Santa Maria, CA
Waller Park Share
Uploaded By: Legend KILLer Hole #16 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 211ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 

1    9/11/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 407  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - multiple pin positions
- nice sized cement tees
- many facilities in the park, including bathrooms and drinking fountains at multiple points along the course
- signs are in good shape and distances are fairly accurate
- fun layout, plays pretty quickly
- the wooded holes are a nice touch because the majority of the course is fairly open parkland
- no cost to use the park, or play
Cons: - the course is only one big loop, and 27 doesn't really finish that close to where the parking lot is
- no benches
- sometimes its a little tricky to navigate (from 9 to 10 walk to the left along the road and tee 10 is on the other side of the picnic area, by 27; from basket 14, the tee you see right in front of you is 23... 15 is up on the hill in the trees to your right)
- some holes, especially the front 9, felt a little bit short
Other Thoughts: Once you start playing Waller, you're committed to going the entire 27 holes because there isn't a good place to cut off any holes, and if you only wanted to play 18 or something, you'd be finishing in the middle of NOWHERE, and have a very long walk back to the car.

I really liked Waller... it doesn't have many missteps. A few of the holes are pretty short, but it opens up and gets longer at the end of the Mid 9. The fact that it chances from nice, flat parkland with beautiful tall trees, to rolling hills, to fully wooded holes, to open holes, to wooded holes again, is great. This means that there are many different types of hole and challenges to overcome, and that's what makes Waller so fun, and worth your time if you're on the 101.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Waller Improvements!!!

2-4    7/18/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: discgolforegon
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 16.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 27 Holes with varied pin settings
- Clean Cut Grass
- Disc golf in a HUGE park with awesome trees!
- Very long technical holes
- Shorter beginner freindly holes
- Bathrooms
- Mega Parking
- BBQ Pits
- ALOT of other activities
Cons: - SUPER BUSY!!!
- Tons of foot traffic on the fairways
- Some holes are tough to find the basket
- Some of the signage doesn't reflect recent course imporvements.
- Squirels dropping pine cones on you while you putt! :) <-- Seriously
- Did i mention how busy this park gets?
Other Thoughts: One of the few reasons waller doesn't get a higher mark in my book is the HUGE AMOUNT OF PEOPLE!!!!

I played a B-Tier on July 18 - 19th and the amount of people in the park each day was simply amazing!!! There was kids, families, all kinds of people everywhere.
Some of the holes shoot over gathering areas, and made me uncomfortable to throw over random folks heads.

LOVED Waller still... awesome disc golf course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/9/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: dg_fever
Played: 38  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of variety, long and short holes, great terrain, beautiful park with nice facilities. The design allows for play even when the park is busy. We played it on a Saturday when the park was hopping and had no problems on any of the holes except one where you are throwing over picnic tables. Also, drinking beer in the park is legal due to it being a county park.
Cons: Not many -- on our first time out we had to search for the next tee pad a few times but locals where helpful and for the most part it is a well marked course. No maps available that we could find.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the trip.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Monster Outing

1    7/3/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: Vince Klortho
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 27 Holes, incredible variation of terrain, ground cover, canopy and elevation. Well-maintained tee boxes and absolutely gorgeous setting.
Cons: The progression of holes isn't always intuitive. If you just want to play 9 or 18, you will be very far from where you parked on 1. LOTS of trees to negotiate, with a very low canopy on many holes.
Other Thoughts: This and Preisker make an awesome 45 hole day.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Treat

1    6/28/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a 27 hole gem of a course that makes you travel through out many different terrains all within a single park. The first 9 holes seem to be fairly easy but the challenge level only picks up from there to force you to make every throw in the book. There are a couple of holes that are par 4's. The tee signs are good and most tee pads are good. I noticed that different pin placements on several of the holes completely changed the challenge of the hole itself to keep things interesting. Good shots are rewarded fairly and bad shots are punished fairly.
Cons: Some of the tee signs have incorrect numbers on them as apparently this course was not always 27 holes long. There are a few places where holes cross right through places where people like to picnic. I had to avoid throwing at people on a couple of holes. A few holes near the end are built right on top of eachother. Navigation as certain points is difficult if you do not already know the course.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my round at this course. There may not be a good reason why, but it was just a fun atmosphere with all the families at this park and all the celebrations going on without feeling like the groups are getting in the way for the most part. With all the courses that I played on my recent disc golf road trip this is one that I would love to come back and play again, even before some of the more recognizeable courses that I played.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 better than a 1 1/2

2-4    4/23/2008   4/23/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 244  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has it all... beautiful maicured grass holes, woody dirt holes, short/medium/long/LONGER holes, open bombs, tight gaps, hyzers, anhyzers, s-turns, slight use of any elevational features, etc... It is a well thought out, complete disc golf course.
It has 27 holes with good baskets and good tee-pads, making the drive from LA worth it.
Cons: It's LONG, some of the holes on the back (mid) get rediculously long. I don't bitch much about length, but a few of them are excessive to be called Par 3's. Basically, a 3 is a birdie compared to the group... (it's really only 3-4 holes though).
The course doesn't return to the parking lot after each 9... thus you are out there for a few hours and need to be sure you have enough water, snacks, a jacket???
Could need a local guide the first time, especially after the first 9.
Lack of serious elevation keeps this course from being among the top.
I also hear this course gets crowded on the weekends and holidays.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. It isn't hard to find from the freeway, the course itself was easily navigable the second time around (the extra long ones could be confusing). There are plenty of resteraunts right down the street for easy access for those long 54 hole days.
Bring extra socks and waterproof shoes since the grass is always wet in the morning.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Waller Park

2-4    3/30/2009   3/31/2009
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well kept park with plenty of variation between lawn, trees, sand, long, short, left and right shots
- Concrete tee pads on all holes (though at times you have to shoot diagonally across the tee)
- The people are very friendly and will let you play through
- The tee signs help you navigate the course quite well as long as you pay attention to them
- Most holes are placed relatively close together (at least compared to Laguna Lake in SLO)
- Very beautiful setting for a course
- Not very busy since it's such a big park (I have played in the morning, evening, and on the weekend)
- Perfect for a weekend picnic, plenty of amenities and restrooms
- It's nice to play 27 holes in one park
- Practice basket near Tee #1
Cons: - Baskets could use a make-over
- Like mentioned below, some pin placements don't match up with tee direction
- I map would definitely help when playing for the first time
- Towards the far end of the park, the holes can get long and uninteresting but makes up for it as you finish up
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, if you're living in the San Luis Obispo region, this is probably the nicest course to play. The fact that the course boasts 27 holes and has so many other activities within the park, it makes it a great destination. Perfect for families and is even dog friendly (as long as you pick up after them).
I was kind of disappointed when I arrived at Hole #27. After playing 26 holes, I was expecting to end on a nice hole but unfortunately it wasn't. Of course this is my opinion but I definitely would recommend playing this course if you're in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/6/2008   11/1/2008
Review By: flash86
Played: 45  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very beautiful setting. One of the nicest parks that I have played in. I liked the mix between grass, trees and sand. Solid mix of right and lefty holes. I really enjoyed having 27 holes to play. There are multiple hole placements, but rarely rotated. Long course but surprisingly not very tiring. Locals are quite friendly. This course reminds me of La Mirada a little bit.
Cons: Most frustrating thing is the non-disc golfers that wonder through the fairways and camp out under the baskets. I have had to skip holes because people refuse to let you play through. The course can be tough to follow - even with a map. The basket numbers and tee box numbers didn't always match up so playing there the first couple of times took a little extra work. Wind can be daunting at times.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Underutilized Park

6/27/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: SmileyMax@aol.com
Played: 35  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.8 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Starts out with a couple of really nice holes. Couple of good long holes that play as par 5's. Many different pins placements to change up the course (could be seen as a pro or a con)

Lots of beautiful variation between grass, woods, and san
Cons: The pin placements that I played were overall a very poor layout. Once you enter the trees some of the holes really just made no sense. Some pins were placed at near 90 degree angle off the tee pad.

This is one of the most beautiful parks i've seen for a course, and it really didn't seem to live up to it's potential.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 waller piines

9/14/2001   5/18/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 130  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 34.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes, well maintained park, lots of grass. not too crowded. concrete teepads.
Cons: some picnicking on fairways from non disc golfers at certain times.
Other Thoughts: its been 7 years since i played there, but it was a great experience. mowed fairways, playing through mature pine trees but still a wide open course for the most part. the squirrels are big enough to carry off a stray disc that live in the park. roller shots can prevail but not necessary to score low rounds, some fairways have tight shots you need to be on line for. there were only 18 holes when i played there so the added holes can only make it a better experience. im hoping someone can give it a better review, someone who has played all 27 holes.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.