Madelia, MN 
Watona Park Share
Uploaded By: Bubbajoe Hole #8 (Taken 7/2011)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
watona

1    8/31/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: mev53
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.2 Years
Pros: Very fast easy course. A few obstacles to throw around. Easy aces and birdies. Nice baskets.
Cons: Small tee boxes. poor signs, even with signs still confusing on what is 1 .
Other Thoughts: good course for kids and weak arms, or to bag a bunch of aces.

 Signs and better tees.

1    7/24/2011   5/24/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 333  Reviewed: 331  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The tree area was an alright challenge but three of the holes were very open field shots with not a lot of distance
-You could probably pick up a few aces
-Nice baskets
-Not a lot of people here
Cons: -Tees are only 2x2ish concrete squares, half of which were under silt from flooding when I played and that was well after flood season.
-Tees and baskets are too close to each other and to other park functions creating safety hazards.
-Could lose a disc in the river with a very errant shot
-Flooding does occur in the spring
-No signage at all which makes it hard to follow.
-Not too much length
-Unclear where the course started or where to park
-No trash cans nearby as well as bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: I really like signage and not having to search my way around a course. This course was very hard to navigate and that makes for a more stressful round than I would like. It was also long after flood season and the already pitiful tees were buried under dried up silt.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/29/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: DerekTonn
Played: 259  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 37.2 Years
Pros: - An effective use of trees and a small amount of land. Used pretty-much every tree they could to add interest and challenge.
- Good DISCatcher baskets
Cons: - Tees are ridiculously close to the previous hole's baskets (within 8-10 feet), and are about 2'x2' concrete squares.
- Baskets are very close to other park uses, creating some potential issues (safety and play, in-general)
Other Thoughts: It was a holiday weekend, but campers/trucks were parked literally feet from the Hole 2 basket and Hole 3 tee...making the course unplayable in those locations. I'm told that having that many park users is a rarity! That said, that was a big disappointment to see, playing the course for the first time.

 Short

1    8/22/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: deadbody
Played: 95  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, short, but some trees in a few spots means it isn't all simple ace runs.
Cons: Tiny teepads, literally 2ft squares of concrete right next to the baskets. Short, nothing over about 225 tops.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me a lot of Wabun Picnic Area in Minneapolis, just a short little pitch and putt, if it is the only place to play it is fine, but it really isn't great.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner

2-4    5/27/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: walterpie
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good Course for someone to begin on.
Well maintained. Lots of chances to get hole in one
Cons: Short. Having to deal with cars and RVs parked on or near the holes. Tee boxes lil to close to baskets.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. For a beginner this would be a great course to play on.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Confused

2-4    7/18/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: mnjugg
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Nice challenge of open field; holes 1, 2 and 9
* Playing through the trees that are there adds strategy
Cons: * No maps or any info available
* Had to guess where the next hole was
* Tee Box for pin 1 is hard to find
Other Thoughts: Tee Box for hole one is where the basket for hole 9 is. Once I played through the first time I went and played another 9 and once I knew where everything was I enjoyed it more

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.