Clearwater, FL 
North East Coachman Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #11 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 253ft.   3 / 253ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
A Clearwater Classic

5+    10/28/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Beautiful sign greets you to the course.
- Tee-signs are all new and are very informative with full color pictures.
- Good variety of distances and lines for each hole.
- Multiple pin placements on certain holes make the course different each time you play it.
- Right down the road from Cliff.
- No chance of getting lost, course flows really well from hole to hole and from beginning to end.
- Some good ace runs.
Cons: - Some of the Tee-pads are a little short and a little chopped up.
- Not to much grass; the majority of the course sits under tree cover, so the majority of the ground is just dirt.
- Bugs!, the mosquitoes can get pretty bad if the creek that runs behind hole 3 and 4 gets some water in it.
- Not a good variety of shots, this course is a RHBH hyzer bomb course.
- Course floods very easily when it rains.
- No real signature hole; though I have my favorite, hole #8, i feel there is no hole that stands out from all the others.
- No real signature finishing hole; hole 18 is a 318' shot through the trees back to the parking lot, nothing special.
Other Thoughts: - All things considered this is still one of my favorite courses.
- I would suggest a day trip only because Cliff is right around the corner and the Clearwater Disc Golf Store is right down the road.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Taste of Florida

1    6/1/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Easy to find with hole one right by the parking lot
*Signs are clear and pads are nice concrete.
* The course is not long, but some holes do get up to around 400ft, so there is distance variety.
* Water comes into play as a lateral hazard on the back of the course, but the shots near it are well designed.
* Most of the course plays under shady trees.
* Although there are a lot of trees, it's not super tight. the holes are very workable.
* There's good line variety. It's a shotmaking course.
* Course flows well, there isn't any long walking around to find holes.
* You get what you deserve. Good shots are rewarded. there aren't any unfair shots.
* There are long and short pads, and the course appears fun for many skill levels.
Cons: * No actual bathrooms but there is a portolet.
* Flooding issue after heavy rains.
* Fairways could be tight if many groups are playing.
* Those are minor cons. This is an awesome course!!
Other Thoughts: Coachman feels like a nice walk on a shady, summer day. There is a walking path that winds around and through, and I saw many people using it. Disc golf could be part of a larger day of exercise and photography.

The park itself is loaded with gorgeous trees, and feels like old Florida inside. Personally, I found this to be one of my favorite parks that I have played. The shots in the woods were technical but fair, and the playing was very satisfying.

This park is very close to Cliff Stephens, and playing both together is a great comparison of what to do with different pieces of land. I really don't see why anyone wouldn't enjoy this park. the short tees are perfect for the distance challenged and the longs aren't too long. Coachman made for a fantastic morning of disc golf!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Beautiful Florida Course

1    3/3/2013   3/4/2013
Review By: ArchAngel7774
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First Off, I met some of the nicest people as I drove in. Turns out, during Spring Training season (baseball) the park is used for parking for the Phillies, but they still allow golfers to park for free. They gave some nice advice and chatted with for some time while I got my gear in order.
The course itself was in wonderful shape. No under brush, limbs trimmed except where want for obstacles (and there are many large horizontal oak limbs), concrete tee pad were clean, only one mud area up near the road and not in play on decent drive. The trees are mainly Florida oak with enough other stuff to add variety. It was just wonderful. The "water" this time of year is a trickle along the back of the course (#'s 7-9 &16). So no lost discs, but talking to the locals, they told me this is a flood area (that's why they got it all to themselves) and during the rainy season the "trickle" becomes a ripping river and half the course becomes unplayable. Of course there a number of nice courses in the area so no problem there.
Everything here has trees, so no real chance to just let one rip, but with no under brush even a really bad drive is not a killer. I average 70 on my home course with a best of 60. I shot a 59 here, first time out, with no warm up.
This is a very good confidence building course.
Cons: I guess it gets pretty wet in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Great use of tight space. Even with 4-6 parties moving through, there was not any conflict except at the side with everyone going to the baseball game and they didn't mind at all.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/19/2012   11/19/2012
Review By: KimBrennan
Played: 70  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 34.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent signs on each hole (though few signs to indicate the direction to the next hole, they are rarely needed.)

Concrete pads (sometimes a bit small, but the holes usually aren't long enough to need bigger tees.)

Nice shady course, that doesn't feel heavily treed. Many of the tree obstacles are branches hanging down (horizontal) rather than vertical ones.

Nice benches on nearly every hole, and bag racks on many too.
Cons: Very sandy (when dry). A towel to clean your discs regularly is definitely needed.

For several of the holes, the bike path/hiking trail comes into play (and care must be given so as to not hit pedestrians or bikers.)

No water, no restrooms.

The course design is fairly tight, meaning that holes are pretty close to each other. The course design is well done so that errant shots on one hole rarely intervene on one of the adjacent holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a relatively short course, and rather attractive as I saw it (didn't see much trash, which is pleasant for a change.)

This is not a course for big hyzers, it is much more of a straight low shot type of course. Due to the sandy conditions on several of the holes, don't expect too many skips (back nine seems to have more than the front nine.)

Water hazard (when I played in November) is very shallow.

Quite a pretty course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Technical counterpart to Cliff Stevens

5+    12/22/2011   8/14/2012
Review By: Fighter
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: + Great design
+ Line shaping technical layout
+ Beautiful Scenery in busy area
+ Concrete pads and nice tee signs
Cons: - Parking room
- Congestion at times
- Slightly lacks on length
Other Thoughts: Hard to come up with cons for this Clearwater gem. It's a well taken care of course with a great variety of technical shots with a few bombs next to OB (road, paths, water). Misses a 4.5-5 rating without little additions, but not by much. Elevated pins might improve difficulty as an option

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Course For Shot Work

5+    5/12/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: nitron2097
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/9/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Coachman is probably between Cliff and Taylor in terms of difficulty. You don't need "Big D" here, but if you can't hit the fairways, you're in for a long day here.
- Brand new tee signs for every hole showing you the distance and line, and there are new benches on most holes, along with bag racks.
- The course has also been cleaned up a bit. A lot of underbrush was removed (the saw palmetto here used to be IMPOSSIBLE to deal with), and the drainage was improved a bit. The creek was widened and made a lot more shallow so it doesn't flood anymore.
- Three returns to the parking lot during your round. Everyone seems to like this, so it's a plus.
- Very close to Bright House Field, and connected to Cliff Stephens Park by the Ream Wilson Trail. Hit the DiMaggio fields and you might run into a pro doing field practice.
- There are enough trees to frustrate you, but no line is impossible here. The creek is well utilized as a natural hazard.
Cons: - This course is probably the most heavily played in Tampa Bay. It's in a light industrial area and lots of people come out for lunch to throw. It's not uncommon for there to be trash around.
- Despite the work, any moderate to heavy rain will inundate most of this course. If you want to play after rain, you'd better not mind mud.
- A lot of the fairways don't have a lot of grass and the soil is very sandy. Shots won't skip on you, but it does make it harder to throw skip shots. It's also very easy to lose discs in the leaves here during fall and winter.
- No restrooms on site, just a Honey Bucket.
- Only a few holes have alternate pins, so there's not a lot of variety.
- Navigation has been improved with the new signs and clearing of underbrush, but it could still be improved further.
- With all the work they did on the course, I would have liked new pads put in, though this would be expensive. The pads here are in need of work, as most are worn out and some are very small.
- A few holes play very close to Coachman Road and it's easy to lose a drive into the street. I have seen people hit cars in the lot, too, so mind where you park.
Other Thoughts: A few hole notes:
#1 - Only big fairway, so use this as your distance contest hole.
#3 - Basket is close to the lot, so be mindful of your throw.
#4 - Ace chance... the basket is perched above a ditch to the right of the tee but the hole is very short.
#5 - The short tee is across the bridge to the left of #4's basket and offers a nice mid-range hyzer shot. The long tee is behind the right bridge and is a lot tougher. I like am tees that give you a totally different shot, not just an easier shot.
#7 - The creek comes into play for the first time.
#8 - I'd call this Coachman's signature hole. The basket is blind from the tee, deep in the woods around the corner to the left, and everything is in play... water, saw palmetto, thick trees and a ditch.
#13 - Another basket very close to the parking lot. Mind your bomb.
#14 - Longest hole, especially with the alternate position.
#16 - Pro pad is behind the trail near the bridge. Might be hard to find for a first timer.
#17 - Ace chance... straight ahead from the tee and very short.
- If you've never played Cliff or Coachman, I'd play here first. This course is more technical and not as long, but it will teach you how to throw a frozen rope. Accuracy is king here. Very close to US 19 and not hard to find.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Most playable

5+    5/19/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: Alin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: New Benches frikkin' rock...almost stadium seating!! The Tampa Bay Disc Sports Club!! The wonderful canopy!! The absolute best layout...most returns to the parking lot. Play 1-3, back at the lot. Play thru to hole 10, back at the lot. Play 11-13 and back at the lot. 18 finishes at the lot...so sweet.
Cons: The course has lost a lot of trees and schule, thereby reducing the difficulty level. All holes less than 400'.
Other Thoughts: So very playable - the park is disc golf only!! Definitely a slice of wilderness in the middle of Clearwater. While Cliff is officially the home of the "Champ", this is the alternate home!!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

If you are in the Bay area, then this is a must play!

5+    11/18/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 110  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Two concrete tee's per hole (White/Blue), numbered baskets, Alt pin placements and BRAND NEW Tee signs. Very nice Tee signs with POV pictures marking the basket locations and the distance.

-Very nice benches at every tee, Bag Hooks (some holes) Trash Cans, and a Porto in the parking area.

-The New Tee Signs have a pictures looking down the fairway with arrows pointing to both basket locations and distances for both tees. Very Sharp and easy to read!

-Multiple starting points from the parking lot. You can start on any of the following tees 1, 4, 11, & 14. It is a popular course, and it can get busy. So if you see a big group out, you can jump over to another tee boxes. It's also easy to tailor a quick 9 if you are in a hurry.

-Plays under a canopy of trees, which offers some relief in the summertime.

-There are plenty of trees to work your lines around, but not overly dense

-Good pin locations, various lines that require shot shaping: hyzers, Doglegs, and some flex shots.

-This park is entirely a Disc Golf course.

-Some Water hazards. (Didn't appear to be very deep, but it is wide)

-Beginner friendly, yet challenging enough for the seasoned player to enjoy.

-Average Distances range from 250-350ft.

-Holes 3, 10, 14, 18 put you back at the parking lot. Which means you can actually start on 1, 4, 11, and 15. This is handy if you see there is a big group in front of you. As busy as this course can get, it's good to have multiple starting points.

-Easy to access from hwy 19

-Located near Cliff Stephens and Clearwater Discs

FWIW
-The Phillies Spring Training Field is just down the street.
-If you follow the walking path towards Phillies stadium, follow the path around the stadium, you will end up at Cliff Stephens DGC
Cons: -Walking path next to a few holes.

-One hole plays near a busy intersection, and others near main road. A few baskets are near the parking lot. (Mind where you park)

-Some of the fairways play close to each other. One tee pad having a net to catch discs from the previous basket. (I guess that would be a positive!)

-Though the navigation wasn't too bad, but the flow seemed a little choppy. On a couple of occasions we had to be pointed in the right direction. There is a very nice map in the links/Files tab at the top of this page.

-This course can get be very busy on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy myself at Coachman. The course isn't terribly hard, but your lines will require shot shaping and accuracy. The trees are sparse enough to be forgiving, but they are still there and will do their best to deflect your drive. The water hazards aren't too threatening with a very low risk. Although you may have to fish an errant throw out of the creek, it shouldn't be too difficult to retreive. I like the individuality of each fairway. Though a few holes may be similar, most of the fairways have their own unique pattern.

It's not a hard course, but there is a lot to enjoy. It has a great fun factor! It's one of the staple courses of the Clearwater area and it's close to the Cliff Stephens Course. No special footwear is needed, and shorts will also be fine here. (In case you are wondering, there are other courses in the area where I wouldn't recommend shorts.) Hwy 19 is a main road nearby, and there are plenty of restaurants and gas stations nearby. If you are in the area, put this course on your list to play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Simple but fun

1    3/13/2012   3/13/2012
Review By: holein1
Played: 59  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.7 Years
Pros: This course had mostly medium ranged holes, a few longer ones...so had a pretty good variety. The pads were easy to find, some you have to backtrack a little bit though. They have shallow creeks, and a very nice setting.
Cons: The course is a little bit to compact, thats when you have to backtrack just a bit. Some of the signs were a little rusted...
Other Thoughts: It's a pretty fun disc golf course!! Nice pick me up after getting owned by Cliff Stephens DGC! A lot of fun!! But when isn't disc golf a lot of fun?! :)

 Coachman

1    3/13/2012   3/13/2012
Review By: mrkvnmnn
Played: 73  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
Pros: I love the setting. I really enjoy playing through and around the trees. You get a decent variety of shots. Its a very nice pick me up after playing cliff stevens. There is a bench by every teepad. There is water in play but it is very shallow. You can retrieve your discs with ease. It was a pretty hot day so the shade from the trees was awesome.
Cons: The Signage wasn't the greatest. I really hate it when its hard to find my way around. This course is so compact that you can see two teepads after quite a few holes.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course and would definitely play again. If your in the area and play cliff stevens you should stop by Coachman and shot a quick fun round.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.