Wenatchee, WA 
Wenatchee Rotary Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
4 / 323ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Rotary Park DGC

2-4    11/9/2013   11/22/2013
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Rotary Park in Wenatchee, WA is a multi-use area which includes several amenities to appease just about anybody. Created with the family in mind, the park includes a massive water fountain and playground for children to play on, basketball courts, restrooms, a large open grass field, and a gazebo for picnics. It's quick and easily accessible location from downtown is a plus as well for those traveling from out of town.

The designers of Rotary Park also included a fun yet small nine hole 'pitch and putt' style course (w/ the exception of holes four and eight) that plays along the perimeter of the park. The course is best suited for novice to intermediate players although just about any skill level will enjoy the chance to throw multiple ace runs and bag a new course. Minor elevation, OB's, and mandos are prevalent throughout adding to the overall difficulty of the course. This is a welcome addition considering the course is wide open and presents little to no challenge for an experienced golfer.

Holes range anywhere from 140-345 feet, with seven par 3's and 2 par 4's. Baskets are all durable and well maintained DISCatchers. The tee pads, although more narrow than the average tee, are cement and have enough run-up for the intended hole length. Tee signs are much better than the average course, including a solid frame, colorful image, distance, par, and major obstacles.

Favorite Hole(s): # 2 &#3 - fun little ace runs
Cons:
Like others have stated, Rotary Park has A LOT going on and when the weather is nice it seems near impossible to play an entire round. It is the ideal place to work on putts and approaches but more times than none dgers will find themselves with only a portion of the park to play on while pedestrians are enjoying several of the other amenities the area has to offer so be aware and be courteous. If looking for a more difficult challenge or a more DG friendly park I would recommend heading over to Tedford Park in East Wenatchee.

The mandos were a bit of an issue as well considering they are only two feet tall and often times just out of the way enough to take away any real "natural" flight path. On top of that, if trying to cut the mando close, it is nearly impossible to tell if it was made or missed. If playing the course for the first time I would recommend playing it WITH the mandos but after that I wouldn't bother (except for hole four near the playground). It just seems silly!

Least Favorite Hole(s): #6
Other Thoughts:
The course, although quite dangerous when busy, is the perfect place to learn how to play the game. With little to no chance of losing a disc, short distances, and easy routes, it allows new players to build up their confidence without getting too frustrated like some of the more professional courses in the state. The designers had the right intention and if it was a dedicated DG park, or at least had less interruptions from pedestrians it would have rated higher. However, when comparing this course to the nearly 200 other courses I have played, including some of the best in the world, it just doesn't score high. It is what it is, an introductory course and I respect that!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Too Much in a Small Park

2-4    6/12/2011   1/20/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 164  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 35.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great signage, excellent maintenance, grass so perfect that I played barefoot, driving from next to the tees. A nice beginner course. Amenities for everyone: playground within sight of all holes, barbeque pits, covered eating area, horseshoe pit, and I think there may have been electricity available.
The holes are short, open affairs, appearing to have been installed as an added attraction for enticement of family functions. A more DG-oriented mind seems to have added future challenges at the last second---its easy to stand there and visualize how the planted trees will grow and create a more complex and challenging course in 5-10 years. Hopefully this initial foray into DG will propel the budding DG community to find space for more challenging, dedicated courses.
Cons: Very windy-quite a challenge for newbs, and if its 20+ mph, even advanced players may reach the busy road. Mandos are ridiculous 2 ft. white posts[need to be 6 ft. at least-fer chris' sakes, put a tree in]. Multiple uses in a small park could create conflict, either slowing your game dramatically or risking injury to other users. #2 basket has someone's backyard 10' behind it[been there]; #s 3-6 cross sidewalks and #8 parallels one.
Other Thoughts: If you don't have a family and/or don't live in Wenatchee, its really not worth hunting down, unless you're stuck in town overnight and really need to throw. Again, with some time for the planned vegetation to reach maturity, it could be a more enticing course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

2-4    3/19/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: Robinhood
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some of the best signage I have seen. Great tee pads, and baskets. Good layout for a small park. very well maintained park, with restrooms covered picnic area and playground for the kiddies. Beautiful course scenery of the nearby mountains.
Cons:
Mandos are small and hard to see on some holes. It would be nice to see a little larger size to the Mandos. The course crosses the walking path in the park several times, and many throws can come near the walking paths. If there were more people out it might make it harder to get a round in quickly. The Par for all the holes should be 3, kind of funny two of them are 4.
Other Thoughts: Great beginner course in Wenatchee, I hope to see a few more courses go in around the area. If the wind is ripping it adds a good bit of challenge to the course as the course is mostly all exposed to the wind.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/12/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/17/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rotary Park is a great park to take the kids to on a beautiful sunny afternoon. Nice tee signs, baskets and tee pads, though the concrete tees are a little narrow but no big deal, in fact if they kept it grass it would of been fine too. This is a nice place to take the kids and let them run wild while you play disc golf! haha! Navigation is simple and all tee pads are visible from the last basket with the exception of hole nine but you get to see this tee pad from hole two so long as you have a 30 minute memory you will know where to go.
Cons: Pitch and putt and wide open which normally is tolerable but there are other major flaws here. The course gets really busy on the weekend or sunny days and makes playing disc golf almost impossible. They have tried to address this by putting in mandos that play away from the kids play areas but the mandos have you throw over a BUSY street, walking paths and other dangerous areas which defeats the purpose of what they were trying to do and destroys what regularly would be a fun ace run style of a course. Go early in the morning and disregard the mandos I say!
Other Thoughts: This is a terrible place for disc golf in that it's such a nice park which is great but it gets so much use from other park users that disc golf in this place just isn't the greatest of ideas. They do have some really cool stuff for the kids though like playground equipment, gazebos for picnics and a huge outdoor water fountain/shower thing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely Park-Wind Adds To The Challenge!

2-4    4/24/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course sits in a lovely little city park. There is a very small bit of elevation to throw from. Trees have been planted and will be a factor someday. The signs are wonderful. The concrete teepads, although narrowwer than most, are fine for this course. The course is a pitch and putt. It's difficulty is increased with the use of mandos, sidewalks OB and the wind, at least on the days I played. It was getting quite a lot of use, many newbies and families were enjoying it. There are restrooms, benches and parking available.
Cons: The mandos are simple little white stakes sticking up maybe two feet high. They are there for safety reasons and also to add to the difficulty. The idea is they keep one from throwing across playground areas. The problem is that it's fairly difficult to know exactly whether you made the mando or not. On a couple of holes (#2, #7 and #9) I'm sure the neighbors have plenty of discs sail into their yards. And with the wind howling, hitting a car on Western Avenue is certainly a possiblity.
Other Thoughts: The wind was blowing hard and gusting on the first day I played. It probably added 5-7 strokes onto my already average score. The next morning I came by about 8 AM, and it was still blowing although not quite as hard.

This is a great little park. It's a fun pitch and putt. But I guess the most attractive thing about it is, It's the only game in town. If I lived in Wenatchee, I'd play it all the time. Maybe I'd learn to cope with the prevailing winds in the springtime.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 windy day putting fail

2-4    7/28/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: puaahunter
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great signage, very well marked.
nice teepads
nice baskets
MANDOS!
OBs!
nice park with a great future.
very classy.
lots of benches, play areas, bathrooms, etc.
Cons: short holes. [but the mandos and OBs attempt to make up for it, adding a little bit of difficulty. they were well placed and it's a well designed course.]
busy park.
possible throws into traffic if you select the wrong disc.
when the water park features are running, most of the lower park [holes 3-8] get wet and soggy, even in the super hot weather.
Other Thoughts: it was fun to play with the mando's and ob's. it made a really short and simple into a little bit of a challenge. also, the wind was ripping through there this evening, so it made it a little bit difficult to really control my drives.
furthermore, my putting was ridiculously bad. but this has nothing to do with the course!

all-in-all, it was a fun and quick evening throw at the park while the wife and kids played on the playground and in the fields.

there were two more disc golfers playing through as we were leaving!


***i had the opportunity to drive out to the Thousand Trails Course north of Leavenworth, but based on the reviews found on this website, i decided against it and put another 2 rounds in here in Wenatchee. i hope that was the right decision!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 North Central WA Best Course

2-4    4/12/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: Barbikes
Played: 44  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park's maintenance is excellent! The grass is mowed. The restrooms are clean. There is very little litter. The teebox signage is top rate.
There is a covered picnic area. The park doesn't seem too crowded. Great usage of Mando's and OB to add difficulty to a short course. There are only two other courses (Leavenworth and Moses Lake) within a 80 mile radius?
Cons: This is a short nine hole course located in about a seven acre city park.
The Mando poles are only about two feet high. It would be great if they were twenty feet high. The park is relatively new so trees that have been planted to guard baskets are still small and ineffective.
Other Thoughts: It's great that Wenatchee has a disc golf park! I grew up there and still have a relative there so I visit a couple of times a year. I think the Rotary Club did a good job considering the acreage they had to work with. They created a park out of a vacant field. When I play the course I'm usually with my son. We play the course the first round and then we play "safari golf". We take turns inventing crazy long holes with punishing mandos like - "Throw from tee one to basket five but mando left of the restroom building". We do that until we've had enough!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5/17/2008   5/17/2008
Review By: Brody Cannon
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A good putt and approach course and great for the whole family. Very well maintained park.
Cons: In a small town and because of that, i have never seen a good disc golfer out there which means no locals to challenge. The course is extremely short and very easy for advanced golfers.
Other Thoughts: It is a great little park with other things besides disc golf so there is something to do for the whole family. I play it everytime I visit family in Wenatchee and would really like to meet a good local player.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.