Santa Maria, CA 
Waller Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #8 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket (Position A)

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    8/17/2012   1/5/2013
Review By: DannyThunders
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful area, Santa Maria is great
-Huge technical holes
-Grass, forestey dirt , and Sand holes , so much variety
-Great variety of shots, LHBH hyzer , RHBH hyzer , plenty to offer
-HUGE course in a HUGE park , located near the edge of Santa Maria California
Cons: -Can't think of many
-Semi-hard to navigate , try to find a local to play with
Other Thoughts: A definite course to play in the area , don't skip this one. 27 grueling holes of disc golf, make sure to bring a map as this one is semi hard to navigate, the tees and baskets aren't always clear. I can see other park users becoming a problem in certain areas of this park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Fun 27 in Beautiful Park

1    12/14/2012   12/14/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 152  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes. Nice cement tees on every hole (besides hole 25) that are smooth in the back and grooved in the front. Basic signs with pin locations and distances. Some signs showed the direction to the next tee. Very beautiful park with well maintained grass throughout the course besides on the more heavily wooded holes. Good variation throughout the course testing all shot types and playing through 3 distinct terrain types. Great distance on some holes, and very tight technical shots through heavily wooded areas on others. Some holes are quite challenging. The front 9 is moderately wooded and pretty flat with very large mature trees. Some smaller hills come into play starting with hole 8 and many holes feature at least modest elevation change. Hole 11 has one pin position featuring a fall away green. Holes 25 & 26 shoot through a heavily wooded area with small hills requiring you to hit your line or pay the price; a bad shot might cost you more than 1 stroke. There are some signs throughout the course pointing the direction to the next tee. Also some baskets had next tee arrows on them. Nice mando signs on holes that had mandos. Nice safe distances between pins and tees but no real long walks. No overlapping fairways. Multiple pin locations on all holes except hole 20. The tee for the original 18 layout's hole 13 still stands and has a sign next to it explaining that this is a hole from the original 18 layout and that the original layout can still be played (this original hole 13 shares the basket with the current 27 hole layout's hole 14, but is not an actual hole on the current 27 hole layout). Great flow to the course. Very fun to play. Beautiful, peaceful park with restrooms and water fountains on site. Everyone on the course and in the park were very friendly. Very low traffic when I played.
Cons: A few signs were missing or damaged and hard to read. Some signs had inaccurate distances listed on them and did not list some (I'm guessing new) pin locations. The signs also do a poor job showing the hole layout. Navigation can be a little tricky going from hole 9 to 10. The first 7 holes are pretty wide open and don't offer much of a challenge. For holes 15-25 the course opens up a lot and despite a few long distance shots these holes are not very challenging. Overall the course is fairly easy and only a smaller number of holes offer a real challenge for experienced disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course with a great variety of hole types, terrain, and types of shots needed. That said, I was expecting it to be much more challenging after reading the reviews (I shot -2 playing all as par 3's my first time playing, and I'm an intermediate player at best). Despite this, I still would highly recommend this course to any disc golfer (besides fresh beginners due to the length and difficulty of some holes). Also I didn't play the most difficult pin placements on a lot of holes, so if set up for a tournament I'm sure the difficulty would be higher. The tranquil setting and beauty of the park are amazing and if I lived in the area I would hang out there even if I wasn't disc golfing. The course navigation isn't as tough as some other reviews make it seem, but maybe some more 'next tee' signs have been added since those reviews were written as I had no problem navigating without ever looking at a course map. To get to hole 10's tee walk across the paved path and to the left you will see 2 tees: the one closer to you is hole 10's. The tee closest to hole 9's basket when in the deep right position is hole 13's tee, not hole 10's. Hole 25 shoots from a paved walking path and has a sign next to the tee area which is marked off with white paint. This is no doubt a fabulous course and is in my personal top 10 courses in California. Will definitely play again the next time I am in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best course yet

1    6/13/2012   10/5/2012
Review By: Halibut Skies
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: it is enormous, gorgeous, completely decongested and FUN
Cons: it is not closer to my house
Other Thoughts: I want to go back, badly. It has tons of varying holes, terrain, difficulty, distance, etc. I used everything in my bag which was great fun.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good mix

2-4    7/29/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: Mateo227
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: lots of baskets
good signage
wonderful park setting
smell of BBQ guaranteed on the weekend
Cons: park can get crowded with non disc golfers
Other Thoughts: This course takes great advantage of the park terrain. About half of the holes are on grassy well maintained areas whereas the other half are in naturally wooded/shrubby areas. Likewise there is a good mixture of short and long holes.
There is a temporary 9 holes which is wonderful since it is out of the way of normal park goers.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Superior quality course!

1    3/2/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 15 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'd read the reviews and seen the pix, so I was prepared for a really righteous DG experience when I cruised through town on vacation today. I was NOT disappointed, even though I didn't get to play all 27 holes!

Waller Park is very easy to find, with plenty of parking and a really nice-looking bulletin board by tee #1. The grounds are clean, with groomed grass and landscaping maintenance evident.

The course starts with a handful of pretty easy holes with no elevation change at all. Great warmup, with nothing so hard to discourage a new player right off the bat. Then you get into the hilly part, where the interest and fun factors shoot sky-high. No huge dramatic Top of the World shots, but rather constant surprises, constant challenges, and constant satisfaction when you put two or three shots together well. Trees are everywhere but rather forgiving, letting discs slip through the needles rather than grabbing onto them maliciously like some trees I know.

The tees were simply superb. Flat concrete at the back, grooved concrete at the front - excellent design that gave me total confidence in my footing despite being wet. Tee signs showed where the next tee was, so for the most part (see below for exceptions) navigation was easy.
Cons: Other reviewers have commented on the navigation issues in the middle of the course, and I echo them. I couldn't find hole #11 at all, probably because I neglected to print a map for myself. There was a map box at the info kiosk but it was empty :-(

Some tee signs were missing / illegible and there were a couple of soupy spots (it had rained the night before) but I've seen way worse in both regards.
Other Thoughts: Overall my experience here was truly memorable despite being incomplete. I definitely want to hit this one again on my way back home, if I possibly can, and envy whoever lives within an hour of Waller for the opportunity to play it regularly.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


1    5/17/2010   2/26/2011
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Different terrain every 9 Holes.
Lush HUGE park!
Easy to find pines and pads.
Short and long holes to challenge you.
Signs mark your position, multi-position of pins and distance to pin.
Wide spaces as well as tight trees for challenging saving throws.
Cons: Windy at times.
A few places to lose sight of a disc.
A few places throwing could encounter picnic tables.
No drinking in the park is allowed.Don't get caught. :P
Other Thoughts: I'd love to live near this coarse and play it 5 days a week.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 always a good time

5+    6/17/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: kelso829
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: lots of differnet hole and shots needed, lots of parking, 36 holes, clean, lots of space, few holes have other people in the way, well marked, good practice chains for putting
Cons: some holes are just crazy, the wind picks up in the afternoon, needs a food stop, 36 holes can start to wear out the are a little
Other Thoughts: by far one of my fav courses, tons of fun playing doubles first time was over 20 over next few times got it down to a few over

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 What a Surprise

1    8/25/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: PDXDisc
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Surprisingly large course. I pulled in expecting a small community park type layout, which what the first 9 are, I did not expect the other 18 hidden off in the trees behind the park!
Lots of variety in the course from simple small stuff in the first 9 to long distance fairways in the middle 9 to tight narrow stuff in the last 9
Very cool park in a nice neighborhood. The locals were super friendly and even invited me to their weekly doubles tourney starting a hour or so after I finished (I was on a long road trip from Portland, to LA, and back and this was day 4 - and I was solo so I was too whupped to join them but would have been fun).
Cons: Starts to get a little crowded since it is a local park. But, everyone is super friendly and easy to get along with.
The tee locations for the middle 9 are pretty confusing and tough to find. The map box at the start was empty.
Other Thoughts: This was the second course I played in a very long day of road trip (started out in South LA, played Coyote Point outside Ventura and then cruised up to here). I pulled in expecting a small little 9 hole community park and thought that was what it was until I got to the tee pad on 9 and realized it just kept going and going (ok yeah I should have read the reviews on this course better). Had an abolute blast. The middle section gets kinda confusing on tee locations and I ended up missing like four holes worth. BE SURE TO PRINT A MAP (again 20/20 hindsight since al the other reviewers say the same thing).

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/3/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 78  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 27 Holes with multiple pin placements

- The park is kept in pristine condition. Grass is mowed and there is no trash to be found.

- A wide variety of terrain, it's like having 3 different courses all on the same grounds. The begginning offers a moderate challenge to get you warmed up. The middle has wide open 500' + holes that challenge your distance game. And the end is tight and technical with massive trees.

- The parks has all the basic ammenities: bathrooms, waterfountains, ect.

- Large tee pads and nice numbered pins.

- Relatively DG exclusive, other park goers seemed to know where to stay to keep from getting hit.
Cons: - Despite the occasional next tee sign navigation can still be difficult. I highly reccommend printing out a course map, the box by the first tee is usually empty.

- The last hole ends a good distance from the first tee. And there isn't a good stopping point halfway, so make sure you have the time to play all 27.
Other Thoughts: THIS IS A DESTINATION COURSE, and it is definitely worth going out of your way to see. I have nothing but love for Waller. This course definitely makes it in the top 5 that I've played.

The variety of holes is what makes this place special. Combine that with a well groomed park with a great disc golf vibe and you have a must see if you are on the central coast.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    7/25/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: EricArii
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes
Nice baskets
Great mix of shot types
Plenty of restrooms (in great repair and upkeep!)
Grounds kept up really well
Very clean
Free to play
Nice cement tees
Good signs with accurate distances
Easy to find
Long shots, short shots, technical shots, wooded shots...
Great use of trees, terrain, and elevation changes
multiple pin placements
A par 4!
Cons: Can be hard to navigate for first timers
Tough course for beginners
Be ready to spend some time out there
Course backtracks some
Other Thoughts: Really take advantage of the first 7 holes. They might offer some of the easiest birdie chances you'll see during your round. They also serve as a great way to warm up due to the level terrain and moderate distances. Once you get to the back half, the course gets significantly harder and much more technical. It is a great and fun course nonetheless.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.