3/19/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 199  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Coachman doesn't have the high points of Medard or Stephens but it also doesn't have the low points of some of the other area courses. If you were to imagine your standard, lightly wooded, flat course that makes the best use of limited terrain, you have a picture of Northeast Coachman.

It's a very approachable course that isn't a beginner course but is beginner-friendly. The holes are mostly defined by trees but it's more of an open space than a trail course and there is no underbrush to speak of. A few fairways bring a canal into play but it doesn't add much interest or difficulty, especially if you have just played on the serious waterways next door.

Most of the holes sport solid, easy to follow fairways that do require different shapes because of the variety of trees. I don't know if there is a standout hole here, but there aren't any frustrating ones either. And other than the road hole, all of them are fun.

Coachman also boats the advantage of multiple places to jump around. I mean that not in the kangaroo sense but in the hole-to-hole sense. It's easy to start on 1, 4, 11 and 14 from the parking lot which is a big advantage on a smaller course that can get busy and is one the many players will want to play all the time. Add in nice tees and a multitude of benches and it's a great place to throw a round, if not an especially memorable one.
Cons: There aren't crossing fairways or anything but there seem to be a lot of pairs of holes where one goes down and the other takes you back. This does create some danger of shots crossing into other fairways but a more realistic concern is that the course becomes difficult to navigate at times. Since the terrain is open there is no obvious way to proceed from many baskets. Typically, one tee is close by but there are some tricky spots. (Nothing the map can't solve) There is also 16. If you remember this on the course, the basket is the one to the right. Then there is the hole in which the road is very much in play.

So there's a few issues, but mostly the course is limited by the flat terrain and the mostly open nature of the grounds, and it doesn't have the water hazards that Cliff Stephens uses to make up for this fact. Thus, there is not much in the way of greatness. No memorable holes. Not too much challenge. Little variation. The holes look pretty much the same and though there are some different lines, there is not much variety in distance. There are also too many fairways that are just straight approaches. A lot of "straight" here and that's where more advanced players will lose interest.
Other Thoughts: Essentially, Coachman is an everyday type of course that would be a great home course. At the same time, when you consider it's proximity to Cliff Stephens, it is part of sweet two-course trip that is worth a bit of travel to experience.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Clearwater Classic

5+    10/28/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Beautiful sign greets you to the course.
- Tee-signs are all new and are very informative with full color pictures.
- Good variety of distances and lines for each hole.
- Multiple pin placements on certain holes make the course different each time you play it.
- Right down the road from Cliff.
- No chance of getting lost, course flows really well from hole to hole and from beginning to end.
- Some good ace runs.
Cons: - Some of the Tee-pads are a little short and a little chopped up.
- Not to much grass; the majority of the course sits under tree cover, so the majority of the ground is just dirt.
- Bugs!, the mosquitoes can get pretty bad if the creek that runs behind hole 3 and 4 gets some water in it.
- Not a good variety of shots, this course is a RHBH hyzer bomb course.
- Course floods very easily when it rains.
- No real signature hole; though I have my favorite, hole #8, i feel there is no hole that stands out from all the others.
- No real signature finishing hole; hole 18 is a 318' shot through the trees back to the parking lot, nothing special.
Other Thoughts: - All things considered this is still one of my favorite courses.
- I would suggest a day trip only because Cliff is right around the corner and the Clearwater Disc Golf Store is right down the road.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Coachman

1    3/13/2012   3/13/2012
Review By: mrkvnmnn
Played: 42  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: I love the setting. I really enjoy playing through and around the trees. You get a decent variety of shots. Its a very nice pick me up after playing cliff stevens. There is a bench by every teepad. There is water in play but it is very shallow. You can retrieve your discs with ease. It was a pretty hot day so the shade from the trees was awesome.
Cons: The Signage wasn't the greatest. I really hate it when its hard to find my way around. This course is so compact that you can see two teepads after quite a few holes.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course and would definitely play again. If your in the area and play cliff stevens you should stop by Coachman and shot a quick fun round.

 good beginner course with some issues

1    12/29/2010   12/29/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of small canal which comes into play on 7, 8, 12 an 16.
18 decent baskets with 2 long (often narrow) concrete tee pads on most holes.
Practice basket (even though it is crazy close to the parking lot)
Canopy provides lots of shade, as well as a most of the obsticles, under the canpoy there was suprisingly few nasty spike covered foiliage to eat your discs and slice your arms like many other area courses.
Good course for beginners due to low frustration levels and low chance of disc loss.

Cons: Design has moments of weak flow and serious safety concerns.
Hole 1 starts throwing at a busy highway with a busy road running down the right side, Why throw directly at an intersection on the first hole?
Hole 3's basket was was rediculiously close to the parking lot, hole 15 has you throwing directly over a busy trial.
The tee signs were worn down to nothing, they were absolutely no help, you could not even read which hole the sign was for on most tees. Some were ripped from th ground or missing.
Navigational signs are needed, at the very least a peice of colored tape on the basket pointing to the direction of the next basket.
Course was very crowded with discs flying everywhere, baskets all over.
Not a single sign to tell you there were 6 more holes across the street
Other Thoughts: Watch where you park so your car does not get whacked by a disc.
Porto-potty on hole 14.
I can't belive there are more holes across the street that I did not know about until reading Harr0140's review. Why spend that kind of money and not advertise it?
9
*edit question answered: The other baskets are only open for tournament use.
Clearwater DGC just down the road.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Vacation Miracle

2-4    3/20/2010   3/24/2010
Review By: underparmar
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good shade. Will be great in the Fla sunshine. For Kentucky hurler, was a nice change of pace with the flatness of the course. Good skip on landing due to leaves on ground. Friendly regulars.
Cons: A little crowded on layout. No mention on course that much better course connected by 16 tee box bridge (Cliff Stephens).
Other Thoughts: Playes twice in two days. First round with local player, good for layout and tricks. Second day with curious family members. A special day-ACED #5!! from back box!! 14 under (all as par 3's)!!!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Variety of Challenges

1    8/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2010
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun course, that was short at time, yet technical. Mostly straight shots with obstacles, only a few doglegs. A creek comes into play on 4 holes and plays to the right. Only a few holes I would consider difficult, yet each hole supplied its own unique challenge
Nice flow, easy to navigate

Very nice, large, concrete teepads, with most holes having a short and long tee. Holes were in good shape. Trash cans at most holes to keep the park clean. Clean port-a-potty located at #14
Cons: Signage for the holes were pretty weak. Could use an upgrade. Flat, no elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: The park itself is really beautiful. Has all the Florida fauna and ecoscape. The creek is really cool with fish and birds. The park is fairly clean of trash

There is a lot of holes that you have to navigate around trees, so it was great to play a technical course. Also, the trees helped keep the shade on you and the temperature down.

The locals there seemed to be cool and laid back. Cliff Stevens DGC is adjacent, so you can get 21 more hole over there in one trip

Favortite Hole: #8- Plays with the canal and a large oak to your right of the tee. Doglegs pretty hard to the left about 200' out. Another large oak is right there, then the hole is about 150' through abunch of trees on the left side of the fairway and 2 oaks in the middle. I tried to roll it and bairly hit the big oak at the dogleg. I would love to get that roller down to the hole

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/19/2008   1/19/2009
Review By: jeremytf
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 28.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tight fairways challenge your accuracy and technical ability. It's a pretty course with lots of trees and shade. The creek adds difficulty on some holes.
Cons: It's a short course. You won't get much practice with your max distance drivers.

Most of the holes can be reached a fairway driver and then a putter, so I hardly get to use my mid-range discs.

Many of the holes play relatively similarly - straight or near straight shots down narrow fairways.

The park is small, so all the holes are packed very tightly together, which can occasionally make for congestion of the players.

It's very flat and can get muddy/flooded in the back 9 after a heavy rain.

The signage is useless and the only restrooms is one portable...
Other Thoughts: It's a good practice course for your accuracy. I've played a couple tournaments here - they're always fun but I miss having more holes where you can really drive all-out. That's just the nature of the small, tight park where the course is located.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

7/29/2008   7/29/2008
Review By: DiscGolfCenter.com
Played: 86  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of shade, plenty of obstacles. Good layout from relatively flat wooded ground.
Cons: Shorter wooded course.
Other Thoughts: Great companion course to Cliff Stephens.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 NE coachman

7/18/2008   7/22/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 151  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Teepads, Teesigns. Lots of trees for shade.
Not crowded.
Cons: No course map at the course
Other Thoughts: NE Coachman course is a relatively small but fun course, the average length per hole is less than 300 feet. This is counterbalanced by the fairways being tight and technical on every drive, with lots of trees and bushes coming into play on flat terrain. The shade was very welcome from the summer heat. Its still open enough that if you get into trouble off the teepad, you can recover fairly easily. The teepads are narrower than normal, about 3 feet wide, and having a whisk broom for the sand would be a good idea. There is a walking path on several holes that comes into play. Also a small creek on holes 7 through 12 that you need to stay out of. Midrange drivers are a must have on this course.
I didn't think there was any teepad drive that was unfair or restricted by "too-tight" alleys to shoot through. Some of the tee signs show their age, and are missing information, but you can still get around the course without a map. Getting from hole 12 to teepad 13 is tricky, I was told about this beforhand by some very helpful locals who walked me through the course before I started. There is no course map at the parking lot where you start, so just talk to someone in the park and they will be more than willing to help you. You can play this course in less than an hour, unless you are taking your time. I would take families to this course, or if I wanted to play a casual round and work on approach drives this is where I would go. Someone who wanted to work on their big-arm drives should not go to this course.


10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.