Ypsilanti, MI 
Water Works Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Innovadude Hole #3 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 249ft.   3 / 291ft.   3 / 309ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Meh

1    8/15/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: setebos
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice usage of a relatively small amount of land; I liked the mix of woods holes and open holes
Cons: Really, really hard to figure out where the next hole was, particular once you get out of the woods. I actually ended up completely skipping one of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Not too bad, if you can figure out the hole sequence.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/25/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: DiscGolfinTheD
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice layout with a mix up of holes, 4 in the woods, 5 in the field, Mostly open but the woods were fun to shoot.
Cons: Beware the river although its only 1 hole, NO TEES! the hardest part about this course was the complete lack of tee boxes anywhere, Also once you get into the field its little hard to distinguish were the start spots and which direction the holes flow.
Other Thoughts: I think if there was a little bit of upkeep mainly around just creating tees this course has the potential to be a fun day out, its not too challenging in the field due to no trees or other obstructions but the woods were fun to play thru.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Its Not ALL bad

5+    5/23/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: ypsidisc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The holes all vary in length and difficulty. Not as many bugs as you would think being next to a river. Never crowded and when there are other players, most of the time, they let you play through.
Cons: The tees are hard to find if you havnt been there. Some holes have three tees, most have only one or two. Makes it hard for different play styles, you basically only have one way to go about playing each hole, where as other, better courses give at least two, sometimes 3 routes.
Other Thoughts: This course was the first one i ever played. I wasn't that good when i started so for me, it was a challenge.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Do not go here

2-4    5/23/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: None. I didn't even bother playing the "holes" outside of the woods, since there were no markers or tees on anything. Just pick a spot and start throwing.
Cons: Looks abandoned. No tees for any hole. Site says it was created in 2007. I wondered if anyone has ever been there before. If they have they probably never went back and told their friends to skip it.
Other Thoughts: Random chainstars in a field. Two good holes through the woods, although it was ridiculously muddy even though it hadn't rained in two weeks. A river runs to the left so be careful about where you throw; you won't get your disc back if it goes in.

Skip this course in favour of Rolling Hills or even EMU's 9-hole.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not on a drunken dare

1    4/22/2009   4/22/2009
Review By: ejvogie
Played: 62  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wooded holes will challenge your accuracy. Nice scenery by the river
Cons: Natural tees........if you can find them. A local gave me some directions to start, "That patch of brown" and "in front of that pile" were among the tee locations. I had to make my own tees for 4 out of 9 holes. Almost didn't find #8.
Other Thoughts: If I'm in the area again, I'll drive by this park and pay to play Rolling Hills.

*update* All this course really needs are marked teepads (concrete or natural, either way) and signage. That will gain at least 2 stars, maybe more.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  home course

5+    3/25/2009   3/29/2009
Review By: cjkloster
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: never busy or rushed
nice escape from ghetto ypsi
3 blocks from my house
3 open holes in a feild so you can rip some long drives
challenging holes in woods
2nd hole goes along the river
(nice as long as you dont throw in water)
Cons: hard to navigate if you have never played before
only 9 holes
Other Thoughts: there are 9 baskets. the 6th basket is around a bend to the left once you throw out of the woods. you need to turn around and go left after hole 3 to get to hole 4.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Water-needs-Work

1    9/14/2008   3/14/2009
Review By: o01shadow
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is different. It has great potential with hole design and layout.

Right next to the river in a pretty little park.
Cons: The course is not well made or well maintained. There are no tee pads to be seen, and I found only two tees that were identifiable by markings on the ground.

The layout is hard to decipher. My brother and I spent about half an hour looking for pins, and found somewhere near 4.
Other Thoughts: The course has potential. However, it is in serious need of repair and marking. Also, due to construction, I found it hard to get to the course. Although this may not be the case now, be warned that Ypsilanti is hard to navigate in.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/16/2008   12/16/2008
Review By: sapples
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nobody is ever at this park. It is great for group play and practice since you can take as much time as you want. Within walking distance from Eastern's campus. Some difficult shots in the woods with the other half of the course in the open. The open shots are at least far enough to let you rip huge drives.
Cons: Second hole is along the river. Over the summer a storm broke down some trees that rest about 15 feet above the fairway partially blocking the shot. 2 Baskets were stolen, but they were replaced this fall. Its not in the best part of town.
Other Thoughts: There are three tees per hole which are relatively poorly marked but worn into the ground enough to see them. Masses of tiny toads in the spring.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/12/2008   11/12/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 79  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not busy,good mix of holes for a 9 hole course 3 or 4 holes are wide open the rest are in the woods,water in play on 2 holes but not only if you have a bad throw,
Cons: I personally didn't really like this course I was bored pretty quick but I only played it once,no signs,course layout was a little confusing after #3 you have to walk back down the fairway to get to #4 I missed it and walked around for a while,some of the wooded holes had thick rough you could lose a disc,not very challenging,natural tees,wooded holes had dual tees that didn't really change the hole or the challenge,lots of bugs,9 holes,
Other Thoughts: If I lived closer to this course I would use it for practice but I don't think I will be playing it again

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Meh...

6/3/2008   6/17/2008
Review By: zatch_5412
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Half the holes are located in an open field, with the other half located in a small clump of woods along the Huron River.

A few of the wooded holes can provide a nice challenge.
Cons: no signs for any of the holes and it can be pretty confusing trying to figure out exactly where you are supposed to shoot from, and what you're shooting at (Hole #7 appears to be missing a basket, with a large stick in the ground instead).

The holes in the open are really just baskets far away from a tee. No obstacles to navigate, and you have so much room you can pretty much throw anywhere and be fine. Maybe some people will like that, but I thought it was pretty boring.
Other Thoughts: The amount of 3 leaved vegetation in the wooded areas left me constantly wondering what I was putting my hand into when going after my disc sometimes. Bring bug spray. Don't throw in the river on Hole #2!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.