Waynesville, NC 
Waynesville DGC Share
Uploaded By: KenanFlagler01 Hole #6
4 / 392ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Ball golf style!

2-4    7/8/2016   7/8/2016
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 76  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: -The Waynesville Recreation Center itself is great! It has a walking path, a dog park, a running track, and sports fields that typically are not used. The course plays around the whole Center. From holes 2-8, it feels kind of like backyard/old fashioned disc golf because those holes are closer to the woods and play beside the train tracks. Which is something I find very interesting. Holes 1, 9-18 all play around the field. Course for the most part is pretty flat, but the design of most holes shows how interesting the course is.

-Reading the reviews from a few years back and seeing the course pictures, this course has improved. The old 7 and 8 have been removed. They both were beside a low fence area, making it extremely easy to land inside it. The old holes 4-6 are now holes 3-5. Hole 6 is a very cool open bomb with the railroad tracks in play, and the new 7 plays to where the old hole 3's basket was, but the tee is on the other side, and it plays as an uphill ace run across the creek. #8 is a slightly downhill ace run over the road. Adjustments have been made to where Waynesville has improved.

-Course is mostly open, with some trees here and there, but enough to really crush a good drive. Holes 16 and 18 are both great holes for me to unleash some 450'-500' drives. There is an excellent balance between short holes <200' and holes nearly 500'.

-Everyone that has played here knows that #14 is easily the greatest hole at Waynesville. A "top of the world" tee shot that can be played as an anhyzer around mature pine trees or as a slight hyzer going over the Rec Center building! Just one of those holes where you'll have to take a picture and throw more than one disc. I have also heard that the staff is good with returning discs so if your drive lands on top of the building, it'll probably be taken to the lost and found. This hole utilizes the most elevation available at the Waynesville Rec. Center.

-I love the creek that is in play throughout holes 2 to 7. Just makes a great additional feature.

-Inside the Recreation Center is very nice! If you are a member here, or plan to become a member, you'll have access to an indoor water park and pool. There are drink and snack machines inside. The bathrooms are nice as well. There is also a water fountain. Just make sure you have one dollar bills on you!

-For a place that is mostly open in fields, this course does a wonderful job as far as placing holes in areas with many trees, just to avoid the holes being wide open and boring. I disagree with many of the previous reviewers that said that this course is boring. I don't think it is boring at all for the most part.

-Huge parking lot! Many good places to park. I would recommend parking close to the the building so you won't have to worry about your car being hit by a disc, but as far as the course goes, it isn't used too often.
Cons: -Pedestrians! Pedestrians GALORE! They are all over the course because the place itself is a family center! I understand that there are signs that warn pedestrians about flying discs, but some will pretend that they don't even see disc golfers. Which is a real shame, but the park is theirs as much as it is ours.

-Hole 9 is the worst on the course. The fairway is beside an athletic field with no fence all around it until you get to the basket, which is placed on a small patch island around the track and walking path. Just a poorly designed hole all around. Not a fan of hole 3 either. The tee pad is actually to the LEFT not right of the dog park and it is an arm's distance from the railroad. Very hazardous hole. And as much as I like #16, it is still across the track.

-Ever since it has been changed, it seems like a consequence to that would be that it is very, very difficult to navigate. Holes 3 through 5 are labeled as 4 through 6 because they are the old holes 4 through 6. #7's tee pad is labeled as #3. The baskets are numbered correctly. Another difficult thing about navigation is that when you cross the bridge after hole 1, the first basket you will see will be #8's basket. As soon as you cross the bridge after the first hole, follow the walking path and go right of #8's basket. After maybe 300', you should see #2's tee pad.

-#13's pad is unmarked. The basket is past the volley ball field placed on a fast green. I think the pad is on the sidewalk marked by blue paint, but I honestly don't know. It would be helpful to look on the media.
Other Thoughts: -This course can be a danger to other locals. But at least they get to see how fun disc golf is! For the limited space, this course is just about as good as it can be. To me, Waynesville is just some good old fashioned golf! It's especially more fun when there is someone else to play with. If you live up around Western Carolina University (where I live now!) shoot me a PM sometime. It's about 22 miles from my college campus so I'll consider it a new home course. I think this course is better than advertised.

-If you don't like playing around athletic fields, roads, or railroads, this course is not for you. But if you admire the appearance and find the roads as cool features, you will probably love it here! It doesn't say on the tee signs if the walking trail or if the railroads and beyond are OB, so if you play a round for the fun of it with your friends, I wouldn't consider it OB, but if you are trying to work on your driving accuracy, I would consider them OB. I typically play the whole track on #16 OB, so I guess I essentially play it as an island green par 4!

-Signature holes would include:

#5: Very unique tunnel shot between mature pine trees and the tennis court.

#12: Great uphill ace run with a bush in play beside the basket.

#14: Major downhill bomb over the building or around it. Your choice!


 Good Course

1    7/3/2015   7/3/2015
Review By: khagan
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Has some good variety of difficulty of holes: some flat, some elevated, some wide open & some tight
- Some very picturesque holes
- The back nine is a great spot for beginners with most of the holes being wide open
Cons: - Much of the course has a walking track, dog park, or Skatepark around it, so you have to wait & watch for walkers
- The second hole is about half a mile from the #1 basket. You need to get a map (from front desk) to find it if it is your first time
Other Thoughts: -Played on a wet day and the grass was about 3 inches tall. Be sure to bring a change of shoes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Needs some love and attention

1    5/19/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: RadarChef
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course itself is a winner. 14 over the Rec Center is a fun shot. If you find my driver in the weeds to the left of the fairway call me. By the way, that isn't poison ivy, get in there.
Cons: The layout, pin info plaques, and hole numbers on the baskets are all screwed up. This course is in serious need of remarking by the city and could really benefit from directional plaques at the bottom of the baskets to direct players to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: It is entirely possible to shoot at the wrong pin on #2, you may never find #3 tee, and when driving on holes 4, 5, 7 you will be throwing at baskets with the wrong numbers on them. I loved the feel of the course but it needs some attention by the Parks department.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great scenery, fun course

2-4    11/13/2013   4/29/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 80  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2015
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: My rating on this course is based on two main factors: the fun factor and the aesthetics of the course and surrounding mountains. Advanced players won't rate this as highly as I am, but for intermediate players like me, this course is a lot of fun. It has one of may favorite holes of any course I've played, #14, which is a 425 foot par 3 from the top of a (50-foot?) hill (over the two-story Waynesville Rec Center).

You won't find many courses with prettier surroundings. Mountains all around. A stream runs through the course. It's just a beatififul area and a great setting for disc golf.
Cons: It's a busy public park, so if you play at peak hours, there will be baseball players, joggers, and dog walkers to contend with.

Trees don't come in to play on very many holes, which I like, but I would say this course is a little too wide open.
Other Thoughts: If you're in western NC, Waynesville is a great place to stop for a fun, scenic round of disc golf.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Better than advertised

2-4    8/4/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: JBryant
Played: 96  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging holes.
-Given OB added to degree of difficulty.
-The course forced you to place shots in the right spot in order to shoot well.
-Creeks were used effectively. (new hole 2 is my fav.)
-Basket caught the disc really well.
-Space was utilized well (see my comments in other thoughts regarding the new design)
Cons: -Small concrete tee pads and some mulch pads. I hear plans to fix this.
-Pedestrians and other non disc golfers can get in the way.
-Course plays through the busy park and this poses a safety issue.

My thoughts on how to solve some of the safety problems:
-Hole 1 should never be put in the long position. I never got to play it there and while it looked sweet, it poses waaaaay too much risk to property and people.
-Hole 4 should always be in the short position and have the mando left of the first tree in front of the tee. Although this makes this hole a repetitive shot like hole 3, it does provide the best safety option. The pavilion and playground are just too close to the long pin.
-Hole 11 should never be put in the short position. Give that the best route for that shot is to go over the parking lot, it poses too much risk to personal property. I skipped down to the basket off the parking lot if that gives you any indication of what my disc's flight path was.
-Hole 15 should be kept in the short position. Although it poses no real safety issue, the long pin location crosses 16's tee box and fairway. This is a safety issue for disc golfers.
-Hole 18 like I said before should stay in the short pin but make the long tee pad permanent with the double mando and OB left of path and beyond.

I have no doubt that these changes are in the works. I know Tim and all the faithful disc golfers who play Waynesville want their course to be top notch.
Other Thoughts: The course has gone through a makeover since Tim Petrea became the caretaker. The original design was well thought out and used the land to the max. With recent construction and the overwhelming use of the park by non disc golfers, the course needed an update. I have to say that Tim and his crew along with the help of all the Waynesville locals did a great job with the redesign. Hole 2 is now one of my favorite holes of all time and although it yielded no birdies to me it provided me with a tough shot but fair one. The way Tommy Holbrook used the old hole 2 basket as the new hole 7 was just awesome. To have a big hyzer shot to the hill was a risk/reward elevation shot that the course needed. The new hole 8 with the 35ft man made island was a great addition as well. It was a birdie hole but the added circle just made it more fun. The new 10 tee was really sweet. A bomber over the track field with OB looming made this a great, well thought out tee spot. The new longer tee on 18 was really sweet as well. Way to go Tommy for the new design. I'd go so far as to say make that the permanent tee and keep the basket in the short pin. This would cut down on non disc golfers getting in the way of that hole while making the tee shot tougher with the double mando and OB path and beyond to the left. Given better tees, better defined OB lines, and some reassurance that non disc golfers are safe and out of the way I'd go so far as to rate this course a 4.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Waynesville DGC

2-4    8/4/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: Will_Cann
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The holes were placed very well! Discatcher baskets. Liked that there were several creeks on the course! I loved hole 12 at the long position. Hole 2 would probably be my favorite hole!
Cons: Seemed easy to lose a disc. Birdie shots were few unless you could really sling it! On a normal day it seemed like it would be harder to play just because of foot traffic on walking trails and many of the holes had them around. Some mulch tees which was a safety issue. some holes i was a little nervous to throw on mulch. Concrete tees were too small.
Other Thoughts: Over all good course I thought! Some pretty challenging shots with the longe holes! I recently played a tournament and there were a lot of OB's which made the course quite challenging. Should be a really fun course worth the drive to play it after some of the said improvements to be made.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

2-4    5/26/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: Rudolph
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - well marked tees with pads
- range of holes from short, open, tight
- a great top of the world drive
- little chance of losing a disc
Cons: - a far amount of construction around the first 9
- park pedestrians can hold up play on several holes
- some holes are right next to other park attractions and a bad though could easily cross in
Other Thoughts: A good course for a wide rang of players.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

1    9/10/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: JoshuaWayneHester
Played: 21  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *All Innova discatchers in great condition.

*All concrete tee's with easy to navigate signage.

*Nice variations of holes from open shots to tight fairways to demanding tree lines. This course has alot of challenges for every skill level.

*This 18 hole course also features other great amenties for the family, such as soccer, baseball, swimming, basketball and other sports with several local playgrounds.
Cons: *Although the tee pads are concrete, they are very small.

*Navigation the first time around can be difficult.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course in a nice location that is worth checking out. I travelled over 5 hours to play and left very happy.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in the area

5+    8/1/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: Sersan43
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Paved tee pads. Easy to follow course once you know how to navigate from 1 to 2, then from 8 to 9. Excellent mix of long and short holes. Some really technical shots needed for some. A few holes you can literally just grip it and rip it (16 is a semi short par 4 on a slight downhill so if you have a lot of power, this is your go-to eagle hole). The scenery is beautiful and it is right in town so a food break wont be inconvenient.
Cons: Some of the tee boxes are painted with coats of blue paint. If you play in the morning dew or after a rain, it's like driving from a frozen water puddle. A train will sometimes go right through the middle of the course laying on it's horn while it slowly rolls through. Don't rush somebody to shoot because it is horrible loud.
Other Thoughts: I used to live 40 minutes from this course and I would drive past 3 other courses in order to play here twice a week. If you are in NC west of asheville, you want to play this course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 It's not all bad.

1    8/26/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: das1330
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Clearly marked Teepads...You won't find those in Franklin or Sylva.
- Pretty much impossible to lose a disc unless you shank #14 really bad
- mostly flat easier for players out of shape or older in age with bad knees
- Bathrooms, Water Fountains and plenty of benches.
- Signs are posted clearly and often warning people it's a disk golf course and to watch out for flying discs.
Cons: - At Times the course seems rather tightly done together. Bad throws can end you up in Tennis Courts, across fences, in doggie parks or on the volleyball court.
- A parking lot is in play on 3 or 4 holes. Could be too easy to hit a car.
- The course sometimes focuses more on length and less on approach...Sometimes it feels like "Oh, time to air it out...And rinse and repeat.
Other Thoughts: Overall I'd play the course again, it's a solid course, but it seems to praise driving power over accuracy.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.