Santa Maria, CA 
Waller Park Share
Uploaded By: Legend KILLer Hole #23 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #23 Tee

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
great course

5+    6/19/2015   8/2/2015
Review By: geodude
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9
Pros: Beautiful trees, nice course design, good tees, great park. Water and bathrooms available about every 9 holes.First 4 holes are shorter so you warm up. warm up basket at hole 1. Nice setting. Can skip holes roughly 16-22 or so to make it a nice 18. Trees cut the valley wind pretty well most of the year, so it is relatively warm for Santa Maria.
Cons: Not much. Can get a little crowded on weekends. Tees are a tad short. 27 holes can work you on a warm day. A little hard to navigate.
Other Thoughts: Not too faroff the freeway, definitely worth playing

Worst flow of any course I've ever played

2-4    7/13/2015   7/17/2015
Review By: tangfoot
Played: 36  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging variety of hole types. There's a ton of birdie opportunities to start, some very challenging thread-the-needle throws in the woods, and some booming distance holes in the field toward the back of the park.
Cons: At least half of the tee signs were missing, and the ones that were there did not consistently show the path from the end of one hole to the beginning of the next. I attempted to play this course twice and got lost 3 or more times each round. The second time I played, I took a picture of the course map near #1 and still couldn't figure it out. When I approached a local and asked if he would mind pairing up, he said no.

The flow is awful. In several cases, you finish a hole, and then either have to double-back past the hole you just played, or have to take a short (unobvious) hike to find the next tee. If you see a tee nearby the basket you just finished, it's ALWAYS the wrong one. And there won't be a tee sign there to tell you.
Other Thoughts: Without knowing the course history, it appears the first 9 were installed a long time ago as a pitch and putt course, and then an additional 18 holes were placed further into the park. I commend the designers in producing a very nice variety and using the entire park, but they need to take some steps to help the people from out of town.

A simple arrow on the basket pointing toward the next tee would suffice, because then I would at least know the direction I'm supposed to be heading.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sell Everything and Move Here

1    7/27/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Raider Dave
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The entire thing! By entire thing I mean, weather, # of holes, Variety of shots, views and food vendors.
Cons: Hard to raise any Cons: Like several others have said, we did have a hard time with a few transitions, but Seriously, not a problem.
Other Thoughts: 8 or so of us made the 2 hr trek from Bakersfield, I would drive 4 hrs to play here! 30' cooler than home, close to the coast, but not too close that wind was too much of an issue. Everything I want to say about this course has already been said. IF YOU HAVEN'T PLAYED HERE, GET HERE!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A real gem

5+    8/1/2012   3/11/2014
Review By: Seabrook
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2014
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: All course equipment is in excellent shape and well maintained. Great mixture of shots to challenge any golfer. With a mixture of left and right shots along with minor elevation change makes every hole different. Good variation of distances for each hole for some easy par 3 if you are new and long enough to be challenging birdie shots for the advanced player.
Cons: If you are not a regular at the course some of there are a few transitions between basket to the next tee which can get confusing. I've played it a half dozen times over 6 years and still get confused at a couple of walks between holes. Course is built on fine sandy soil, becareful if there is too much sand on the concrete pads easy to slip.
Other Thoughts: Always excited to come back to Waller when I'm in the area. Love love love this course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best course yet

2-4    2/26/2014   3/4/2014
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 36  Reviewed: 20
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -trees
-27 holes = more DG
-hole variety (forehands, backhands, low canopy shots, open field shots, rolling hills, grass, dirt, pine needles, big distance holes...just about everything)
-teepads are concrete...some of the front ends of the tee pads are scored for extra grip on rainy days
-beautiful scenery
-Santa Maria BBQ pits and the smell of that BBQ
-friendly ppl
-huge park which is well kept
Cons: -flow could be a bit better at certain spots, but not much to complain about here
-some signs could be better
Other Thoughts: Up to this point I've played 29 courses and I've played here twice now. This is easily the most baller pimp ass course that I've played. Up to this point in time, this is the only course I've awarded 5/5 discs...but this course deserves it. The beautiful weather, the scenery, and the variety of holes make this course very very challenging and entertaining. This course will test you many many times in a variety of ways; the wind, distance, trees, rolling terrain, blind shots, and low canopy shots will all come into play. You start off playing holes with few trees, then midway through the course you play into the woods with many many obstacles and low lying throws. Then you play some open holes (I believe this part is called Soldier Field) where your distance will be tested. You head back into the woods with some elevation changes. Then you finish like you started with holes that have a moderate amount of trees. All in the mean time your driving and putting can be tested here if its windy (I view this as a positive because challenges are fun right?) There is more or less a mix of everything here, but it is an opulent feast for any DG'er. Definitely one of the top courses in California to play. My only complaint is that the flow could be better at some parts and that the signs could be better on some holes...but I'm just nitpicking. Do yourself a favor and play this course, then go eat some local Santa Maria BBQ because it is delicious. Can't wait to play here again. Also play with some locals if you can...the vastness of this course can be disorienting at times even with a course map.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Top notch course!

5+    11/29/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: 57759
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Several different types of terrain, awesome shots for leftys and rightys, perfect weather, its really never windy, good people, course map by hole 1, seceral positions
Cons: Wet grass early morning . Thats iiit
Other Thoughts: Have fun

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course By Far

5+    9/22/2012   11/9/2013
Review By: SDtoSB
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great hole length variation
-Multiple basket positions
-Great terrain variation (grass, dirt, wood chips, pine needles)
-Great scenery and tree density variation (Some holes are heavily wooded, some are wide-open fields)
-27 enjoyable, memorable holes
-Not overly crowded at all
-Fun for all skill levels, but a few holes are a bit lengthy
-Feels like you're walking through nature, but not lost in the woods
Cons: -Unless you live in Santa Maria, it's a bit of a drive
Other Thoughts: -Played this course mostly while in college in Santa Barbara, but will absolutely plan on stopping whenever road tripping up and down California.
-If you're ever within 2 hours of this course, it's worth the drive.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 27 holes of bliss!

2-4    8/3/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Incredible variety: woods, wide opens, ceilings, tunnels, grass, sand, fallaways, rollaways, tecnicals, grip and rips, OBs, mandos- this place has it all! Gorgeous park with plenty of shaded holes! Hella cool locals! Good signage and great tees.
Cons: No pro shop (although Play It Again Sports is just down the road).
Other Thoughts: This is on the top of my list along with Brengle Terrace for the sheer variety and skills required. Add the beautiful park setting, low crowds and 27 holes and you've got a top notch, must play course!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course!

2-4    7/31/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: khyzer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course is thoroughly laid out
-Park is well kept
-LOVE the different terrain from the well trimmed grass to the thick terrain
-The pins were very easy to see
-I liked how there was a practice basket by the 1st tee off box
-Enjoyed how the course was challenging, it didn't always have you want to throw a backhand
-The people that go to the park know to stay out of the way
-Safe atmosphere and nice to have bathrooms
Cons: -My father and I got to the course around 10:00a.m. and the grass was pretty dewy
-You would throw next to picnic tables at times
-I didn't know where one hole was because someone had taken off the tee sign
Other Thoughts: This is by far the best course I've ever played. Going there in the morning the park looks majestic. I love the atmosphere there because people like to stop and watch you throw and they even say "good job." My father and I met a man who was 93 playing a round and we joined him. It was great seeing someone who was that old still throwing plastic and bangin' chains. If you are ever in Santa Maria you HAVE to play Waller Park. This course is AMAZING!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice park course

1    6/28/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling park that was beautifully groomed when we played. The grassy areas were recently mowed and there was no trash and no dead limbs or other debris in the fairways. The course is a mix of open field type shots with some longer distance and holes with mature trees to avoid.

The wooded holes offer a few interesting lines and some low ceilings to contend with. There's a good mix of hole lengths, with plenty of shorter reachable holes and some that let you air out a longer drive. The tee pads are nice concrete with plenty of grip. There are some minor elevation changes in play that make for a couple interesting elevated greens.
Cons: The course is a little too open to provide many really interesting line shaping challenges. On top of that, a few of the more wooded holes have silly lines where the basket isn't reachable off the tee except with some luck, but there isn't enough trouble that most bad drives will turn into a bogey or worse. That leads to a lot of boring 3 holes where you don't have too much chance at a 2 or a 4. There are also a bunch of tweener length holes in the open that have the same scoring spread problem.

The signage is inconsistent, and doesn't do a very good job of laying out the hole. In a few spots with multiple baskets in view that can get confusing. There are also a few poorly marked walks between holes where you'll need the course map the first time through. There are some conflicts with picnic areas and park roads in a few spots, it seems like that was avoided in a lot of places but there are still some potential issues.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course longer, but not very punitive so it won't get too frustrating. More experienced players will find the layout very straightforward. You don't need a full repertoire of line shaping to score well here, and there isn't enough trouble to really punish you for errant drives. It's worth a stop for sure if you're in the area, and makes for a nice relaxed round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.