Layout Extinct

Rochester, NY 
Ellison Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

1    10/25/2013   10/26/2013
Review By: Steveo356
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course was well mowed making finding disc easy
well designed holes leave you switching disc often to make some tricky shots.
Sonnys deli right down the road is a huge plus!
Cons: That hill is huge and is where the first half of the course is played. after two rounds its understandable to be pretty winded. The course was a bit marshy is places, but i did go on a bit of a wet day. Hole 16 is crap you feel like there are few to no shots off the tee that feel good. Fairways cross eachother often makes you a wonder if you should be wearing a helmet on a day when there are multiple groups playing.
Other Thoughts: Would happily play this course again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great course!

5+    10/13/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: Schmankster
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Conveniently located minutes from the ROC
-Lack of water holes and less trees make this a great course for first timers.
-Excellent use of elevation (although the hill can get tiring quick!)
-Nice change from front to back 9. It seems like 2 different courses.
Cons: -The hill! I am in decent shape and find the hill gets old quick. Up,down,up,down...Softer players might have an issue with this.
-Due to sledding, they pull the baskets in late fall to early spring.
-#16...You guys ruined it! This used to be the second best hole on the course. Now its bunk! I understand the park got greedy and forced the redesign, but there needs to be something done for safety from the bombers coming down #7.
-Lack of benches. There's only a couple of holes with a place to sit. With all the climbing you have to do, it would be nice to sit and relax a bit more. Perhaps with the park's revenue from the newly installed photo op on the old #16, they can purchase a few more.
Other Thoughts: 1-Mostly straight ahead. Some trees in the way. I seem to always hit that one branch.
2-Uphill all the way. The basket is behind the clump of trees in the middle
3-A short par 3. One of my favorites as a leftie. Mostly open on the left. Curves to the right perfectly. Trees all over the right side.
4-Another good leftie hole. Clear on the left, trees on the right. The basket is straight ahead
5-Be careful of people teeing off at 6. Straight ahead. Wide open until you get to the basket area. Roots around the basket can cause some errant landings. On a left to right slope
6-Short par 3. Right to left slope. Watch the landings. If it rolls....
7-One of the signature holes. Looong par 3 on top of a huge hill. Blast away. Lefties, watch the trees on the left. There's a bench in the woods to the right and behind the basket.
8-As a leftie, I HATE THIS HOLE!! Dogleg to the left. Clear on the right, lots of trees and a drop off to the left.
9-Completly uphill.A few trees guard the approach to the basket.
10-Short par 3 on the side of the hill.
11-Uphill again! Short par 3. watch the scrub on the right, its gets pretty thick quick
12-Downhill short par 3. Easy to overdo it
13-More and more trees come into play after this. One of my favorites! Long hole that finishes in the woods. Clear on the left (yay!) trees on the right
14-Mostly wooded. A few very large trees are in the way. Bench
15-More trees! Pretty much straight ahead.
16-The new basket is on the ridge in front of you. The redesign totally ruined this hole!
17-Good luck here! Trees guard the launch chute. Thick trees and scrub on the left with a nasty drop off. You cant see it from the tee, but the basket is pretty much straight ahead.
18-Basket is slightly left of the tee on the side of a small hill. Great rightie hole.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ellison Park is a great place to start

1    11/10/2012   11/10/2012
Review By: sfoulkrod
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. Hills offer some nice downhill throws, There are some beautiful and fun holes.
Cons: Some of the holes, i think 8-11 are so close to each other that it can be tricky.
Other Thoughts: Its beautiful, its free, its great exercise and its a great place to get people started on the game. S

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 bit of all

1    10/15/2011   2/8/2012
Review By: GrEaTeRNaTeR
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a little bit of it all, tree's, hills, distance and rubber tee pads. Good for skilled players yet forgiving for the noobs. some of the hills are a great workout bcuz they r long and gradual. nicely cleared up and trimmed back
Cons: can quickly fill up with players on a nice day. some hills are a little steep, so for some that arnt in the greatest of shape this may come as a challenge. only a seasonal course
Other Thoughts: designate nine holes for winter players to stay open

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 IDragon

1    7/27/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: idragon
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide variety of holes, short, long, uphill, downhill, wooded. Long downhill hole really lets you let it all hang out! Nice mature park, course is beautiful!
Cons: Lots of walking up and down hills, you will get a workout.
Other Thoughts: Park is beautiful!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ellison is reliable

1    7/12/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: Spock
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 36.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery.
Good variety of hills/left right.
A couple of very nice "capstone" holes (7, 13, 17).
The new rubber tees are nice (but also see cons).
Cons: There are four holes that are closer to par 2 than they are to par 3 (5, 6, 11, and 12). Getting a 3 on these holes seems like a bogey.
The new rubber tee mats are too short for my typical run-up.
There's a lot of swampy ground around holes 1, 17, and 18.
There's a lot of doggy doo on the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a "must play" course in Rochester.
I really enjoyed the upgrades related to World's events in both 1999 and 2011.
Hole # 16 is my favorite. Slightly blind with interesting stepped elevation changes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rochester Classic

5+    5/26/2007   7/18/2011
Review By: AdirondackDGA
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 37 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open and easy on most holes. Very playable at all levels of skill. Friendly to newbies (but can be long in certain cases for newbs)
Cons: Wet. Standing water on first when last there, and a lot of it. Tees when I played were not the greatest, but I hear are better now. Some blind shots, but manageable with time and experience.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of Morley Field in San Diego and Pendleton King Park in Augusta. Two reasons. The courses layout, which gives you a really nice mixture of shots, and the courses history in the world of disc golf. Each are fixtures and should be sought out by avid disc golfers who want to say that they have played 'historic' disc golf courses.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

classic

5+    7/16/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 44  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: description. mostly open, very hilly course that runs up, down, and across the giant hill multiple times before heading into a slightly wooded area. signature hole is #7, a beautiful 528 foot downhill throw to the basket, which if you fly past will put you in the woods (had a friend do that once).

tees. brand new fly pads that look great. distance is written on tee and most holes have signs.

basket positions. it's cool to putt with the hill in play, whether uphill or downhill, and definitely affects the line/disc you choose for your drive/approach as well. for example, I prefer to throw a gator sidearm on hole number 6 so that my path is left to right at the basket and can putt uphill to go for the birdie.

variety of shots. at ellison you won't just throw your driver all the time, despite it being mostly open. some holes can be reached with a fairway, several with a midrange, or even a putter. I also like to throw sidearm on a couple of holes as well, so I feel like I get to throw a lot of different shots.

difficulty. I'd say moderate. the course makes great use of available trees and provides a challenge while giving you a lot of options in choosing your line. although a long course for beginners, it's fun and very memorable.
Cons: can be very wet at the beginning of the year due to water pooling at the bottom of the hill.

tees can get slippery with dirt on them.

can be very crowded at times.

dogs. a ton of people take their dogs to a stream close to hole 14 and occassionally you'll have one run onto the course.
Other Thoughts: first course I ever played in rochester. ellison is a classic course and fun to bring beginners, as it leaves a great impression with its scenic views, especially in the fall.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful park

1    7/31/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: Johnny Betts
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautifully manicured park course.

Clean, no trash

Good flow of course with great elevation changes

Nice mix of short and long bombs. Some nice technical lines on a few holes. Challenging pin placements makes you think on a few holes

Just a real nice course to play a casual round or two with friends
Cons: Bad tees. Once they put in concrete I will give this course 4 stars.

Poision ivy vines under the tee on hole 1 is pretty scary

Some areas of potential danger with pin placements and tees due to the openess of the course. Errant shots from players could be a problem.
Other Thoughts: I will play this course whenever I am in the area. Thanks to Will C for showing me around.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/13/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: LakeBodom397
Played: 70  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very well designed course with great utilization of a number of elements around the park.

awesome course if you like lots of elevation change! plenty of shots going up and down.

good varitety of holes, some very open, some with trees, right break, left break, up, down.

signs on every hole give you a basic idea of what you're in for.

sub shop down the street sells discs! definitely check sonny's out!
Cons: crowded! lots of people really like to play here. sometimes makes for slow play, noise, and potentially getting hit. be prepared to hear and shout "FORE!"

couple spots in the park are almost always wet. stay out of the roughs unless you want wet feet.

tees are gravel, some are really dug out and its hard to get your footing. club is working on them and they're getting better.
Other Thoughts: this course its always a joy to play! watching your discs fly on the downhill shots is a thing of beauty! better tee areas and i would rate this course a little higher.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.