Clearwater, FL 
North East Coachman Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #5 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 321ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
A worthwhile play!

1    11/19/2014   12/5/2014
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 30  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 1.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very easy to get to and well signed. The signs have photos showing where the baskets are, which is a great touch and something I had not seen anywhere back in my native Kansas City. It really does help with navigating and finding your way. Good job!

Scenery here isn't the best of the Tampa Bay area, but it's definitely still nice and has its own merits.

The park itself seems to be in a decent part of Clearwater as well, I felt safe playing here which is always good.

The round was definitely fun. Not the greatest, but never frustrating and held my interest the whole way through.

Great beginner course to introduce new players. There's not a ton of lost disc opportunities or frustrations here and navigation is generally pretty easy.

The course design isn't enthralling, but it's definitely serviceable and there's a decent amount of different looks to keep it fairly interesting for the most part.

Concrete tee pads are always good and they're in decent shape for the most part. Baskets are also in good working order. Trash cans and other amenities are scattered throughout the course.
Cons: This course is packed into a fairly small area - definitely not the worst I've seen but several holes play close to either each other or the parking lot, so you do have to be cautious.

A lot of holes generally feel fairly similar, and nothing really stands out to me as "great". Some courses have several holes that I remember as amazing or can't wait to play again -- here, there really wasn't anything like that. Just a nice place to play a round but that's about it.

There is a bike and walking trail through this course as well, which seems to be pretty common for Florida courses I've noticed. No big deal but it does see some use so be careful.

I noticed a fair amount of trash on the course and it plays next to a couple fairly busy roads. While the roads are great for easy access, it does break up the feel of the round a bit in my opinion.

I played several courses in the Tampa Bay area during midweek, and this was the only one that was packed even at 11 on Wednesday. Everyone was very friendly but I can only imagine it's a total zoo on the weekends.

Sandy soil everywhere, which I can imagine gets pretty muddy in the rainy season. I was here in November so it wasn't a big issue but I could see where it could be.

Not a lot of long opportunities, due to the compactness of the course.
Other Thoughts: I really feel like this course is a great one to take someone to that's new to the game. It doesn't really have any major frustrations and should make for a fun round.

I think this is a solid 3.0 course. Has all the amenities it needs, some nice touches to bring it over "average", but if you only have time for one or two courses in the Tampa Bay area I would probably skip this one. Nonetheless, I was thrilled to finally get a chance to play it and see what it's all about.

Be prepared to meet lots of friendly fellow DGers out here! It does seem to get pretty busy. Happy discing!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun Urban Course

1    9/8/2014   9/8/2014
Review By: domromer
Played: 44  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12.1 Years
Pros: Fun course. Pretty easy to find your way around without map, scenic, good shade which would be nice in the summer.
Cons: A lot of the pads and baskets are really close. On a busy weekend I imagine this course get's pretty crazy and backed up.
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time and enjoyed it. It's technical enough for it not to be a cake walk for an intermediate player but I don't think it would be so hard as to be discouraging for a new player.

As I mentioned there seems to be some overlap and various pins and pads seem in close proximity to each other. I'd recommend playing this course not during peak times if you prefer a steady pace and not having to play through or wait for groups.


1    3/7/2014   3/19/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Coachman doesn't have the high points of Medard or Stephens but it also doesn't have the low points of some of the other area courses. If you were to imagine your standard, lightly wooded, flat course that makes the best use of limited terrain, you have a picture of Northeast Coachman.

It's a very approachable course that isn't a beginner course but is beginner-friendly. The holes are mostly defined by trees but it's more of an open space than a trail course and there is no underbrush to speak of. A few fairways bring a canal into play but it doesn't add much interest or difficulty, especially if you have just played on the serious waterways next door.

Most of the holes sport solid, easy to follow fairways that do require different shapes because of the variety of trees. I don't know if there is a standout hole here, but there aren't any frustrating ones either. And other than the road hole, all of them are fun.

Coachman also boats the advantage of multiple places to jump around. I mean that not in the kangaroo sense but in the hole-to-hole sense. It's easy to start on 1, 4, 11 and 14 from the parking lot which is a big advantage on a smaller course that can get busy and is one the many players will want to play all the time. Add in nice tees and a multitude of benches and it's a great place to throw a round, if not an especially memorable one.
Cons: There aren't crossing fairways or anything but there seem to be a lot of pairs of holes where one goes down and the other takes you back. This does create some danger of shots crossing into other fairways but a more realistic concern is that the course becomes difficult to navigate at times. Since the terrain is open there is no obvious way to proceed from many baskets. Typically, one tee is close by but there are some tricky spots. (Nothing the map can't solve) There is also 16. If you remember this on the course, the basket is the one to the right. Then there is the hole in which the road is very much in play.

So there's a few issues, but mostly the course is limited by the flat terrain and the mostly open nature of the grounds, and it doesn't have the water hazards that Cliff Stephens uses to make up for this fact. Thus, there is not much in the way of greatness. No memorable holes. Not too much challenge. Little variation. The holes look pretty much the same and though there are some different lines, there is not much variety in distance. There are also too many fairways that are just straight approaches. A lot of "straight" here and that's where more advanced players will lose interest.
Other Thoughts: Essentially, Coachman is an everyday type of course that would be a great home course. At the same time, when you consider it's proximity to Cliff Stephens, it is part of sweet two-course trip that is worth a bit of travel to experience.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

1    12/23/2013   12/23/2013
Review By: Murderous Monkey
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -nice course
-some holes have long/short tees
-nice foliage, and well kept
-benches all over
-nice scenery
-easy to locate
Cons: -no pars, so out of towners don't know how they're doing
-couple holes unsure where to go next
-no holes allow you to air it out
-somewhat short course
Other Thoughts: Nice course. Pretty easy course, I only threw a fury and anode and did just fine. You can leave the distance drivers at home. Another review said that it connects to Cliff, but I didn't see where. Signage for that would be awesome. Water comes in to play on a few holes, so watch for that. Overall a nice shortish course that is a definite stop.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Times

2-4    11/17/2013   11/21/2013
Review By: redsealking
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful piece of land. Awesome flow with nice, accurate tee signs. Short and long tees make for a fun experience for beginners through pros. Each hole had a rather defined line, with options to take the path less traveled. Lack of underbrush allowed for ease of recovery from errant shots.
Cons: Not necessarily a con due to lack of property, but most holes are reachable from the tees, forcing a "deuce or die" mentality. No real sense of getting to air it out.
Other Thoughts: I was on vacation from Texas where short courses are becoming a thing of the past. I was impressed by the local fauna. Got to play in one of their weekly minis and met a lot of like-minded people, reinforcing the thought that the disc mentality translates well from location to location.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Clearwater Classic

5+    10/28/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Beautiful sign greets you to the course.
- Tee-signs are all new and are very informative with full color pictures.
- Good variety of distances and lines for each hole.
- Multiple pin placements on certain holes make the course different each time you play it.
- Right down the road from Cliff.
- No chance of getting lost, course flows really well from hole to hole and from beginning to end.
- Some good ace runs.
Cons: - Some of the Tee-pads are a little short and a little chopped up.
- Not to much grass; the majority of the course sits under tree cover, so the majority of the ground is just dirt.
- Bugs!, the mosquitoes can get pretty bad if the creek that runs behind hole 3 and 4 gets some water in it.
- Not a good variety of shots, this course is a RHBH hyzer bomb course.
- Course floods very easily when it rains.
- No real signature hole; though I have my favorite, hole #8, i feel there is no hole that stands out from all the others.
- No real signature finishing hole; hole 18 is a 318' shot through the trees back to the parking lot, nothing special.
Other Thoughts: - All things considered this is still one of my favorite courses.
- I would suggest a day trip only because Cliff is right around the corner and the Clearwater Disc Golf Store is right down the road.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Taste of Florida

1    6/1/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Easy to find with hole one right by the parking lot
*Signs are clear and pads are nice concrete.
* The course is not long, but some holes do get up to around 400ft, so there is distance variety.
* Water comes into play as a lateral hazard on the back of the course, but the shots near it are well designed.
* Most of the course plays under shady trees.
* Although there are a lot of trees, it's not super tight. the holes are very workable.
* There's good line variety. It's a shotmaking course.
* Course flows well, there isn't any long walking around to find holes.
* You get what you deserve. Good shots are rewarded. there aren't any unfair shots.
* There are long and short pads, and the course appears fun for many skill levels.
Cons: * No actual bathrooms but there is a portolet.
* Flooding issue after heavy rains.
* Fairways could be tight if many groups are playing.
* Those are minor cons. This is an awesome course!!
Other Thoughts: Coachman feels like a nice walk on a shady, summer day. There is a walking path that winds around and through, and I saw many people using it. Disc golf could be part of a larger day of exercise and photography.

The park itself is loaded with gorgeous trees, and feels like old Florida inside. Personally, I found this to be one of my favorite parks that I have played. The shots in the woods were technical but fair, and the playing was very satisfying.

This park is very close to Cliff Stephens, and playing both together is a great comparison of what to do with different pieces of land. I really don't see why anyone wouldn't enjoy this park. the short tees are perfect for the distance challenged and the longs aren't too long. Coachman made for a fantastic morning of disc golf!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Florida Course

1    3/3/2013   3/4/2013
Review By: ArchAngel7774
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First Off, I met some of the nicest people as I drove in. Turns out, during Spring Training season (baseball) the park is used for parking for the Phillies, but they still allow golfers to park for free. They gave some nice advice and chatted with for some time while I got my gear in order.
The course itself was in wonderful shape. No under brush, limbs trimmed except where want for obstacles (and there are many large horizontal oak limbs), concrete tee pad were clean, only one mud area up near the road and not in play on decent drive. The trees are mainly Florida oak with enough other stuff to add variety. It was just wonderful. The "water" this time of year is a trickle along the back of the course (#'s 7-9 &16). So no lost discs, but talking to the locals, they told me this is a flood area (that's why they got it all to themselves) and during the rainy season the "trickle" becomes a ripping river and half the course becomes unplayable. Of course there a number of nice courses in the area so no problem there.
Everything here has trees, so no real chance to just let one rip, but with no under brush even a really bad drive is not a killer. I average 70 on my home course with a best of 60. I shot a 59 here, first time out, with no warm up.
This is a very good confidence building course.
Cons: I guess it gets pretty wet in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Great use of tight space. Even with 4-6 parties moving through, there was not any conflict except at the side with everyone going to the baseball game and they didn't mind at all.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/19/2012   11/19/2012
Review By: KimBrennan
Played: 56  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 34.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent signs on each hole (though few signs to indicate the direction to the next hole, they are rarely needed.)

Concrete pads (sometimes a bit small, but the holes usually aren't long enough to need bigger tees.)

Nice shady course, that doesn't feel heavily treed. Many of the tree obstacles are branches hanging down (horizontal) rather than vertical ones.

Nice benches on nearly every hole, and bag racks on many too.
Cons: Very sandy (when dry). A towel to clean your discs regularly is definitely needed.

For several of the holes, the bike path/hiking trail comes into play (and care must be given so as to not hit pedestrians or bikers.)

No water, no restrooms.

The course design is fairly tight, meaning that holes are pretty close to each other. The course design is well done so that errant shots on one hole rarely intervene on one of the adjacent holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a relatively short course, and rather attractive as I saw it (didn't see much trash, which is pleasant for a change.)

This is not a course for big hyzers, it is much more of a straight low shot type of course. Due to the sandy conditions on several of the holes, don't expect too many skips (back nine seems to have more than the front nine.)

Water hazard (when I played in November) is very shallow.

Quite a pretty course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Technical counterpart to Cliff Stevens

5+    12/22/2011   8/14/2012
Review By: Fighter
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: + Great design
+ Line shaping technical layout
+ Beautiful Scenery in busy area
+ Concrete pads and nice tee signs
Cons: - Parking room
- Congestion at times
- Slightly lacks on length
Other Thoughts: Hard to come up with cons for this Clearwater gem. It's a well taken care of course with a great variety of technical shots with a few bombs next to OB (road, paths, water). Misses a 4.5-5 rating without little additions, but not by much. Elevated pins might improve difficulty as an option

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.