Waynesville, NC 
Waynesville DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 214ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 A fun and creative course.

5+    9/12/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: El Oso Peligroso
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great usage of the space available. Creative fairways that still manage to largely stay out of the way of an otherwise busy park.

This course makes you use lots of different shots, so it's great for improving your game.

#6 is a great hole that almost forces you to use a roller with its incredibly tight fairway with lots of low hanging branches.

#7 is great in the back position, one of my favorite holes ever. Very long (600+) with OB, fences, water, a few trees, and a hill at the end. Play it a 4, you deserve a birdie if you can make it in 3.
Cons: Soccer season. #10 and #18 get a little tricky. Some park goers aren't really aware that it's not a good idea to stand next to the yellow basket (despite multiple signs explaining to watch out for flying discs)
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, which is very under-rated. As long as you avoid soccer games or everyone in town bring their dog day, it's a great play that will force you to use every shot you have.

It's not that tricky to navigate after you find #2. Just remember after #1, go to the road behind the basket and turn left. It's across the bridge to the right. After #8 go back to #1, and #9 is just on the other side of the restrooms.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Better than a 1

1    7/4/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 342  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 14.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
- Lots of OB makes the course more challenging since there is a lack holes with "tree" shots. The length of some of the open holes makes up for the fact that it's pretty wide open. And, the length in combination with the OB makes the course more exciting and tougher... although I never did go OB.
- Signage was basic but effective.
- Nice concrete tee-pads... especially the blue painted sidewalk pads (made them easy to spot and find your way).
- Some elevation on this course. I liked hole 2's basket on top of the hill... a difficult 3. And, I liked the downhill shot on the edge of the junkyard... good use of the limited elevation available.
- Some of the holes are long enough to make you break out your power game and let loose a little.
- Pretty wide open. Not a lot of tunnel shots.
- A few long walks from hole 1 to 2, hole 7 to 8, and 8 to 9... I had run into some local players and they pointed the way... otherwise I might have been looking around for a while.
Other Thoughts:
- Sorry Olorin - but this course is better than a 1. If this course is a 1, what do we rate courses that suck way worse than this one?
- This course is in more traditional park-like setting as compared to the mountain golf experience found at Richmond Hill. That doesn't make it bad... it just makes it different. By combing the skill sets learned on long open courses like this one and tight technical courses like Richmond, you could become a great disc golfer and compete anywhere.
- My Score: -4

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty cool

5+    12/2/2008   1/7/2009
Review By: Middy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A nice mix of open and a few tight holes. Some nice elevation changes- the hole by the junkyard is great! Many different basket placements. Nice DiscCatcher baskets.
Cons: You could easily hit one of the many recreational facility users...soccer players, joggers, dog walkers, horse riders, fishermen, etc. The tee boxes are very short.
Other Thoughts: Worth playing for sure.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Open invitation

5+    4/12/2008   8/28/2008
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 92  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice open course. A fast flowing creek, R/R tracks & parking lots provide plenty of challenge on many holes. A full 18 holes now. Relatively flat so it's an easy walk. Very clean. Great local club support & tourneys. Indoor bathrooms. Water fountains.
Cons: Could use some more benches. Some holes throw across the playing fields & running track.
Other Thoughts: There is a big indoor recreation complex on site. Nice track & field. There is an indoor pool for the kids. Baseball diamonds. Walking path around entire area.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Be careful! Be VERY very careful!

1    2/4/2008   7/5/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 340  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 36.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
*Two basket positions for each hole.
*There's a dedicated local club.
*The hilly scenery in the surrounding area.
-There are numerous safety issues, on every hole but #14; be especially careful on holes 2-8. (Look at the hole pictures in the Photos section.) DO NOT attempt to play the course without getting the extensive list of OBs from the Rec Center. The course is right in the midst of a busy park, so always keep an eye out for other park users. Apparently, the local players and the other park users have learned how to co-exist together, though. (There's much more that could be said here, but I'd rather not in this venue.)
It's very hard to navigate, and the map is basically useless because it's very poorly drawn. Even with the map I couldn't even find holes 2-8 until they were shown to me. There's a very long walk from basket 1 to holes tee 2 for the 2-8 loop, then another long walk back to tee 9. There are also long walks to tee 7, tee 8, and a very long walk from basket 13 to tee 14.
The course is mostly flat with elevation changes on only a few holes. (Hole 14 is a great exception, though.)

Believe it or not, my negative comments here are not meant to hurt anyone's feelings, but they're only offered as suggestions about areas that can be improved.
Other Thoughts:
Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925.)
My favorite hole- 14. It's the most scenic, has a 35 ft drop, with some pine trees, and begs for an ace run. It's marred by the Rec Center building on the right, and a junk yard on the left across the fence, though.

SPECIAL NOTE: I rated this course Below Average, but I recognize that building this course took lots of vision, time, money, and work. Since I don't want to downplay these efforts, I'm not posting my usual review notes in the Files section. If you want to read more specifics about my review, please send me an email to <playdiscgolf(at)gmail.com> and I'll send you a file with more details.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


6/15/2008   6/15/2008
Review By: opc666hwm
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I recently played this course and found it to be a lot of fun. Creative use of a recreational center. There are some elevation changes as well as a lot of tight holes if you use the out of bounds. It has 18 holes as well as multiple basket changes.
Cons: Hard to find hole 2, but there is a map of the course on the first hole.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.