Clearwater, FL 
North East Coachman Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #16 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 233ft.   3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Vacation Miracle

2-4    3/20/2010   3/24/2010
Review By: underparmar
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good shade. Will be great in the Fla sunshine. For Kentucky hurler, was a nice change of pace with the flatness of the course. Good skip on landing due to leaves on ground. Friendly regulars.
Cons: A little crowded on layout. No mention on course that much better course connected by 16 tee box bridge (Cliff Stephens).
Other Thoughts: Playes twice in two days. First round with local player, good for layout and tricks. Second day with curious family members. A special day-ACED #5!! from back box!! 14 under (all as par 3's)!!!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, good design,cool property.

1    1/3/2010   1/7/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 735  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Practice basket is located right at the parking lot by #1 tee. I always like to see a practice basket to allow for practice putting and not interfering with people finishing on the actual course near the parking lot.

2) Portopotty is available in the parking lot. No other facilities on this property, but the parking lot is accessible on Hole #1, 3, 10, 14, and 18. That is plenty of access unless you have a Crohns flareup or Irritable Bowel Syndrome, or if you suffer from frequent urination.

3) Bench is available around the first hole and near the parking lot. There are also plenty of benches throughout the park. Garbage is also available for disposal of anything in multiple locations throughout the course.

4) Alternate tees are available on a few holes. They help to shorten the longer holes and also help to avoid the water in a few areas.

5) Excellent use of the winding creek on the property. The creek although low when I played, still has some unique features. There are plenty of switchbacks and peninsulas that create an interesting basket location.

6) The canopy in this park is interesting. There are a lot of tall mature trees, but there are also some lower trees that offer a low ceiling. This acts together to limit your shot selection. There are no tomahawks possible here, and you also cannot always excute a high shot because of the trees and lower shrubs. It forces you to throw low and hard to keep it straight and down. Watch out for the tough skips when throwing so low to the ground.

7) This course has some of the least amount of underbrush as any course I have played in Florida. I can always appreciate a well groomed course when it comes to palmettos (in the south) and buckthorn (in the north).

8) Water was used to create some tougher drives. The water is deep and I am sure there might be gators in there so it really makes you feel like you need to avoid those areas. It was nice they were able to incorporate some of the water around the course into play.
Cons: 1) This course is similar to almost all Florida courses in that it is totally flat. The only elevation changes on this course are due to basket locations tucked very near the winding creek.

2) Concrete tees are too narrow. I would much rather have a wider tee with less length because the most important part of the drive is the plant foot and release. The runup is less important in my opinion as long as the area surrounding the tee is level.

3) This course was very wet when I played it. 13 tee, 16 basket, 17 tee and 18 tee were all underwater and unplayable from their normal locations. I did make up alternate tees within about 20-30' of each tee that was under water, but the 16th basket was unplayable from 50-60' out since it was completely surrounded with water. This is in the dry season although I know they recently had a heavy rain creating the problem, but I can imagine at times this course would be unplayable. I would assume most of the course would be underwater or the fairways would be unnavigable when haevy rains come.

4) Signs leave a little to be desired. They are outdated and the distances that are on the posts are peeling and damaged. There is also some graffitti on some of the tee signs.

5) Course is a little repetitive. The first few holes are great and offer some different shots and views. Then the middle and end of the course have a few holes that feel just like others that have already been played. They still are all fun shots, but the feel is simply a little repetitive.

6) Layout of the course is a little tight in a few spots. This course is certainly set on a small property for 18 holes, but they make the most of the property.

7) Course does come across a walk path on Hole #14 and 15. This is the path that leads over to Cliff Stephens although I saw a lot more people walking over there, than I did at North East Coachman, but with the path connecting the two you may need to expect some possible delays on those holes.
Other Thoughts: All in all this was another enjoyable course. I cannot hold the wet areas against the course because it is generally a temporary situation. I am sure the wetness is also a problem in summer during the rainy times. I had a great time executing the shots needed on this course. There were plenty of trees, the water to contend with, and some real shot shaping holes to challenge me.

The usage of the creek in the middle of the course is interesting, and the areas on the property that have eroded recently also create some different shots. You cannot always plan on a skipshot to end where you want it. There are plenty of trees ont he course but also plenty of lanes to choose. You can throw all sorts of different discs in a round her and not as much due to distance throws but more so due to the low speed stability and high speed stability of those discs.

The course is located very near Clearwater Disc Golf Store, which is apparently one of the biggest stores in America. Most of this comes from online inventory because this is simply not that large of a store. It also is located next to the Minor Leaguea ffiliate for the Philadelphia Phillies. Catch a game on the way to Cliff Stephens when walking down the path!

I AM SO DISAPPOINTED I DIDNT KNOW ABOUT THE EXTRA 6 HOLES ACROSS THE STREET. I WANT TO GO BACK BUT IT WILL HAVE TO WAIT FOR AN ENTIRE YEAR.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/16/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The location is conveniently located near the Clearwater Disc golf store and is connected at hole 16 by a path to hole 16 at Cliff Stephens (less than a 1 mile trek). Coachman has a great variety of shots requiring both power and precision. One of the biggest challenges on the course is navigating through the woods. It used to be way more dense and on the plus side has made it harder to lose a disc, while maintaining the challenge of the trees.
Cons: There are a couple of holes that seem repetitive but for the most part this course will offer some challenges (#1, 8, 12) with a few easy birdies tossed in the mix (#3, 6, 11, 13). The holes do overlap just a bit and it makes it all the more important to watch yourself for disc golfers on other holes.

There are no facilities with the exception of a lone porta-potty. The signage is weak and could seriously use an update. A few teepads could use replaced.
Other Thoughts: One of the highest rated rounds ever shot was recorded here by Ken Climo in April 2009. He shot -23 on 24 holes, with a par on hole 1 and then 23 straight birdies! If you play this course you will see how ridiculous that is.

If you are in Tampa Bay try out Cliff first but make sure to hit Coachman when you get a chance.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Variety of Challenges

1    8/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2010
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun course, that was short at time, yet technical. Mostly straight shots with obstacles, only a few doglegs. A creek comes into play on 4 holes and plays to the right. Only a few holes I would consider difficult, yet each hole supplied its own unique challenge
Nice flow, easy to navigate

Very nice, large, concrete teepads, with most holes having a short and long tee. Holes were in good shape. Trash cans at most holes to keep the park clean. Clean port-a-potty located at #14
Cons: Signage for the holes were pretty weak. Could use an upgrade. Flat, no elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: The park itself is really beautiful. Has all the Florida fauna and ecoscape. The creek is really cool with fish and birds. The park is fairly clean of trash

There is a lot of holes that you have to navigate around trees, so it was great to play a technical course. Also, the trees helped keep the shade on you and the temperature down.

The locals there seemed to be cool and laid back. Cliff Stevens DGC is adjacent, so you can get 21 more hole over there in one trip

Favortite Hole: #8- Plays with the canal and a large oak to your right of the tee. Doglegs pretty hard to the left about 200' out. Another large oak is right there, then the hole is about 150' through abunch of trees on the left side of the fairway and 2 oaks in the middle. I tried to roll it and bairly hit the big oak at the dogleg. I would love to get that roller down to the hole

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Tampa Trip

1    6/19/2009   6/20/2009
Review By: FrolfHead
Played: 63  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Definately a fun course to play, I plan on coming back when Im in the area. Many of the holes have tight fairways and play very close to each other. The course is cut out of some pretty nice foliage. Makes pretty good use out of not much land.
Cons: Several holes were missing Tee signs and several others were of little use. Several par 4's and 5's could been 3's.
Other Thoughts: Several holes run along a canal.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It is just Fun!

2-4    3/18/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: Roller Coasters
Played: 39  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A wonderfully picturesque course that is great fun to play. The park is filled with old growth oak trees that create a canopy over the entire park. Even in the hot Florida summers, this course is not terribly uncomfortable to play because of the canopy. The course has a good mix of wooded technical holes and open "go for it" holes. Even though it is heavily wooded, there is always a fair path to the pin. Tees are concrete and there are good tee signs throughout. The flow is good and there are also directional signs in key places to help the first timer. The course is connected to Cliff Stephens and is also about 1 mile away from the Clearwater Disc Golf Store, which has more discs in stock then you can even imagine.
Cons: There are no facilities at the park
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the Tampa Bay area. Cliff Stephens has some great holes and gets all of the press, but I'm not a big bomber and Cliff Stephens can be frustrating at times. Tocobaga is beautiful and well maintained, but it is sooooo tight that I'm always on edge while throwing there. Coachmen, for me, is just a great time on the disc golf course. I love playing this course, not only for the course design, but for the beauty and feel of the park. The last time I was in Clearwater, I almost played two rounds on Coachmen instead of heading over to Cliff Stephens. The next time I'm there, I think I'll stay for that second round and make it a fun disc golf day on one of my favorite courses.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A B+ Traditional Course

2-4    4/7/2004   4/18/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B-
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/19/2008   1/19/2009
Review By: jeremytf
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 28.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tight fairways challenge your accuracy and technical ability. It's a pretty course with lots of trees and shade. The creek adds difficulty on some holes.
Cons: It's a short course. You won't get much practice with your max distance drivers.

Most of the holes can be reached a fairway driver and then a putter, so I hardly get to use my mid-range discs.

Many of the holes play relatively similarly - straight or near straight shots down narrow fairways.

The park is small, so all the holes are packed very tightly together, which can occasionally make for congestion of the players.

It's very flat and can get muddy/flooded in the back 9 after a heavy rain.

The signage is useless and the only restrooms is one portable...
Other Thoughts: It's a good practice course for your accuracy. I've played a couple tournaments here - they're always fun but I miss having more holes where you can really drive all-out. That's just the nature of the small, tight park where the course is located.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/23/2008   12/23/2008
Review By: aceman
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: tightly wooded,flows very well,flat,warm in the winter.palmettos are in abundance.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: this is one of Ken Climo's home courses and we were fortunate and met the champ and got to play a round with him.super nice guy hope you have the same luck.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

7/29/2008   7/29/2008
Review By: DiscGolfCenter.com
Played: 86  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of shade, plenty of obstacles. Good layout from relatively flat wooded ground.
Cons: Shorter wooded course.
Other Thoughts: Great companion course to Cliff Stephens.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.