Waverly, NE 
Wayne Park Share
Uploaded By: spsjason Hole #5 (Taken 7/2009)
4 / 250ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 April Fool's!

2-4    4/1/2011   4/1/2011
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 80  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is in a very clean park. The tee boxes are neat, and the sign posts make it easy to follow. The course, while short, had some very interesting shots through the trees.
Cons: This park is very busy. Now this is not to say that the course was busy. There were children and people walking all around the course, and the traffic from the playground and the baseball game going on made it worse. The biggest problem with the design of these holes is that the jogging paths are right in the middle of several holes. You may throw a disc and decapitate a toddler if you're not careful.
Other Thoughts: Though it was April Fool's day, there wasn't to much to laugh about here. This course is truly cared about by the local community. I just wish there weren't as many people crowding the park.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant surprise

1    8/14/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course makes nice use of the land it's on. I arrived and saw a basket in the middle of the open area and thought "Great, it's going to be a bunch of wide open holes." Nope. It plays around the perimeter of the park and uses trees, light poles, and a drainage area pretty well. Hole 3 had a nice tunnel shot that wasn't simple and had a couple ways to go (through the tunnel or a huge overhand over the top). One of the late holes had a tough shot through a bunch of trees, making a 200-foot hole a little challenging. This is a pretty good course for beginners without being boring for everyone else.
Cons: This course isn't going to challenge accomplished players. Almost all of the holes are under 250 feet, and there are a lot of birdie opportunities. The sign posts list the pars but not much else, and the pars are pretty generous (there are some par 4's and 5's, even though none of the holes is "really" more than a par 3). Navigation wasn't too tough (after the second hole, cross the drainage area to play the next two holes) without a map, although on a couple holes you couldn't see the basket you were throwing at from the tee. The course does have some potential safety issues, as there are shots along sidewalks (the hole 1 tee shot is a blind shot toward a sidewalk). I'm guessing this park isn't too busy (it was empty when I was there on a Saturday afternoon).
Other Thoughts: This course pleasantly surprised me. I didn't have high expectations for this 9-hole course, but I'm glad I visited it. It's fun to have some ace runs. It's not a destination course but a nice place to swing by if you're in the area. I came down from Omaha and combined the 9 holes here with the 27 at Max Roper in Lincoln for a good day of disc golf.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hitching Posts

1    3/27/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 211  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course uses the trees that are there, really well for a course that isn't really a wooded course. I enjoyed some of the pin placements. The first 5 holes have either a tree-protected baskets, or at least have trees close to them. The 5th hole is a tunnel type shot with street OB all the way down on the right side and a tree row all the way down on the left. Each hole has a cement tee pad and wood "hitching" post for a tee sign that has the hole number, par, & footage on it. This is a fun layout for being a 9-hole, shared land course.
Cons: The 1st tee and 9th basket are a bit of a walk from each other with a baseball field between them. For navigation help, holes 3 & 4 are across the drainage ditch from #2 basket and then you come back across it and go by the street to find #5. The par settings are set for younger people and are very forgiving. Parking here was not easy to find and is very small.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was not too bad for such a short and small course. I actually liked playing here. It is not a real challenge, but the pin spots made the drives kind of fun. I wish I could have had time to play it again. Once I learned where the pins really were, it would have been fun to make some ace type runs at them. If I were close by, I would want to take another run at this one.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Impressed

1    3/5/2010   3/5/2010
Review By: Wheelz
Played: 28  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads on every hole was nice to see. I thought that the course flowed pretty well. Easy to find your way around it without a map. It sits on a pretty small area of the city park but it really uses the land well. It's a good course to go play a casual round in as it isn't very difficult. Waverly is a small town so there isn't much traffic on the course.
Cons: Small, only 9 holes. The course really isn't very difficult, it is built more for the rec player. This is evident by the tee signs... I believe whole 9 was a par 5 and it was only 390 feet long and relatively open. A decent golfer should be able to play under par easily. Course gets really sopping wet when it rains or there is heavy snow melt.
Other Thoughts: Overall I was impressed for not knowing what to expect. I would recommend playing it for fun or as a practice/warm up round between tournaments, but it's not really worth making a huge road trip to play. Fun course though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Great easy course

2-4    7/6/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: spsjason
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is short, but really fun to play. Great for a beginner, like me. Hole 3 is the hardest hole i feel and at that its still an easy course.
Cons: some of the baskets are worn out and need replacing.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.