Waynesville, NC
Waynesville DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 262ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Best course in the area

5+    8/1/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: Sersan43
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Paved tee pads. Easy to follow course once you know how to navigate from 1 to 2, then from 8 to 9. Excellent mix of long and short holes. Some really technical shots needed for some. A few holes you can literally just grip it and rip it (16 is a semi short par 4 on a slight downhill so if you have a lot of power, this is your go-to eagle hole). The scenery is beautiful and it is right in town so a food break wont be inconvenient.
Cons: Some of the tee boxes are painted with coats of blue paint. If you play in the morning dew or after a rain, it's like driving from a frozen water puddle. A train will sometimes go right through the middle of the course laying on it's horn while it slowly rolls through. Don't rush somebody to shoot because it is horrible loud.
Other Thoughts: I used to live 40 minutes from this course and I would drive past 3 other courses in order to play here twice a week. If you are in NC west of asheville, you want to play this course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Nice walk in the Park

5+    3/26/2012   9/29/2011
Review By: discplayerUSA
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 3/26/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners and Pros! This course has a nice layout given it is in a multi-use park. I have played many multi-use DGC facilities across the country and this course has a unique design to accommodate all park users.
Weekends are sometimes busy with other park activities but during the week, the course and park can be all yours! There is a good mixture of long holes and ace runs and the beauty of the natural surroundings are awesome! Mountain views and trout streams enhance the scenery of this great park!
Cons: I have liked every course that I've played because I know and respect all of the work that goes into the creation,install and maintenance
of a disc golf course!
Other Thoughts: I totally disagree with Mr. McDaniel. I have played the sport for over 30 year and I have come to the conclusion that safety is in the hands of the Disc Golf player not necessarily the course. Common sense, patience and good diplomacy are the best practices!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course...

1    6/29/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: boxmark25
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - That there is a disc golf course there at all.
- pretty challenging course, i am used to courses that play in the woods and this was a pleasent suprise. I really liked the way the course uses the obstacles other than trees to form the course (ie an outfield fence, the hourse grounds bleachers, etc)
- I loved the signs around the walking track as a warning.
- The sinage was good adequate.
- The mountain views and the creek that runs through the park are spectacular.
Cons: - The sign at the beginning of the course was not very acruate, navigating the course was not difficult but would have been easier with an up-to-date map.
- There were no maps or scorecards in the box at the info area.
- There were many people at the park and some were completely unaware what was going on.
Other Thoughts: I played this course with my wife and boys and had a good time. Very kid friendly and relatively easy for them due to not having to risk loosing disc. My wife really enjoyed the walk through the park and along the creek. I think the park designers had a great plan but need to maintain the course a little better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

6/15/2008   6/15/2008
Review By: opc666hwm
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I recently played this course and found it to be a lot of fun. Creative use of a recreational center. There are some elevation changes as well as a lot of tight holes if you use the out of bounds. It has 18 holes as well as multiple basket changes.
Cons: Hard to find hole 2, but there is a map of the course on the first hole.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.