Santa Maria, CA 
Waller Park Share
Uploaded By: Legend KILLer Hole #12 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 321ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Truly Awesome Course

1    5/15/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 129  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/20/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Great Variety/All Shot Types
Nice Tee Pads
Good Baskets
Friendly and Helpful Locals
Lots of Amenities (Trashcans, Benches, Grills, Clean Restrooms, etc)
Great Use of Terrain
Great Pin Placements
Extremely Clean and Well Maintained
Other Park Users Seem to Be on Lookout for Discs
Freat Overall Layout and Design
Can Be Hard to Navigate
Last Hole is Not Close to First
Tee Signs Were Missing
Tee Signs Could Use Updating
Other Thoughts:
Great course, probably the best new (to me) course I played on this trip. Park is huge and allows for plenty of space to throw, while still giving plenty of space to the other park go-ers. The beautiful park also had plenty of other amenities for use as well, including some very clean restrooms, at least for park standards, playgrounds for the kids, and plenty of shade trees so you can just relax in the shade after a nice long round.

The course has a great variety and kind of plays in stages. The front nine being more open with a few mature trees that come into play, while the middle are more densely wooded with tight fairways. The back nine have more of a mix of the two, while also providing you a few chances to bomb some shots. All three stages offer great pin placements and require nearly every shot in your bag. If you were to plop someone down on this course and have them play each stage separately, there is a good chance they would think it was three different nine-hole courses. The designers did a great job.

Along with the varying terrain, grass, sand, hilly, flat, the holes themselves have great variety. The holes range from just over 200 feet, to 650 feet, while also providing a nice variety of hyzer and anhyzer shots.

Overall I would say this is an amazing course and anyone who gets a chance should stop and check this one out. I've played over fifty courses now and this has to be in the top five. The maintenance, the layout, the challenge, this is a top notch course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    1/28/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Waller Park is tucked away in the suburban-feeling refuge of Santa Maria, and I was excited about visiting because I alredy knew from previous trips to the region that this part of California is very beautiful and exhibits a wonderful variety of landscapes and plant life. What I found was not anything like what I expected in my mind's eye, instead it was an enormously pleasant surprise to drive into an immaculately groomed emerald green grass park studded with huge pines hoisting their high branches up in a very unique canopy. This place simply has a very unique and special feel. Disc golf baskets seemingly grow out of the ground in all the interesting places, and fit so well into the scenery that they could well have been mistaken as a kind of flowering plant that the meticulous gardeners of the park planted for their aesthetic qualities alone. As a disc golfer, I was completely stoked!

Just about every hole has a number of interesting lines and possible routes, and there is plenty of variety of keep one entertained. There are short holes that my wife could reach off the tee, and some nice long holes that are worth of a good hearty rip. Rollers were also a possibility on many holes, if that's what you're into. It made me feel very creative, to have this kind of canvas upon which to ply the flight of my discs. Tees are concrete and very well constructed. Tee signs contain a map of the fairway, indicate the locations of multiple basket positions, as well as key information regarding where the next tee may be found.

There is no fee to park or play. The park facilities are very well kept, and include clean restrooms and running water.
Cons: There is some pedestrian foot traffic on the course, particularly in the mixed use areas. I can imagine things could become more crowded for long weekends during the high picnic/barbeque season.
Other Thoughts: The course is set up in what I judge to be four distinctly styled phases:
1) The front baskets weave through an area populated by many of these giant Monterey pines.
2) The second phase moves back further into the park and exhibits a lot of tighter holes with small and medium size trees coming into the mix.
3) The third portion starts with a hole across a field and up a hill, and works its way back to the furthest point from the 1st tee with several long holes with abundant open sky to work distance lines, and then back again.
4) The final portion contains some short but very tight fairways and challenging shots through narrow gaps in more dense trees and over a few small hills.

I couldn't help but have the feeling that disc golfers are very lucky that Santa Maria let all of us riff-raff onto their gorgeous park property to establish a wonderful course. It seems almost too good to be true. If you're traveling up or down the 101 through this area, set aside a couple hours for a round at Waller. The folks who built and take care of this course have done a fantastic job, and you won't want to miss their masterpiece!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/22/2012   2/24/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -27 hole course
-Large, flat concrete tees
-Signage at each tee simplifies navigation. Some even had signs indicating 'next tee ---->'
-Course has a number of personalities resulting in a great amount of variety throughout
-Relative DG exclusivity, had no problem with park goers.
-DISCatchers. Love em.
-Practice basket near hole 1
- CLEAN restrooms and drinking fountains are found throughout the course.
Cons: -As others have mentioned, this course requires a full commitment to play all 27 holes, so have a good amount of time planned for this course.
-Sand on some tee pads called for added concentration to not fall over
-Minimal trash cans
-No benches. Sometimes a log or something would provide a place to sit.
Other Thoughts: Waller Park is a fantastic 27 hole course that winds its way through a large regional park on wooded hillsides and in other generally out-of-the-way areas in the park. Pine trees and grass made for a particularly beautiful, peaceful, and relaxing round of disc.

Variety in course styles is what made this course stand out. The first 7 holes really played like a typical 9 hole course found in any city park, providing a nice opportunity to warm up for what was in store later on. It then switches to a moderately hilly, wooded, and sandy section of the park. Following that were a good amount of wide open fields allowing long drives, and the course finally ends with another selection of hilly, sandy, wooded holes.

While most people will figure out the course on their own, or just follow other people playing, we found it helpful to take a picture of the map provided on the information board in the parking lot. There are sometimes multiple tees in eye-shot of the pins. This kept needless walking minimal. (Picture we used has been uploaded to this site).

While not the courses fault, we had to deal with some pretty nasty winds on the open holes mid-course. This provided an additional challenge to a chunk of otherwise uninspired holes.

Waller Park is awesome and is underrated on this site, like some of the other courses in this area; this may just be the best park course in all of Southern California. Depends on who you ask. The locals we encountered were friendly. We saw a group of about 10 ahead of us, and we never caught up to them. That is always nice.

While the majority of the holes are an easy par for most amateurs and pinnable for the pros, this course is a 'must see' for anybody traveling through. The sheer variety and scope of the course, as well as a very well maintained and scenic park, are definitely worthy of a visit.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    9/11/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 14.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - multiple pin positions
- nice sized cement tees
- many facilities in the park, including bathrooms and drinking fountains at multiple points along the course
- signs are in good shape and distances are fairly accurate
- fun layout, plays pretty quickly
- the wooded holes are a nice touch because the majority of the course is fairly open parkland
- no cost to use the park, or play
Cons: - the course is only one big loop, and 27 doesn't really finish that close to where the parking lot is
- no benches
- sometimes its a little tricky to navigate (from 9 to 10 walk to the left along the road and tee 10 is on the other side of the picnic area, by 27; from basket 14, the tee you see right in front of you is 23... 15 is up on the hill in the trees to your right)
- some holes, especially the front 9, felt a little bit short
Other Thoughts: Once you start playing Waller, you're committed to going the entire 27 holes because there isn't a good place to cut off any holes, and if you only wanted to play 18 or something, you'd be finishing in the middle of NOWHERE, and have a very long walk back to the car.

I really liked Waller... it doesn't have many missteps. A few of the holes are pretty short, but it opens up and gets longer at the end of the Mid 9. The fact that it chances from nice, flat parkland with beautiful tall trees, to rolling hills, to fully wooded holes, to open holes, to wooded holes again, is great. This means that there are many different types of hole and challenges to overcome, and that's what makes Waller so fun, and worth your time if you're on the 101.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Waller Improvements!!!

2-4    7/18/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: discgolforegon
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 27 Holes with varied pin settings
- Clean Cut Grass
- Disc golf in a HUGE park with awesome trees!
- Very long technical holes
- Shorter beginner freindly holes
- Bathrooms
- Mega Parking
- BBQ Pits
- ALOT of other activities
Cons: - SUPER BUSY!!!
- Tons of foot traffic on the fairways
- Some holes are tough to find the basket
- Some of the signage doesn't reflect recent course imporvements.
- Squirels dropping pine cones on you while you putt! :) <-- Seriously
- Did i mention how busy this park gets?
Other Thoughts: One of the few reasons waller doesn't get a higher mark in my book is the HUGE AMOUNT OF PEOPLE!!!!

I played a B-Tier on July 18 - 19th and the amount of people in the park each day was simply amazing!!! There was kids, families, all kinds of people everywhere.
Some of the holes shoot over gathering areas, and made me uncomfortable to throw over random folks heads.

LOVED Waller still... awesome disc golf course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/9/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: dg_fever
Played: 38  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of variety, long and short holes, great terrain, beautiful park with nice facilities. The design allows for play even when the park is busy. We played it on a Saturday when the park was hopping and had no problems on any of the holes except one where you are throwing over picnic tables. Also, drinking beer in the park is legal due to it being a county park.
Cons: Not many -- on our first time out we had to search for the next tee pad a few times but locals where helpful and for the most part it is a well marked course. No maps available that we could find.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the trip.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Monster Outing

1    7/3/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: Vince Klortho
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 27 Holes, incredible variation of terrain, ground cover, canopy and elevation. Well-maintained tee boxes and absolutely gorgeous setting.
Cons: The progression of holes isn't always intuitive. If you just want to play 9 or 18, you will be very far from where you parked on 1. LOTS of trees to negotiate, with a very low canopy on many holes.
Other Thoughts: This and Preisker make an awesome 45 hole day.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Treat

1    6/28/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 110  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a 27 hole gem of a course that makes you travel through out many different terrains all within a single park. The first 9 holes seem to be fairly easy but the challenge level only picks up from there to force you to make every throw in the book. There are a couple of holes that are par 4's. The tee signs are good and most tee pads are good. I noticed that different pin placements on several of the holes completely changed the challenge of the hole itself to keep things interesting. Good shots are rewarded fairly and bad shots are punished fairly.
Cons: Some of the tee signs have incorrect numbers on them as apparently this course was not always 27 holes long. There are a few places where holes cross right through places where people like to picnic. I had to avoid throwing at people on a couple of holes. A few holes near the end are built right on top of eachother. Navigation as certain points is difficult if you do not already know the course.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my round at this course. There may not be a good reason why, but it was just a fun atmosphere with all the families at this park and all the celebrations going on without feeling like the groups are getting in the way for the most part. With all the courses that I played on my recent disc golf road trip this is one that I would love to come back and play again, even before some of the more recognizeable courses that I played.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 better than a 1 1/2

2-4    4/23/2008   4/23/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 342  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 14.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has it all... beautiful maicured grass holes, woody dirt holes, short/medium/long/LONGER holes, open bombs, tight gaps, hyzers, anhyzers, s-turns, slight use of any elevational features, etc... It is a well thought out, complete disc golf course.
It has 27 holes with good baskets and good tee-pads, making the drive from LA worth it.
Cons: It's LONG, some of the holes on the back (mid) get rediculously long. I don't bitch much about length, but a few of them are excessive to be called Par 3's. Basically, a 3 is a birdie compared to the group... (it's really only 3-4 holes though).
The course doesn't return to the parking lot after each 9... thus you are out there for a few hours and need to be sure you have enough water, snacks, a jacket???
Could need a local guide the first time, especially after the first 9.
Lack of serious elevation keeps this course from being among the top.
I also hear this course gets crowded on the weekends and holidays.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. It isn't hard to find from the freeway, the course itself was easily navigable the second time around (the extra long ones could be confusing). There are plenty of resteraunts right down the street for easy access for those long 54 hole days.
Bring extra socks and waterproof shoes since the grass is always wet in the morning.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Waller Park

2-4    3/30/2009   3/31/2009
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well kept park with plenty of variation between lawn, trees, sand, long, short, left and right shots
- Concrete tee pads on all holes (though at times you have to shoot diagonally across the tee)
- The people are very friendly and will let you play through
- The tee signs help you navigate the course quite well as long as you pay attention to them
- Most holes are placed relatively close together (at least compared to Laguna Lake in SLO)
- Very beautiful setting for a course
- Not very busy since it's such a big park (I have played in the morning, evening, and on the weekend)
- Perfect for a weekend picnic, plenty of amenities and restrooms
- It's nice to play 27 holes in one park
- Practice basket near Tee #1
Cons: - Baskets could use a make-over
- Like mentioned below, some pin placements don't match up with tee direction
- I map would definitely help when playing for the first time
- Towards the far end of the park, the holes can get long and uninteresting but makes up for it as you finish up
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, if you're living in the San Luis Obispo region, this is probably the nicest course to play. The fact that the course boasts 27 holes and has so many other activities within the park, it makes it a great destination. Perfect for families and is even dog friendly (as long as you pick up after them).
I was kind of disappointed when I arrived at Hole #27. After playing 26 holes, I was expecting to end on a nice hole but unfortunately it wasn't. Of course this is my opinion but I definitely would recommend playing this course if you're in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.