Disc Golf Store
Clearwater, FL 
North East Coachman Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #15 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 257ft.   3 / 291ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Most playable

5+    5/19/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: Alin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: New Benches frikkin' rock...almost stadium seating!! The Tampa Bay Disc Sports Club!! The wonderful canopy!! The absolute best layout...most returns to the parking lot. Play 1-3, back at the lot. Play thru to hole 10, back at the lot. Play 11-13 and back at the lot. 18 finishes at the lot...so sweet.
Cons: The course has lost a lot of trees and schule, thereby reducing the difficulty level. All holes less than 400'.
Other Thoughts: So very playable - the park is disc golf only!! Definitely a slice of wilderness in the middle of Clearwater. While Cliff is officially the home of the "Champ", this is the alternate home!!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

If you are in the Bay area, then this is a must play!

5+    11/18/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Two concrete tee's per hole (White/Blue), numbered baskets, Alt pin placements and BRAND NEW Tee signs. Very nice Tee signs with POV pictures marking the basket locations and the distance.

-Very nice benches at every tee, Bag Hooks (some holes) Trash Cans, and a Porto in the parking area.

-The New Tee Signs have a pictures looking down the fairway with arrows pointing to both basket locations and distances for both tees. Very Sharp and easy to read!

-Multiple starting points from the parking lot. You can start on any of the following tees 1, 4, 11, & 14. It is a popular course, and it can get busy. So if you see a big group out, you can jump over to another tee boxes. It's also easy to tailor a quick 9 if you are in a hurry.

-Plays under a canopy of trees, which offers some relief in the summertime.

-There are plenty of trees to work your lines around, but not overly dense

-Good pin locations, various lines that require shot shaping: hyzers, Doglegs, and some flex shots.

-This park is entirely a Disc Golf course.

-Some Water hazards. (Didn't appear to be very deep, but it is wide)

-Beginner friendly, yet challenging enough for the seasoned player to enjoy.

-Average Distances range from 250-350ft.

-Holes 3, 10, 14, 18 put you back at the parking lot. Which means you can actually start on 1, 4, 11, and 15. This is handy if you see there is a big group in front of you. As busy as this course can get, it's good to have multiple starting points.

-Easy to access from hwy 19

-Located near Cliff Stephens and Clearwater Discs

FWIW
-The Phillies Spring Training Field is just down the street.
-If you follow the walking path towards Phillies stadium, follow the path around the stadium, you will end up at Cliff Stephens DGC
Cons: -Walking path next to a few holes.

-One hole plays near a busy intersection, and others near main road. A few baskets are near the parking lot. (Mind where you park)

-Some of the fairways play close to each other. One tee pad having a net to catch discs from the previous basket. (I guess that would be a positive!)

-Though the navigation wasn't too bad, but the flow seemed a little choppy. On a couple of occasions we had to be pointed in the right direction. There is a very nice map in the links/Files tab at the top of this page.

-This course can get be very busy on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy myself at Coachman. The course isn't terribly hard, but your lines will require shot shaping and accuracy. The trees are sparse enough to be forgiving, but they are still there and will do their best to deflect your drive. The water hazards aren't too threatening with a very low risk. Although you may have to fish an errant throw out of the creek, it shouldn't be too difficult to retreive. I like the individuality of each fairway. Though a few holes may be similar, most of the fairways have their own unique pattern.

It's not a hard course, but there is a lot to enjoy. It has a great fun factor! It's one of the staple courses of the Clearwater area and it's close to the Cliff Stephens Course. No special footwear is needed, and shorts will also be fine here. (In case you are wondering, there are other courses in the area where I wouldn't recommend shorts.) Hwy 19 is a main road nearby, and there are plenty of restaurants and gas stations nearby. If you are in the area, put this course on your list to play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Simple but fun

1    3/13/2012   3/13/2012
Review By: holein1
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.9 Years
Pros: This course had mostly medium ranged holes, a few longer ones...so had a pretty good variety. The pads were easy to find, some you have to backtrack a little bit though. They have shallow creeks, and a very nice setting.
Cons: The course is a little bit to compact, thats when you have to backtrack just a bit. Some of the signs were a little rusted...
Other Thoughts: It's a pretty fun disc golf course!! Nice pick me up after getting owned by Cliff Stephens DGC! A lot of fun!! But when isn't disc golf a lot of fun?! :)

 Coachman

1    3/13/2012   3/13/2012
Review By: mrkvnmnn
Played: 64  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: I love the setting. I really enjoy playing through and around the trees. You get a decent variety of shots. Its a very nice pick me up after playing cliff stevens. There is a bench by every teepad. There is water in play but it is very shallow. You can retrieve your discs with ease. It was a pretty hot day so the shade from the trees was awesome.
Cons: The Signage wasn't the greatest. I really hate it when its hard to find my way around. This course is so compact that you can see two teepads after quite a few holes.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course and would definitely play again. If your in the area and play cliff stevens you should stop by Coachman and shot a quick fun round.

 coachman

5+    11/10/2011   1/8/2012
Review By: tedy4444
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great varient of shots. challenging as there are many trees and a stream along a few holes. even if you shoot in the water you can retreive most shots.
Cons: not very good signage. rain puts this place underwater. watch for water snakes!
Other Thoughts: the locals meet here often and are always open to playing with new faces

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/8/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: captainobvious
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
Pros: - Shade, Shade, Shade, Summer course!
- Variety of shots
- Friendly locals, with lots of events
- Benches
- BBQ place and fruit stand across the street for some chow
Cons: - Porto potty for toilet, but at least some place to go
- Not grassy all the way through, but thats just because of the shade, which more than makes up for it.
Other Thoughts: Do throw at the cars! A controlled shot that flows well and has accuracy is always better than ending up 50-100ft out of bonds anyway I have learned recently.

  A great course, only if it's empty..

2-4    10/23/2011   10/24/2011
Review By: JDdiscin
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I'm newer to the area (originally from MI) and love this sport! I was really excited to find out that there are an abundance of courses within a few short miles of each other! This one was one of my first stops.
The first thing that stood out to me was the canopy. The course was built under this lucious green cover to provide shade on the hottest of Florida days. Definitely an extra bonus to the course.
Now to the course itself.
Hole #1 starts right next to the parking lot and heads off to the north. It seems kind of dangerous to be throwing this direction since there is a really busy intersection about 30-40 ft. from the basket itself.
#2 has you teeing off right next to NE Coachman Rd. The basket is located though a tunnel of trees, slightly to the right.
#3 is shooting right back towards the parking (again, a weird basket location).
#4 has you going back into the canopy with low ceilings having the basket resting at the crest of a ridge to an overflow creekbed. Cross the bridge to the right and you're to
#5. This hole is one of the better ones. It's a simple shot to the right, but beware of the trees as you get closer to the basket. Also, gets pretty sandy there as well.
#6 is a short, straight shot to the basket. Although there is a small little hyzer shot to the right if you want to get sneaky and try and skip one up to the basket.
#7 is the first hole where a little creek comes in to play. It's along the right side of the hole and comes into play later on as well.
#8 is along that same little creek, with the basket being tucked away into the trees up on the left.
#9 is back out along the creek as well, but with a straight shot to the basket, with no hindrances.
#10 is towards the middle of the property with a tight line to the basket as there are trees lining both sides of the fairway.
#11 seems like it will be a tough hole, but if you can get your hyzer shot to make it through the foliage, you'll be right next to the hole. Definitely one of the more wooded holes on this course.
#12 opens back up along the creek and is a little bit farther distance than the rest of the holes here. Be careful not to grip-lock your shot or you'll be in the water or crossing the creek in to the field.
#13 is back tracked a little bit from basket #12. It is placed down near the parking lot, but has trees on both sides of the fairway.
#14 is over next to the porta-john and is a tight shot between two trees about 20-30 ft. from the pad.
#15 is across the Ream-Wilson Trail and next to a drainage pipe. Basket is heavily guarded by trees.
#16 has you throwing across the trail again. Be mindful of the small tree about halfway down the fairway as it will be a nuisance on any arrant drive.
#17 is a quick little throw to the basket. at only 230', your throw doesn't need to have much power to it.
#18 is through another tunnel of trees as you throw back towards the parking lot to finish your round.
Cons: Location, location, location! How many times have we heard that? That is my biggest pet peeve about this course. Many of the basket and pad locations have you either throwing towards busy roads, the parking lot, other tee pads, or across walking/ biking trails. Can be dangerous and hazardous to both people and vehicles.
The tee pads themselves. Yes, give them credit for being cement, but I found them to be either too narrow or too short for any type of solid run up.
Course Cleanliness. This course seemed to be lacking in that department. I don't know if it was because of the lack of grass, the amounts of trash I saw, or just the people that were there themselves. Just not a well kept/ cleaned course (take pride in your course, clean up after yourself).
Signage. There was little to no direction for this course. most of the tee pad signs were missing or were so worn down you couldn't read them. There were very few signs directing you to the next hole (some had Sharpee written on the top of basket pointing, other one was small wooden sign). This can be very frustrating and time-consuming when playing a new course.
Course layout. Although I understand that the designer(s) were working with limited space, the flow and layout of this course just seemed confusing and backwards at times. Back-tracking was very common thoughout this course.
Other Thoughts: Overall, was not impressed with this course. It could be more enjoyable once you learn the layout of everything.
Would be nice to see the local disc club take a little bit more pride in their course. Have a "course clean-up" day to go around and pick up the trash all around.
Definitely need to get some better signs up. A few holes seem to have bag poles, but not all of them.
If you're bored and looking to kill some time, I would say come here. If you are on a time schedule, I would skip this course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good paly, great shopping!

1    2/6/2011   2/8/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/5/2012
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: See my full review on other box - overall a nice, fun place to play - and the best part is Clearwater DG store just seconds away! back 9 are as good or even a bit better than front 9. needs a bit of sign maint, but otherwise great golf. Ppl here are quite friendly and course is virtually free of trash.
Cons: None really cept lack of a sig hole and needs more variety in hole length. I have come back and played the entire 18... last time and the review was limited to just front 9. I will declare hole number 11 the sig hole. A great pinball tree hole with many ways to play it. You could plan hole 11 9 times and call it a course if you wanted to.
Other Thoughts: This is my disc golf course rating system. Each element of the course is worth ½ disc for a total of 10, ½ disc units or 5 full discs of rating.
My 10 categories are:
1. Quality of tee pads.
2. Quality of signage, both individual hole signs as well as a sign board and course layout at the hole one beginning location.
3. Course amenities. Benches at tees, garbage cans on course, disc bag posts/hooks, next tee arrows, etc.
4. Overall park amenities. Things like bathrooms, drinking fountains, playground areas, anything that improves the overall location.
5. Overall use of available terrain features. How well did the designers use what they had to work with?
6. Changes in elevation. Some courses have this occurring naturally. Others have created it. Either way it is vital that a good course is beyond flat… even in Iowa or Nebraska.
7. Variety of hole length. Is it mixed up? Some long, some short. Keep things interesting.
8. Tee and basket options. Are there tee options and/or alternate basket locations? Can the course be played different on different visits?
9. Signature hole? Is there one hole in specific that leaves an impression? Creates a unique memory?
10. Fun Factor - Purely subjective on my part. Did I have fun?

Coachman Park - Clearwater, FL

1. Yes. Good tee pads, but just a bit small for some of these longer holes.
2. No. Some signs missing, somw signs not readable, some signs in poor state of repair.
3. Yes. Some trash cans on course. No trash on course. I guess players use the cans where they are. Course is well worn and well used but there is a wonderful lack of trash on the course. Kudos to the locals for taking good care of their playground.
4. Yes. Overall nice clean park. Port-a-potty available. No other facilities… still a yes as this is a disc golf only park. No other reason to visit here… and that is a HUGE plus.
5. Yes. ZERO elevation here naturally or created. Good use of perimeter canal and interior terrain features.
6. No. No elevation what so ever.
7. No. Not much variety in hole length… all are mid length by my experience.
8. No. The course map shows a few 2nd basket options but none were present.
9. No. This course lacks a signature hole. All are basically point and shoot and quite similar. A few slight hyzer and anhyzer options, but mostly holes laid out where they fit and straight shots. The trees and other natural growth have made more of the holes than the layout would imply… straight shot, but trees in the way. 
10. Yes. This was quite a bit of fun. The overall use of natural trees and growth and a easy to follow plan makes this a great fun course to play. A bit of water for some risk.

Rating = 5 yes, 5 no =
2.5

2/2012 Played here again this year. I am a better player and this is a better course now that I have played all 18... I have raised my rating by 1 full point.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 good beginner course with some issues

1    12/29/2010   12/29/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of small canal which comes into play on 7, 8, 12 an 16.
18 decent baskets with 2 long (often narrow) concrete tee pads on most holes.
Practice basket (even though it is crazy close to the parking lot)
Canopy provides lots of shade, as well as a most of the obsticles, under the canpoy there was suprisingly few nasty spike covered foiliage to eat your discs and slice your arms like many other area courses.
Good course for beginners due to low frustration levels and low chance of disc loss.

Cons: Design has moments of weak flow and serious safety concerns.
Hole 1 starts throwing at a busy highway with a busy road running down the right side, Why throw directly at an intersection on the first hole?
Hole 3's basket was was rediculiously close to the parking lot, hole 15 has you throwing directly over a busy trial.
The tee signs were worn down to nothing, they were absolutely no help, you could not even read which hole the sign was for on most tees. Some were ripped from th ground or missing.
Navigational signs are needed, at the very least a peice of colored tape on the basket pointing to the direction of the next basket.
Course was very crowded with discs flying everywhere, baskets all over.
Not a single sign to tell you there were 6 more holes across the street
Other Thoughts: Watch where you park so your car does not get whacked by a disc.
Porto-potty on hole 14.
I can't belive there are more holes across the street that I did not know about until reading Harr0140's review. Why spend that kind of money and not advertise it?
9
*edit question answered: The other baskets are only open for tournament use.
Clearwater DGC just down the road.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tropicana

2-4    12/25/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: DelightSquad
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a challenging mashup of similar nearby courses. While it is a bit shorter than the others, it provides difficult lines, low ceilings, and heavy shrubs. You could say Coachman park stands as a middle child amongst a proud family of local DG courses. Like anything else in the St. Pete/Clearwater area it has feverish support and committed locals.

-Tee signs
-Shot varieties
-Friendly locals
-Shade for those hot days
-Shallow creeks
-Thoughtful layout

Like I said this place is dedicated. All you have here is a disc golf course; no pavilions and very little peds. While a bike/walk trail does ride through a couple holes, it still provides a connection to nearby Cliff Stephens. Although this course doesn't provide what taylor lake does in maintenance or what cliff does in tournament readiness, it holds its own as a unique layout and tropical course, under low ceilings and shifting shot shapes.
Cons: -Not much grass
-Can be busy
-Somewhat difficult navigation
-No facilities
-lack of benches

Coachman is really bare. You come here ready with your beverages and willingness to spot out a good spot to pee. Although there isn't zero benches, it hardly compares to the amenities of other nearby courses.

You can certainly lose a disc here if you don't keep an eye on it. The creeks here are shallow but can be muddy in areas. You also have heavy shrub and bushy trees to deal with. All that being said, my least favorite part is the lack of grass and surplus of loose sand. Certainly makes for frustrating lack of skips when throwing under the low canopy.
Other Thoughts: While I may or may not have dissed this course, it's the one I've played the most.

It's certainly a must play in the Clearwater area especially if you are going to Cliff anyways.

Nothing bad can be said about the DG scene here and the people who make it what it is. Big ups to all who made such a dedicated course possible!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.