New Hill, NC 
Buckhorn DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 220ft.   3 / 363ft.   4 / 486ft.   4 / 486ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 - Long drive - then turns left to a well guarded green.



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Grab your swim trunks

1    7/7/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Drew.S
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2012
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Its a beautiful course with a lot of terrain and elevation changes. A good mix of short and long holes. Easy to score under par on every hole. Good for any skill level.
Cons: The swamp, its nasty and will eat your disc.

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Favored Course

5+    8/24/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: snoborderphx
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Technically a great course. It has a lot of good attributes; very well designed course. This is my favorite course by far.
Cons: There may be some wildlife you need to worry about. Bring bug spray and wear good shoes; I have encountered a snake on hole 13 about 30 feet from the pin. This course is long.
Other Thoughts: Things you will need: Bug Spray in the spring/summer/fall, Water, good shoes.

I have lost 3 discs here, 2 at the reservoir at the back of hole 15 off the tee, so be careful with this hole.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Every shot

1    10/6/2010   10/6/2010
Review By: gaerith2
Played: 55  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes.
Lots of challenging water shots.
Good mix of short and long holes.
Multiple tees.
Good mix of hyzer and anhyzer drives.
Cons: A little confusing to find the next hole a couple of times.
Other Thoughts: Not for beginners or if you're worried about losing discs into the water.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

5+    9/3/2010   9/4/2010
Review By: Makomyday20
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is ten minutes from me so I play it al lot. Doesn't get that busy at least when I've played it. Requires you to throw your lines and hit your fairways. You learn control and finesse at this course. Need to be able to throw a wide range of shots including different putting stances because of all the trees and where your shot could lie. Has everything I look for in a course: elevation, water hazard, technicality, concrete, dual pads. Lots of wild life.
Cons: Not a lot of bad things I can say. I would like to see maybe a putting basket close to hole one. Maybe clear out the area around there for warming up. I've seen some snakes out there one I was told was maybe poisonous but watch where your walking. The flys get really annoying out there too. I usually play the longs out here but I don't really like hole 17 long. I think it would be dumb to ever go for the green. I would also like to maybe see more risk reward on hole 16 by making a tough shot to the basket through the trees.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course and would recommend it to anybody. It's peaceful, scenic and you will leave satisfied.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 SCHWEBBIE SHOT A 39 ON BACK PADS ROUND RATING 1100 PDGA EVENT

5+    4/1/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.9 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: great advanced course. techinal and over bearing ruff. tight water nasty alge covered ponds well in the wood. pins placemets are great as well as the pads. felix will fish your disc out of the pond, so if u see a guy of asian decent ask him about your disc he might hav it in his car
Cons: in the middle of nowhere
Other Thoughts: bring your walking shoes, longest walks in between holes ive seen yet

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A+

5+    3/7/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: zacharypower7
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Awesome course. Elevation changes,water,long shots,a couple of short shots,multiple tee pads,excellent location and setting. Relaxed area very courteous players generally. Fantastic fairway upkeep as well as course maintenence do to the regular work of volunteers.
Cons: Alot of water on four holes but this is mostly a mental problem as all shots over water are very birdable.extreme rough and bugs in warm months but nothing to keep somone away as the fairways are constantly groomed it seems
Other Thoughts: This park should have at least two courses with such a nice piece of property to work with.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    5/25/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: The Fleez
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: DISCatcher Baskets, Concrete Tee Pads, Multiple tee pads for skill, Great variation of hole layouts, Very well groomed, Good use of water.
Cons: Blue Tees near impossible to Birdie on certain holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall not much could be done to improve Buckhorn. Very challenging with beautiful scenery.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Be prepared

2-4    4/27/2009   4/27/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course makes excellent use of the terrain and lakes with a wide variety of hole layouts and shot types. The lake holes always make me nervous about losing a disc but they provide great views and fun shots.

It is a heavily wooded course that provides a good sense of isolation because it rarely has a lot of people playing. The woods make for a very tight course that can be pretty punishing if one strays from the fairways, especially from the blue tees. The positive here is that, from any tee, a good score is an accomplishment.

Baskets are in good condition, there is little to no undergrowth, and almost all holes have signs with blue and white lengths and hole diagrams (as of April 2009 several signs are missing from their posts though, stolen?). There are red, white, and blue tees that (unlike many courses) are appropriately scaled for the skill levels associated with them.
Cons: The lakes provide beautiful scenery. However, the inlet around the middle of the course is very swampy and smells terrible. The smell also goes for the pond that the last few holes surround (it is also covered in moss) and small streams that are around.

Hole #15 is particularly frustrating for me. The basket is up a large and very steep rise (10 feet above the ground from the direction you're coming). This would be fine except the rise has only about 6 feet deep of landing area before the pond starts and part of the landing area slopes into the pond. So it's too easy to either have the disc somehow bounce or roll back down the rise or into the pond. The pond wouldn't be terrible if it didn't immediately drop 2 feet or so. It is extremely murky so it's hard to find a disc, and considering the depth, extract it. With a deeper landing or a shallower pond this wouldn't be such a con, but as it is I just never have a good feeling about throwing at this basket.
Other Thoughts: This is a very expansive park with plenty of walking/hiking/biking trails, fishing, and picnic areas. Nice place to get away for a while.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite so far

2-4    12/21/2008   12/22/2008
Review By: kerplunk
Played: 31  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Take a really good course and then add beautiful North Carolina scenery and you've got Buckhorn. Single use course, and I was there most of a Sunday afternoon and never had trouble with traffic. I met a group of 3 locals who I played doubles with- they were very cool. White tees were reasonable for most skill levels- I imagine the blues would challenge very skilled players. Very memorable holes, including lake shots and a shot over a pond that forces you to decide to go for it or lay up.
Cons: Wooded holes could use more obstacles in the fairway to shoot around- maybe some trees should have been spared. There are cattails (big reed like plants) by the water on the lake holes, so even if you have a floating disc or are willing to swim you may not find an errant shot. Red tees are not concrete, just a red rock marking the tee.
Other Thoughts: Although I'm fairly new to the game (~9 months), I have been traveling recently and this is the best course I've played so far- I played 3 rounds in one afternoon, about half of that with 3 locals. The difficulty and layout of the course itself is as good as any other I've played, and when you put the lake shots and scenery on top of that it is the best course in the Triangle.

Be careful if it is windy- myself and my doubles partner saw our Beasts turn over into the water.

WARNING: Don't think a floating disc will save you on all the water holes- some of them have vegetation that will make your floating disc irrelevant (I lost a Dragon).

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice

2-4    11/15/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: YonderScott
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've only played 42 or so courses, but this is the cream of the crop for me. I live just north of Charlotte and have numerous courses to choose from, but I loved this place.
-Water holes. This course has some great water holes...8-11 are great. 8 has the water not 5 or so feet from the back of the basket with not much fairway to land. The hole is only 168' but when you step on the tee you will realize you need to land perfect. 9,10, 11 all play around Harris Lake. It's nice and if you can throw a disc to fade a bit left you can have the thrill of watching your disc fly out over the hazard and landing safely on land. The course has an easy layout that is easy to navigate. The previous reviews about finding the first hole have been resolved, there are signs once you park telling you where to go.
17 and 18 are 2 really great finishing holes. If you like a walk through the woods, and a tight but fair woods course this is your course. It has 3 tees for all levels of play.
Cons: A couple of the holes have issues with having the next tee being a walk through the fairway you just played. But this course has not had alot of players the 4 times I've played it. So I don't see it being a big issue.
Other Thoughts: Prior to playing this place Fox Chase was the best course I had played, but this one goes above Fox just for the water holes alone. I will play this course again and again.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.