Waynesville, NC 
Waynesville DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg  



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good course

2-4    5/26/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: Rudolph
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - well marked tees with pads
- range of holes from short, open, tight
- a great top of the world drive
- little chance of losing a disc
Cons: - a far amount of construction around the first 9
- park pedestrians can hold up play on several holes
- some holes are right next to other park attractions and a bad though could easily cross in
Other Thoughts: A good course for a wide rang of players.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

1    9/10/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: JoshuaWayneHester
Played: 21  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *All Innova discatchers in great condition.

*All concrete tee's with easy to navigate signage.

*Nice variations of holes from open shots to tight fairways to demanding tree lines. This course has alot of challenges for every skill level.

*This 18 hole course also features other great amenties for the family, such as soccer, baseball, swimming, basketball and other sports with several local playgrounds.
Cons: *Although the tee pads are concrete, they are very small.

*Navigation the first time around can be difficult.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course in a nice location that is worth checking out. I travelled over 5 hours to play and left very happy.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 It's not all bad.

1    8/26/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: das1330
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Clearly marked Teepads...You won't find those in Franklin or Sylva.
- Pretty much impossible to lose a disc unless you shank #14 really bad
- mostly flat easier for players out of shape or older in age with bad knees
- Bathrooms, Water Fountains and plenty of benches.
- Signs are posted clearly and often warning people it's a disk golf course and to watch out for flying discs.
Cons: - At Times the course seems rather tightly done together. Bad throws can end you up in Tennis Courts, across fences, in doggie parks or on the volleyball court.
- A parking lot is in play on 3 or 4 holes. Could be too easy to hit a car.
- The course sometimes focuses more on length and less on approach...Sometimes it feels like "Oh, time to air it out...And rinse and repeat.
Other Thoughts: Overall I'd play the course again, it's a solid course, but it seems to praise driving power over accuracy.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/10/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: ckDiscItUp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good course, easy yet challenging at the same time. It's not spectacular, nothing fancy about it.Each hole is par-able. Hole #7 (i think) was replaced and is now easier and more enjoyable to play. It's a fun course.
Cons: 18 is difficult. Not too easy keeping your disc dry.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fun but have to have some distance throws

5+    11/12/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: mcannon246
Played: 65  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: cool shots. you shoot one right over the gym. fun to play great course.
Cons: have to have a long throw to keep it under par. beginners have to take almost +2-3 on every hole on the back side.
Other Thoughts: best I've played it so far was +5 par. Im not a pro but i still had alot of fun

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Waynesville DGC

5+    9/11/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Tin Machine
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am very amazed by what the designers of this course were able to do with the space given. I would have to say that the greatest pro of this course would be its variety. There are holes under 200 feet, and there are others that are over 600 feet long. You've got open holes with interesting OB, and then some very tight holes with lots of trees and low hanging branches. Include all of this along with some elevation changes, water hazards, multiple pin placements, concrete tee pads, and decent signage, and you've got a course that will certainly make you bring a diverse game and set of discs to the table.

Signature holes of this course, in my opinion, are Holes 7 and 14. Ironically the only two with real elevation changes. Just watch out for the junkyard on 14.
Cons: This is a rec park area. This means that the course has to share the space with other park goers, i.e. baseball, soccer, and track people, dog walkers, bike riders, folks having picnics, and whatever else. On some holes it's not a problem, on others, you'll have to wait out the walkers and such if it's a busy time of day.

A lot of people have mentioned that it's hard to find holes 2-8. Understandable, as it feels like you have to leave the park to get to it. Just follow the road behind basket #1 towards the left, cross the bridge, and you'll see the back area of the park where the tee box for Hole 2 sits down on the right. After Hole 8, go back across the bridge where you'll find the tee for Hole 9 behind the bathrooms and along side of the baseball field. I am aware this is a problem for those that haven't played the course before, and I would hope some better direction between holes is developed in the future for new players. But once you figure out where the holes are, they're really not that bad.

The painted blue tee boxes on certain holes can be a bit of a problem if it's damp or wet out. If you like to get a running start or an X-Step like me, be careful because it gets REALLY slippery when wet. Just stand off to the side or behind the paint and you should be ok.
Other Thoughts: As much as the other users of the park get on my nerves when I play here, I have to keep reminding myself that it is a public park and we all have to co-exist to make this thing work. I'd much rather a park where you have to deal with the occasional passer-by than no course at all.

Another note: If you are unfortunate enough to lose your disc on the roof of the rec center at Hole 14, just go inside and give the person behind the desk your name, disc details, and contact info. They're usually pretty good at getting it back to you when they do their monthly trip to the roof (you just might have to wait a few weeks).

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A fun and creative course.

5+    9/12/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: El Oso Peligroso
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great usage of the space available. Creative fairways that still manage to largely stay out of the way of an otherwise busy park.

This course makes you use lots of different shots, so it's great for improving your game.

#6 is a great hole that almost forces you to use a roller with its incredibly tight fairway with lots of low hanging branches.

#7 is great in the back position, one of my favorite holes ever. Very long (600+) with OB, fences, water, a few trees, and a hill at the end. Play it a 4, you deserve a birdie if you can make it in 3.
Cons: Soccer season. #10 and #18 get a little tricky. Some park goers aren't really aware that it's not a good idea to stand next to the yellow basket (despite multiple signs explaining to watch out for flying discs)
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, which is very under-rated. As long as you avoid soccer games or everyone in town bring their dog day, it's a great play that will force you to use every shot you have.

It's not that tricky to navigate after you find #2. Just remember after #1, go to the road behind the basket and turn left. It's across the bridge to the right. After #8 go back to #1, and #9 is just on the other side of the restrooms.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Better than a 1

1    7/4/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 284  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Lots of OB makes the course more challenging since there is a lack holes with "tree" shots. The length of some of the open holes makes up for the fact that it's pretty wide open. And, the length in combination with the OB makes the course more exciting and tougher... although I never did go OB.
- Signage was basic but effective.
- Nice concrete tee-pads... especially the blue painted sidewalk pads (made them easy to spot and find your way).
- Some elevation on this course. I liked hole 2's basket on top of the hill... a difficult 3. And, I liked the downhill shot on the edge of the junkyard... good use of the limited elevation available.
- Some of the holes are long enough to make you break out your power game and let loose a little.
Cons:
- Pretty wide open. Not a lot of tunnel shots.
- A few long walks from hole 1 to 2, hole 7 to 8, and 8 to 9... I had run into some local players and they pointed the way... otherwise I might have been looking around for a while.
Other Thoughts:
- Sorry Olorin - but this course is better than a 1. If this course is a 1, what do we rate courses that suck way worse than this one?
- This course is in more traditional park-like setting as compared to the mountain golf experience found at Richmond Hill. That doesn't make it bad... it just makes it different. By combing the skill sets learned on long open courses like this one and tight technical courses like Richmond, you could become a great disc golfer and compete anywhere.
- My Score: -4

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.