New Hill, NC 
Buckhorn DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 120ft.   3 / 216ft.   3 / 285ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 - Back across the small cove on Harris Lake.



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Tough, but Fair

1    9/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 36  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course that demands accuracy and distance. Blue, White and Red tees for different levels of skill. Fairways are not wide, but they are wide enough to give you a line. They twist and turn somewhat, so this is a great place to work on your thumber and hammer. Permanent concrete tees and Hole signs.
Cons: Not really a con to some people, but lots of ways to lose your discs on this course. The woods off of the fairway can get disc hungry. The forest floor is very loose. Discs can slide out of sight quickly. I probably don't need to mention the water, but it bears mentioning that the water comes into play on about a third of the holes. Park regulations prohibit fishing your disc out of the lake, I believe.
Other Thoughts: This a fair but challenging course that has all Par 3's on the signs, but a few of them are honest Par 4's or even 5's. I had a lot of fun, especially when I kept the disc in the fairway. Good Risk/Reward. Good mixture of short and very long. Most holes would reward conservative play with a par, but risks were in order for the occasional deuce. There are no facilities for the wives or kids. no playground or bathrooms at the course entrance. A little hard to find. Course navigation was adequate. Occasionally, there are long transitions to the next tee. No practice basket. Bring your A-game, you'll need it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

5+    9/3/2010   9/4/2010
Review By: Makomyday20
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is ten minutes from me so I play it al lot. Doesn't get that busy at least when I've played it. Requires you to throw your lines and hit your fairways. You learn control and finesse at this course. Need to be able to throw a wide range of shots including different putting stances because of all the trees and where your shot could lie. Has everything I look for in a course: elevation, water hazard, technicality, concrete, dual pads. Lots of wild life.
Cons: Not a lot of bad things I can say. I would like to see maybe a putting basket close to hole one. Maybe clear out the area around there for warming up. I've seen some snakes out there one I was told was maybe poisonous but watch where your walking. The flys get really annoying out there too. I usually play the longs out here but I don't really like hole 17 long. I think it would be dumb to ever go for the green. I would also like to maybe see more risk reward on hole 16 by making a tough shot to the basket through the trees.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course and would recommend it to anybody. It's peaceful, scenic and you will leave satisfied.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course w/ Tricky Turns

5+    4/2/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: rjmimagery1
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: DISCatchers (YES!!!!), long course for a great practice session, concrete pads, excellently maintained, well-marked, water in play (holes 8, 9, 10, 11, 15, & 17), ample parking spaces, scenic views of Harris Lake, & in park fishing, hiking, mountain-biking, and more!
Cons: As previously stated, hole 15 could use a bit of enhancement in regards to the pond which lies approximately 6 feet behind the hole. This probably wouldn't be such an issue if there was a longer landing area & or if the pond didn't drop off to 2 1/2 feet deep in 6 inches. Since the course lies within one of the largest parks in the county, there are often times when families or large groups of people are on the course.
Other Thoughts: From the reviews I've read before posting this one, and as a local to this course, I must say that people have began to dub this course as "very difficult". I do agree to a certain extent, however, I do feel that this course is an excellent one to learn on. Yes, you may lose a few discs, but without the possibility of failure, advancement is often futile.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 SCHWEBBIE SHOT A 39 ON BACK PADS ROUND RATING 1100 PDGA EVENT

5+    4/1/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: great advanced course. techinal and over bearing ruff. tight water nasty alge covered ponds well in the wood. pins placemets are great as well as the pads. felix will fish your disc out of the pond, so if u see a guy of asian decent ask him about your disc he might hav it in his car
Cons: in the middle of nowhere
Other Thoughts: bring your walking shoes, longest walks in between holes ive seen yet

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A+

5+    3/7/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: zacharypower7
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Awesome course. Elevation changes,water,long shots,a couple of short shots,multiple tee pads,excellent location and setting. Relaxed area very courteous players generally. Fantastic fairway upkeep as well as course maintenence do to the regular work of volunteers.
Cons: Alot of water on four holes but this is mostly a mental problem as all shots over water are very birdable.extreme rough and bugs in warm months but nothing to keep somone away as the fairways are constantly groomed it seems
Other Thoughts: This park should have at least two courses with such a nice piece of property to work with.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Trey133

5+    12/14/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: Trey133
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging.
Water hazards are very well in play.
Very scenic holes.
Great well worn in fairways.
Great range of distances from fairway driver down to putter.
Not much outside of disc golf intermixed in the course.
Cons: Wind coming off the water really creates an unfortunate situation for plastic at times.
Some good shots have unlucky kicks back into the water... never to be seen again.
Hole 3 is a WTF hole... needs a little changing.
Other Thoughts: If you can play good here, you are bomb proof as far as discgolf is concerned.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/29/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great walk through the woods. The course is clean and scenic and not crowded. Very challenging with risk/ reward everywhere. I had no trouble navigating. Multiple concrete tee locations are nice for those really scary shots over the water. If you have good control these shots over the water are fantastic.
Cons: It's been said but it's true, this is not for a beginner. Hole 15 seems like a bit more risk than I would like because you need to throw up an embankment to the basket and hiding 10-15 feet behind the basket is a pond covered in algae. The land slopes slightly down past the basket too, so the pond really wants to eat your disc!
Other Thoughts: If you feel confident with your disc golf skills this is a must play! If you don't feel confident yet, start practicing because you need to play here too!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A challenging walk through the woods

5+    9/1/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tremendous challenge on a tightly wooded course that includes many holes where water is in play. This is amongst the most difficult courses in the area because mistakes are very costly. Buckhorn isn't an especially long course but you must be very accurate to survive. Bring your collection of Rocs and mid range discs and expect shots that cap at around 350'. However, this course is carved out of the woods and the fairways are narrow. I love this course because each fairway is distinct and reasonable, but also very tough to stay within. If you make a mistake, you can end up taking another shot or two just to find your way back to the fairway. Water holes are a ton of fun because they are long and the winds are often adjusting the flight pattern of the discs.
Cons: Neither the front nor the back form a loop to the parking lot to allow for playing only 9 holes. Tough for beginners to enjoy if they want to hang around par. No food in general area so you better bring snacks or sandwiches.
Other Thoughts: Great course for dogs to wander without a leash. Along with UNC, Buckhorn is one of the best two courses in the area. Be prepared for a single mistake to turn a solid round into an average one.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 NC Gem

5+    11/15/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.1 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the first course I ever played. I have probably played over 50 rounds here this year. Great tee pads. Both pro and amateur on most holes. Good signs. Easy to find your way around. Heavily wooded technical course. You need to use every shot you have to score well. Drives that go in the woods will cost you severely. Water comes into play on 8, 9, 10, 11, 15 and 17. A great challenge, but also a great way to donate plastic to the park.
Cons: No real elevation. No bikini girls to retrieve your discs from the water. Not a great place to bring a beginner. Can be frustrating if you don't shoot accurately.
Other Thoughts: A great overall course. The only thing it realy lacks is a wide open, long bomb hole, or some signature hole with something unique. Watch the wind coming off the lake on holes 8, 10 and 11. I have had some bad things happen to my discs out there this year.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best in NC

2-4    4/13/2008   9/24/2009
Review By: Kiknwitcooper
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course makes you use every shot possible. It tests your accuracy and your ability to play around water. Great view of the lake from many holes.
Cons: Stay on the fairway, if not you will have to take a couple of shots to get back on the path. Beginners Beware; if you can't control your disc then you might lose it on the holes involving the water and pond. Don't play this course if it's windy, EVER!
Other Thoughts: Designed by Hall of Famer Carlton Howard. One of the toughest tournaments to play every year because of weather conditions.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.