Waynesville, NC 
Waynesville DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 466ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Better than advertised

2-4    8/4/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: JBryant
Played: 54  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging holes.
-Given OB added to degree of difficulty.
-The course forced you to place shots in the right spot in order to shoot well.
-Creeks were used effectively. (new hole 2 is my fav.)
-Basket caught the disc really well.
-Space was utilized well (see my comments in other thoughts regarding the new design)
Cons: -Small concrete tee pads and some mulch pads. I hear plans to fix this.
-Pedestrians and other non disc golfers can get in the way.
-Course plays through the busy park and this poses a safety issue.

My thoughts on how to solve some of the safety problems:
-Hole 1 should never be put in the long position. I never got to play it there and while it looked sweet, it poses waaaaay too much risk to property and people.
-Hole 4 should always be in the short position and have the mando left of the first tree in front of the tee. Although this makes this hole a repetitive shot like hole 3, it does provide the best safety option. The pavilion and playground are just too close to the long pin.
-Hole 11 should never be put in the short position. Give that the best route for that shot is to go over the parking lot, it poses too much risk to personal property. I skipped down to the basket off the parking lot if that gives you any indication of what my disc's flight path was.
-Hole 15 should be kept in the short position. Although it poses no real safety issue, the long pin location crosses 16's tee box and fairway. This is a safety issue for disc golfers.
-Hole 18 like I said before should stay in the short pin but make the long tee pad permanent with the double mando and OB left of path and beyond.

I have no doubt that these changes are in the works. I know Tim and all the faithful disc golfers who play Waynesville want their course to be top notch.
Other Thoughts: The course has gone through a makeover since Tim Petrea became the caretaker. The original design was well thought out and used the land to the max. With recent construction and the overwhelming use of the park by non disc golfers, the course needed an update. I have to say that Tim and his crew along with the help of all the Waynesville locals did a great job with the redesign. Hole 2 is now one of my favorite holes of all time and although it yielded no birdies to me it provided me with a tough shot but fair one. The way Tommy Holbrook used the old hole 2 basket as the new hole 7 was just awesome. To have a big hyzer shot to the hill was a risk/reward elevation shot that the course needed. The new hole 8 with the 35ft man made island was a great addition as well. It was a birdie hole but the added circle just made it more fun. The new 10 tee was really sweet. A bomber over the track field with OB looming made this a great, well thought out tee spot. The new longer tee on 18 was really sweet as well. Way to go Tommy for the new design. I'd go so far as to say make that the permanent tee and keep the basket in the short pin. This would cut down on non disc golfers getting in the way of that hole while making the tee shot tougher with the double mando and OB path and beyond to the left. Given better tees, better defined OB lines, and some reassurance that non disc golfers are safe and out of the way I'd go so far as to rate this course a 4.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Waynesville DGC

2-4    8/4/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: Will_Cann
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The holes were placed very well! Discatcher baskets. Liked that there were several creeks on the course! I loved hole 12 at the long position. Hole 2 would probably be my favorite hole!
Cons: Seemed easy to lose a disc. Birdie shots were few unless you could really sling it! On a normal day it seemed like it would be harder to play just because of foot traffic on walking trails and many of the holes had them around. Some mulch tees which was a safety issue. some holes i was a little nervous to throw on mulch. Concrete tees were too small.
Other Thoughts: Over all good course I thought! Some pretty challenging shots with the longe holes! I recently played a tournament and there were a lot of OB's which made the course quite challenging. Should be a really fun course worth the drive to play it after some of the said improvements to be made.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good course

2-4    5/26/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: Rudolph
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - well marked tees with pads
- range of holes from short, open, tight
- a great top of the world drive
- little chance of losing a disc
Cons: - a far amount of construction around the first 9
- park pedestrians can hold up play on several holes
- some holes are right next to other park attractions and a bad though could easily cross in
Other Thoughts: A good course for a wide rang of players.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course!

1    9/10/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: JoshuaWayneHester
Played: 21  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *All Innova discatchers in great condition.

*All concrete tee's with easy to navigate signage.

*Nice variations of holes from open shots to tight fairways to demanding tree lines. This course has alot of challenges for every skill level.

*This 18 hole course also features other great amenties for the family, such as soccer, baseball, swimming, basketball and other sports with several local playgrounds.
Cons: *Although the tee pads are concrete, they are very small.

*Navigation the first time around can be difficult.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course in a nice location that is worth checking out. I travelled over 5 hours to play and left very happy.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best course in the area

5+    8/1/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: Sersan43
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Paved tee pads. Easy to follow course once you know how to navigate from 1 to 2, then from 8 to 9. Excellent mix of long and short holes. Some really technical shots needed for some. A few holes you can literally just grip it and rip it (16 is a semi short par 4 on a slight downhill so if you have a lot of power, this is your go-to eagle hole). The scenery is beautiful and it is right in town so a food break wont be inconvenient.
Cons: Some of the tee boxes are painted with coats of blue paint. If you play in the morning dew or after a rain, it's like driving from a frozen water puddle. A train will sometimes go right through the middle of the course laying on it's horn while it slowly rolls through. Don't rush somebody to shoot because it is horrible loud.
Other Thoughts: I used to live 40 minutes from this course and I would drive past 3 other courses in order to play here twice a week. If you are in NC west of asheville, you want to play this course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

It's not all bad.

1    8/26/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: das1330
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Clearly marked Teepads...You won't find those in Franklin or Sylva.
- Pretty much impossible to lose a disc unless you shank #14 really bad
- mostly flat easier for players out of shape or older in age with bad knees
- Bathrooms, Water Fountains and plenty of benches.
- Signs are posted clearly and often warning people it's a disk golf course and to watch out for flying discs.
Cons: - At Times the course seems rather tightly done together. Bad throws can end you up in Tennis Courts, across fences, in doggie parks or on the volleyball court.
- A parking lot is in play on 3 or 4 holes. Could be too easy to hit a car.
- The course sometimes focuses more on length and less on approach...Sometimes it feels like "Oh, time to air it out...And rinse and repeat.
Other Thoughts: Overall I'd play the course again, it's a solid course, but it seems to praise driving power over accuracy.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 OmniOB

1    4/3/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Two pin positions per hole.
Cons:
Out-of-bounds looming on every hole. Multiple opportunities to negatively interact with: parking lots, roads, walking paths, dog park, swift-running stream, railroad tracks, tennis courts, softball field, running track, building, junkyard.
Other Thoughts:
The course suffers from a common malady - it is squeezed into the patchy amount of available open spaces of a multi-purpose park, thereby offering many chances to yell "fore", and/or get your insurance card out.

Other than uphill number-12, or major downhill number-14, the course is extremely flat. Long basket-2 sits on a small hill, but requires a throw over teepad-3. Most holes, other than the few near the railroad tracks, are quite open - straight-on, or swinging wide right-to-left, will work on most holes.

About 2/3rds of the tees are 6'x6' concrete, with the walking path doubling as a teepad the other 1/3rd. Teesigns will list the distances to the two pin positions, but doesn't indicate in which the basket is presently located.

Navigation tips: the map shows where the tees, not the baskets, are located. After number-1, a sign directs you down road/across bridge. Numbers 2-5 play in the direction you just headed, while 6-8 return you towards basket-1. Numbers 9-11 play in a counter-clockwise direction around the ball field, while numbers 12-15 play clockwise around the building. Number-16 plays across the track, and numbers 17-18 parallel the creek/walking path. Tee-4 is between the railroad tracks and the midpoint of the dog park.

Try to play when there are not many other park users present.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Inconceivable

1    11/24/2011   11/28/2011
Review By: Stan McDaniel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Directions to the course were good, except that the drug store on the corner is not an Eckerds but it is a Rite Aid. Hole 1 was easy to find. The mountain stream visible from many holes is true eye candy. It made a great pit stop on my drive.
Cons: Did anyone think about the safey of the other park users? Nearly every hole on the course had potential for hitting walkers on the walking path or the track and field track, people in the dog park, people in the tennis courts and people on the softball fields. I saw multiple drives go into the parking lot on hole 1 from other players I observed. The ball field is in play there also. I did eventually find hole 2. I don't mind the transition and I should have printed out a map before I left home. #4 is next to a dog park with a 4' fence. I refused to play that hole lest I let one go early. #7 is sanwiched in between tennis courts and R/R tracks. Although the fairway has a low canopy of beutiful hemlocks, it is not reasonable to expect that some shots will not fight their way into the tennis courts or over onto the tracks. #8 is beside a 25mph road, not a 10-15 mph park road with speed bumps but a through road. #9 and 10 allow shots to go into the softball fields with ease. A great long downhill hole can have discs turn over into a parking lot obscured from view by the rec center building or they could head over into the junkyard. The final holes play across a track and field track and walking paths and have a coupld of crossing fairways. I saw one person throw a disc and hit a walker on the track and field track. I saw discs fly into the junkyard. I saw people throw into the softball field.
Other Thoughts: This is the conundrum of an area that would not have a course unles it was crammed into this park. Do you go ahead and design the course or do you go without? Safety is a huge concern and there is no room for safety and disc golf in this park. I bear no ill will against the designer. It was that perons choice to pursue disc golf here. Some safety could have been mitigated by greatly shortening the course, but it could still not have been made safe enough.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Nice walk in the Park

5+    3/26/2012   9/29/2011
Review By: discplayerUSA
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 3/26/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners and Pros! This course has a nice layout given it is in a multi-use park. I have played many multi-use DGC facilities across the country and this course has a unique design to accommodate all park users.
Weekends are sometimes busy with other park activities but during the week, the course and park can be all yours! There is a good mixture of long holes and ace runs and the beauty of the natural surroundings are awesome! Mountain views and trout streams enhance the scenery of this great park!
Cons: I have liked every course that I've played because I know and respect all of the work that goes into the creation,install and maintenance
of a disc golf course!
Other Thoughts: I totally disagree with Mr. McDaniel. I have played the sport for over 30 year and I have come to the conclusion that safety is in the hands of the Disc Golf player not necessarily the course. Common sense, patience and good diplomacy are the best practices!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Fun once you figure it out (Updated)

1    6/14/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: DarkCrylis
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Open throwing on most holes, allows you to work on your throws without tree worry
- Great public area and a great walk to each hole.
- Good for beginners if they have someone that has played the course before, or you take a map with you
Cons: - Confusing to find each hole at times, but after first run though you will get the hang of it
- The rec center didn't have maps, and even when I asked they acted like they had never heard of disc golf.
- Some holes could do with a little more distance.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed this course quite a bit, played it by myself the first time. I would suggest you run it with someone that has before, as the flow is a bit confusing without a little help the first time. Only real complaint I have is some of the holes were short and I didn't see much support from the local DG community. Would suggest anyone that enjoys DG to give it a throw.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.