Disc Golf Center
Santa Maria, CA 
Waller Park Share
Uploaded By: Legend KILLer Hole #25 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 337ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #25 Tee Sign



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Sell Everything and Move Here

1    7/27/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Raider Dave
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The entire thing! By entire thing I mean, weather, # of holes, Variety of shots, views and food vendors.
Cons: Hard to raise any Cons: Like several others have said, we did have a hard time with a few transitions, but Seriously, not a problem.
Other Thoughts: 8 or so of us made the 2 hr trek from Bakersfield, I would drive 4 hrs to play here! 30' cooler than home, close to the coast, but not too close that wind was too much of an issue. Everything I want to say about this course has already been said. IF YOU HAVEN'T PLAYED HERE, GET HERE!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A real gem

5+    8/1/2012   3/11/2014
Review By: Seabrook
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2014
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: All course equipment is in excellent shape and well maintained. Great mixture of shots to challenge any golfer. With a mixture of left and right shots along with minor elevation change makes every hole different. Good variation of distances for each hole for some easy par 3 if you are new and long enough to be challenging birdie shots for the advanced player.
Cons: If you are not a regular at the course some of there are a few transitions between basket to the next tee which can get confusing. I've played it a half dozen times over 6 years and still get confused at a couple of walks between holes. Course is built on fine sandy soil, becareful if there is too much sand on the concrete pads easy to slip.
Other Thoughts: Always excited to come back to Waller when I'm in the area. Love love love this course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best course yet

2-4    2/26/2014   3/4/2014
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 34  Reviewed: 20
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -trees
-weather
-parking
-27 holes = more DG
-hole variety (forehands, backhands, low canopy shots, open field shots, rolling hills, grass, dirt, pine needles, big distance holes...just about everything)
-teepads are concrete...some of the front ends of the tee pads are scored for extra grip on rainy days
-beautiful scenery
-Santa Maria BBQ pits and the smell of that BBQ
-friendly ppl
-huge park which is well kept
Cons: -flow could be a bit better at certain spots, but not much to complain about here
-some signs could be better
Other Thoughts: Up to this point I've played 29 courses and I've played here twice now. This is easily the most baller pimp ass course that I've played. Up to this point in time, this is the only course I've awarded 5/5 discs...but this course deserves it. The beautiful weather, the scenery, and the variety of holes make this course very very challenging and entertaining. This course will test you many many times in a variety of ways; the wind, distance, trees, rolling terrain, blind shots, and low canopy shots will all come into play. You start off playing holes with few trees, then midway through the course you play into the woods with many many obstacles and low lying throws. Then you play some open holes (I believe this part is called Soldier Field) where your distance will be tested. You head back into the woods with some elevation changes. Then you finish like you started with holes that have a moderate amount of trees. All in the mean time your driving and putting can be tested here if its windy (I view this as a positive because challenges are fun right?) There is more or less a mix of everything here, but it is an opulent feast for any DG'er. Definitely one of the top courses in California to play. My only complaint is that the flow could be better at some parts and that the signs could be better on some holes...but I'm just nitpicking. Do yourself a favor and play this course, then go eat some local Santa Maria BBQ because it is delicious. Can't wait to play here again. Also play with some locals if you can...the vastness of this course can be disorienting at times even with a course map.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Top notch course!

5+    11/29/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: 57759
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Several different types of terrain, awesome shots for leftys and rightys, perfect weather, its really never windy, good people, course map by hole 1, seceral positions
Cons: Wet grass early morning . Thats iiit
Other Thoughts: Have fun

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Favorite Course By Far

5+    9/22/2012   11/9/2013
Review By: SDtoSB
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great hole length variation
-Multiple basket positions
-Great terrain variation (grass, dirt, wood chips, pine needles)
-Great scenery and tree density variation (Some holes are heavily wooded, some are wide-open fields)
-27 enjoyable, memorable holes
-Not overly crowded at all
-Fun for all skill levels, but a few holes are a bit lengthy
-Feels like you're walking through nature, but not lost in the woods
Cons: -Unless you live in Santa Maria, it's a bit of a drive
Other Thoughts: -Played this course mostly while in college in Santa Barbara, but will absolutely plan on stopping whenever road tripping up and down California.
-If you're ever within 2 hours of this course, it's worth the drive.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

27 holes of bliss!

2-4    8/3/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 26  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Incredible variety: woods, wide opens, ceilings, tunnels, grass, sand, fallaways, rollaways, tecnicals, grip and rips, OBs, mandos- this place has it all! Gorgeous park with plenty of shaded holes! Hella cool locals! Good signage and great tees.
Cons: No pro shop (although Play It Again Sports is just down the road).
Other Thoughts: This is on the top of my list along with Brengle Terrace for the sheer variety and skills required. Add the beautiful park setting, low crowds and 27 holes and you've got a top notch, must play course!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Course!

2-4    7/31/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: khyzer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course is thoroughly laid out
-Park is well kept
-LOVE the different terrain from the well trimmed grass to the thick terrain
-The pins were very easy to see
-I liked how there was a practice basket by the 1st tee off box
-Enjoyed how the course was challenging, it didn't always have you want to throw a backhand
-The people that go to the park know to stay out of the way
-Safe atmosphere and nice to have bathrooms
Cons: -My father and I got to the course around 10:00a.m. and the grass was pretty dewy
-You would throw next to picnic tables at times
-I didn't know where one hole was because someone had taken off the tee sign
Other Thoughts: This is by far the best course I've ever played. Going there in the morning the park looks majestic. I love the atmosphere there because people like to stop and watch you throw and they even say "good job." My father and I met a man who was 93 playing a round and we joined him. It was great seeing someone who was that old still throwing plastic and bangin' chains. If you are ever in Santa Maria you HAVE to play Waller Park. This course is AMAZING!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very nice park course

1    6/28/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling park that was beautifully groomed when we played. The grassy areas were recently mowed and there was no trash and no dead limbs or other debris in the fairways. The course is a mix of open field type shots with some longer distance and holes with mature trees to avoid.

The wooded holes offer a few interesting lines and some low ceilings to contend with. There's a good mix of hole lengths, with plenty of shorter reachable holes and some that let you air out a longer drive. The tee pads are nice concrete with plenty of grip. There are some minor elevation changes in play that make for a couple interesting elevated greens.
Cons: The course is a little too open to provide many really interesting line shaping challenges. On top of that, a few of the more wooded holes have silly lines where the basket isn't reachable off the tee except with some luck, but there isn't enough trouble that most bad drives will turn into a bogey or worse. That leads to a lot of boring 3 holes where you don't have too much chance at a 2 or a 4. There are also a bunch of tweener length holes in the open that have the same scoring spread problem.

The signage is inconsistent, and doesn't do a very good job of laying out the hole. In a few spots with multiple baskets in view that can get confusing. There are also a few poorly marked walks between holes where you'll need the course map the first time through. There are some conflicts with picnic areas and park roads in a few spots, it seems like that was avoided in a lot of places but there are still some potential issues.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course longer, but not very punitive so it won't get too frustrating. More experienced players will find the layout very straightforward. You don't need a full repertoire of line shaping to score well here, and there isn't enough trouble to really punish you for errant drives. It's worth a stop for sure if you're in the area, and makes for a nice relaxed round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    8/17/2012   1/5/2013
Review By: DannyThunders
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful area, Santa Maria is great
-Huge technical holes
-Grass, forestey dirt , and Sand holes , so much variety
-Great variety of shots, LHBH hyzer , RHBH hyzer , plenty to offer
-HUGE course in a HUGE park , located near the edge of Santa Maria California
Cons: -Can't think of many
-Semi-hard to navigate , try to find a local to play with
Other Thoughts: A definite course to play in the area , don't skip this one. 27 grueling holes of disc golf, make sure to bring a map as this one is semi hard to navigate, the tees and baskets aren't always clear. I can see other park users becoming a problem in certain areas of this park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Fun 27 in Beautiful Park

1    12/14/2012   12/14/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 142  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes. Nice cement tees on every hole (besides hole 25) that are smooth in the back and grooved in the front. Basic signs with pin locations and distances. Some signs showed the direction to the next tee. Very beautiful park with well maintained grass throughout the course besides on the more heavily wooded holes. Good variation throughout the course testing all shot types and playing through 3 distinct terrain types. Great distance on some holes, and very tight technical shots through heavily wooded areas on others. Some holes are quite challenging. The front 9 is moderately wooded and pretty flat with very large mature trees. Some smaller hills come into play starting with hole 8 and many holes feature at least modest elevation change. Hole 11 has one pin position featuring a fall away green. Holes 25 & 26 shoot through a heavily wooded area with small hills requiring you to hit your line or pay the price; a bad shot might cost you more than 1 stroke. There are some signs throughout the course pointing the direction to the next tee. Also some baskets had next tee arrows on them. Nice mando signs on holes that had mandos. Nice safe distances between pins and tees but no real long walks. No overlapping fairways. Multiple pin locations on all holes except hole 20. The tee for the original 18 layout's hole 13 still stands and has a sign next to it explaining that this is a hole from the original 18 layout and that the original layout can still be played (this original hole 13 shares the basket with the current 27 hole layout's hole 14, but is not an actual hole on the current 27 hole layout). Great flow to the course. Very fun to play. Beautiful, peaceful park with restrooms and water fountains on site. Everyone on the course and in the park were very friendly. Very low traffic when I played.
Cons: A few signs were missing or damaged and hard to read. Some signs had inaccurate distances listed on them and did not list some (I'm guessing new) pin locations. The signs also do a poor job showing the hole layout. Navigation can be a little tricky going from hole 9 to 10. The first 7 holes are pretty wide open and don't offer much of a challenge. For holes 15-25 the course opens up a lot and despite a few long distance shots these holes are not very challenging. Overall the course is fairly easy and only a smaller number of holes offer a real challenge for experienced disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course with a great variety of hole types, terrain, and types of shots needed. That said, I was expecting it to be much more challenging after reading the reviews (I shot -2 playing all as par 3's my first time playing, and I'm an intermediate player at best). Despite this, I still would highly recommend this course to any disc golfer (besides fresh beginners due to the length and difficulty of some holes). Also I didn't play the most difficult pin placements on a lot of holes, so if set up for a tournament I'm sure the difficulty would be higher. The tranquil setting and beauty of the park are amazing and if I lived in the area I would hang out there even if I wasn't disc golfing. The course navigation isn't as tough as some other reviews make it seem, but maybe some more 'next tee' signs have been added since those reviews were written as I had no problem navigating without ever looking at a course map. To get to hole 10's tee walk across the paved path and to the left you will see 2 tees: the one closer to you is hole 10's. The tee closest to hole 9's basket when in the deep right position is hole 13's tee, not hole 10's. Hole 25 shoots from a paved walking path and has a sign next to the tee area which is marked off with white paint. This is no doubt a fabulous course and is in my personal top 10 courses in California. Will definitely play again the next time I am in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.