Waynesville, NC 
Waynesville DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 262ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    5/10/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: ckDiscItUp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good course, easy yet challenging at the same time. It's not spectacular, nothing fancy about it.Each hole is par-able. Hole #7 (i think) was replaced and is now easier and more enjoyable to play. It's a fun course.
Cons: 18 is difficult. Not too easy keeping your disc dry.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 It's in the Mountains, but...

1    4/15/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full 18 hole course with concrete tee pads at all holes. Pads are in good shape, and flush with the surrounding ground. Signs were decent showing multiple basket positions, length and layout of hole. Large park with lots of other park amenities around. Trails, running track, fields etc. Some gazebos and picnic areas also. Course designer should be given an award for getting a course into this park. For what there was to work with this course does a good job.
Cons: Pads are very short on most holes. The holes with pads on the paved trail are plenty big though. Small pads are flush with ground so I didn't have a problem. Some may be more picky.

Other than #14 there isn't really any interesting or fun holes. Nothing memorable that you'll break out a camera to get a picture of.

In many places course plays close to or through other areas that could be used by park users. Fences and the railroad tracks also come into play on several holes. You are definitely not secluded from other park users. On #16 you even throw over the paved running track. Not great, safe or scenic.

Navigation and transitions from hole to hole is not great. After #1 you must cross the road and backtrack to find #2. I started playing 9 before I realized I was all screwed up.

Most holes are just straight shots through a relatively open field. This is not wooded NC golf. No real line shaping takes place here.

There may have been some mountain or hill views, but this is not a scenic course. There is also very little elevation. Pretty much flat, straight shot after flat straight shot. Yawn.
Other Thoughts: While they did do a good job to squeeze a course into this park it didn't result in anything more than a decent place to practice for the local players. If you're cruising along I-40 and want to play some good NC golf, pass this one by and head to other courses in Western Carolina. If you do decide to stop and play make sure you bring a map to find your way around, and hang in there. Most of this course will put you to sleep, but at least you get to play #14. It's a nice tee shot off a hill, down a tree lined fairway curving over 400' to the basket. Savor that hole cause it's all you'll remember after playing a round at Waynesville.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Surprising!

2-4    11/23/2011   2/18/2011
Review By: ashevillain
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 12/2/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Wide variety of holes. Hole #14 is awesome! One of my favorite holes I've played in WNC.

- Overall it's a flat course. I think there are only 2 holes that change elevation significantly. A flat course is a nice change of pace for being in the mountains.

Cons: - Some of the tees (that are painted blue) can get slick when wet.

- At first I liked the extensive OB list. After playing through the course more than once OB starts to get a little exhausting. There are a few of them that there's really no good reason for.

- It wasn't readily apparent where to get maps when I saw there weren't any at the kiosk. I went inside the Rec Center and they had plenty of maps and scorecards.

- This is a shared park so there can be lots of people walking around. Might have to wait a few times but not really a big deal. Just need to be aware.
Other Thoughts: I'm really glad Waynesville has this course (actually the whole park facility was relatively impressive). For such a small town it's nice for the locals to have something like this. The course plays around the entire complex so you really get to see it all.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fun but have to have some distance throws

5+    11/12/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: mcannon246
Played: 65  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: cool shots. you shoot one right over the gym. fun to play great course.
Cons: have to have a long throw to keep it under par. beginners have to take almost +2-3 on every hole on the back side.
Other Thoughts: best I've played it so far was +5 par. Im not a pro but i still had alot of fun

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course...

1    6/29/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: boxmark25
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - That there is a disc golf course there at all.
- pretty challenging course, i am used to courses that play in the woods and this was a pleasent suprise. I really liked the way the course uses the obstacles other than trees to form the course (ie an outfield fence, the hourse grounds bleachers, etc)
- I loved the signs around the walking track as a warning.
- The sinage was good adequate.
- The mountain views and the creek that runs through the park are spectacular.
Cons: - The sign at the beginning of the course was not very acruate, navigating the course was not difficult but would have been easier with an up-to-date map.
- There were no maps or scorecards in the box at the info area.
- There were many people at the park and some were completely unaware what was going on.
Other Thoughts: I played this course with my wife and boys and had a good time. Very kid friendly and relatively easy for them due to not having to risk loosing disc. My wife really enjoyed the walk through the park and along the creek. I think the park designers had a great plan but need to maintain the course a little better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hits and misses - just don't hit anyone

1    6/6/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pleasantly surprising fun, mountain course. One of the most unique courses I've ever played.
- Interesting course layout, with holes #1, 9 - 18 playing around the rec center; #2 - 8 playing across the street, and throughout the other park of the park. Holes around the rec center are more wide open; the other holes are much tighter, more obstacles. As stated in other reviews, and below, holes #2 - 8 do cross paths with other park users/activities, which could affect play.
- #2 is a great hole in its long, alternate location. The basket is up on a small hill, taking two solid shots to reach. I hope they make this alternate location the regular one. #3 & 6 are tight, tunnel shots that offer a nice challenge.
- I enjoyed the holes playing next to the railroad track, especially #4 & 5. It's an interesting setting, that is until you land a disc on the rocks.
- Very good use of elevation on the back nine. I feel #14 is the course's signature hole. 475 ft downhill that plays behind/along the rec center to a basket close to some thick rough. With the elevation drop-off, it's a great sight to see your shot go sailing.
- Great views of the mountains all around you. You can see the rolling hills everywhere you turn. You get the best views playing at the top of the course on #13 & 14. Make sure to take in the fantastic view playing these two holes.
- Good course map on the kiosk by #1 (same map as on this site). Basic, descriptive tee signs.
Cons: Tee pads are way too short. You can only get a 1-step run-up, 2 if you're lucky.
- Hole lengths weren't consistent. Some were in long positions, some in short. A sign on the kiosk by hole #1 will help avoid any confusion. Also, #2 was in its long, alternate location, with the basket on top of a hill. It's longer than the 375 ft length listed on the sign, so that will need to be corrected.
- Concerns about interference from other park users/games taking place cannot be overstated. By my count, hole #2 - 9, 16 & 18 could be unplayable at times, or be forced to alternate tees, because of other park activities. I hope this is only a once-in-a-while/weekly problem, not a regular issue.
- There are some weird transitions between holes. From #1 to 2 & 8 to 9, you have to walk down, and cross over, the street to play the next hole. The transition from #3 to 4 wasn't clear, so an arrow would be helpful to keep from having to walk the entire way around the fenced-in dog park.
- Some people probably won't like playing so close/over the railroad tracks or fences that come into play on holes #4 - 8. You especially have to be careful of not throwing into the dog park on #4 or you might end up with a chewed up disc.
- For being a mountain course, there's a lack of major obstacles/trees, especially on the holes that play around the rec center.
Other Thoughts: This course actually exceeded my expectations. With all the concerns over spacing, I had some concerns about this course. I had no problem with any of that, but I did play on a Sunday morning, probably the emptiest the park is all week.
- There are plenty of fun holes. As you can see in the pics, the alternate location for #2, with the basket on the hill, is a cool setup. Even the tight, tunnel shots on #3 & 6 were nice, little challenges.
- It would have been nice to have at least one wooded hole and/or a hole playing over the big creek that runs to the left of #18. There were some nice woods on the other side of the creek, so it seems the possibility would be there.
- My favorite holes were #2 (with the basket on the hill) & 14 (the long, downhill hole). #13 was also very good - 466 ft, open, slightly uphill, with the big slope to the right. Not overly difficult, but was fun.
- Being an out-of-towner, I don't know how often problems arise with hole interference from other park activities. I'm giving this course a 3.0 with the benefit of the doubt it's not a regular issue. If this was a regular issue, including an issue at peak times (evenings/weekends), I'd drop the rating to 2.5 (or even 2.0 if it's a major/all-the-time problem) because that would have a legitimate effect on one's ability to play. Based on the conditions when I played, I'd recommend the 30 minute drive from Richmond Hill to check out this course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Waynesville DGC

5+    9/11/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Tin Machine
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am very amazed by what the designers of this course were able to do with the space given. I would have to say that the greatest pro of this course would be its variety. There are holes under 200 feet, and there are others that are over 600 feet long. You've got open holes with interesting OB, and then some very tight holes with lots of trees and low hanging branches. Include all of this along with some elevation changes, water hazards, multiple pin placements, concrete tee pads, and decent signage, and you've got a course that will certainly make you bring a diverse game and set of discs to the table.

Signature holes of this course, in my opinion, are Holes 7 and 14. Ironically the only two with real elevation changes. Just watch out for the junkyard on 14.
Cons: This is a rec park area. This means that the course has to share the space with other park goers, i.e. baseball, soccer, and track people, dog walkers, bike riders, folks having picnics, and whatever else. On some holes it's not a problem, on others, you'll have to wait out the walkers and such if it's a busy time of day.

A lot of people have mentioned that it's hard to find holes 2-8. Understandable, as it feels like you have to leave the park to get to it. Just follow the road behind basket #1 towards the left, cross the bridge, and you'll see the back area of the park where the tee box for Hole 2 sits down on the right. After Hole 8, go back across the bridge where you'll find the tee for Hole 9 behind the bathrooms and along side of the baseball field. I am aware this is a problem for those that haven't played the course before, and I would hope some better direction between holes is developed in the future for new players. But once you figure out where the holes are, they're really not that bad.

The painted blue tee boxes on certain holes can be a bit of a problem if it's damp or wet out. If you like to get a running start or an X-Step like me, be careful because it gets REALLY slippery when wet. Just stand off to the side or behind the paint and you should be ok.
Other Thoughts: As much as the other users of the park get on my nerves when I play here, I have to keep reminding myself that it is a public park and we all have to co-exist to make this thing work. I'd much rather a park where you have to deal with the occasional passer-by than no course at all.

Another note: If you are unfortunate enough to lose your disc on the roof of the rec center at Hole 14, just go inside and give the person behind the desk your name, disc details, and contact info. They're usually pretty good at getting it back to you when they do their monthly trip to the roof (you just might have to wait a few weeks).

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A fun and creative course.

5+    9/12/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: El Oso Peligroso
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great usage of the space available. Creative fairways that still manage to largely stay out of the way of an otherwise busy park.

This course makes you use lots of different shots, so it's great for improving your game.

#6 is a great hole that almost forces you to use a roller with its incredibly tight fairway with lots of low hanging branches.

#7 is great in the back position, one of my favorite holes ever. Very long (600+) with OB, fences, water, a few trees, and a hill at the end. Play it a 4, you deserve a birdie if you can make it in 3.
Cons: Soccer season. #10 and #18 get a little tricky. Some park goers aren't really aware that it's not a good idea to stand next to the yellow basket (despite multiple signs explaining to watch out for flying discs)
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, which is very under-rated. As long as you avoid soccer games or everyone in town bring their dog day, it's a great play that will force you to use every shot you have.

It's not that tricky to navigate after you find #2. Just remember after #1, go to the road behind the basket and turn left. It's across the bridge to the right. After #8 go back to #1, and #9 is just on the other side of the restrooms.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Better than a 1

1    7/4/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 258  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 13 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Lots of OB makes the course more challenging since there is a lack holes with "tree" shots. The length of some of the open holes makes up for the fact that it's pretty wide open. And, the length in combination with the OB makes the course more exciting and tougher... although I never did go OB.
- Signage was basic but effective.
- Nice concrete tee-pads... especially the blue painted sidewalk pads (made them easy to spot and find your way).
- Some elevation on this course. I liked hole 2's basket on top of the hill... a difficult 3. And, I liked the downhill shot on the edge of the junkyard... good use of the limited elevation available.
- Some of the holes are long enough to make you break out your power game and let loose a little.
Cons:
- Pretty wide open. Not a lot of tunnel shots.
- A few long walks from hole 1 to 2, hole 7 to 8, and 8 to 9... I had run into some local players and they pointed the way... otherwise I might have been looking around for a while.
Other Thoughts:
- Sorry Olorin - but this course is better than a 1. If this course is a 1, what do we rate courses that suck way worse than this one?
- This course is in more traditional park-like setting as compared to the mountain golf experience found at Richmond Hill. That doesn't make it bad... it just makes it different. By combing the skill sets learned on long open courses like this one and tight technical courses like Richmond, you could become a great disc golfer and compete anywhere.
- My Score: -4

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty cool

5+    12/2/2008   1/7/2009
Review By: Middy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A nice mix of open and a few tight holes. Some nice elevation changes- the hole by the junkyard is great! Many different basket placements. Nice DiscCatcher baskets.
Cons: You could easily hit one of the many recreational facility users...soccer players, joggers, dog walkers, horse riders, fishermen, etc. The tee boxes are very short.
Other Thoughts: Worth playing for sure.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.