New Hill, NC 
Buckhorn DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bigbob777 Hole #9 (Taken 5/2015)
3 / 130ft.   3 / 260ft.   3 / 295ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign

Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 A challenging walk through the woods

5+    9/1/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tremendous challenge on a tightly wooded course that includes many holes where water is in play. This is amongst the most difficult courses in the area because mistakes are very costly. Buckhorn isn't an especially long course but you must be very accurate to survive. Bring your collection of Rocs and mid range discs and expect shots that cap at around 350'. However, this course is carved out of the woods and the fairways are narrow. I love this course because each fairway is distinct and reasonable, but also very tough to stay within. If you make a mistake, you can end up taking another shot or two just to find your way back to the fairway. Water holes are a ton of fun because they are long and the winds are often adjusting the flight pattern of the discs.
Cons: Neither the front nor the back form a loop to the parking lot to allow for playing only 9 holes. Tough for beginners to enjoy if they want to hang around par. No food in general area so you better bring snacks or sandwiches.
Other Thoughts: Great course for dogs to wander without a leash. Along with UNC, Buckhorn is one of the best two courses in the area. Be prepared for a single mistake to turn a solid round into an average one.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 NC Gem

5+    11/15/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.8 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the first course I ever played. I have probably played over 50 rounds here this year. Great tee pads. Both pro and amateur on most holes. Good signs. Easy to find your way around. Heavily wooded technical course. You need to use every shot you have to score well. Drives that go in the woods will cost you severely. Water comes into play on 8, 9, 10, 11, 15 and 17. A great challenge, but also a great way to donate plastic to the park.
Cons: No real elevation. No bikini girls to retrieve your discs from the water. Not a great place to bring a beginner. Can be frustrating if you don't shoot accurately.
Other Thoughts: A great overall course. The only thing it realy lacks is a wide open, long bomb hole, or some signature hole with something unique. Watch the wind coming off the lake on holes 8, 10 and 11. I have had some bad things happen to my discs out there this year.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best in NC

2-4    4/13/2008   9/24/2009
Review By: Kiknwitcooper
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course makes you use every shot possible. It tests your accuracy and your ability to play around water. Great view of the lake from many holes.
Cons: Stay on the fairway, if not you will have to take a couple of shots to get back on the path. Beginners Beware; if you can't control your disc then you might lose it on the holes involving the water and pond. Don't play this course if it's windy, EVER!
Other Thoughts: Designed by Hall of Famer Carlton Howard. One of the toughest tournaments to play every year because of weather conditions.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    5/25/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: The Fleez
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: DISCatcher Baskets, Concrete Tee Pads, Multiple tee pads for skill, Great variation of hole layouts, Very well groomed, Good use of water.
Cons: Blue Tees near impossible to Birdie on certain holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall not much could be done to improve Buckhorn. Very challenging with beautiful scenery.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Be prepared

2-4    4/27/2009   4/27/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 50  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course makes excellent use of the terrain and lakes with a wide variety of hole layouts and shot types. The lake holes always make me nervous about losing a disc but they provide great views and fun shots.

It is a heavily wooded course that provides a good sense of isolation because it rarely has a lot of people playing. The woods make for a very tight course that can be pretty punishing if one strays from the fairways, especially from the blue tees. The positive here is that, from any tee, a good score is an accomplishment.

Baskets are in good condition, there is little to no undergrowth, and almost all holes have signs with blue and white lengths and hole diagrams (as of April 2009 several signs are missing from their posts though, stolen?). There are red, white, and blue tees that (unlike many courses) are appropriately scaled for the skill levels associated with them.
Cons: The lakes provide beautiful scenery. However, the inlet around the middle of the course is very swampy and smells terrible. The smell also goes for the pond that the last few holes surround (it is also covered in moss) and small streams that are around.

Hole #15 is particularly frustrating for me. The basket is up a large and very steep rise (10 feet above the ground from the direction you're coming). This would be fine except the rise has only about 6 feet deep of landing area before the pond starts and part of the landing area slopes into the pond. So it's too easy to either have the disc somehow bounce or roll back down the rise or into the pond. The pond wouldn't be terrible if it didn't immediately drop 2 feet or so. It is extremely murky so it's hard to find a disc, and considering the depth, extract it. With a deeper landing or a shallower pond this wouldn't be such a con, but as it is I just never have a good feeling about throwing at this basket.
Other Thoughts: This is a very expansive park with plenty of walking/hiking/biking trails, fishing, and picnic areas. Nice place to get away for a while.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 B = Be too long for me to fully enjoy

2-4    4/26/2007   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 375  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21.4 Years
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- A-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- C+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- A
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- C
Cons: OK, I admit it.....I am a lefty :)
That does not help my opinion - especially the water holes.
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/9/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: jab7575
Played: 96  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Challenging but fun course
-Aesthetically pleasing w/ views of Harris Lake on several holes
-Other water holes w/ smaller ponds
-Score cards available at hole #1 (sometimes)
-Well maintained
-Variety of shots can be utilized and are needed. Anhyzers, hyzers, thumbers, tomahawks, etc...
-Low traffic. Meaning you do not feel pressure to rush through holes. Usually you can take your time and enjoy all the course has to offer.
-Ample parking
-Pro & Am tee pads (concrete). Regardless of whether you play from the Pro or Am tee boxes the course will challenge your skills. Each hole changes significantly depending on which box you choose to throw from.
-Course is wooded which provides shade in the summer

Cons: -Can be a morale crusher to less experienced players due to the length and difficulty of many of the holes. Actually it can be a morale crusher for any experience level. Several water holes do provide quite a challenge.
Other Thoughts: Fun course but your first trip or two can cost you some discs. A friend and I played the course for the first time a few years back. By the 9th hole we were forced to leave because we had lost all of our discs except our putters. We lost what was our entire disc supply at that time except for two puters:) A day I will never forget! Not a beginners course per se but all skill levels should enjoy. More advanced players may have a better appreciation for the challenge. GO PLAY THE COURSE

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tough woods course

5+    4/30/2007   2/19/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 186  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 34.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Buckhorn is not a course for the faint of heart. This is the epitome of a technical woods course. Not overly long - but there are definitley a few "longer" holes requiring good power and EXTREMELY accurate placement to set you up for an approach. There is also a nice combination of left and right turns that force you to perform and be very deliberate with the flight of your disc.
I like the overall balance of this course - as there are definitely a few dinkers you just gotta get, a few more medium shots that are there to get if you execute properly, and a few that you either execute - or you pay the piper.
Well kept, well marked, decent tees, great challenge.
Cons: It's an 18 hole circuit - you don't return to the parking lot during the round - not a big CON, but one to be prepared for.
Slightly remote - also not a big CON - but also one to consider as you plan your travel - Buckhorn IS a little off the beaten path. Being that this is a tighter/technical course - I can't see it being beginner friendly.
Other Thoughts: Buckhorn is the course that forced the Raleigh Area Disc League (RADL) to abandon Cedar Hills as part of the X Town Classic. It is plainly a step above Cedar Hills in both overall quality, and in difficulty. Nice mix of tight and tighter. Nice use of water hazards, nice test of skill. If you're not a woods player - you probably wouldn't rate this course as highly as I have. If you are a woods player, you will immediately appreciate what Buckhorn has to offer. Definitely worth a visit, and one of the courses responsible for the high caliber players coming out of this part of NC.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


1    2/17/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: jleonar18
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course. Very challenging course. scorecards are set up in the mailbox at the first course. Very long with lots of walking and scenery to look at.
Cons: A few holes with water that can be difficult to cross for beginners. Hole 17 seems to be a lot longer than it is marked for.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What's all the hype?

2-4    1/2/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: b pheazye
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: The course is in good shape and has nice tee offs. Very easy to follow for the most part. A high difficulty.
Cons: Personally the thought of losing a disc is not one I look forward to. There is just too much water and wind to take chances. It is also next to a nuclear power plant so may not be the best idea to go in after it either. This course was made with the top players in mind. The fairways are no more than 5 feet wide at some points which leaves not much par oppurtunity without having wonderful aim.
Other Thoughts: It is a great course but very difficult. I ended with a decent score slightly above my average and had a great time. I suggest giving this course a try but be ready to take on the challenge!

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.