Santa Maria, CA 
Waller Park Share
Uploaded By: Legend KILLer Hole #13 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 323ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
super duper nice

1    6/22/2016   6/22/2016
Review By: Mr72datsun
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: went on a wednesday and saw only 2 other people playing. one local guy was working on course and was super friendly. nice signs. low chance of losing disc. playing on grass for a change was nice. nice park setting. great parking. nice bathrooms. good course for beginners and experience players both.
Cons: i really would have liked to have rented a golf cart. signs did not call out which basket placement was in play.
Other Thoughts: if you like disc golf and are in the area, you should play here. we drove 1 hour 20 minutes and were very happy with the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

An excellent mix

2-4    4/30/2016   5/20/2016
Review By: Philbert
Played: 36  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Waller Park is a parks park. Plenty of things for the non disc golf oriented family members to do while the awesome 27 holes of Waller take you to town. The course itself plays from the front parking lot, to the back of the park and back to the front parking lot. Holes 9 / 10 also stop right next to hole 27's tee pad if you want to just throw a quick 9 or need to get something from the car.

The terrain changes from manicured lawn with well placed trees to sandy pine barrens back to rolling cut grass to wide open sandy fields. It's a good long hike and the mix of rolling hills and flats and varied vegetation makes for some interesting disc.

The holes are a good solid mix of left to rights, right to lefts, hills, flats, wide open, roller... Yeah. Ya know what? If there is a shot in your bag, you will most likely use it here. OB when found is well used. Elevation was used where ever it was found. Some mandos add to some of the already technical holes. In the pine area baskets are located on edges or inclines. Making blow by's and spit outs rough. The added complexity made for a lot of fun.

There where water faucets and restrooms located throughout the course. Which is good, as the course is 27 holes.

Tee pads where solid concreate with some good roughing for extra grip. This worked out really well even on the holes where there was a ton of sand. Out of the 3 rounds I played I had no slippage issues.

The tee signs are brand new and give all of the relevant information plus a few extra details as needed.

Baskets are a slight mix of older innovas and newer ones. But all in good order. The older heavier chains were awesome to putt on.

The park as a whole was well maintained and clean. Rangers and club members working together to keep a good thing going.
Cons: Not a whole lot to put here.
The course is played in a park. You may need to slow down and let people know you're throwing in a few spots.

Pin indicators were not on the new tee signs at the time I played. Though I heard they were on there way.
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses I want to see in my home town. Very well mixed to suit all styles of play.

In regards to course flow, there are a few places where you need to walk a little. The new tee signs have addressed this quite well though. Directions to the next tee where on all the ones I saw.

A shout out to the club in Santa Maria, you guys are doing a bang up job down there. Beautiful course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

great course

5+    6/19/2015   8/2/2015
Review By: geodude
Played: 29  Reviewed: 27
Pros: Beautiful trees, nice course design, good tees, great park. Water and bathrooms available about every 9 holes.First 4 holes are shorter so you warm up. warm up basket at hole 1. Nice setting. Can skip holes roughly 16-22 or so to make it a nice 18. Trees cut the valley wind pretty well most of the year, so it is relatively warm for Santa Maria.
Cons: Not much. Can get a little crowded on weekends. Tees are a tad short. 27 holes can work you on a warm day. A little hard to navigate.
Other Thoughts: Not too faroff the freeway, definitely worth playing

 27 holes of bliss!

2-4    8/3/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Incredible variety: woods, wide opens, ceilings, tunnels, grass, sand, fallaways, rollaways, tecnicals, grip and rips, OBs, mandos- this place has it all! Gorgeous park with plenty of shaded holes! Hella cool locals! Good signage and great tees.
Cons: No pro shop (although Play It Again Sports is just down the road).
Other Thoughts: This is on the top of my list along with Brengle Terrace for the sheer variety and skills required. Add the beautiful park setting, low crowds and 27 holes and you've got a top notch, must play course!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course!

2-4    7/31/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: khyzer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course is thoroughly laid out
-Park is well kept
-LOVE the different terrain from the well trimmed grass to the thick terrain
-The pins were very easy to see
-I liked how there was a practice basket by the 1st tee off box
-Enjoyed how the course was challenging, it didn't always have you want to throw a backhand
-The people that go to the park know to stay out of the way
-Safe atmosphere and nice to have bathrooms
Cons: -My father and I got to the course around 10:00a.m. and the grass was pretty dewy
-You would throw next to picnic tables at times
-I didn't know where one hole was because someone had taken off the tee sign
Other Thoughts: This is by far the best course I've ever played. Going there in the morning the park looks majestic. I love the atmosphere there because people like to stop and watch you throw and they even say "good job." My father and I met a man who was 93 playing a round and we joined him. It was great seeing someone who was that old still throwing plastic and bangin' chains. If you are ever in Santa Maria you HAVE to play Waller Park. This course is AMAZING!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/17/2012   1/5/2013
Review By: DannyThunders
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful area, Santa Maria is great
-Huge technical holes
-Grass, forestey dirt , and Sand holes , so much variety
-Great variety of shots, LHBH hyzer , RHBH hyzer , plenty to offer
-HUGE course in a HUGE park , located near the edge of Santa Maria California
Cons: -Can't think of many
-Semi-hard to navigate , try to find a local to play with
Other Thoughts: A definite course to play in the area , don't skip this one. 27 grueling holes of disc golf, make sure to bring a map as this one is semi hard to navigate, the tees and baskets aren't always clear. I can see other park users becoming a problem in certain areas of this park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 good mix

2-4    7/29/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: Mateo227
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: lots of baskets
good signage
wonderful park setting
smell of BBQ guaranteed on the weekend
Cons: park can get crowded with non disc golfers
Other Thoughts: This course takes great advantage of the park terrain. About half of the holes are on grassy well maintained areas whereas the other half are in naturally wooded/shrubby areas. Likewise there is a good mixture of short and long holes.
There is a temporary 9 holes which is wonderful since it is out of the way of normal park goers.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Superior quality course!

1    3/2/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 16 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'd read the reviews and seen the pix, so I was prepared for a really righteous DG experience when I cruised through town on vacation today. I was NOT disappointed, even though I didn't get to play all 27 holes!

Waller Park is very easy to find, with plenty of parking and a really nice-looking bulletin board by tee #1. The grounds are clean, with groomed grass and landscaping maintenance evident.

The course starts with a handful of pretty easy holes with no elevation change at all. Great warmup, with nothing so hard to discourage a new player right off the bat. Then you get into the hilly part, where the interest and fun factors shoot sky-high. No huge dramatic Top of the World shots, but rather constant surprises, constant challenges, and constant satisfaction when you put two or three shots together well. Trees are everywhere but rather forgiving, letting discs slip through the needles rather than grabbing onto them maliciously like some trees I know.

The tees were simply superb. Flat concrete at the back, grooved concrete at the front - excellent design that gave me total confidence in my footing despite being wet. Tee signs showed where the next tee was, so for the most part (see below for exceptions) navigation was easy.
Cons: Other reviewers have commented on the navigation issues in the middle of the course, and I echo them. I couldn't find hole #11 at all, probably because I neglected to print a map for myself. There was a map box at the info kiosk but it was empty :-(

Some tee signs were missing / illegible and there were a couple of soupy spots (it had rained the night before) but I've seen way worse in both regards.
Other Thoughts: Overall my experience here was truly memorable despite being incomplete. I definitely want to hit this one again on my way back home, if I possibly can, and envy whoever lives within an hour of Waller for the opportunity to play it regularly.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 What a Surprise

1    8/25/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: PDXDisc
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Surprisingly large course. I pulled in expecting a small community park type layout, which what the first 9 are, I did not expect the other 18 hidden off in the trees behind the park!
Lots of variety in the course from simple small stuff in the first 9 to long distance fairways in the middle 9 to tight narrow stuff in the last 9
Very cool park in a nice neighborhood. The locals were super friendly and even invited me to their weekly doubles tourney starting a hour or so after I finished (I was on a long road trip from Portland, to LA, and back and this was day 4 - and I was solo so I was too whupped to join them but would have been fun).
Cons: Starts to get a little crowded since it is a local park. But, everyone is super friendly and easy to get along with.
The tee locations for the middle 9 are pretty confusing and tough to find. The map box at the start was empty.
Other Thoughts: This was the second course I played in a very long day of road trip (started out in South LA, played Coyote Point outside Ventura and then cruised up to here). I pulled in expecting a small little 9 hole community park and thought that was what it was until I got to the tee pad on 9 and realized it just kept going and going (ok yeah I should have read the reviews on this course better). Had an abolute blast. The middle section gets kinda confusing on tee locations and I ended up missing like four holes worth. BE SURE TO PRINT A MAP (again 20/20 hindsight since al the other reviewers say the same thing).

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/3/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 79  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 9.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 27 Holes with multiple pin placements

- The park is kept in pristine condition. Grass is mowed and there is no trash to be found.

- A wide variety of terrain, it's like having 3 different courses all on the same grounds. The begginning offers a moderate challenge to get you warmed up. The middle has wide open 500' + holes that challenge your distance game. And the end is tight and technical with massive trees.

- The parks has all the basic ammenities: bathrooms, waterfountains, ect.

- Large tee pads and nice numbered pins.

- Relatively DG exclusive, other park goers seemed to know where to stay to keep from getting hit.
Cons: - Despite the occasional next tee sign navigation can still be difficult. I highly reccommend printing out a course map, the box by the first tee is usually empty.

- The last hole ends a good distance from the first tee. And there isn't a good stopping point halfway, so make sure you have the time to play all 27.
Other Thoughts: THIS IS A DESTINATION COURSE, and it is definitely worth going out of your way to see. I have nothing but love for Waller. This course definitely makes it in the top 5 that I've played.

The variety of holes is what makes this place special. Combine that with a well groomed park with a great disc golf vibe and you have a must see if you are on the central coast.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center