Wenatchee, WA 
Wenatchee Rotary Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 209ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Too Much in a Small Park

2-4    6/12/2011   1/20/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 35 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great signage, excellent maintenance, grass so perfect that I played barefoot, driving from next to the tees. A nice beginner course. Amenities for everyone: playground within sight of all holes, barbeque pits, covered eating area, horseshoe pit, and I think there may have been electricity available.
The holes are short, open affairs, appearing to have been installed as an added attraction for enticement of family functions. A more DG-oriented mind seems to have added future challenges at the last second---its easy to stand there and visualize how the planted trees will grow and create a more complex and challenging course in 5-10 years. Hopefully this initial foray into DG will propel the budding DG community to find space for more challenging, dedicated courses.
Cons: Very windy-quite a challenge for newbs, and if its 20+ mph, even advanced players may reach the busy road. Mandos are ridiculous 2 ft. white posts[need to be 6 ft. at least-fer chris' sakes, put a tree in]. Multiple uses in a small park could create conflict, either slowing your game dramatically or risking injury to other users. #2 basket has someone's backyard 10' behind it[been there]; #s 3-6 cross sidewalks and #8 parallels one.
Other Thoughts: If you don't have a family and/or don't live in Wenatchee, its really not worth hunting down, unless you're stuck in town overnight and really need to throw. Again, with some time for the planned vegetation to reach maturity, it could be a more enticing course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

2-4    3/19/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: Robinhood
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some of the best signage I have seen. Great tee pads, and baskets. Good layout for a small park. very well maintained park, with restrooms covered picnic area and playground for the kiddies. Beautiful course scenery of the nearby mountains.
Cons:
Mandos are small and hard to see on some holes. It would be nice to see a little larger size to the Mandos. The course crosses the walking path in the park several times, and many throws can come near the walking paths. If there were more people out it might make it harder to get a round in quickly. The Par for all the holes should be 3, kind of funny two of them are 4.
Other Thoughts: Great beginner course in Wenatchee, I hope to see a few more courses go in around the area. If the wind is ripping it adds a good bit of challenge to the course as the course is mostly all exposed to the wind.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely Park-Wind Adds To The Challenge!

2-4    4/24/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course sits in a lovely little city park. There is a very small bit of elevation to throw from. Trees have been planted and will be a factor someday. The signs are wonderful. The concrete teepads, although narrowwer than most, are fine for this course. The course is a pitch and putt. It's difficulty is increased with the use of mandos, sidewalks OB and the wind, at least on the days I played. It was getting quite a lot of use, many newbies and families were enjoying it. There are restrooms, benches and parking available.
Cons: The mandos are simple little white stakes sticking up maybe two feet high. They are there for safety reasons and also to add to the difficulty. The idea is they keep one from throwing across playground areas. The problem is that it's fairly difficult to know exactly whether you made the mando or not. On a couple of holes (#2, #7 and #9) I'm sure the neighbors have plenty of discs sail into their yards. And with the wind howling, hitting a car on Western Avenue is certainly a possiblity.
Other Thoughts: The wind was blowing hard and gusting on the first day I played. It probably added 5-7 strokes onto my already average score. The next morning I came by about 8 AM, and it was still blowing although not quite as hard.

This is a great little park. It's a fun pitch and putt. But I guess the most attractive thing about it is, It's the only game in town. If I lived in Wenatchee, I'd play it all the time. Maybe I'd learn to cope with the prevailing winds in the springtime.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 windy day putting fail

2-4    7/28/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: puaahunter
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great signage, very well marked.
nice teepads
nice baskets
MANDOS!
OBs!
nice park with a great future.
very classy.
lots of benches, play areas, bathrooms, etc.
Cons: short holes. [but the mandos and OBs attempt to make up for it, adding a little bit of difficulty. they were well placed and it's a well designed course.]
busy park.
possible throws into traffic if you select the wrong disc.
when the water park features are running, most of the lower park [holes 3-8] get wet and soggy, even in the super hot weather.
Other Thoughts: it was fun to play with the mando's and ob's. it made a really short and simple into a little bit of a challenge. also, the wind was ripping through there this evening, so it made it a little bit difficult to really control my drives.
furthermore, my putting was ridiculously bad. but this has nothing to do with the course!

all-in-all, it was a fun and quick evening throw at the park while the wife and kids played on the playground and in the fields.

there were two more disc golfers playing through as we were leaving!


***i had the opportunity to drive out to the Thousand Trails Course north of Leavenworth, but based on the reviews found on this website, i decided against it and put another 2 rounds in here in Wenatchee. i hope that was the right decision!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.