Waterloo, IA 
Waterloo Exchange Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscMo Hole #26 (Taken 3/2010)
4 / 351ft.   3 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #26 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Longest Holes in the Cedar Valley

5+    1/2/2015   1/5/2015
Review By: Killar Rabbit
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
> 27 holes!
> Good variety. There are woods to explore, tree branches to shoot under, ponds/rivers to avoid, etc.
> Challenging
> I love the middle 9. Playing on sand while in the woods is an interesting experience
> Longest holes in the cedar valley.
> Well maintained. Not a lot of trash lying around.
> Excellent signage.
> Concrete Tees. Tees are flat so you don't have standing water.
> Good scenery. The course is next to the baseball diamond, skatepark, and softball fields. Often there are people having picnics in the shelters so watch your throws.
Cons:
> The pond is pretty nasty at times. There is dead fish and goose poop everywhere.
> The pond has taken 2 of my discs so far. You have to be cautious when throwing around it (or over it if you are daring enough). Bring your disc fishing pole if you have one.
> The final 9 holes are pretty straight forward, not as much variation as the first 18.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses to play in the cedar valley (ties with Deerwood). Exchange Park is a challenging course with plenty of variation to keep things interesting.

There is a double secret alternate tee for hole #11 if you want some more variety in your life. Look over by the #17 pin.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Loo's Best

2-4    12/22/2014   12/22/2014
Review By: Nemmers
Played: 37  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 1.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Concrete tee pads. Tees are level and grippy, which comes in handy on days like I played the course when it's wet and rainy.

- Outstanding layout. The first 9 incorporates all facets of your game and the park really well, giving you elevation changes (however slight), water shots, ace runs and long bombs. The middle 9 tests your accuracy in the woods with very technical, often precarious lines near the river. The finishing 9 allows you to work on and/or showcase your distance in straight shots in an open field. Truly a very interesting 27 holes.

- Really decent amenities around the park with baseball/softball fields, a skatepark, basketball courts, etc. Kids and non-disc golfers will have no trouble finding something that interests them while you play your round.

- Decent equipment. The baskets seem a little dated -- Mach IIs, I believe they are -- but they catch well and have held up nicely in the often flooded Cedar Valley. Signage is adequate as well, providing both easy navigation and suggested pars for both pro and amateur players.

- Cool locals. Met up with Nate (aka "namar" on DGCR), the local course wizard who was kind enough to show me the lines and even trade DGCR tags. Told me about the leagues around Black Hawk County and the annual tournament in July. Almost makes a brother want to plan another trip back to the old hometown in the warmer months. Almost.
Cons:
- Not a lot of trash cans around, which accounts for the garbage strewn around the course. This is a great park -- the best park in Waterloo, IMHO -- and is worth keeping clean. More trash cans available along the disc golf course would help in that regard.

- Goose poo. Everywhere. Watch your step.

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway.

Other Thoughts:
Being born and raised in Waterloo, I joined the Navy to get out of Iowa because there was nothing to do. Took me 20 years after high school to get into disc golf and when I finally did I was introduced to the game in North Carolina, a state some consider is arguably the "Mecca" of disc golf.

Now that I'm a full-blown, four-alarm neurotic addict of the Game of Plastic, I can't believe what my hometown had available for me that I never took advantage of. Spent a good chunk of my adolescence at Exchange Park and never knew this was here....to MY detriment. Having cut my disc golf teeth at Castle Hayne I was skeptical that Exchange would live up to its DGCR rating, but I was pleasantly surprised. This is an absolutely outstanding course that any golfer (regardless of ability) should instantly love. It's got just about everything you could want in a course. If you're planning a trip to or through Waterloo, do yourself a favor and check out Exchange Park. It's even made this die-hard Waterloo expatriate start to re-evaluate his opinion of his home state. In short, Exchange Park is well worth the stop out of your way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/21/2014   9/28/2014
Review By: Chris_cldg
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Favorite hometown course!

- 27 holes on a huge space
- great mix of long & short holes
- a few unique hole layouts
- middle 9 (island) is wooded and runs along the river
- hole #3 (pond) & #19 (frankenstein) both 600ft+
- teepads all in good condition
- decently scenic
- recently renovated shelters
- lots of parking
- right across the street from Riverfront Stadium (great for catching a baseball game after a round or 2 in the summer)
Cons: no major cons

- not much elevation is the only downside to round play
- the city will sometimes go a couple weeks without mowing
- geese do get annoying & are very messy near the pond area
- hole #4 basket has some chains missing
- some holes are missing signs
- sometimes trash will find its way around the course from other areas of the park
- flooding occurs occasionally

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

best in town

5+    10/1/2013   10/2/2013
Review By: namar
Played: 26  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -27 holes laid out in a trio of 9-hole loops
-nice big concrete pads, baskets are all in pretty good shape
-nice teepad signs with useful info
-lots of room to air it out, especially on the final 9
-layout is pretty big, but flows well from hole to hole
Cons: -goose shiz EVERYWHERE, don't wear new shoes or bring a new towel
-flat
-the final 9 can get repetitive, but only if you're not throwing well!
-flood-ravaged course seems to change every year or two
Other Thoughts: This course is laid out so one can play 9, 18 or all 27 holes and end up reasonably close to your starting point. The front 9 play park-style, with caution required around the bike/jogging paths and the disc-eating pond. The middle 9 (island) offers some serious birdie potential if you can keep your lines tight, as it plays almost entirely in the trees. The final 9 is wiiiiiide open, and where the big arms will make up some strokes as most holes are in the 350-400ft range.

The best variety in town is found at Exchange, with places to use most discs in your bag and most throws you have. If you're just stopping through and have time for 1 round, it should be here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 favorite course in town

5+    6/4/2012   6/4/2012
Review By: troyrugg
Played: 57  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes with lots of variation
lots of long holes to really work on distance, and allows for big make up shots if drive isn't accurate.
island give lots of wooded challenge and back 9 is a great opportunity to make up a few stokes.
Cons: pond and river are big disk eaters so need to play cautiously in some areas.
biggest complaint is no elevation changes, its a very flat course.
Other Thoughts: as my title says, my favorite course in town. biggest variety avail on one course. and the hazards will keep you one your toes for a few holes. for those with distance the pond is definitely clearable, but those with shorter drives are best laying up left and possibly taking a bogie if worried about disk loss

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A little bit of everything

1    2/2/2012   2/2/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 158  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I played this course in the winter, and it's beautiful, so I can only imagine how nice it will be when it warms up. The 27 holes offer a variety of shots and scenes. Hole #3-#5 include a large pond in play. Holes #11-#17 are in the woods and involve a few shots along the scenic river. These wooded holes are also sandy, which is a nice change from most courses. I recommend this course to ANY disc golf fan. You will be glad you played it, and you will likely return.
Cons: Not much elevation change. The amateur par is a little lenient.
Other Thoughts: Every tee pad notes the par for amateurs and pros. There are a lot of par 4's and 5's... and even a par 6.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 moderately tough

1    8/14/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: RipHausser
Played: 104  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy to follow course if you have never played it. Good signs. Nice long holes with good obstacles. Very fun and clean tricky course.
Cons: Pretty much flat the whole way through except for a handful of holes.
Other Thoughts: Will definitely play again.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Waterloo Exchange Park

1    6/26/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: jwetter
Played: 56  Reviewed: 30
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -There are 27 holes with good tees, signs, and baskets.
-The middle 9 holes are interesting and in the woods and along the river.
-It is a good clean park with good obstacles.
Cons: -The course lacks change in elevation therefore every hole is the same and gets boring.
-If the river got any higher then the middle 9 would probably flood and that is the best part of the course.
-There are many holes that either follow the river or a pond and therefore there are many chances to throw a disc in a water hazard.
Other Thoughts: Good for a short trip to play but overall it is not a spectacular course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Worthy Challenge

1    3/1/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities. A large park with plenty of parking, a skate park, basketball courts, bathrooms, shelters, walking trails and opportunities for fishing.

Variety. Great variation it types of shots required, from big arm, short technical holes, and tree lined fairways requiring placement shots.

Water. Several holes have water that comes into play, the water is used well and adds a great challenge (if carrying "throwaway discs" is your thing, you may want to stock up for this course).

Loops. The course plays in three 9 hole loops that pass by the main parking area, if you only have time for 9 or 18 holes the layout is conducive to time constraints. Each loop has a different flavor, with the front 9 being more open with water in play, the middle "island" 9 being more technical and tightly wooded also with water in play on several holes, and the back 9 was a little more forgiving with open technical lines.

Scenery. A variety of views will treat you along this course, from an open park setting, riverside/lakeside views and heavily wooded areas, I was very pleased with the scenery.

Tees. Single tees were all in very nice condition, level concrete of ample size to get a runup.

Signage. A nice sign was posted at each tee showing a map of the hole, distance to pin, and the hole #.

Scorecards. I know they exist as there was some on display, with a map of the course, hole distance and pars, though I couldn't find any for distribution.

Baskets. All exist and were in nice shape with a practice basket available.

Local Scene. The local clubs seem quite active at this course with leagues and tournaments seemingly prevalent.

Access. Not far off the freeway if traveling through this area.
Cons: Elevation. Very little elevation exists on this course.

Other Users. Though this area seems to be primarily a disc golf course, there is a path that winds through most of the course, be aware of walkers/bikers and people fishing along the water areas.

Not Beginner friendly. Actually, many of the holes would be perfect to practice and learn the game on, but a beginner would probably want to avoid the water holes and may get frustrated on some of the tighter technical holes.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the stop off the freeway, if you're traveling through and only have time for one course I'd suggest this one. If your time constraints are even more crunched, I'd suggest the middle 9 if you're looking for technical variety, or the back 9 if you're a beginner looking for a practice round.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 worth it!

1    7/14/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: mrbdizzle83
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 27 holes of great scenery, the sand woods section was a great change to what i usually play on. well maintained. good use of everything you want in a disc golf course. next to the river!
Cons: geese and of course geese poop! running trail going through most of the course. busy park.
Other Thoughts: left this course tired as hell. we played 36 holes that day all the way to nightfall. bring a towel and trunks cause there's a sand bar on hole 16.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.