Waynesville, NC 
Waynesville DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
4 / 392ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Fun once you figure it out (Updated)

1    6/14/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: DarkCrylis
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Open throwing on most holes, allows you to work on your throws without tree worry
- Great public area and a great walk to each hole.
- Good for beginners if they have someone that has played the course before, or you take a map with you
Cons: - Confusing to find each hole at times, but after first run though you will get the hang of it
- The rec center didn't have maps, and even when I asked they acted like they had never heard of disc golf.
- Some holes could do with a little more distance.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed this course quite a bit, played it by myself the first time. I would suggest you run it with someone that has before, as the flow is a bit confusing without a little help the first time. Only real complaint I have is some of the holes were short and I didn't see much support from the local DG community. Would suggest anyone that enjoys DG to give it a throw.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hits and misses - just don't hit anyone

1    6/6/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 176  Reviewed: 171  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pleasantly surprising fun, mountain course. One of the most unique courses I've ever played.
- Interesting course layout, with holes #1, 9 - 18 playing around the rec center; #2 - 8 playing across the street, and throughout the other park of the park. Holes around the rec center are more wide open; the other holes are much tighter, more obstacles. As stated in other reviews, and below, holes #2 - 8 do cross paths with other park users/activities, which could affect play.
- #2 is a great hole in its long, alternate location. The basket is up on a small hill, taking two solid shots to reach. I hope they make this alternate location the regular one. #3 & 6 are tight, tunnel shots that offer a nice challenge.
- I enjoyed the holes playing next to the railroad track, especially #4 & 5. It's an interesting setting, that is until you land a disc on the rocks.
- Very good use of elevation on the back nine. I feel #14 is the course's signature hole. 475 ft downhill that plays behind/along the rec center to a basket close to some thick rough. With the elevation drop-off, it's a great sight to see your shot go sailing.
- Great views of the mountains all around you. You can see the rolling hills everywhere you turn. You get the best views playing at the top of the course on #13 & 14. Make sure to take in the fantastic view playing these two holes.
- Good course map on the kiosk by #1 (same map as on this site). Basic, descriptive tee signs.
Cons: Tee pads are way too short. You can only get a 1-step run-up, 2 if you're lucky.
- Hole lengths weren't consistent. Some were in long positions, some in short. A sign on the kiosk by hole #1 will help avoid any confusion. Also, #2 was in its long, alternate location, with the basket on top of a hill. It's longer than the 375 ft length listed on the sign, so that will need to be corrected.
- Concerns about interference from other park users/games taking place cannot be overstated. By my count, hole #2 - 9, 16 & 18 could be unplayable at times, or be forced to alternate tees, because of other park activities. I hope this is only a once-in-a-while/weekly problem, not a regular issue.
- There are some weird transitions between holes. From #1 to 2 & 8 to 9, you have to walk down, and cross over, the street to play the next hole. The transition from #3 to 4 wasn't clear, so an arrow would be helpful to keep from having to walk the entire way around the fenced-in dog park.
- Some people probably won't like playing so close/over the railroad tracks or fences that come into play on holes #4 - 8. You especially have to be careful of not throwing into the dog park on #4 or you might end up with a chewed up disc.
- For being a mountain course, there's a lack of major obstacles/trees, especially on the holes that play around the rec center.
Other Thoughts: This course actually exceeded my expectations. With all the concerns over spacing, I had some concerns about this course. I had no problem with any of that, but I did play on a Sunday morning, probably the emptiest the park is all week.
- There are plenty of fun holes. As you can see in the pics, the alternate location for #2, with the basket on the hill, is a cool setup. Even the tight, tunnel shots on #3 & 6 were nice, little challenges.
- It would have been nice to have at least one wooded hole and/or a hole playing over the big creek that runs to the left of #18. There were some nice woods on the other side of the creek, so it seems the possibility would be there.
- My favorite holes were #2 (with the basket on the hill) & 14 (the long, downhill hole). #13 was also very good - 466 ft, open, slightly uphill, with the big slope to the right. Not overly difficult, but was fun.
- Being an out-of-towner, I don't know how often problems arise with hole interference from other park activities. I'm giving this course a 3.0 with the benefit of the doubt it's not a regular issue. If this was a regular issue, including an issue at peak times (evenings/weekends), I'd drop the rating to 2.5 (or even 2.0 if it's a major/all-the-time problem) because that would have a legitimate effect on one's ability to play. Based on the conditions when I played, I'd recommend the 30 minute drive from Richmond Hill to check out this course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty cool

5+    12/2/2008   1/7/2009
Review By: Middy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A nice mix of open and a few tight holes. Some nice elevation changes- the hole by the junkyard is great! Many different basket placements. Nice DiscCatcher baskets.
Cons: You could easily hit one of the many recreational facility users...soccer players, joggers, dog walkers, horse riders, fishermen, etc. The tee boxes are very short.
Other Thoughts: Worth playing for sure.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.