Santa Maria, CA 
Waller Park Share
Uploaded By: Legend KILLer Hole #14 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
super duper nice

1    6/22/2016   6/22/2016
Review By: Mr72datsun
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: went on a wednesday and saw only 2 other people playing. one local guy was working on course and was super friendly. nice signs. low chance of losing disc. playing on grass for a change was nice. nice park setting. great parking. nice bathrooms. good course for beginners and experience players both.
Cons: i really would have liked to have rented a golf cart. signs did not call out which basket placement was in play.
Other Thoughts: if you like disc golf and are in the area, you should play here. we drove 1 hour 20 minutes and were very happy with the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

An excellent mix

2-4    4/30/2016   5/20/2016
Review By: Philbert
Played: 36  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Waller Park is a parks park. Plenty of things for the non disc golf oriented family members to do while the awesome 27 holes of Waller take you to town. The course itself plays from the front parking lot, to the back of the park and back to the front parking lot. Holes 9 / 10 also stop right next to hole 27's tee pad if you want to just throw a quick 9 or need to get something from the car.

The terrain changes from manicured lawn with well placed trees to sandy pine barrens back to rolling cut grass to wide open sandy fields. It's a good long hike and the mix of rolling hills and flats and varied vegetation makes for some interesting disc.

The holes are a good solid mix of left to rights, right to lefts, hills, flats, wide open, roller... Yeah. Ya know what? If there is a shot in your bag, you will most likely use it here. OB when found is well used. Elevation was used where ever it was found. Some mandos add to some of the already technical holes. In the pine area baskets are located on edges or inclines. Making blow by's and spit outs rough. The added complexity made for a lot of fun.

There where water faucets and restrooms located throughout the course. Which is good, as the course is 27 holes.

Tee pads where solid concreate with some good roughing for extra grip. This worked out really well even on the holes where there was a ton of sand. Out of the 3 rounds I played I had no slippage issues.

The tee signs are brand new and give all of the relevant information plus a few extra details as needed.

Baskets are a slight mix of older innovas and newer ones. But all in good order. The older heavier chains were awesome to putt on.

The park as a whole was well maintained and clean. Rangers and club members working together to keep a good thing going.
Cons: Not a whole lot to put here.
The course is played in a park. You may need to slow down and let people know you're throwing in a few spots.

Pin indicators were not on the new tee signs at the time I played. Though I heard they were on there way.
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses I want to see in my home town. Very well mixed to suit all styles of play.

In regards to course flow, there are a few places where you need to walk a little. The new tee signs have addressed this quite well though. Directions to the next tee where on all the ones I saw.

A shout out to the club in Santa Maria, you guys are doing a bang up job down there. Beautiful course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

great course

5+    6/19/2015   8/2/2015
Review By: geodude
Played: 29  Reviewed: 27
Pros: Beautiful trees, nice course design, good tees, great park. Water and bathrooms available about every 9 holes.First 4 holes are shorter so you warm up. warm up basket at hole 1. Nice setting. Can skip holes roughly 16-22 or so to make it a nice 18. Trees cut the valley wind pretty well most of the year, so it is relatively warm for Santa Maria.
Cons: Not much. Can get a little crowded on weekends. Tees are a tad short. 27 holes can work you on a warm day. A little hard to navigate.
Other Thoughts: Not too faroff the freeway, definitely worth playing

Worst flow of any course I've ever played

2-4    7/13/2015   7/17/2015
Review By: tangfoot
Played: 36  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging variety of hole types. There's a ton of birdie opportunities to start, some very challenging thread-the-needle throws in the woods, and some booming distance holes in the field toward the back of the park.
Cons: At least half of the tee signs were missing, and the ones that were there did not consistently show the path from the end of one hole to the beginning of the next. I attempted to play this course twice and got lost 3 or more times each round. The second time I played, I took a picture of the course map near #1 and still couldn't figure it out. When I approached a local and asked if he would mind pairing up, he said no.

The flow is awful. In several cases, you finish a hole, and then either have to double-back past the hole you just played, or have to take a short (unobvious) hike to find the next tee. If you see a tee nearby the basket you just finished, it's ALWAYS the wrong one. And there won't be a tee sign there to tell you.
Other Thoughts: Without knowing the course history, it appears the first 9 were installed a long time ago as a pitch and putt course, and then an additional 18 holes were placed further into the park. I commend the designers in producing a very nice variety and using the entire park, but they need to take some steps to help the people from out of town.

A simple arrow on the basket pointing toward the next tee would suffice, because then I would at least know the direction I'm supposed to be heading.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sell Everything and Move Here

1    7/27/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Raider Dave
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The entire thing! By entire thing I mean, weather, # of holes, Variety of shots, views and food vendors.
Cons: Hard to raise any Cons: Like several others have said, we did have a hard time with a few transitions, but Seriously, not a problem.
Other Thoughts: 8 or so of us made the 2 hr trek from Bakersfield, I would drive 4 hrs to play here! 30' cooler than home, close to the coast, but not too close that wind was too much of an issue. Everything I want to say about this course has already been said. IF YOU HAVEN'T PLAYED HERE, GET HERE!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A real gem

5+    8/1/2012   3/11/2014
Review By: Seabrook
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 21.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2014
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: All course equipment is in excellent shape and well maintained. Great mixture of shots to challenge any golfer. With a mixture of left and right shots along with minor elevation change makes every hole different. Good variation of distances for each hole for some easy par 3 if you are new and long enough to be challenging birdie shots for the advanced player.
Cons: If you are not a regular at the course some of there are a few transitions between basket to the next tee which can get confusing. I've played it a half dozen times over 6 years and still get confused at a couple of walks between holes. Course is built on fine sandy soil, becareful if there is too much sand on the concrete pads easy to slip.
Other Thoughts: Always excited to come back to Waller when I'm in the area. Love love love this course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best course yet

2-4    2/26/2014   3/4/2014
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 36  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 0.4 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -trees
-27 holes = more DG
-hole variety (forehands, backhands, low canopy shots, open field shots, rolling hills, grass, dirt, pine needles, big distance holes...just about everything)
-teepads are concrete...some of the front ends of the tee pads are scored for extra grip on rainy days
-beautiful scenery
-Santa Maria BBQ pits and the smell of that BBQ
-friendly ppl
-huge park which is well kept
Cons: -flow could be a bit better at certain spots, but not much to complain about here
-some signs could be better
Other Thoughts: Up to this point I've played 29 courses and I've played here twice now. This is easily the most baller pimp ass course that I've played. Up to this point in time, this is the only course I've awarded 5/5 discs...but this course deserves it. The beautiful weather, the scenery, and the variety of holes make this course very very challenging and entertaining. This course will test you many many times in a variety of ways; the wind, distance, trees, rolling terrain, blind shots, and low canopy shots will all come into play. You start off playing holes with few trees, then midway through the course you play into the woods with many many obstacles and low lying throws. Then you play some open holes (I believe this part is called Soldier Field) where your distance will be tested. You head back into the woods with some elevation changes. Then you finish like you started with holes that have a moderate amount of trees. All in the mean time your driving and putting can be tested here if its windy (I view this as a positive because challenges are fun right?) There is more or less a mix of everything here, but it is an opulent feast for any DG'er. Definitely one of the top courses in California to play. My only complaint is that the flow could be better at some parts and that the signs could be better on some holes...but I'm just nitpicking. Do yourself a favor and play this course, then go eat some local Santa Maria BBQ because it is delicious. Can't wait to play here again. Also play with some locals if you can...the vastness of this course can be disorienting at times even with a course map.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Top notch course!

5+    11/29/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: 57759
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Several different types of terrain, awesome shots for leftys and rightys, perfect weather, its really never windy, good people, course map by hole 1, seceral positions
Cons: Wet grass early morning . Thats iiit
Other Thoughts: Have fun

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course By Far

5+    9/22/2012   11/9/2013
Review By: SDtoSB
Played: 23  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great hole length variation
-Multiple basket positions
-Great terrain variation (grass, dirt, wood chips, pine needles)
-Great scenery and tree density variation (Some holes are heavily wooded, some are wide-open fields)
-27 enjoyable, memorable holes
-Not overly crowded at all
-Fun for all skill levels, but a few holes are a bit lengthy
-Feels like you're walking through nature, but not lost in the woods
Cons: -Unless you live in Santa Maria, it's a bit of a drive
Other Thoughts: -Played this course mostly while in college in Santa Barbara, but will absolutely plan on stopping whenever road tripping up and down California.
-If you're ever within 2 hours of this course, it's worth the drive.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 27 holes of bliss!

2-4    8/3/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Incredible variety: woods, wide opens, ceilings, tunnels, grass, sand, fallaways, rollaways, tecnicals, grip and rips, OBs, mandos- this place has it all! Gorgeous park with plenty of shaded holes! Hella cool locals! Good signage and great tees.
Cons: No pro shop (although Play It Again Sports is just down the road).
Other Thoughts: This is on the top of my list along with Brengle Terrace for the sheer variety and skills required. Add the beautiful park setting, low crowds and 27 holes and you've got a top notch, must play course!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.