New Hill, NC 
Buckhorn DGC Share
Uploaded By: NauticalUrge  
Harris Lake at sunset...



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Very lefty unfriendly!

5+    2/8/2014   2/14/2014
Review By: danielccockerspaniel
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Nice level tees. Clearly defined fairways. Beautiful woods. Lots of parking.
Cons: This is a righty centric course. It has no balance at all. There are a couple of "lefty holes", but they have wide fairways and don't favor lefty's that much. There are three difficult water holes on the course, all with OB, deep water on the right side. They are super easy natural hyzer shots for RHBH, and very difficult for LHBH. The course designer simply had no imagination. It's like they set up each hole with a left fade in mind. As some others have pointed out, the hole with the basket perched on the damn in front of the pond is interesting, but it's really silly that a chain out ace run would result in a circle 3. And anyone putting from below the damn for the first time might not realize that there is deep water directly behind the pin, and even a slight overshot will result in a lost disc.
Other Thoughts: Lefty's beware! Beginners beware, you will lose plastic in the water.

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Want to return

1    11/20/2013   11/22/2013
Review By: tom12003
Played: 128  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 21.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2013
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great wooded course in almost total isolation from the rest of the world. There was almost no undergrowth and the fairways are more than adequately wide. From this perspective I would equate Buckhorn to be an equivalent of Kilborne in Charlotte EXCEPT there is water that comes into play both with carries and along a few of the fairways. Water almost always acts as a magnet for my discs!

I played the short tees (alas I had tweaked my back a few days earlier and was operating at about 60%). The longer pads simply added distance (30' to 150') and challenge for most of the holes but did not radically change the shape of the shot; hole 16 was the exception which was an acute dogleg from the long and a relatively straight shot from the shorts; hole 10's short pad allowed a non-water carry but water still was a major factor.

The course was exceptionally clean despite a lack of trashcans (only few were near the beginning); it was obvious the frequent players were responsible to keep it clean. AND, there actually were score cards available at the first tee (always nice)!
Cons: Most of the holes felt like they had about the same shot shape for the drive favoring the RHBH hyzer; those that required a little turnover were near the end of the fairway (approach shots for me). Many repetitive feeling shots.

I found myself searching for the next tee on many of the holes (and I had a printed schematic map). There was one next tee directional sign I noticed on hole 14 or 15.

I found the concrete tee pads a little lacking--they were plenty big enough but were more that roughly textured (not brushed but textured by the work end of a rake), I nearly tripped on a few of them.
Other Thoughts: Although not really close to any of the other "triangle" area courses, it is a very solid course that should be on the itinerary of any serious disc golfer when in the area. I want to play it again when my back is in better condition (I might bump the rating up another notch if I felt better).

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Feels Just Like Carolina

2-4    11/11/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 200  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2014
6 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: There are so many courses like Buckhorn in central North Carolina, though none as well imagined or constructed. Nice, clean lines on well defined fairways. Perfectly delineated paths leading from hole to hole. It doesn't bring much that hasn't been done before. It just does it a bit better than most.

The one thing that Buckhorn has that other similar courses don't is water. There's not a ton of it. Most holes look like the shore might be miles away. But what it has comes into play quite a bit. The water here is not just aesthetic. There's a pair of holes down by the edge of the lake, where the best path is to hang the disc over the marsh and then fade it left. There is one where a small pond will punish you for being too aggressive towards the basket. Finally, you throw directly over that pond, in a shot which gives you the chance to make a long carry from the tee or lay up to the water's edge for an easier toss across the pond.

Other than that, there aren't a lot of memorable holes here but they are almost all solid. Challenging and fair, it will be tough to stay in the fairway but if you do, there are no single trees left in the middle of your flight path. Good play is rewarded.

It's a bit out of the way. It's farther from the cities of the Triangle than many courses. But it's definitely worth the extra travel.
Cons: At the same time, while all the holes are solid, few are memorable, and there is a lot of sameness about many of them. This can be a good thing, if you like what you see. But you should know after the first fairway what the majority of holes will be like.

16 and 18 are both strange holes that I did not really care for. They turn at very strange angles (16 is extremely sharp at a very early juncture) essentially to "get to" certain places. 16 takes the path to get from 15 to 17, the two holes that use the pond. 18 is the only way to get from said hole to somewhere near the beginning. It's probably a net positive as it allows the two more memorable holes, but it makes for a strange ending to the course. (And the OB on 16? I say if someone wants to go through those woods and avoid the oddly shaped fairway, it's on them.)
Other Thoughts: The two sets of tees actually does a nice job of providing two distinct difficulties. Those far tees are far. They probably the most challenge that a player will find for 50 miles in any direction.

6 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Quality Wooded Course

1    5/22/2012   12/3/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.5 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in a wooded, secluded corner of a large park, close to edge of a lake.
- Secluded - Very serene, nice setting in a quiet, wooded, shaded section of woods in a park with many large, mature trees
- Not crowded when I was there (weekday morning), but appeared to be plenty of parking with a short walk to the first hole
- Bulletin board/kiosk for club/league postings as well as warnings about ticks (no course map when I was there - see "other thoughts")
- Navigation was pretty simple, regardless
- Mailbox near tee #1 houses scorecards for the taking
- Benches and trash cans in a few spots
- Solid tee signs showing colored hole map and distance for each tee pad on each hole
- Multiple tee pads on each (most?) hole to a single basket position - allows for variety if you're a frequent player or short tees can be a good intro to wooded courses for newer players
- Concrete tee pads
- Some tight wooded lines create the necessity for precise shots - there's a bunch of everything here - left and right shots - subtle elevation changes that aren't greuling
- Water throw-overs on #9, 10, 11, 17 - nice change-up as these are more open than the rest of the course (well, 17 is still wooded/tight), but still have a lot of risk - #9, 10 and 11 are over the marshy shore line of the big lake, while #17 is over a nasty, funky pond with the pin perched just on the opposite shore
- Nice course maintenance - no trash, well-defined paths, boards over a couple wet spots or ditches, stairs/planks on #15 help get up to the berm, etc.
- Basket #18 brings you right back to the parking lot
- I thought hole #1 was a terrifc opening hole - nice long, wide tunnel with a generous green near some sporadic trees
- Loved hole #8, short little par 3 pitch to a pin perched up rocks with the lake looming close behind with rocks/ditches creating for some interesting footing on your putt if you come up short
Cons: - Only played the long tees, but I remember many of the short tees being along the same lines - I like having the short tees create some new lines or looks
- Decent amount of loose underbrush creates some potential for lost discs - spent about 20 minutes looking for my drive on #4 that hugged the left side a bit too much and didn't make the turn
- Warning for ticks was right on - found 2 crawling on me when I got done
- Course map doesn't show water throwover on hole #9, but it is definitely there
- A lot of people seem to like #15's pin perched right on the edge of the pond - in and of itself, that is fine (like pin #8) - however, I don't like how you have essentially to shoot up a small cliff at the basket (big ditch in front) and anything long you lose in the drink - tough holes are fine, but there is nowhere to truly layup and getting aggressive could cost you a disc - if the area in front of the green was more equal elevation, I think I would like this more
- Maybe there's a reason, but the random roped-off section of OB on hole #18 seemed kind of silly
- Some tee pads aren't as flush with the ground as they could/should be
Other Thoughts: - Can't decide if I like hole #16 or not - short pitch, then 90+ degree left turn to another long "fairway" - definitely unique and forces a precise "drive", but for some reason I felt annoyed not really being able to go in the direction of the pin off the tee
- No course map online or at site when I played, but I now see that a course map has been added to this site. Although it's not overly detailed, I think a map is a must for all top courses
- Nice view out over the lake on holes 8, 9, 10, 11 - somewhat spoiled by the nuclear plant exhaust stack on the other side...
- I believe this park/course actually closes at dark

This was a very nice course that presented some interesting challenges. The woods make you play very precise golf and the holes at the lake and pond create some danger. Definitely a great stop during my visit to the Triangle.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Grab your swim trunks

1    7/7/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Drew.S
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2012
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Its a beautiful course with a lot of terrain and elevation changes. A good mix of short and long holes. Easy to score under par on every hole. Good for any skill level.
Cons: The swamp, its nasty and will eat your disc.

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    3/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 212  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.6 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Two sets of pads that are a good balance. The whites are not overbearing and can make for a funner quick round and the blues will test your game to the max.

There is serious risk reward on this course with several holes that have a fast green or have an OB pond very close to the basket.

The Holes along the lake can be beautiful.

Benches, trashcans and signage are all very nice.
Cons: The Water holes are all pretty much the same shot hyzer with the lake on the right.

18's OB is trivial and seems out of place

This Course has several tweener holes which I never like.

Hole 16 long is a poor design. you throw about 150' to a 90 degree turn then its a 300' tunnel. Not a good hole imo

Lots of chances for lost discs.

No real open hole(guess two water holes might count)
Other Thoughts: Buckhorn is my favorite course in the triangle. It is a very tough layout with several signature holes and pin placements. The course is well worth your time to drive out of your way to play.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/3/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: alecfalzone
Played: 58  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Gorgeous course layout
Very challenging course from the blues
Narrow, but forgiving fairways
High risk/high reward drives off the pads
Course maintenance is noticable
Remoteness of the course, didn't see or hear another person the whole round
Cons: No alternate pins
Some pads are a little rough
Long, but enjoyable walks in between holes
No real "bomb" hole
Other Thoughts: The only real bad thing I can say is that I would have liked to see alternate pins as well as one bomb hole either over water or through a clearing. Definitely the best course I've played in the area!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in N.C.!

1    6/2/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: 11abush11
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Amazing risk reward
-Gorgeous land
-Up/down - left/right
:) Water holes
-Alternate tees
-Solid fairways great layout.
-Bathrooms.
-Solid short/long relationship.
Cons: -Tee location doesn't change the lane just usually 30-70 ft behind the whites except for a few holes.
-No alternate pins
-Would have been nice to include a LHBH/RHFH shot near water for balance.
-Too many ace runs.
Other Thoughts: Loved this course. First time out there today all the way from Southern Va. I fell in love with the course and didn't want to leave. I will be back with friends ;).

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 risk/reward

2-4    3/9/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: TheSkid
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. Lots of chances to throw over water. It's a good course to work on the, very important, mental aspect of throwing. Great to build confidence. OB is marked on many holes. Nice concrete tees and disc catcher baskets make this a wonderful course for solo play or with a small group.
Cons: Many risk reward shots makes it a easy place for new throwers to lose discs. Due to a lack of signage I missed 16 completely the fist time I played.
Other Thoughts: Leave your drivers in your bag. This park can, and I personally think should, be played with mid range and putting discs. I would suggest that all throwers bring at least one "sacrificial" disc for those throws that you want to take but do not want to lose good plastic.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Woodsy Course

1    12/4/2011   2/4/2012
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 181  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 22.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A nice, secluded course that plays 100% in thick hardwood forest and around the edge of a lake a small pond. It's an advanced course that has narrow fairways and demands accuracy. The choice of two tee pads per hole is very nice for variety.

The water makes things interesting, and it seems that you can avoid it half the time if you choose the short tee pads (except on 15 (see cons). Hole 17 sends you downhill directly to the water's edge, and the smart player is going to lay up short then pitch across the pond for shot 2. The hard thing is to lay up short on a smooth downhill slope without going in the water! I look forward to trying this one again.

Cons: The water is really only dangerous on about 4 holes, but it can be a bugger for losing discs. Hole #15 is a bit sadistic as the pin sits on top of a little hill with deep water about 15 feet behind it. If you flub your drive, you will have a very touchy approach that cannot go long!
Other Thoughts: I played in the winter time and am anxious to see how it plays with all the foliage in full thickness - I'm sure the rough will be a little testier.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.