Layout Extinct

Rochester, NY 
Ellison Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17 (Taken 7/2011)
4 / 590ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Enjoyable but needing improvements

1    7/25/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 118  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.3 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is on a hillside so plenty of up/down elevation changes
Mainly wide open with varying hole lengths (some ace runs, long bombs, etc)
Signage at most tees (I believe there were a couple missing)
Minimal disc loss possibilities
Large, well maintained park
Cons: Natural tees are extremely worn - basically dirt/mud ditches in ground - and are in desperate need of improvement
Some holes are too close together with high potential of discs straying onto fairways, putting areas, etc.
No alt. tees or pin positions to add variety, challenge, diverse looks
Crowded - not only DGers but also people walking through fairways to access dog park, walking paths, etc.
Other Thoughts: Upon first arriving at Ellison Park, I was initially struck at how much it reminded me in appearance to Little Lehigh Parkway in Allentown, PA - a large, public city park, nicely maintained with wide open, rolling fairways which double as sledding hills. But after playing the first couple holes, all similarities vanished. Being located in such a large park with so much potential, I was hoping for an exciting journey traversing through a substantial portion of it. This was not the case as the first 12 holes basically go back and forth/up and down a mostly open, limited area with holes side by side and back to back with one another and playing very similarly. Don't get me wrong though, there are some nice wide open downhill bombs, aces runs and tough uphill drives here which were fun to play. It's just that these holes are too close together and have little variety.

However I really enjoyed the sequence of holes 13-18 - there were more trees, brush and undergrowth on these holes forcing more thought, consideration and shot placement. Additionally, they moved away from the core area where the first twelve holes are located. So the sense was you were actually progressing through the course rather than meandering a limited area where you can see all of the holes and the players playing on them.

Ellison Park is a pleasing play overall and if the tee pad issues are resolved and some alt. pin placements added, my rating would increase by at least a half disc. Certainly worth a play if sampling Rochester area courses.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful park

1    7/31/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: Johnny Betts
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautifully manicured park course.

Clean, no trash

Good flow of course with great elevation changes

Nice mix of short and long bombs. Some nice technical lines on a few holes. Challenging pin placements makes you think on a few holes

Just a real nice course to play a casual round or two with friends
Cons: Bad tees. Once they put in concrete I will give this course 4 stars.

Poision ivy vines under the tee on hole 1 is pretty scary

Some areas of potential danger with pin placements and tees due to the openess of the course. Errant shots from players could be a problem.
Other Thoughts: I will play this course whenever I am in the area. Thanks to Will C for showing me around.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/13/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: LakeBodom397
Played: 59  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very well designed course with great utilization of a number of elements around the park.

awesome course if you like lots of elevation change! plenty of shots going up and down.

good varitety of holes, some very open, some with trees, right break, left break, up, down.

signs on every hole give you a basic idea of what you're in for.

sub shop down the street sells discs! definitely check sonny's out!
Cons: crowded! lots of people really like to play here. sometimes makes for slow play, noise, and potentially getting hit. be prepared to hear and shout "FORE!"

couple spots in the park are almost always wet. stay out of the roughs unless you want wet feet.

tees are gravel, some are really dug out and its hard to get your footing. club is working on them and they're getting better.
Other Thoughts: this course its always a joy to play! watching your discs fly on the downhill shots is a thing of beauty! better tee areas and i would rate this course a little higher.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good beginner course. Easy going.

2-4    5/27/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: jlandry117
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very easy course to navigate. Each hole is labeled along with a schematic with catcher location. I first started playing on this course and it was a great one to learn the game on. Very minimal chance of losing disc.
Cons: Too open for me. I'm beginning to prefer a more wooded/challenging course. Always packed.
Other Thoughts: If your looking for an easy going time then this is a perfect course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/14/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: srichar6
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Very few areas to lose your discs in the brush.
- No water hazards (unless you count the holes that flood from springs).
Cons: - No cement tees, so they are continuing to erode more and more.
- Drainage problems on Holes 1 and 18 (they're always wet and muddy).

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 a classic

5+    10/17/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course has some decent length and the elavation change is a big plus. There aren't any other people using this space (except for hole 18). Its open enough for new players to begin and enough challenge for advanced players to have fun.
Cons: Mach 3 baskets. The crowd in the beginning of the spring (it calms down over the summer). The teepads are craters BUT they will be replaced with concret soon and the course moves up the scale.
Other Thoughts: An old classic that gets boring eventually as players skill increases.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, but busy park

2-4    6/10/2005   12/1/2009
Review By: jonnieoh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wonderful course layout, fun elevation changes, and variety. Nice park overall.
Cons: It's in a park, and quite a busy one, at that. This means you'll have to play amongst picnickers, dog-walkers, hikers and cyclists. Watch your shots, and be accurate, lest you hit someone...
Other Thoughts: Although this course is in a busy park, it still should not be missed. It has a lot of fun holes, with unique challenges. You'll like playing here, just do it at off-peak times of day, when the park won't be as crowded.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty in Green

1    11/12/2009   11/14/2009
Review By: 1978
Played: 155  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed this course. Holes were mixed righty, lefty, tunnel, blind, open, up and down hills. The elevation on this course is well used. I emptied my bag on a few holes. Especially hole 7. It is very hard to lose a disc on this course but there are some places where trees can reach out and snag your disc. I appreciated the numerous longer ace runs where you could see the whole flight of the disk. The tee signs were pretty good and showed major obstacles and distance.
Cons: There is a major problem with tee pads here. Most of the pads are extremely eroded. They look like 1 to 2 foot deep/wide and 4 foot long ditches. I feel that the condition of a few of them could be dangerous. I would think that during a rain they would be all puddles. You could see that people were playing to the left right and front of these which will only erode them further. Something needs to be done before Worlds in 2011.
The layout of this course could have been planned a little better. There are numerous holes where you are throwing near the fairway, tee box, or green of bordering holes. While throwing on hole 7 you have the potential to hit people on 4 or 5 other holes. I got slightly confused on the location of hole 9 so maybe a few next tee signs would be good.
Other Thoughts: I created this review by comparing this course to numerous 2-5 level courses from Seattle, to San Antonio, to Charlotte and all along the North East. Framed in rubber or gravel tee pads would increase this course to a 3.5 and I think I would give it a 4 with concrete tee pads. I understand that concrete pads could be "thought" to be a challenge with sledders however, if properly set into the ground they would not be an obsicle. Just little 3" ramps off the backside which is smaller than any snow drift.

In my opinion the layout and openess of the course prevent it from being rated over a 4. This is the first course I would return to when I visit Rochester again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ruined IT

5+    7/10/2009   10/27/2009
Review By: paul1969
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Hill layout Thats all folks.....................................................................................................
Cons: Old design on back 9 was better. RUINERS. PITSSSSS!!! Sorry I wont play here anymore. Parks Dpt doesnt care. Dogs, jerks , garbage, etc....
Other Thoughts: Why did they change it.

3 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Uphill both ways

5+    9/19/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: OzzyMac
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2010
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes, excellent layout, competitive pars. Hole 7 is a REALLY long par 3 straight downhill. Best opportunity around to air out your discs.
Cons: Only one set of tees. Lots of uphill walking (about 4-5 holes play directly up hill) Some holes are missing the signs, so it can be hard to tell where to throw (its pretty straight forward though)

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.