DeWitt, IA 
West Brook Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 486ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

5+    6/6/2015   6/7/2015
Review By: AHagglund
Played: 25  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2015
Pros: 1) Scenic park. Half the course winds along a creek, and the other half travels through what feels like an orchard. it would be a great place to walk even if the disc golf course wasn't there. Big plus in my book.
2) The course is in solid condition. baskets, teepads, mowing...all are fine.
3) Wide, "fair" fairways with clearly defined edges. Do NOT miss..
4) The "orchard" part of the course has matured tremendously in the last few years and has evolved into the course's best feature. Everything looks--what's the right word--cleaner?--than it used to look. Each of these holes forces an interesting decision regarding whether one should lay up or attack. (My advice? When in doubt, lay up...) It's a unique stretch that feels different than most disc golf courses and is fantastic at separating players of different skill levels.

Because of the scenery, variety, and uniqueness of Westbrook, I'd be tempted to rate it at 3.5, maybe even a 4. Except...
Cons: There are quite a few holes that I don't like.

Several holes (2, 4, 9, and 18) have a nasty habit of rewarding a great drive with a crapshoot of an approach.

6 and 18 are short holes (both are 180', tops) but have no line to the pin. It's really, really annoying to lay up from that range. From what I understand these holes used to be a little more open, but have since become overgrown.

The good news is that all of these lines could be fixed by removing one or two trees.
Other Thoughts: I played here once about 5 years ago and only recently started playing again. It has come a loonnnggg way since then.

 variety...the spice of dg

1    11/28/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 391  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 16.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A variety of course "sections" here, there is a meadow/city park section, a wooded section, and a 'fairways cut out of rough' or 'monster' section a la tallpaul.
-Also a lot of shot variety. Straight shots, rhbh hyzers, both tight and natural, anhyzers and flicks.
-Nice, huge concrete pads here. 5x12?nice rough surface for traction.
-Two water holes and two elevation holes which added to the variety here.
-good mix of distances, some shorty must birdies (about 6 or so) along with some beastly long, punishing holes (about 6) were you are just looking for a three and hoping they end soon. And the rest are normal. Overall range from 170 to 500+.
-Navigation could have been hairy , but it wasn't due to nice directional signs after holes.
Cons: -2 holes had no concrete, 6 and 8 and it seems unlikely that concrete will be installed b/c of access limitations. Hole 8's tee area seemed to be getting washed out a bit from the creek.
-A couple of multiuse tee pads on the walking trail, 5 and 17. Just be courteous and let walkers by.
-Although the variety is great, the 6 monster type holes in a row got a bit overwhelming by the end of 16.
Other Thoughts: Overall, one of the better courses in the area, combine this with Clinton's Eagle Point (about 25 min from here), and skip the other area courses for a great time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 2/3 short; 11-16 "monster" section

1    8/23/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 764  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 27.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 12 foot long concrete tees; rather rare for this area to have concrete tees at all; much less 12 foot long
Lots of good holes; most with challenging distance; and requiring all shots
#5 a short one; but interesting; elevated tee across creek #3 also good shot across same creek
#6 blind downhill heiser (rhbh). Only 193; but blind shot and woods makes for a good shot.
#7 creek again in play; must go over halfway down fairway
#8 short, but EXTREME heiser (rhbh)
#9, tight fairway first half, to an uphill, left finish
#s 11-16 all have brutally narrow fairways with heavy schule to the sides. I took a lot of strokes through this section and was simply trying to stay upbeat.
This section reminded me greatly of many hole on the monster course at kennsigton metro park, ann arbor michigan; which is extremely highly regarded. (Kicks your butt much the same as here)
#s 17 and 18 are birdie holes for a little relief. 17 across Frog Pond; which was only a little standing water when we were there. 18 another shot across creek. Only 210 ft., but plays longer cause it's anny (rhbh).
Cons: Not really a con; but a tough section is TOUGH. Beat me up and forced me to keep my cool. Many players should choose a mid range and just try to stay on fairway. Schule is thick; be prepared to do some searching.
There are few dirt tees still on this course. The elevated tee on #5 is kind of dangerous.
Other Thoughts: I would say this course does a very good job of testing you with both yardage and accuracy on most holes; while also granting 7 holes, not much over 200 feet, to allow for moving in a scoring direction you would like.
Some good water holes here, greatly add to charm.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.