Disc Golf Store
Clearwater, FL 
North East Coachman Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #7 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 331ft.   3 / 331ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Nice course

1    12/23/2013   12/23/2013
Review By: Murderous Monkey
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -nice course
-some holes have long/short tees
-nice foliage, and well kept
-benches all over
-nice scenery
-easy to locate
Cons: -no pars, so out of towners don't know how they're doing
-couple holes unsure where to go next
-no holes allow you to air it out
-somewhat short course
Other Thoughts: Nice course. Pretty easy course, I only threw a fury and anode and did just fine. You can leave the distance drivers at home. Another review said that it connects to Cliff, but I didn't see where. Signage for that would be awesome. Water comes in to play on a few holes, so watch for that. Overall a nice shortish course that is a definite stop.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Times

2-4    11/17/2013   11/21/2013
Review By: redsealking
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful piece of land. Awesome flow with nice, accurate tee signs. Short and long tees make for a fun experience for beginners through pros. Each hole had a rather defined line, with options to take the path less traveled. Lack of underbrush allowed for ease of recovery from errant shots.
Cons: Not necessarily a con due to lack of property, but most holes are reachable from the tees, forcing a "deuce or die" mentality. No real sense of getting to air it out.
Other Thoughts: I was on vacation from Texas where short courses are becoming a thing of the past. I was impressed by the local fauna. Got to play in one of their weekly minis and met a lot of like-minded people, reinforcing the thought that the disc mentality translates well from location to location.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Taste of Florida

1    6/1/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Easy to find with hole one right by the parking lot
*Signs are clear and pads are nice concrete.
* The course is not long, but some holes do get up to around 400ft, so there is distance variety.
* Water comes into play as a lateral hazard on the back of the course, but the shots near it are well designed.
* Most of the course plays under shady trees.
* Although there are a lot of trees, it's not super tight. the holes are very workable.
* There's good line variety. It's a shotmaking course.
* Course flows well, there isn't any long walking around to find holes.
* You get what you deserve. Good shots are rewarded. there aren't any unfair shots.
* There are long and short pads, and the course appears fun for many skill levels.
Cons: * No actual bathrooms but there is a portolet.
* Flooding issue after heavy rains.
* Fairways could be tight if many groups are playing.
* Those are minor cons. This is an awesome course!!
Other Thoughts: Coachman feels like a nice walk on a shady, summer day. There is a walking path that winds around and through, and I saw many people using it. Disc golf could be part of a larger day of exercise and photography.

The park itself is loaded with gorgeous trees, and feels like old Florida inside. Personally, I found this to be one of my favorite parks that I have played. The shots in the woods were technical but fair, and the playing was very satisfying.

This park is very close to Cliff Stephens, and playing both together is a great comparison of what to do with different pieces of land. I really don't see why anyone wouldn't enjoy this park. the short tees are perfect for the distance challenged and the longs aren't too long. Coachman made for a fantastic morning of disc golf!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    11/19/2012   11/19/2012
Review By: KimBrennan
Played: 55  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 34 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent signs on each hole (though few signs to indicate the direction to the next hole, they are rarely needed.)

Concrete pads (sometimes a bit small, but the holes usually aren't long enough to need bigger tees.)

Nice shady course, that doesn't feel heavily treed. Many of the tree obstacles are branches hanging down (horizontal) rather than vertical ones.

Nice benches on nearly every hole, and bag racks on many too.
Cons: Very sandy (when dry). A towel to clean your discs regularly is definitely needed.

For several of the holes, the bike path/hiking trail comes into play (and care must be given so as to not hit pedestrians or bikers.)

No water, no restrooms.

The course design is fairly tight, meaning that holes are pretty close to each other. The course design is well done so that errant shots on one hole rarely intervene on one of the adjacent holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a relatively short course, and rather attractive as I saw it (didn't see much trash, which is pleasant for a change.)

This is not a course for big hyzers, it is much more of a straight low shot type of course. Due to the sandy conditions on several of the holes, don't expect too many skips (back nine seems to have more than the front nine.)

Water hazard (when I played in November) is very shallow.

Quite a pretty course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

If you are in the Bay area, then this is a must play!

5+    11/18/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Two concrete tee's per hole (White/Blue), numbered baskets, Alt pin placements and BRAND NEW Tee signs. Very nice Tee signs with POV pictures marking the basket locations and the distance.

-Very nice benches at every tee, Bag Hooks (some holes) Trash Cans, and a Porto in the parking area.

-The New Tee Signs have a pictures looking down the fairway with arrows pointing to both basket locations and distances for both tees. Very Sharp and easy to read!

-Multiple starting points from the parking lot. You can start on any of the following tees 1, 4, 11, & 14. It is a popular course, and it can get busy. So if you see a big group out, you can jump over to another tee boxes. It's also easy to tailor a quick 9 if you are in a hurry.

-Plays under a canopy of trees, which offers some relief in the summertime.

-There are plenty of trees to work your lines around, but not overly dense

-Good pin locations, various lines that require shot shaping: hyzers, Doglegs, and some flex shots.

-This park is entirely a Disc Golf course.

-Some Water hazards. (Didn't appear to be very deep, but it is wide)

-Beginner friendly, yet challenging enough for the seasoned player to enjoy.

-Average Distances range from 250-350ft.

-Holes 3, 10, 14, 18 put you back at the parking lot. Which means you can actually start on 1, 4, 11, and 15. This is handy if you see there is a big group in front of you. As busy as this course can get, it's good to have multiple starting points.

-Easy to access from hwy 19

-Located near Cliff Stephens and Clearwater Discs

FWIW
-The Phillies Spring Training Field is just down the street.
-If you follow the walking path towards Phillies stadium, follow the path around the stadium, you will end up at Cliff Stephens DGC
Cons: -Walking path next to a few holes.

-One hole plays near a busy intersection, and others near main road. A few baskets are near the parking lot. (Mind where you park)

-Some of the fairways play close to each other. One tee pad having a net to catch discs from the previous basket. (I guess that would be a positive!)

-Though the navigation wasn't too bad, but the flow seemed a little choppy. On a couple of occasions we had to be pointed in the right direction. There is a very nice map in the links/Files tab at the top of this page.

-This course can get be very busy on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy myself at Coachman. The course isn't terribly hard, but your lines will require shot shaping and accuracy. The trees are sparse enough to be forgiving, but they are still there and will do their best to deflect your drive. The water hazards aren't too threatening with a very low risk. Although you may have to fish an errant throw out of the creek, it shouldn't be too difficult to retreive. I like the individuality of each fairway. Though a few holes may be similar, most of the fairways have their own unique pattern.

It's not a hard course, but there is a lot to enjoy. It has a great fun factor! It's one of the staple courses of the Clearwater area and it's close to the Cliff Stephens Course. No special footwear is needed, and shorts will also be fine here. (In case you are wondering, there are other courses in the area where I wouldn't recommend shorts.) Hwy 19 is a main road nearby, and there are plenty of restaurants and gas stations nearby. If you are in the area, put this course on your list to play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good paly, great shopping!

1    2/6/2011   2/8/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/5/2012
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: See my full review on other box - overall a nice, fun place to play - and the best part is Clearwater DG store just seconds away! back 9 are as good or even a bit better than front 9. needs a bit of sign maint, but otherwise great golf. Ppl here are quite friendly and course is virtually free of trash.
Cons: None really cept lack of a sig hole and needs more variety in hole length. I have come back and played the entire 18... last time and the review was limited to just front 9. I will declare hole number 11 the sig hole. A great pinball tree hole with many ways to play it. You could plan hole 11 9 times and call it a course if you wanted to.
Other Thoughts: This is my disc golf course rating system. Each element of the course is worth ½ disc for a total of 10, ½ disc units or 5 full discs of rating.
My 10 categories are:
1. Quality of tee pads.
2. Quality of signage, both individual hole signs as well as a sign board and course layout at the hole one beginning location.
3. Course amenities. Benches at tees, garbage cans on course, disc bag posts/hooks, next tee arrows, etc.
4. Overall park amenities. Things like bathrooms, drinking fountains, playground areas, anything that improves the overall location.
5. Overall use of available terrain features. How well did the designers use what they had to work with?
6. Changes in elevation. Some courses have this occurring naturally. Others have created it. Either way it is vital that a good course is beyond flat… even in Iowa or Nebraska.
7. Variety of hole length. Is it mixed up? Some long, some short. Keep things interesting.
8. Tee and basket options. Are there tee options and/or alternate basket locations? Can the course be played different on different visits?
9. Signature hole? Is there one hole in specific that leaves an impression? Creates a unique memory?
10. Fun Factor - Purely subjective on my part. Did I have fun?

Coachman Park - Clearwater, FL

1. Yes. Good tee pads, but just a bit small for some of these longer holes.
2. No. Some signs missing, somw signs not readable, some signs in poor state of repair.
3. Yes. Some trash cans on course. No trash on course. I guess players use the cans where they are. Course is well worn and well used but there is a wonderful lack of trash on the course. Kudos to the locals for taking good care of their playground.
4. Yes. Overall nice clean park. Port-a-potty available. No other facilities… still a yes as this is a disc golf only park. No other reason to visit here… and that is a HUGE plus.
5. Yes. ZERO elevation here naturally or created. Good use of perimeter canal and interior terrain features.
6. No. No elevation what so ever.
7. No. Not much variety in hole length… all are mid length by my experience.
8. No. The course map shows a few 2nd basket options but none were present.
9. No. This course lacks a signature hole. All are basically point and shoot and quite similar. A few slight hyzer and anhyzer options, but mostly holes laid out where they fit and straight shots. The trees and other natural growth have made more of the holes than the layout would imply… straight shot, but trees in the way. &#61514;
10. Yes. This was quite a bit of fun. The overall use of natural trees and growth and a easy to follow plan makes this a great fun course to play. A bit of water for some risk.

Rating = 5 yes, 5 no =
2.5

2/2012 Played here again this year. I am a better player and this is a better course now that I have played all 18... I have raised my rating by 1 full point.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tropicana

2-4    12/25/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: DelightSquad
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a challenging mashup of similar nearby courses. While it is a bit shorter than the others, it provides difficult lines, low ceilings, and heavy shrubs. You could say Coachman park stands as a middle child amongst a proud family of local DG courses. Like anything else in the St. Pete/Clearwater area it has feverish support and committed locals.

-Tee signs
-Shot varieties
-Friendly locals
-Shade for those hot days
-Shallow creeks
-Thoughtful layout

Like I said this place is dedicated. All you have here is a disc golf course; no pavilions and very little peds. While a bike/walk trail does ride through a couple holes, it still provides a connection to nearby Cliff Stephens. Although this course doesn't provide what taylor lake does in maintenance or what cliff does in tournament readiness, it holds its own as a unique layout and tropical course, under low ceilings and shifting shot shapes.
Cons: -Not much grass
-Can be busy
-Somewhat difficult navigation
-No facilities
-lack of benches

Coachman is really bare. You come here ready with your beverages and willingness to spot out a good spot to pee. Although there isn't zero benches, it hardly compares to the amenities of other nearby courses.

You can certainly lose a disc here if you don't keep an eye on it. The creeks here are shallow but can be muddy in areas. You also have heavy shrub and bushy trees to deal with. All that being said, my least favorite part is the lack of grass and surplus of loose sand. Certainly makes for frustrating lack of skips when throwing under the low canopy.
Other Thoughts: While I may or may not have dissed this course, it's the one I've played the most.

It's certainly a must play in the Clearwater area especially if you are going to Cliff anyways.

Nothing bad can be said about the DG scene here and the people who make it what it is. Big ups to all who made such a dedicated course possible!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, good design,cool property.

1    1/3/2010   1/7/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Practice basket is located right at the parking lot by #1 tee. I always like to see a practice basket to allow for practice putting and not interfering with people finishing on the actual course near the parking lot.

2) Portopotty is available in the parking lot. No other facilities on this property, but the parking lot is accessible on Hole #1, 3, 10, 14, and 18. That is plenty of access unless you have a Crohns flareup or Irritable Bowel Syndrome, or if you suffer from frequent urination.

3) Bench is available around the first hole and near the parking lot. There are also plenty of benches throughout the park. Garbage is also available for disposal of anything in multiple locations throughout the course.

4) Alternate tees are available on a few holes. They help to shorten the longer holes and also help to avoid the water in a few areas.

5) Excellent use of the winding creek on the property. The creek although low when I played, still has some unique features. There are plenty of switchbacks and peninsulas that create an interesting basket location.

6) The canopy in this park is interesting. There are a lot of tall mature trees, but there are also some lower trees that offer a low ceiling. This acts together to limit your shot selection. There are no tomahawks possible here, and you also cannot always excute a high shot because of the trees and lower shrubs. It forces you to throw low and hard to keep it straight and down. Watch out for the tough skips when throwing so low to the ground.

7) This course has some of the least amount of underbrush as any course I have played in Florida. I can always appreciate a well groomed course when it comes to palmettos (in the south) and buckthorn (in the north).

8) Water was used to create some tougher drives. The water is deep and I am sure there might be gators in there so it really makes you feel like you need to avoid those areas. It was nice they were able to incorporate some of the water around the course into play.
Cons: 1) This course is similar to almost all Florida courses in that it is totally flat. The only elevation changes on this course are due to basket locations tucked very near the winding creek.

2) Concrete tees are too narrow. I would much rather have a wider tee with less length because the most important part of the drive is the plant foot and release. The runup is less important in my opinion as long as the area surrounding the tee is level.

3) This course was very wet when I played it. 13 tee, 16 basket, 17 tee and 18 tee were all underwater and unplayable from their normal locations. I did make up alternate tees within about 20-30' of each tee that was under water, but the 16th basket was unplayable from 50-60' out since it was completely surrounded with water. This is in the dry season although I know they recently had a heavy rain creating the problem, but I can imagine at times this course would be unplayable. I would assume most of the course would be underwater or the fairways would be unnavigable when haevy rains come.

4) Signs leave a little to be desired. They are outdated and the distances that are on the posts are peeling and damaged. There is also some graffitti on some of the tee signs.

5) Course is a little repetitive. The first few holes are great and offer some different shots and views. Then the middle and end of the course have a few holes that feel just like others that have already been played. They still are all fun shots, but the feel is simply a little repetitive.

6) Layout of the course is a little tight in a few spots. This course is certainly set on a small property for 18 holes, but they make the most of the property.

7) Course does come across a walk path on Hole #14 and 15. This is the path that leads over to Cliff Stephens although I saw a lot more people walking over there, than I did at North East Coachman, but with the path connecting the two you may need to expect some possible delays on those holes.
Other Thoughts: All in all this was another enjoyable course. I cannot hold the wet areas against the course because it is generally a temporary situation. I am sure the wetness is also a problem in summer during the rainy times. I had a great time executing the shots needed on this course. There were plenty of trees, the water to contend with, and some real shot shaping holes to challenge me.

The usage of the creek in the middle of the course is interesting, and the areas on the property that have eroded recently also create some different shots. You cannot always plan on a skipshot to end where you want it. There are plenty of trees ont he course but also plenty of lanes to choose. You can throw all sorts of different discs in a round her and not as much due to distance throws but more so due to the low speed stability and high speed stability of those discs.

The course is located very near Clearwater Disc Golf Store, which is apparently one of the biggest stores in America. Most of this comes from online inventory because this is simply not that large of a store. It also is located next to the Minor Leaguea ffiliate for the Philadelphia Phillies. Catch a game on the way to Cliff Stephens when walking down the path!

I AM SO DISAPPOINTED I DIDNT KNOW ABOUT THE EXTRA 6 HOLES ACROSS THE STREET. I WANT TO GO BACK BUT IT WILL HAVE TO WAIT FOR AN ENTIRE YEAR.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/16/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The location is conveniently located near the Clearwater Disc golf store and is connected at hole 16 by a path to hole 16 at Cliff Stephens (less than a 1 mile trek). Coachman has a great variety of shots requiring both power and precision. One of the biggest challenges on the course is navigating through the woods. It used to be way more dense and on the plus side has made it harder to lose a disc, while maintaining the challenge of the trees.
Cons: There are a couple of holes that seem repetitive but for the most part this course will offer some challenges (#1, 8, 12) with a few easy birdies tossed in the mix (#3, 6, 11, 13). The holes do overlap just a bit and it makes it all the more important to watch yourself for disc golfers on other holes.

There are no facilities with the exception of a lone porta-potty. The signage is weak and could seriously use an update. A few teepads could use replaced.
Other Thoughts: One of the highest rated rounds ever shot was recorded here by Ken Climo in April 2009. He shot -23 on 24 holes, with a par on hole 1 and then 23 straight birdies! If you play this course you will see how ridiculous that is.

If you are in Tampa Bay try out Cliff first but make sure to hit Coachman when you get a chance.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tampa Trip

1    6/19/2009   6/20/2009
Review By: FrolfHead
Played: 63  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Definately a fun course to play, I plan on coming back when Im in the area. Many of the holes have tight fairways and play very close to each other. The course is cut out of some pretty nice foliage. Makes pretty good use out of not much land.
Cons: Several holes were missing Tee signs and several others were of little use. Several par 4's and 5's could been 3's.
Other Thoughts: Several holes run along a canal.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.