Ypsilanti, MI 
Water Works Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Innovadude Hole #5 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 168ft.   3 / 204ft.   3 / 224ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
broken condom

1    7/29/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: W7amf
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: its a disc gold course, kinda
Cons: dirty
not marked mapped
found used condoms and needles
trashy
bum camp
Other Thoughts: this place is dirty. there were some bums camping by the river. the woody holes had trash and the park is kind of sketchy… not a place you'd want to be after dark. we literally found used needles and condoms on the course near the pins. didn't even finish. there are several nicer courses within a short drive. we didn't have much time and just picked one that was close to where we were. we chose poorly. a local club should really clean this place up.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Neighborhood "looks" sketchy but could be a nice course with some TLC

2-4    4/12/2014   4/12/2014
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 37  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Chainstar baskets with dual layer of chains which seem weathered a bit but are certainly in good repair.
- Brilliant course design on 2 through 6. Short-ish holes (depending on the tee) that play through the woods. These take good advantage of the existing terrain and features and put them to good use.
- Excellent risk/reward especially on #2. That river is intimidating. Throw a disc in there and you can kiss it bye bye in that fast moving water.
- General flow of the course feels natural for the most part.
- A great place to work on many aspects of the game from accuracy to distance.
- I love the fact that someone went through the trouble to install three tee pads per hole.
Cons: - It's only nine holes.
- Navigation is lacking. Sorry, have to disagree with some of the reviews here. Without the nice map provided in the files section on this site I would never have found my way around. Being able to see that on my iPhone helped immensely.
- Tee pads are atrocious. Their placement makes complete sense but are so muddy and rutted out it's hard to justify risking injury using them. Concrete pads would be a GIGANTIC improvement to this course.
- Next tee signs. I see someone had the rather novel idea to zip tie red tent stakes to the bottom of the baskets to indicate next tee. Unfortunately, knuckleheads have seen fit to destroy several of them. I would suggest a more permanent solution like paver bricks in the shape of an arrow at the base of the basket.
- #7 white tee goes right at the #8 blue tee. While I realize there are very few people on the course there is no reason to have this situation in my opinion.
- #9 tee throws really close to a roadway. One solution is to make the trees there a mando to reduce discs landing on the pavement.
Other Thoughts: This has the potential to be a 3 disc course if it had a little bit of money poured into it. I can certainly understand vandalism is a concern so tee signs may not be viable but just concrete pads alone would make a huge difference. There are some brilliant elements here so if you are in the area and need a quick round this is not a bad option. Don't let the neighborhood scare you. I've seen MUCH worse however I am not sure a glow round would be a good idea.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

that rapey/stabby feel

1    3/31/2014   3/31/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetic-- plays through a small "inner" city park. Has a baseball field and a bridge, not much else. I can't see where you'd run into other people unless they are homeless or rapey stabby. A guy was whacking golfballs across the field when we were there.

Routing/nav--not terrible with the map. not great either but it's passable. the orange stakes on the baskets helped to point the way.

Baskets-- all present and accounted for, sir! in decent condition and visible enough.

Challenge/variety/risk v reward-- although the risk v reward isn't blatant, it is certainly there on the watery holes. the challenge here lies in the tightness of the woods holes and the openness (windy) of the open holes..
Cons: Teesignage-- poor at best. I understand the city didn't help. but I hate teesigns flush with the ground. I can understand how it would be damn near impossible to nav with snow or tall grass. it was hard enough to find the teeboxes.

Teeboxes-- muddy and uneven. hard to find.
Other Thoughts: I can imagine with some TLC this course would be pretty cool. As is, I was pleasantly surprised with this course. We didn't run into any rapey stabby types but I can understand the possibility.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good

1    8/8/2013   1/21/2014
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Had baskets
- Had multiple tee pads
- Good mix of shorter wooded holes and longer open field holes
Cons: - Very tough to navigate
- Not good signs
- After they mow it is almost impossible to find the tee pads unless you know where they are.
Other Thoughts: The course seems off the beaten path and pretty empty. This would be nice if you are looking to go somewhere not crowded.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not amazing, not bad though

1    9/24/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: Meesta_Bleesta
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets are in good shape

-Park doesn't seem very busy; there was no one there when I was there, and the baseball diamond appears to be essentially abandoned

-There's a walking path on the other side of the river for pedestrians to go, so not a lot of 'civilian' activity on this course.

-Pro, Am, and Beginner tees for every hole! And they go by color, which helps when trying to find the next hole

-Stakes at the bottom of each basket directing players to the next tee.
Cons: -All natural (read: muddy) tees

-Even with arrows on each basket, some holes are hard to find/understand, especially 7 and 8. When you get out of the woods, there are some baskets and there are some pads, but it's not clear which goes where. Pretty minor.

-A little difficult to find the course itself when you get to the park. We had to ask some locals who were on the path across the river; they were kind (and knowledgeable) enough to help us out.
Other Thoughts: Overall I found this to be a surprisingly fun, short, mostly technical course. A couple of holes were right next to a wide river, which I'm a sucker for. It's got a certain atmosphere to it...there's a bit of trash floating around, and some campfire sites (teens? vagrants?); one of the holes has a tattered pirate flag hanging in the middle of the fairway, and the tee boxes are put together in such a way (rocks spray painted different colors to indicate skill level, with a spray painted number somewhere nearby to indicate hole number) that it seems like the course has been sort of strung together by a band of misfits or something. It's kind of cool. It shows that someone loves the place. Not a destination, and certainly not a place to go bombing drives but by no means a bad course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ruined by non-golfers.

1    8/24/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: Trizzor
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: • It has baskets.
• Very secluded
Cons: • Non Disc Golfers ruined it for me. See Other thoughts.
• Grass clippings covering 3 of 9 Tees, we had to search and search. Never did find 9.
Other Thoughts: I won't be going back to Waterworks anytime soon.

•At hole 2, there was a man and his two dogs camped out near the shore by the basket. He had his clothes hanging on the basket... he was trying to coach his dogs to attack the ducks. He wouldn't move, even when acknowledging us and being asked politely. The 12-pack of Bud Light is partially to blame.
•Hole 6 I think it was, maybe 5. A group of teens smoking, sitting right near the basket, again refusing to move.
•Hole 8, a Man and Woman letting their dog run free around the basket while they sat and chatted away maybe 30 feet from it.
•Hole 9, Couldn't find the tee pads. The grass was very very long before the last cut, making the clippings 5-6" long. The grass holes looked like a guile suit.

Lasting Impression: Well, I got to play 5 (6 if you count safari for #9) of the holes on this course. This course is another reason I wish all courses were pay-to-play or privately fenced.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9 hole course in the area

5+    8/17/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: leindecjoeld
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Never busy
-Good mix of long and short tees
-Good mix of open and wooded holes (5 wooded and 4 open)
-People who play the course are helpful and nice
-Seems like the course is constantly being improved, every time I play there is a new change
-Red white and blue tees which cater to all skill levels
Cons: -Starting spots are tricky to find if you haven't played the course before
-course runs along a river, this can cause the ground to get very saturated in rainy season, especially on holes two and three.
Other Thoughts: I have played every nine hole course in the Ypsilanti region, and I would have to say that this is my favorite. There are never other players here, so you can play a round fast. I love swinging through on my way home from work and playing a quick nine. The course does sit in a sketchy neighborhood, but don't let this deter you from checking out the course. There may be some odd characters fishing in the river next to hole 2, but if you treat them like people and just say hi to them you will find that they are just as nice as anyone. I might think they look crazy fishing in the most polluted river I have ever seen, but they see me as some crazy guy throwing a disc around in the woods. All in all I have never felt nervous while playing a round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Grossly under-rated

5+    8/21/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: Grim meanies
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Quick course, not crowded.
Cons: Tees and signage need improvement. Holes 7-9 are really boring
Other Thoughts: This course has a over-exaggerated "shady" reputation. This season (2012) the course has not only increased in upkeep, but a lot of work is being done to improve the signage. Especially nice are plastic markers attached to the baskets indicating the direction of the next tee.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pirates Bay

5+    5/5/2012   5/10/2012
Review By: 24chains
Played: 67  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Hardly played by the rest of the world, This little 9 hole sits in a seedy part of town yes but has potential to be a decent 3-star course with a little leg work. Open holes yes but wind comes into effect making even those not so easy on gusty days. Short in the wood holes yes, But water comes into play on some and will make you choose wisely.
This course is great to work on your tunnel shots and open field bombs.
Cons: Two Words for this course..
GanG-Starr..
Seedy 'Hood - Check
Sketchy "Fishermen" on water holes - Check
Obvious vagrant campsites - Check

But this course is still a decent pit stop off the highway and a great place to work on short game and open field bombs.
Other Thoughts: For a course long forgotten by the city it is the locals and leagues that are doing the work to get this park back into shape. We are taking the steps to correct the issues with tee pads and signage, course maintenance from the city is mowing when they can so it falls on the Disc Golfers to step up and help maintain the area. Pack in and Pack out your garbage and that will start to help out.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

help me fix it!

5+    5/13/2012   10/18/2011
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good design with 5 wooded holes offering a challenge to all players
- 4 more open holes to let it air out
- Downtown
- 2.5 miles from The Throw Shop the biggest disc golf shop in Michigan
- newly maintained fairways summer 2012
Cons: - Bad neighborhood
- Can be flooded (#2-3) in the spring
- Mega bugs and insane poison ivy in season (working on fixing that)
Other Thoughts: - I helped design and install this course, the city gave us no $ for tee, signs, or maintenance and the local A3 club bought the baskets.
- Not recommended to play alone it's not the best area but it's not so bad you can't play here, just don't leave valuables in your car or play alone without a phone at least. I've played it dozens of times and never had a problem, but some people have.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.