Santa Maria, CA 
Waller Park Share
Uploaded By: Legend KILLer Hole #11 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 400ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
good mix

2-4    7/29/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: Mateo227
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: lots of baskets
good signage
wonderful park setting
smell of BBQ guaranteed on the weekend
Cons: park can get crowded with non disc golfers
Other Thoughts: This course takes great advantage of the park terrain. About half of the holes are on grassy well maintained areas whereas the other half are in naturally wooded/shrubby areas. Likewise there is a good mixture of short and long holes.
There is a temporary 9 holes which is wonderful since it is out of the way of normal park goers.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Superior quality course!

1    3/2/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 13.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'd read the reviews and seen the pix, so I was prepared for a really righteous DG experience when I cruised through town on vacation today. I was NOT disappointed, even though I didn't get to play all 27 holes!

Waller Park is very easy to find, with plenty of parking and a really nice-looking bulletin board by tee #1. The grounds are clean, with groomed grass and landscaping maintenance evident.

The course starts with a handful of pretty easy holes with no elevation change at all. Great warmup, with nothing so hard to discourage a new player right off the bat. Then you get into the hilly part, where the interest and fun factors shoot sky-high. No huge dramatic Top of the World shots, but rather constant surprises, constant challenges, and constant satisfaction when you put two or three shots together well. Trees are everywhere but rather forgiving, letting discs slip through the needles rather than grabbing onto them maliciously like some trees I know.

The tees were simply superb. Flat concrete at the back, grooved concrete at the front - excellent design that gave me total confidence in my footing despite being wet. Tee signs showed where the next tee was, so for the most part (see below for exceptions) navigation was easy.
Cons: Other reviewers have commented on the navigation issues in the middle of the course, and I echo them. I couldn't find hole #11 at all, probably because I neglected to print a map for myself. There was a map box at the info kiosk but it was empty :-(

Some tee signs were missing / illegible and there were a couple of soupy spots (it had rained the night before) but I've seen way worse in both regards.
Other Thoughts: Overall my experience here was truly memorable despite being incomplete. I definitely want to hit this one again on my way back home, if I possibly can, and envy whoever lives within an hour of Waller for the opportunity to play it regularly.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/17/2010   2/26/2011
Review By: RIPE MELON
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Different terrain every 9 Holes.
Lush HUGE park!
Easy to find pines and pads.
Short and long holes to challenge you.
Signs mark your position, multi-position of pins and distance to pin.
Wide spaces as well as tight trees for challenging saving throws.
Cons: Windy at times.
A few places to lose sight of a disc.
A few places throwing could encounter picnic tables.
No drinking in the park is allowed.Don't get caught. :P
Other Thoughts: I'd love to live near this coarse and play it 5 days a week.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 always a good time

5+    6/17/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: kelso829
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: lots of differnet hole and shots needed, lots of parking, 36 holes, clean, lots of space, few holes have other people in the way, well marked, good practice chains for putting
Cons: some holes are just crazy, the wind picks up in the afternoon, needs a food stop, 36 holes can start to wear out the are a little
Other Thoughts: by far one of my fav courses, tons of fun playing doubles first time was over 20 over next few times got it down to a few over

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 What a Surprise

1    8/25/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: PDXDisc
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Surprisingly large course. I pulled in expecting a small community park type layout, which what the first 9 are, I did not expect the other 18 hidden off in the trees behind the park!
Lots of variety in the course from simple small stuff in the first 9 to long distance fairways in the middle 9 to tight narrow stuff in the last 9
Very cool park in a nice neighborhood. The locals were super friendly and even invited me to their weekly doubles tourney starting a hour or so after I finished (I was on a long road trip from Portland, to LA, and back and this was day 4 - and I was solo so I was too whupped to join them but would have been fun).
Cons: Starts to get a little crowded since it is a local park. But, everyone is super friendly and easy to get along with.
The tee locations for the middle 9 are pretty confusing and tough to find. The map box at the start was empty.
Other Thoughts: This was the second course I played in a very long day of road trip (started out in South LA, played Coyote Point outside Ventura and then cruised up to here). I pulled in expecting a small little 9 hole community park and thought that was what it was until I got to the tee pad on 9 and realized it just kept going and going (ok yeah I should have read the reviews on this course better). Had an abolute blast. The middle section gets kinda confusing on tee locations and I ended up missing like four holes worth. BE SURE TO PRINT A MAP (again 20/20 hindsight since al the other reviewers say the same thing).

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/3/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 27 Holes with multiple pin placements

- The park is kept in pristine condition. Grass is mowed and there is no trash to be found.

- A wide variety of terrain, it's like having 3 different courses all on the same grounds. The begginning offers a moderate challenge to get you warmed up. The middle has wide open 500' + holes that challenge your distance game. And the end is tight and technical with massive trees.

- The parks has all the basic ammenities: bathrooms, waterfountains, ect.

- Large tee pads and nice numbered pins.

- Relatively DG exclusive, other park goers seemed to know where to stay to keep from getting hit.
Cons: - Despite the occasional next tee sign navigation can still be difficult. I highly reccommend printing out a course map, the box by the first tee is usually empty.

- The last hole ends a good distance from the first tee. And there isn't a good stopping point halfway, so make sure you have the time to play all 27.
Other Thoughts: THIS IS A DESTINATION COURSE, and it is definitely worth going out of your way to see. I have nothing but love for Waller. This course definitely makes it in the top 5 that I've played.

The variety of holes is what makes this place special. Combine that with a well groomed park with a great disc golf vibe and you have a must see if you are on the central coast.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    7/25/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: EricArii
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes
Nice baskets
Great mix of shot types
Plenty of restrooms (in great repair and upkeep!)
Grounds kept up really well
Very clean
Free to play
Nice cement tees
Good signs with accurate distances
Easy to find
Long shots, short shots, technical shots, wooded shots...
Great use of trees, terrain, and elevation changes
multiple pin placements
A par 4!
Cons: Can be hard to navigate for first timers
Tough course for beginners
Be ready to spend some time out there
Course backtracks some
Other Thoughts: Really take advantage of the first 7 holes. They might offer some of the easiest birdie chances you'll see during your round. They also serve as a great way to warm up due to the level terrain and moderate distances. Once you get to the back half, the course gets significantly harder and much more technical. It is a great and fun course nonetheless.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Truly Awesome Course

1    5/15/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 108  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/20/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Great Variety/All Shot Types
Nice Tee Pads
Good Baskets
Friendly and Helpful Locals
Lots of Amenities (Trashcans, Benches, Grills, Clean Restrooms, etc)
Great Use of Terrain
Great Pin Placements
Extremely Clean and Well Maintained
Other Park Users Seem to Be on Lookout for Discs
Freat Overall Layout and Design
Cons:
Can Be Hard to Navigate
Last Hole is Not Close to First
Tee Signs Were Missing
Tee Signs Could Use Updating
Other Thoughts:
Great course, probably the best new (to me) course I played on this trip. Park is huge and allows for plenty of space to throw, while still giving plenty of space to the other park go-ers. The beautiful park also had plenty of other amenities for use as well, including some very clean restrooms, at least for park standards, playgrounds for the kids, and plenty of shade trees so you can just relax in the shade after a nice long round.

The course has a great variety and kind of plays in stages. The front nine being more open with a few mature trees that come into play, while the middle are more densely wooded with tight fairways. The back nine have more of a mix of the two, while also providing you a few chances to bomb some shots. All three stages offer great pin placements and require nearly every shot in your bag. If you were to plop someone down on this course and have them play each stage separately, there is a good chance they would think it was three different nine-hole courses. The designers did a great job.

Along with the varying terrain, grass, sand, hilly, flat, the holes themselves have great variety. The holes range from just over 200 feet, to 650 feet, while also providing a nice variety of hyzer and anhyzer shots.

Overall I would say this is an amazing course and anyone who gets a chance should stop and check this one out. I've played over fifty courses now and this has to be in the top five. The maintenance, the layout, the challenge, this is a top notch course.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/28/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Waller Park is tucked away in the suburban-feeling refuge of Santa Maria, and I was excited about visiting because I alredy knew from previous trips to the region that this part of California is very beautiful and exhibits a wonderful variety of landscapes and plant life. What I found was not anything like what I expected in my mind's eye, instead it was an enormously pleasant surprise to drive into an immaculately groomed emerald green grass park studded with huge pines hoisting their high branches up in a very unique canopy. This place simply has a very unique and special feel. Disc golf baskets seemingly grow out of the ground in all the interesting places, and fit so well into the scenery that they could well have been mistaken as a kind of flowering plant that the meticulous gardeners of the park planted for their aesthetic qualities alone. As a disc golfer, I was completely stoked!

Just about every hole has a number of interesting lines and possible routes, and there is plenty of variety of keep one entertained. There are short holes that my wife could reach off the tee, and some nice long holes that are worth of a good hearty rip. Rollers were also a possibility on many holes, if that's what you're into. It made me feel very creative, to have this kind of canvas upon which to ply the flight of my discs. Tees are concrete and very well constructed. Tee signs contain a map of the fairway, indicate the locations of multiple basket positions, as well as key information regarding where the next tee may be found.

There is no fee to park or play. The park facilities are very well kept, and include clean restrooms and running water.
Cons: There is some pedestrian foot traffic on the course, particularly in the mixed use areas. I can imagine things could become more crowded for long weekends during the high picnic/barbeque season.
Other Thoughts: The course is set up in what I judge to be four distinctly styled phases:
1) The front baskets weave through an area populated by many of these giant Monterey pines.
2) The second phase moves back further into the park and exhibits a lot of tighter holes with small and medium size trees coming into the mix.
3) The third portion starts with a hole across a field and up a hill, and works its way back to the furthest point from the 1st tee with several long holes with abundant open sky to work distance lines, and then back again.
4) The final portion contains some short but very tight fairways and challenging shots through narrow gaps in more dense trees and over a few small hills.

I couldn't help but have the feeling that disc golfers are very lucky that Santa Maria let all of us riff-raff onto their gorgeous park property to establish a wonderful course. It seems almost too good to be true. If you're traveling up or down the 101 through this area, set aside a couple hours for a round at Waller. The folks who built and take care of this course have done a fantastic job, and you won't want to miss their masterpiece!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/22/2012   2/24/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 86  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -27 hole course
-Large, flat concrete tees
-Signage at each tee simplifies navigation. Some even had signs indicating 'next tee ---->'
-Course has a number of personalities resulting in a great amount of variety throughout
-Relative DG exclusivity, had no problem with park goers.
-DISCatchers. Love em.
-Practice basket near hole 1
- CLEAN restrooms and drinking fountains are found throughout the course.
Cons: -As others have mentioned, this course requires a full commitment to play all 27 holes, so have a good amount of time planned for this course.
-Sand on some tee pads called for added concentration to not fall over
-Minimal trash cans
-No benches. Sometimes a log or something would provide a place to sit.
Other Thoughts: Waller Park is a fantastic 27 hole course that winds its way through a large regional park on wooded hillsides and in other generally out-of-the-way areas in the park. Pine trees and grass made for a particularly beautiful, peaceful, and relaxing round of disc.

Variety in course styles is what made this course stand out. The first 7 holes really played like a typical 9 hole course found in any city park, providing a nice opportunity to warm up for what was in store later on. It then switches to a moderately hilly, wooded, and sandy section of the park. Following that were a good amount of wide open fields allowing long drives, and the course finally ends with another selection of hilly, sandy, wooded holes.

While most people will figure out the course on their own, or just follow other people playing, we found it helpful to take a picture of the map provided on the information board in the parking lot. There are sometimes multiple tees in eye-shot of the pins. This kept needless walking minimal. (Picture we used has been uploaded to this site).

While not the courses fault, we had to deal with some pretty nasty winds on the open holes mid-course. This provided an additional challenge to a chunk of otherwise uninspired holes.

Waller Park is awesome and is underrated on this site, like some of the other courses in this area; this may just be the best park course in all of Southern California. Depends on who you ask. The locals we encountered were friendly. We saw a group of about 10 ahead of us, and we never caught up to them. That is always nice.

While the majority of the holes are an easy par for most amateurs and pinnable for the pros, this course is a 'must see' for anybody traveling through. The sheer variety and scope of the course, as well as a very well maintained and scenic park, are definitely worthy of a visit.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.