Waynesville, NC 
Waynesville DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
4 / 392ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    11/24/2011   11/28/2011
Review By: Stan McDaniel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Directions to the course were good, except that the drug store on the corner is not an Eckerds but it is a Rite Aid. Hole 1 was easy to find. The mountain stream visible from many holes is true eye candy. It made a great pit stop on my drive.
Cons: Did anyone think about the safey of the other park users? Nearly every hole on the course had potential for hitting walkers on the walking path or the track and field track, people in the dog park, people in the tennis courts and people on the softball fields. I saw multiple drives go into the parking lot on hole 1 from other players I observed. The ball field is in play there also. I did eventually find hole 2. I don't mind the transition and I should have printed out a map before I left home. #4 is next to a dog park with a 4' fence. I refused to play that hole lest I let one go early. #7 is sanwiched in between tennis courts and R/R tracks. Although the fairway has a low canopy of beutiful hemlocks, it is not reasonable to expect that some shots will not fight their way into the tennis courts or over onto the tracks. #8 is beside a 25mph road, not a 10-15 mph park road with speed bumps but a through road. #9 and 10 allow shots to go into the softball fields with ease. A great long downhill hole can have discs turn over into a parking lot obscured from view by the rec center building or they could head over into the junkyard. The final holes play across a track and field track and walking paths and have a coupld of crossing fairways. I saw one person throw a disc and hit a walker on the track and field track. I saw discs fly into the junkyard. I saw people throw into the softball field.
Other Thoughts: This is the conundrum of an area that would not have a course unles it was crammed into this park. Do you go ahead and design the course or do you go without? Safety is a huge concern and there is no room for safety and disc golf in this park. I bear no ill will against the designer. It was that perons choice to pursue disc golf here. Some safety could have been mitigated by greatly shortening the course, but it could still not have been made safe enough.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Nice walk in the Park

5+    3/26/2012   9/29/2011
Review By: discplayerUSA
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 3/26/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners and Pros! This course has a nice layout given it is in a multi-use park. I have played many multi-use DGC facilities across the country and this course has a unique design to accommodate all park users.
Weekends are sometimes busy with other park activities but during the week, the course and park can be all yours! There is a good mixture of long holes and ace runs and the beauty of the natural surroundings are awesome! Mountain views and trout streams enhance the scenery of this great park!
Cons: I have liked every course that I've played because I know and respect all of the work that goes into the creation,install and maintenance
of a disc golf course!
Other Thoughts: I totally disagree with Mr. McDaniel. I have played the sport for over 30 year and I have come to the conclusion that safety is in the hands of the Disc Golf player not necessarily the course. Common sense, patience and good diplomacy are the best practices!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Fun once you figure it out (Updated)

1    6/14/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: DarkCrylis
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Open throwing on most holes, allows you to work on your throws without tree worry
- Great public area and a great walk to each hole.
- Good for beginners if they have someone that has played the course before, or you take a map with you
Cons: - Confusing to find each hole at times, but after first run though you will get the hang of it
- The rec center didn't have maps, and even when I asked they acted like they had never heard of disc golf.
- Some holes could do with a little more distance.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed this course quite a bit, played it by myself the first time. I would suggest you run it with someone that has before, as the flow is a bit confusing without a little help the first time. Only real complaint I have is some of the holes were short and I didn't see much support from the local DG community. Would suggest anyone that enjoys DG to give it a throw.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/10/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: ckDiscItUp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good course, easy yet challenging at the same time. It's not spectacular, nothing fancy about it.Each hole is par-able. Hole #7 (i think) was replaced and is now easier and more enjoyable to play. It's a fun course.
Cons: 18 is difficult. Not too easy keeping your disc dry.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 It's in the Mountains, but...

1    4/15/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full 18 hole course with concrete tee pads at all holes. Pads are in good shape, and flush with the surrounding ground. Signs were decent showing multiple basket positions, length and layout of hole. Large park with lots of other park amenities around. Trails, running track, fields etc. Some gazebos and picnic areas also. Course designer should be given an award for getting a course into this park. For what there was to work with this course does a good job.
Cons: Pads are very short on most holes. The holes with pads on the paved trail are plenty big though. Small pads are flush with ground so I didn't have a problem. Some may be more picky.

Other than #14 there isn't really any interesting or fun holes. Nothing memorable that you'll break out a camera to get a picture of.

In many places course plays close to or through other areas that could be used by park users. Fences and the railroad tracks also come into play on several holes. You are definitely not secluded from other park users. On #16 you even throw over the paved running track. Not great, safe or scenic.

Navigation and transitions from hole to hole is not great. After #1 you must cross the road and backtrack to find #2. I started playing 9 before I realized I was all screwed up.

Most holes are just straight shots through a relatively open field. This is not wooded NC golf. No real line shaping takes place here.

There may have been some mountain or hill views, but this is not a scenic course. There is also very little elevation. Pretty much flat, straight shot after flat straight shot. Yawn.
Other Thoughts: While they did do a good job to squeeze a course into this park it didn't result in anything more than a decent place to practice for the local players. If you're cruising along I-40 and want to play some good NC golf, pass this one by and head to other courses in Western Carolina. If you do decide to stop and play make sure you bring a map to find your way around, and hang in there. Most of this course will put you to sleep, but at least you get to play #14. It's a nice tee shot off a hill, down a tree lined fairway curving over 400' to the basket. Savor that hole cause it's all you'll remember after playing a round at Waynesville.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    11/23/2011   2/18/2011
Review By: ashevillain
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 12/2/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Wide variety of holes. Hole #14 is awesome! One of my favorite holes I've played in WNC.

- Overall it's a flat course. I think there are only 2 holes that change elevation significantly. A flat course is a nice change of pace for being in the mountains.

Cons: - Some of the tees (that are painted blue) can get slick when wet.

- At first I liked the extensive OB list. After playing through the course more than once OB starts to get a little exhausting. There are a few of them that there's really no good reason for.

- It wasn't readily apparent where to get maps when I saw there weren't any at the kiosk. I went inside the Rec Center and they had plenty of maps and scorecards.

- This is a shared park so there can be lots of people walking around. Might have to wait a few times but not really a big deal. Just need to be aware.
Other Thoughts: I'm really glad Waynesville has this course (actually the whole park facility was relatively impressive). For such a small town it's nice for the locals to have something like this. The course plays around the entire complex so you really get to see it all.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fun but have to have some distance throws

5+    11/12/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: mcannon246
Played: 65  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: cool shots. you shoot one right over the gym. fun to play great course.
Cons: have to have a long throw to keep it under par. beginners have to take almost +2-3 on every hole on the back side.
Other Thoughts: best I've played it so far was +5 par. Im not a pro but i still had alot of fun

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course...

1    6/29/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: boxmark25
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - That there is a disc golf course there at all.
- pretty challenging course, i am used to courses that play in the woods and this was a pleasent suprise. I really liked the way the course uses the obstacles other than trees to form the course (ie an outfield fence, the hourse grounds bleachers, etc)
- I loved the signs around the walking track as a warning.
- The sinage was good adequate.
- The mountain views and the creek that runs through the park are spectacular.
Cons: - The sign at the beginning of the course was not very acruate, navigating the course was not difficult but would have been easier with an up-to-date map.
- There were no maps or scorecards in the box at the info area.
- There were many people at the park and some were completely unaware what was going on.
Other Thoughts: I played this course with my wife and boys and had a good time. Very kid friendly and relatively easy for them due to not having to risk loosing disc. My wife really enjoyed the walk through the park and along the creek. I think the park designers had a great plan but need to maintain the course a little better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hits and misses - just don't hit anyone

1    6/6/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 207  Reviewed: 202  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pleasantly surprising fun, mountain course. One of the most unique courses I've ever played.
- Interesting course layout, with holes #1, 9 - 18 playing around the rec center; #2 - 8 playing across the street, and throughout the other park of the park. Holes around the rec center are more wide open; the other holes are much tighter, more obstacles. As stated in other reviews, and below, holes #2 - 8 do cross paths with other park users/activities, which could affect play.
- #2 is a great hole in its long, alternate location. The basket is up on a small hill, taking two solid shots to reach. I hope they make this alternate location the regular one. #3 & 6 are tight, tunnel shots that offer a nice challenge.
- I enjoyed the holes playing next to the railroad track, especially #4 & 5. It's an interesting setting, that is until you land a disc on the rocks.
- Very good use of elevation on the back nine. I feel #14 is the course's signature hole. 475 ft downhill that plays behind/along the rec center to a basket close to some thick rough. With the elevation drop-off, it's a great sight to see your shot go sailing.
- Great views of the mountains all around you. You can see the rolling hills everywhere you turn. You get the best views playing at the top of the course on #13 & 14. Make sure to take in the fantastic view playing these two holes.
- Good course map on the kiosk by #1 (same map as on this site). Basic, descriptive tee signs.
Cons: Tee pads are way too short. You can only get a 1-step run-up, 2 if you're lucky.
- Hole lengths weren't consistent. Some were in long positions, some in short. A sign on the kiosk by hole #1 will help avoid any confusion. Also, #2 was in its long, alternate location, with the basket on top of a hill. It's longer than the 375 ft length listed on the sign, so that will need to be corrected.
- Concerns about interference from other park users/games taking place cannot be overstated. By my count, hole #2 - 9, 16 & 18 could be unplayable at times, or be forced to alternate tees, because of other park activities. I hope this is only a once-in-a-while/weekly problem, not a regular issue.
- There are some weird transitions between holes. From #1 to 2 & 8 to 9, you have to walk down, and cross over, the street to play the next hole. The transition from #3 to 4 wasn't clear, so an arrow would be helpful to keep from having to walk the entire way around the fenced-in dog park.
- Some people probably won't like playing so close/over the railroad tracks or fences that come into play on holes #4 - 8. You especially have to be careful of not throwing into the dog park on #4 or you might end up with a chewed up disc.
- For being a mountain course, there's a lack of major obstacles/trees, especially on the holes that play around the rec center.
Other Thoughts: This course actually exceeded my expectations. With all the concerns over spacing, I had some concerns about this course. I had no problem with any of that, but I did play on a Sunday morning, probably the emptiest the park is all week.
- There are plenty of fun holes. As you can see in the pics, the alternate location for #2, with the basket on the hill, is a cool setup. Even the tight, tunnel shots on #3 & 6 were nice, little challenges.
- It would have been nice to have at least one wooded hole and/or a hole playing over the big creek that runs to the left of #18. There were some nice woods on the other side of the creek, so it seems the possibility would be there.
- My favorite holes were #2 (with the basket on the hill) & 14 (the long, downhill hole). #13 was also very good - 466 ft, open, slightly uphill, with the big slope to the right. Not overly difficult, but was fun.
- Being an out-of-towner, I don't know how often problems arise with hole interference from other park activities. I'm giving this course a 3.0 with the benefit of the doubt it's not a regular issue. If this was a regular issue, including an issue at peak times (evenings/weekends), I'd drop the rating to 2.5 (or even 2.0 if it's a major/all-the-time problem) because that would have a legitimate effect on one's ability to play. Based on the conditions when I played, I'd recommend the 30 minute drive from Richmond Hill to check out this course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Waynesville DGC

5+    9/11/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Tin Machine
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am very amazed by what the designers of this course were able to do with the space given. I would have to say that the greatest pro of this course would be its variety. There are holes under 200 feet, and there are others that are over 600 feet long. You've got open holes with interesting OB, and then some very tight holes with lots of trees and low hanging branches. Include all of this along with some elevation changes, water hazards, multiple pin placements, concrete tee pads, and decent signage, and you've got a course that will certainly make you bring a diverse game and set of discs to the table.

Signature holes of this course, in my opinion, are Holes 7 and 14. Ironically the only two with real elevation changes. Just watch out for the junkyard on 14.
Cons: This is a rec park area. This means that the course has to share the space with other park goers, i.e. baseball, soccer, and track people, dog walkers, bike riders, folks having picnics, and whatever else. On some holes it's not a problem, on others, you'll have to wait out the walkers and such if it's a busy time of day.

A lot of people have mentioned that it's hard to find holes 2-8. Understandable, as it feels like you have to leave the park to get to it. Just follow the road behind basket #1 towards the left, cross the bridge, and you'll see the back area of the park where the tee box for Hole 2 sits down on the right. After Hole 8, go back across the bridge where you'll find the tee for Hole 9 behind the bathrooms and along side of the baseball field. I am aware this is a problem for those that haven't played the course before, and I would hope some better direction between holes is developed in the future for new players. But once you figure out where the holes are, they're really not that bad.

The painted blue tee boxes on certain holes can be a bit of a problem if it's damp or wet out. If you like to get a running start or an X-Step like me, be careful because it gets REALLY slippery when wet. Just stand off to the side or behind the paint and you should be ok.
Other Thoughts: As much as the other users of the park get on my nerves when I play here, I have to keep reminding myself that it is a public park and we all have to co-exist to make this thing work. I'd much rather a park where you have to deal with the occasional passer-by than no course at all.

Another note: If you are unfortunate enough to lose your disc on the roof of the rec center at Hole 14, just go inside and give the person behind the desk your name, disc details, and contact info. They're usually pretty good at getting it back to you when they do their monthly trip to the roof (you just might have to wait a few weeks).

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.