Ypsilanti, MI 
Water Works Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Innovadude Hole #1 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 336ft.   4 / 504ft.   4 / 615ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Red Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Pirates Bay

5+    5/5/2012   5/10/2012
Review By: 24chains
Played: 70  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Hardly played by the rest of the world, This little 9 hole sits in a seedy part of town yes but has potential to be a decent 3-star course with a little leg work. Open holes yes but wind comes into effect making even those not so easy on gusty days. Short in the wood holes yes, But water comes into play on some and will make you choose wisely.
This course is great to work on your tunnel shots and open field bombs.
Cons: Two Words for this course..
GanG-Starr..
Seedy 'Hood - Check
Sketchy "Fishermen" on water holes - Check
Obvious vagrant campsites - Check

But this course is still a decent pit stop off the highway and a great place to work on short game and open field bombs.
Other Thoughts: For a course long forgotten by the city it is the locals and leagues that are doing the work to get this park back into shape. We are taking the steps to correct the issues with tee pads and signage, course maintenance from the city is mowing when they can so it falls on the Disc Golfers to step up and help maintain the area. Pack in and Pack out your garbage and that will start to help out.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 help me fix it!

5+    5/13/2012   10/18/2011
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 227  Reviewed: 180  Exp: 18 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good design with 5 wooded holes offering a challenge to all players
- 4 more open holes to let it air out
- Downtown
- 2.5 miles from The Throw Shop the biggest disc golf shop in Michigan
- newly maintained fairways summer 2012
Cons: - Bad neighborhood
- Can be flooded (#2-3) in the spring
- Mega bugs and insane poison ivy in season (working on fixing that)
Other Thoughts: - I helped design and install this course, the city gave us no $ for tee, signs, or maintenance and the local A3 club bought the baskets.
- Not recommended to play alone it's not the best area but it's not so bad you can't play here, just don't leave valuables in your car or play alone without a phone at least. I've played it dozens of times and never had a problem, but some people have.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 PRINT A COURSE MAP

5+    11/26/2010   11/26/2010
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 17.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Right by the Huron River
-Never busy
-Open to 10pm, suitable for night golf. I've played later, without harrasment, too. The park mostly gets ignored.
-Baskets in good condition.
-Woods fairways well defined, giving 5 short holes of reasonably challenging finesse golf.
-4 field holes give big arms a chance to spread out a little, providing much larger distances than you see on most 9 holers in the area.
-Scenic, when clean.
Cons: -Dirt/grass teepads. Or today, mud.
-No signs for the field holes, if you want any idea where to tee off in the field, you'll need a course map. Woods tees easier to find. Short tees are not on the course map, but there is evidence of them existing at some point, and they can be found in the woods. Nonetheless, short tees easy to create in the field, since the holes are wide open.
-Very little intereresting about field shots. Obstacles hardly come into play.
-Park often used during the summer for non-disc golf activities. May render a couple field holes unplayable.
-Trash. Wind blows it in from residential areas on the bad side of Ypsi. Local players don't seem to respect the course, either. Not always bad, but frequently so.
-Burrs. During the right season, there are seas of burdock waiting to stick to your clothes and bag. Clear right now, though.
-Pretty much flat. Two baskets on very small hills, no height to throw off.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot going for it. It's got river. It's got space. It has some decent woods area.

It's never going to be a great course though.
It's too open in most of it, and too flat. But mostly, it just has too much competition. In any other area, this would be a serviceable course, and likely would have gotten attention from the local disc golfers to solve its problems. Its worst issue is the lack of teepads. Without a dozen great courses nearby, people would have come together to put concrete down, or at least have played it enough to pack the dirt down and show where they are. As it is, it's a mystery for a lot of it. This course has 5 really nice holes with 2-6, but hole 1 and holes 7-9 have you throwing across empty space with little to modify your approach. So as it stands, you've got very little exciting golf in an area filled with exciting golf in greater concentrations. Unless a giant hill sprouts up, or the park picks up some property on the other side of the river to make some exciting water holes (neither of which are likely to happen) this course just doesn't have the chops to compete with the rest of the Ann Arbor area's outstanding disc golf.

Still, if you're local, and bored, there's 5 good holes here that you probably haven't played.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Meh

1    8/15/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: setebos
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice usage of a relatively small amount of land; I liked the mix of woods holes and open holes
Cons: Really, really hard to figure out where the next hole was, particular once you get out of the woods. I actually ended up completely skipping one of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Not too bad, if you can figure out the hole sequence.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/25/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: DiscGolfinTheD
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice layout with a mix up of holes, 4 in the woods, 5 in the field, Mostly open but the woods were fun to shoot.
Cons: Beware the river although its only 1 hole, NO TEES! the hardest part about this course was the complete lack of tee boxes anywhere, Also once you get into the field its little hard to distinguish were the start spots and which direction the holes flow.
Other Thoughts: I think if there was a little bit of upkeep mainly around just creating tees this course has the potential to be a fun day out, its not too challenging in the field due to no trees or other obstructions but the woods were fun to play thru.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Its Not ALL bad

5+    5/23/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: ypsidisc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The holes all vary in length and difficulty. Not as many bugs as you would think being next to a river. Never crowded and when there are other players, most of the time, they let you play through.
Cons: The tees are hard to find if you havnt been there. Some holes have three tees, most have only one or two. Makes it hard for different play styles, you basically only have one way to go about playing each hole, where as other, better courses give at least two, sometimes 3 routes.
Other Thoughts: This course was the first one i ever played. I wasn't that good when i started so for me, it was a challenge.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Do not go here

2-4    5/23/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 87  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: None. I didn't even bother playing the "holes" outside of the woods, since there were no markers or tees on anything. Just pick a spot and start throwing.
Cons: Looks abandoned. No tees for any hole. Site says it was created in 2007. I wondered if anyone has ever been there before. If they have they probably never went back and told their friends to skip it.
Other Thoughts: Random chainstars in a field. Two good holes through the woods, although it was ridiculously muddy even though it hadn't rained in two weeks. A river runs to the left so be careful about where you throw; you won't get your disc back if it goes in.

Skip this course in favour of Rolling Hills or even EMU's 9-hole.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not on a drunken dare

1    4/22/2009   4/22/2009
Review By: ejvogie
Played: 81  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wooded holes will challenge your accuracy. Nice scenery by the river
Cons: Natural tees........if you can find them. A local gave me some directions to start, "That patch of brown" and "in front of that pile" were among the tee locations. I had to make my own tees for 4 out of 9 holes. Almost didn't find #8.
Other Thoughts: If I'm in the area again, I'll drive by this park and pay to play Rolling Hills.

*update* All this course really needs are marked teepads (concrete or natural, either way) and signage. That will gain at least 2 stars, maybe more.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  home course

5+    3/25/2009   3/29/2009
Review By: cjkloster
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: never busy or rushed
nice escape from ghetto ypsi
3 blocks from my house
3 open holes in a feild so you can rip some long drives
challenging holes in woods
2nd hole goes along the river
(nice as long as you dont throw in water)
Cons: hard to navigate if you have never played before
only 9 holes
Other Thoughts: there are 9 baskets. the 6th basket is around a bend to the left once you throw out of the woods. you need to turn around and go left after hole 3 to get to hole 4.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Water-needs-Work

1    9/14/2008   3/14/2009
Review By: o01shadow
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is different. It has great potential with hole design and layout.

Right next to the river in a pretty little park.
Cons: The course is not well made or well maintained. There are no tee pads to be seen, and I found only two tees that were identifiable by markings on the ground.

The layout is hard to decipher. My brother and I spent about half an hour looking for pins, and found somewhere near 4.
Other Thoughts: The course has potential. However, it is in serious need of repair and marking. Also, due to construction, I found it hard to get to the course. Although this may not be the case now, be warned that Ypsilanti is hard to navigate in.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.