Clearwater, FL 
North East Coachman Park Share
Uploaded By: RgDgolfs Hole #1
3 / 250ft.   3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Good Old Fashioned Fun!

2-4    6/13/2015   6/14/2015
Review By: thrembo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 40.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As far as the Greater Tampa area courses go, this one falls in the middle. Its not the most scenic or challenging, but it does offer its own charms, and is quite fun to play.

Nice signage and tee pads, very easy to navigate, and plenty of trees to shot shape around. Disc loss is at a minimum here, unless you put one into the water filled ditch that runs along side of a couple of holes.

The course is well maintained, and litter free.
Cons: The course feels a little cramped, with tight holes running back and forth through the light woods. Keep an eye out for stray discs coming in from nearby fairways.

There are a few holes that play near a heavily used sidewalk.

It can be muddy during the rainy season, with areas of standing water on some fairways.
Other Thoughts: This course wouldn't be my 1st choice if I could only play one of the greater Tampa area courses, but I certainly would recommend it not as a must play, but as a should play. It is very popular with the locals, and would make for a fine home course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Woods and Streams

1    3/1/2015   3/1/2015
Review By: freddysez
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The signs are great as well as the flow and this course will make you bring your shotmaking skills set around a plethora of trees and creeks. It is well kept and offers something for everyone
Cons: Maybe it's just me but I enjoy disc golf with all of the elements of distance, finesse, and hazards. Having said this no holes really stick out to me as signature. I can't remember one hole that when I got back to my car I kept reflecting back on. It's a good course period, nothing more nothing less
Other Thoughts: you have to dig the fact that a killer disc golf store is right down the street

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

NE Coachman is Great!!!

1    2/15/2015   3/1/2015
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 48  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Two concrete long tee pads per hole (White/Blue) that are perfect for long run-ups
- Brand new tee signs. Very nice tee signs with detail pictures marking the basket locations and the distance.
- Very nice benches at every tee, Bag Hooks (some holes) Trash Cans, and a Porto in the parking area, just like Cliff Stevens
- The New Tee Signs have a pictures looking down the fairway with arrows pointing to both basket locations and distances for both tees
- Multiple starting points from the parking lot. You can start on any of the following tees 1, 4, 11, & 14. It is a popular course, and it can get busy. So if you see a big group out, you can jump over to another tee boxes
- Plays under a canopy of trees, which offers some relief when it is hot out
- There are plenty of trees to work your lines around, but not overly dense
- Good pin locations, no shots that are unfair
- This park is entirely a Disc Golf course.
- Some Water hazards. Didn't appear to be very deep, but it is wide.
- Beginner friendly, and not as easy from the back tees
- Average Distances range from 250-350ft.
- Holes 3, 10, 14, 18 put you back at the parking lot
- Located right next to Cliff Stephens and 5 minutes away from the Clearwater Disc Golf Store
- If you follow the walking path, you will end up at Cliff Stephens DGC
Cons: - This course is probably the most heavily played in Tampa Bay, other than Cliff Stevens, so it is not unlikely that you will be waiting for a group on a hole
- It can be a little bit short if you are playing from the short tees
- The parking lot might be a little bit small
Other Thoughts: I loved North East Coachman. It was one of my favorites in Florida. Hopefully I can come back there sometime because it was great!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner's Paradise

5+    1/29/2015   1/31/2015
Review By: buzzkilla
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 2/2/2015
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great place for beginners and the course is kept up with very well. Night golf on Thursday nights is a blast when it is dark by 6:30 PM and the handicap on Sundays at 10 AM draws a great turnout. If you play 1-18 you make your way towards the parking lot three times should you need to stock up on drinks or discs and a produce stand that sells gatorade, soda, etc. is just across the street and just a rock throw away from hole 2 teepad.
Cons: If you're like me and just like to play a round or 2 efficiently, it is best to go at sunrise as this course from noon on can get packed with high volume of players that play in big groups. During the summer time it can get pretty flooded for days.
Other Thoughts: - Favorite holes are 3, 9, 11, and 17

- Least favorite are 10 and 16

- After finishing hole 9, be sure and go to the left for 10 as hole 12 is dead straight ahead

- Hole 13 can be a bit tricky to find, but just look for the sign about halfway up the fairway and drop off your bag and then 14 is by the port a jon

- Hole 16 is tucked back jest behind the arc bridge or if you've got great tailwind or a feed for speed you may throw from the super pad across the bridge by the benches

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A worthwhile play!

1    11/19/2014   12/5/2014
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 30  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very easy to get to and well signed. The signs have photos showing where the baskets are, which is a great touch and something I had not seen anywhere back in my native Kansas City. It really does help with navigating and finding your way. Good job!

Scenery here isn't the best of the Tampa Bay area, but it's definitely still nice and has its own merits.

The park itself seems to be in a decent part of Clearwater as well, I felt safe playing here which is always good.

The round was definitely fun. Not the greatest, but never frustrating and held my interest the whole way through.

Great beginner course to introduce new players. There's not a ton of lost disc opportunities or frustrations here and navigation is generally pretty easy.

The course design isn't enthralling, but it's definitely serviceable and there's a decent amount of different looks to keep it fairly interesting for the most part.

Concrete tee pads are always good and they're in decent shape for the most part. Baskets are also in good working order. Trash cans and other amenities are scattered throughout the course.
Cons: This course is packed into a fairly small area - definitely not the worst I've seen but several holes play close to either each other or the parking lot, so you do have to be cautious.

A lot of holes generally feel fairly similar, and nothing really stands out to me as "great". Some courses have several holes that I remember as amazing or can't wait to play again -- here, there really wasn't anything like that. Just a nice place to play a round but that's about it.

There is a bike and walking trail through this course as well, which seems to be pretty common for Florida courses I've noticed. No big deal but it does see some use so be careful.

I noticed a fair amount of trash on the course and it plays next to a couple fairly busy roads. While the roads are great for easy access, it does break up the feel of the round a bit in my opinion.

I played several courses in the Tampa Bay area during midweek, and this was the only one that was packed even at 11 on Wednesday. Everyone was very friendly but I can only imagine it's a total zoo on the weekends.

Sandy soil everywhere, which I can imagine gets pretty muddy in the rainy season. I was here in November so it wasn't a big issue but I could see where it could be.

Not a lot of long opportunities, due to the compactness of the course.
Other Thoughts: I really feel like this course is a great one to take someone to that's new to the game. It doesn't really have any major frustrations and should make for a fun round.

I think this is a solid 3.0 course. Has all the amenities it needs, some nice touches to bring it over "average", but if you only have time for one or two courses in the Tampa Bay area I would probably skip this one. Nonetheless, I was thrilled to finally get a chance to play it and see what it's all about.

Be prepared to meet lots of friendly fellow DGers out here! It does seem to get pretty busy. Happy discing!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun Urban Course

1    9/8/2014   9/8/2014
Review By: domromer
Played: 53  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 12.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course. Pretty easy to find your way around without map, scenic, good shade which would be nice in the summer.
Cons: A lot of the pads and baskets are really close. On a busy weekend I imagine this course get's pretty crazy and backed up.
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time and enjoyed it. It's technical enough for it not to be a cake walk for an intermediate player but I don't think it would be so hard as to be discouraging for a new player.

As I mentioned there seems to be some overlap and various pins and pads seem in close proximity to each other. I'd recommend playing this course not during peak times if you prefer a steady pace and not having to play through or wait for groups.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    3/7/2014   3/19/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 228  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Coachman doesn't have the high points of Medard or Stephens but it also doesn't have the low points of some of the other area courses. If you were to imagine your standard, lightly wooded, flat course that makes the best use of limited terrain, you have a picture of Northeast Coachman.

It's a very approachable course that isn't a beginner course but is beginner-friendly. The holes are mostly defined by trees but it's more of an open space than a trail course and there is no underbrush to speak of. A few fairways bring a canal into play but it doesn't add much interest or difficulty, especially if you have just played on the serious waterways next door.

Most of the holes sport solid, easy to follow fairways that do require different shapes because of the variety of trees. I don't know if there is a standout hole here, but there aren't any frustrating ones either. And other than the road hole, all of them are fun.

Coachman also boats the advantage of multiple places to jump around. I mean that not in the kangaroo sense but in the hole-to-hole sense. It's easy to start on 1, 4, 11 and 14 from the parking lot which is a big advantage on a smaller course that can get busy and is one the many players will want to play all the time. Add in nice tees and a multitude of benches and it's a great place to throw a round, if not an especially memorable one.
Cons: There aren't crossing fairways or anything but there seem to be a lot of pairs of holes where one goes down and the other takes you back. This does create some danger of shots crossing into other fairways but a more realistic concern is that the course becomes difficult to navigate at times. Since the terrain is open there is no obvious way to proceed from many baskets. Typically, one tee is close by but there are some tricky spots. (Nothing the map can't solve) There is also 16. If you remember this on the course, the basket is the one to the right. Then there is the hole in which the road is very much in play.

So there's a few issues, but mostly the course is limited by the flat terrain and the mostly open nature of the grounds, and it doesn't have the water hazards that Cliff Stephens uses to make up for this fact. Thus, there is not much in the way of greatness. No memorable holes. Not too much challenge. Little variation. The holes look pretty much the same and though there are some different lines, there is not much variety in distance. There are also too many fairways that are just straight approaches. A lot of "straight" here and that's where more advanced players will lose interest.
Other Thoughts: Essentially, Coachman is an everyday type of course that would be a great home course. At the same time, when you consider it's proximity to Cliff Stephens, it is part of sweet two-course trip that is worth a bit of travel to experience.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

1    12/23/2013   12/23/2013
Review By: Murderous Monkey
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -nice course
-some holes have long/short tees
-nice foliage, and well kept
-benches all over
-nice scenery
-easy to locate
Cons: -no pars, so out of towners don't know how they're doing
-couple holes unsure where to go next
-no holes allow you to air it out
-somewhat short course
Other Thoughts: Nice course. Pretty easy course, I only threw a fury and anode and did just fine. You can leave the distance drivers at home. Another review said that it connects to Cliff, but I didn't see where. Signage for that would be awesome. Water comes in to play on a few holes, so watch for that. Overall a nice shortish course that is a definite stop.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Times

2-4    11/17/2013   11/21/2013
Review By: redsealking
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful piece of land. Awesome flow with nice, accurate tee signs. Short and long tees make for a fun experience for beginners through pros. Each hole had a rather defined line, with options to take the path less traveled. Lack of underbrush allowed for ease of recovery from errant shots.
Cons: Not necessarily a con due to lack of property, but most holes are reachable from the tees, forcing a "deuce or die" mentality. No real sense of getting to air it out.
Other Thoughts: I was on vacation from Texas where short courses are becoming a thing of the past. I was impressed by the local fauna. Got to play in one of their weekly minis and met a lot of like-minded people, reinforcing the thought that the disc mentality translates well from location to location.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Clearwater Classic

5+    10/28/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Beautiful sign greets you to the course.
- Tee-signs are all new and are very informative with full color pictures.
- Good variety of distances and lines for each hole.
- Multiple pin placements on certain holes make the course different each time you play it.
- Right down the road from Cliff.
- No chance of getting lost, course flows really well from hole to hole and from beginning to end.
- Some good ace runs.
Cons: - Some of the Tee-pads are a little short and a little chopped up.
- Not to much grass; the majority of the course sits under tree cover, so the majority of the ground is just dirt.
- Bugs!, the mosquitoes can get pretty bad if the creek that runs behind hole 3 and 4 gets some water in it.
- Not a good variety of shots, this course is a RHBH hyzer bomb course.
- Course floods very easily when it rains.
- No real signature hole; though I have my favorite, hole #8, i feel there is no hole that stands out from all the others.
- No real signature finishing hole; hole 18 is a 318' shot through the trees back to the parking lot, nothing special.
Other Thoughts: - All things considered this is still one of my favorite courses.
- I would suggest a day trip only because Cliff is right around the corner and the Clearwater Disc Golf Store is right down the road.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.