Salem, OR 
Corban University Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #4 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 300ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Corban University 2.0

1    7/27/2014   8/6/2014
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 187  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Corban University in Salem, Oregon is a nine hole recreational to intermediate disc golf course located on the east side of campus near the student housing and ball fields. The course plays along the hillside amongst the tall grass, bushes, and trees. Par for the course is 54 with holes ranging anywhere from roughly 75-375ft. Although the course is geared for newer players, there are a few holes that allow more advanced players a challenge, including the alternated tee position on hole six. Now that the course plays away from campus, it makes for a safer more enjoyable round outside in nature. It is definitely more scenic and less hectic.

Favorite Hole(s): Holes #3, #6 and #8
Cons:
Because this course recently has been redesigned and relocated, the fairways still need to be broken in some and the rough off of a few holes need to be cleared out as well but that will happen as the course gets more frequented. The holes progressively get more difficult as the round goes on, with a few solid holes (three, six, and eight) along with a few fillers (one, two, five, seven), lacking imagination and difficulty. The area the course was installed on has tremendous potential and could easily expand or be redesigned in a few areas as time goes on but they are off to a good start.

Least Favorite Hole(s): Holes #1, #2, and #7
Other Thoughts:
When I came to play Corban with my wife and son I was surprised to see that the old course had been pulled and relocated as there was no information here on dgcr or on campus. I had decided to walk the old course to be sure and to get a feel for what once was but just felt that they wouldn't pull it and not relocate. As I headed out toward my next destination, I happened to spot a basket near the ball fields putting two and two together and viola! I was happy to get to play this course before its "official" opening considering it was a quick play and easily accessible off I-5. It is obvious that the locals are working hard to get DG going at Corban University and I wish them much success for years to come!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Course Redesigned and Relocated

1    7/26/2014   8/3/2014
Review By: MapsFly
Played: 42  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.2 Years
Pros: This is an initial review of the course redesign and relocation.

Much safer layout; no blind tee shots and fewer pedestrians and cars to hit.
Beautiful views.
Air it out on hole #6.
Still a 9-hole course but there is room to expand to 18.
Quick 30 minute round.
Holes generally progress from easier to more challenging.
Course ends where it begins.
Cons: Further away from center of campus so students have to hike out to it. (nothing wrong with a little exercise).
Course still requires some minor work and trimming (watch out for the blackberry bushes and watch where your disc lands in the tall grass).
Tee pads still need leveling; they will probably remain natural tees (watch your run up).
Hole #2 is a really short ace run but you can get in trouble in the rough.
Hole #7 can get swampy in the wet season.
Other Thoughts: Course has been relocated east of the baseball and soccer field. Parking is in the gravel lot directly off of Deer Park Dr. behind the apartments near holes #1 and #9. The course is open for play but will continue to be worked on throughout the fall. Course designed to get college students new to the game playing though challenging enough for intermediate and advanced players to enjoy. New signage is being created but not there yet. Some baskets will require flags to be visible from the tees.

Really?

2-4    3/23/2014   3/24/2014
Review By: kilowan
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quick; signage;variety
Cons: Holes are just thrown in, #3 park lot for a fairway? #5 blind throw toward benches and tables? #7 and 8 look like they had no clue about where to put the baskets. #9 another blind hole that there could be cars in the gravel parking lot
Other Thoughts: Now that this corse has been played a couple of times, no need to go back, ever.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Easy and Varied

2-4    8/21/2013   8/28/2013
Review By: Rusty Shackleford
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety. Each hole is unique.

Great for beginners. Mostly short and easy fairways.

Free

Good signage.

This is a good place to throw a quick nine. It plays fast, but it doesn't have that 'every hole is the same' feel that some small 9 holes have.
Cons: Easy. Real easy.

#6 and #8 are just silly. They're crammed into too small of a space.

#7 is listed as a par 4 and it's probably the easiest par 4 in North America.

Tees are a mixed bag. Some are on pavement, some are on uneven dirt.
Other Thoughts: It's great that the students have this course. If it was in my backyard I would probably play it all the time.

If you're playing in this area I'd play Woodmansee instead, or Gateway, or Keizer Rapids. I end up playing Corban when I can't decide where to go and realize I haven't been to Corban in awhile, then after the round I wonder what I was doing there.

It's a shame because it seems like the college has plenty of unused land that could be used to extend the holes out to a really nice 9 (or more).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/15/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 45  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: For being inside the college campus they did a good job with using the land. Good clean course. Fun also.
Cons: Hole 3 plays across parking lot which sucks. Hole 9 is by/over parking lot. So if they are busy you have to watch for cars. Plays thru campus so look out for walkers. Hole 7 is a par 4 should be a 3 as a good 175' throw thru a few trees gives you an eagle opportunity. Seems to easy.
Other Thoughts: For what they have it's a fun little course.
Got a lower rating due to 2 holes playing over/thru parking lots.

 the college course

5+    8/15/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: ripcitydisc
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety - A lot of holes have a ton of variety. Hole 1 is a super fun one from the top of a parking structure that dog legs left but can easily be reached. the rest go downhill, through trees, over concrete, or go uphill. most of the holes are short except for 3 and 5.

Friendly - Its a college campus so most everyone is friendly and inviting, and the course stays very clean and manicured.

Crowds - during the summer its virtually empty, i imagine during the school year though that it gets very full and will be super hard to play.

Cons: Hole 3 - im definitely one of those people that doesnt want to shoot 400+ feet over concrete.

Hole 5 - gets very flooded, even in summer and the ivy on the right is a disc eater.

Im guessing its hard to play during the school year with buildings, cars and people all over.

Other Thoughts: I think hole 4 is fun, a slight easy forehand through the trees down the hill is the way to go. It takes a bit of luck but im able to birdie it most times if it gets through. Its right by Cascade Gateway as well, so most days we just hit up both if we want to play more variety.

For me the baskets have always caught fine although they are looking a tad rusty.

I think Corban is a full course if you want to get some birdies, or show someone the game, or just get out of the courses you always go to. Its definitely not a course i would adventure out to, but if its on the way, or you wanna check it out once, i recommend doing so.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good, Bad And The Ugly

1    7/6/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Corban College shows flashes of brilliance in some spots and epic face palming in other spots. Holes one and two are nice short par three holes for you to warm up on with hole one being a slight downhill hyzer with trouble stickers if your discs doesn't have enough hyzer or travels too far. Hole two is another short hole with a fast area around the basket that can make our disc skip far away, even into the road which I'm assuming is played as out of bounds. Hole five is a really good long par three hole that even advanced players are going to have a hard time getting a two on. The last couple of holes have more trees involved and even a small mushy area that acts as a water hazard for hole seven.
Cons: Holes three and four are where the failure is in this place. Hole three is a crazy 400 foot throw that you are using the road (and concrete) as your fairway and a hyzer is going to be hitting a building. The only logical throw on this hole is a roller as it will roll forever on the road and hit the curb and bounce over. Fun but dangerous for many different reasons. While I was playing the campus security were making their rounds and I felt extremely uncomfortable throwing this hole. Hole four is a crazy horseshoe shaped hole (at least being shown on the tee sign as the route they want you to take) that dangerously throws down the road again and could hit oncoming traffic. Also there is no real good route to this hole on the right side and my only option was a FH flick skip off the pavement down the road. This is one of the most interesting and unique holes I have ever seen but not in a good way.
Other Thoughts: I played this course when school was out and no one was really around but I can imagine during the school year when students are walking about it makes it impossible to play and with the risk of hitting cars and/or buildings anyways combined with dangerous hole design you would want to skip it. I did find most of the holes on this course to be fun but not too challenging, with the exception of five which was hard to reach for me with the natural tee pad.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Extremely pleasant, not terribly interesting.

1    5/26/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee signs with accompanying directional markers make navigation very easy.
A few holes feature interesting layouts.
Some elevation present, most notably on holes 1 and 4.
Hole 5 is an excellent long par 3.
Course is maintained well, very family friendly environment.

Cons: Hole 3 features 400 feet of concrete with almost no other flight option.
Numerous holes have a danger of smashing concrete.
About half of the holes are very short and the course overall wouldn't challenge most experienced players.
During the school year, crowds and pedestrians would be an issue as the course weaves very close to a number of school buildings.
Old baskets don't catch particularly well.
Course is a bit tricky to find on campus.
Other Thoughts: Corban college seems to define pleasant disc golf, and that vibe was consistent around the course. Only a few holes have significant obstacles between you and the basket and only 2 holes seemed to be particularly challenging. Honestly, I rather enjoyed hole 3, with its 400 feet of concrete but I know a lot of golfers who would opt to skip a hole that pretty much forces you to hit concrete. What I will say for the course is that as a beginner level course, I admired the ease of navigation and a few of the holes that had some tricky pin positions, for folks in the college I could see this as a fun day-to-day practice course, for more serious players, it's not worth a stop off I-5 and I would recommend playing Cascades Gateway or Woodmansee first.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice short course

2-4    1/8/2010   1/8/2010
Review By: reanthon
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 1/13/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Not Crowded
-Well marked (maps on every "tee" and directions to next tee on each basket)
-Good Shot variety
-Lots of elevation changes
-Nice people around
-Concrete as out of bounds is usually well placed
-Unique shots
-Very fun to play
-Beginner friendly
Cons: - Hole #3 plays over about 400 ft of concrete
- The baskets don't catch nearly as well as discatchers
- The natural tee pads are slick in the rain on #2 and #9
Other Thoughts: This course was thought out pretty well and makes use of many features on the campus. Hole #3 is really the only questionable hole as it plays over tons of concrete. My solution to chewing up your discs less would be to buy an innova Wolf for $10 and throw a roller tee shot. This won't beat up the disc as much and on the cement you could easily get 350 + foot rollers. I really liked the first hole, teeing off from the elevated parking lot for a big hyzer. The fourth hole is also unique, I big downhill hook to the right. A find that a forehand works best for this (right handed), but if you fade too quick you're liable to strike a tree and end up OB in the Road. The 435ft long 5th hole is a heck of a par 3. The remaining holes are short and technical, each offering unique shots. You could tell that lots of thought went into designing this course. A great college course that is worth the time to look at if you're in the Salem area and want to get away from the crowded and flat cascade gateway park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Relax and enjoy a shady and cool afternoon

5+    8/16/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: bakodaboarder
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The security staff is the first thing you will probably see on campus and might follow you. With that said it I find the course offers a consistent mix of elevation changes with left and right doglegs. There are clear signs as to the hole locations and the general description of intended line and par.
There is a map/scorecard at the start of the first hole by at the top of the hill.
Cons: The biggest drawback are the natural tee boxes. If a concreted or specialized pad were available I would rate this course higher. With this course being on a college campus it is harder to play this course during the school year.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend this course as a quick 40-50 minute play right off of I-5. I only play this course during the summer months from May til August. There are only a few holes which you can lose your discs however if you are a versatile disc golfer I do not believe you will have an issue.
I play a modified hole 3 due to, what I believe is an excess of over-asphalt throwing. I now start at the end of the first concrete parking area. There is a line similar to the one taped at the original placement. I found I chewed up my discs less.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.