Disc Golf Store
New Hill, NC 
Buckhorn DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 190ft.   3 / 282ft.   3 / 378ft.   3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 - Take it home through a narrow, low ceiling tunnel fairway with OB on the left side.The fairway bends to the left slightly uphill.



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Very Nice

2-4    11/15/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: YonderScott
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've only played 42 or so courses, but this is the cream of the crop for me. I live just north of Charlotte and have numerous courses to choose from, but I loved this place.
-Water holes. This course has some great water holes...8-11 are great. 8 has the water not 5 or so feet from the back of the basket with not much fairway to land. The hole is only 168' but when you step on the tee you will realize you need to land perfect. 9,10, 11 all play around Harris Lake. It's nice and if you can throw a disc to fade a bit left you can have the thrill of watching your disc fly out over the hazard and landing safely on land. The course has an easy layout that is easy to navigate. The previous reviews about finding the first hole have been resolved, there are signs once you park telling you where to go.
17 and 18 are 2 really great finishing holes. If you like a walk through the woods, and a tight but fair woods course this is your course. It has 3 tees for all levels of play.
Cons: A couple of the holes have issues with having the next tee being a walk through the fairway you just played. But this course has not had alot of players the 4 times I've played it. So I don't see it being a big issue.
Other Thoughts: Prior to playing this place Fox Chase was the best course I had played, but this one goes above Fox just for the water holes alone. I will play this course again and again.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


1    10/25/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: Mando
Played: 100  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2013
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This is a secluded,remote walk through a gorgeous peidmont forest and around a picturesque lake which just happens to include a first class disc golf course and a nuclear plant.
Signage is great and each hole has two t-pads and red markers for the shorts.
Interesting layout with good flow.
Mostly wooded with some epic water holes mixed in.
Although this course is just outside of Raleigh, it was not crowded at all, even on a weekend afternoon. Quiet and serene to the point where you can hear owls trading hoots across the forest.
Cons: Do not leave anything of value in your car !!!
Other Thoughts: Along with Richmond Hill, Buckhorn is among the elite as far as best public woods courses in NC. April is prime time when the dogwoods are blooming.

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Came From Michigan...

1    6/14/2008   9/23/2008
Review By: pgriffioen
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.7 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Outstanding course. I loved the walk through, and the lake was neat to play beside. I felt challenged through all the holes playing from the long tees. The best marked course I have ever played (except where to begin).
Cons: I was from out of town and there was no sign indicating where you actually start. I wandered around a bit, but this is hardly a problem. This is otherwise the best marked course throughout.
Other Thoughts: Maybe it was the time of year for bugs, but like any other course - pack some bug spray.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  One of my favorites

5+    8/17/2008   8/18/2008
Review By: raleighmike
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well marked, Tight wooded holes without being too tight. Seldom crowded, beautiful scenery. Three sets of tees make it very fun to play with all of my friends who all have different skill levels.
#8, #9, #15, #17 are some of the most interesting holes around and prove that a hole doesnt have to be 400+ feet to be difficult.
Cons: A few of the holes have quirky tee shots that make it easy for a beginner to lose a disc... #11 from the white tees is awkward for a novice player who doesnt throw it 200+ feet... no lay up area.
Other Thoughts: Wonderful well maintianed course.... a must play for anyone visiting the Raleigh area. Make sure you make the time to play twice!!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 This is what a disc golf course should be

5+    7/26/2008   7/26/2008
Review By: johnt1969
Played: 166  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 31.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2008
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is what a disc golf course should be. It has nice tee pads, good tee signs, good holes and a good flow. It's also in a single use portion of the park. There is nothing here except a disc golf course. It's a hard tight course with the tees, pins and fairways far enough apart to not interfere with other holes. It is very hard from the long tees. Tee signs are good and the golf course has a natural flow with paths to each hole. You can start at hole 1 and easily find your way around the entire course. This course will test your accuracy. It does not cater to people who can throw super far unless you can do it with pinpoint accuracy. In my opinion this is the best course in the Raleigh area by far.
Cons: The only thing I don't like at Buckhorn is #16 from the long position. I think the right angle lay up shot that's there is too quirky and doesn't work with the rest of the course. The short tee is a beautiful hole though. Other than that the course is excellent.
Other Thoughts: Beginners should be careful with the holes around the water. Especially 15 and 17. If your disc ends up in that pond there's a very slim chance you will ever see it again.

A comment regarding my evaluation of courses. I am not trying to insult or hurt any ones feelings when I review a course. I'm just trying to evaluate the course on what I feel are important characteristics of a good course. Disc golf has become a large enough sport that I feel we should strive for better than we have now. Just putting 18 holes in a park isn't enough. 18 pole holes does not make a disc golf course. It requires tee's, signs, maps, solid course design and constant maintenance. Any less than that and we will never advance the sport to a reputable level.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in the Triangle

5+    7/9/2008   8/4/2007
Review By: Olorin
Played: 304  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/29/2008
21 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The water holes, especially 9-11, are among the best and the most beautiful in the Triangle. Even from the White tees the drive over the pond on 17 has high risk vs. reward.
-3 sets of tees: Blue, White, Red that will cater to many playing levels.
-The Blue tees are one of the most challenging and difficult courses in NC!
-The 3 sets of tees make this a complete course. With the water holes, this one of the top 2 courses in the Triangle area; many would say it is THE best.
Cons: (I can't think of any, and that's extremely rare!)
Other Thoughts: There is a picturesque view of the cooling tower of the Harris Lake Nuclear generator. You may leave the course with "a certain glow", but it makes night golf much easier.

21 of 22 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.