Layout Extinct

Rochester, NY 
Ellison Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 387ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    9/9/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: tuskalosadizzle
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Wonderful use of the hillside, this old course is a classic. Nice open woodland holes, and big field holes. Great group of golfers here.
Cons: Too many lefty holes. Looks like it was designed by a righty who wanted to make the holes harder, or a lefty who wanted it easy for himself. Closed in the winter.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 I now understand the need for cement/asphalt tee pads..

5+    8/30/2009   9/1/2009
Review By: WillACarpenter
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ellison park makes wonderful use of one simple terrain element, a giant sled hill.

The front 9 play across, up, and down a large hill making even seemingly open and simple shots much more interesting.

The wonderful use of the few trees on the front 9 works really well.

The back 9 is where things start to get different. Holes 9,10, and 11 are all shot fun elevation change holes, followed by 12 which is a never ending right to left S turn (great for sidearm and lefties!) that goes DEEP into "woods".

Hole 7 is very much a Signature hole on this course with an Epic tee pad throw out 528' downhill...it's Awesome. You'll eventually just empty your bag on this hole, it's just that fun.

The back 9 has it's signature holes in hole 16 I would say. Elevated tee pad shooting towards a blind basket guarded by some bushes. Good spot to lose a disc in a tree if you don't pay attention.
Cons: People have said it before, and they're not misleading you. Ellison Park needs cement tee pads worse than any other course in the area...maybe anywhere.

These tees are well used, because it's such a fun course that's been around practically forever. Most tees are gouged into the ground a foot or more, and many have secondary tee lines working on becoming just as deep.

Because of the high use of the park by DGers and other folk alike, this park gets a lot of litter strewn about.

This course could be too open for some...but I'm not a big fan of open courses, and I love Ellison Park.
Other Thoughts: GRDGC is working on getting cement tee pads at Ellison right now, in preparation for the 2011 Am Worlds in Rochester, hopefully the few blemishes on this wonderful course can be remedied soon.

Please carry in and carry out your litter, we need to keep our sport on the up and up.

If we can keep the park clean, and get cement tee pads (and maybe the 2-4 signs we're missing) and perhaps different tee levels...

Then Ellison park could be a 4+ rated course.

I believe it can happen, let's make it so!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 one of rochester's best

5+    7/29/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are so many great things about this course. It's built to play on a large hill so there are constant elevation changes coming into play. Some holes play up (2, 9, 11) or down (3, 7, 10, 12) the hill while others play across (5, 6).

Great mix of longer and shorter holes. nice ace opportunities on 6, 10, 12. Number 7 is the signature hole here: 528' down a large hill to a basket about 20' in front of a line of trees. Empty your bag and let it rip!!! Number 16 is another signature hole, teeing off an elevated spot down to a multi-tiered area guarded by trees. Each tier is lower than the last and each is bordered with trees and brush. Great hole but lots of discs get lost here. Also, 9 is a huge uphill beast and 13 is a long one that hugs a tree line on the right and heads back into the woods.

The course is very effectively planned around the patches of trees that dot the hill. The back nine goes back into a more flat but more heavily wooded area (holes 13-17).
Cons: *Update* Fall 2011
New rubber fly pads installed for the Am Worlds this past summer. The tees here used to be horrendous but the have been filled, leveled and had fly pads laid. Makes this course much more playable and enjoyable!

Lack of trash cans on the course. There tends to be lots of trash, beer bottles, etc, especially at each tee. There is a little building up by the parking lot with bathrooms but they are frequently locked and no trash cans. They recently removed the water fountain there too. ???

The course gets closed in the winter. Baskets are removed since the hill the course is built on is also a sledding hill. (apparently the reason the city objects to concrete tees)

Tends to get crowded on the weekend too. Most people and slower groups are good about letting you play through though.

No alternate pins or tees.
Other Thoughts: Altogether a phenomenal course. So much variety and not a bad hole in the bunch. Most of the course is fairly open so it won't often force you to make certain kinds of shots but there is still plenty of variety. Aside from the tees, the course is usually in good condition with semi-regular maintenance and mowing.

There is also a shop (sonny's) up the street on landing rd. that sells discs. nice guys in there too.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful and Challengin

5+    8/6/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: Frolfer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well designed, grounds are mowed, beautiful course during the playing seasons. Disc golf supplies up the street at a deli, friendly players.
Cons: Tee pads, as it has been mentioned in every review are terrible. A tee sign is missing, buggy in late summer, dog landmines.
Other Thoughts: I love Ellison, I play there as much as 5 times a week. I averaged a +16 when first starting out playing. But because it's challenging it quickly made me a decent golfer and now average a +3 or +4. It is a workout, you go up and down the main hill a total of 8 times, so bring water.

Avoid after rain! The pads become a mess and holes 16-18 become marshy. Windy days make an already challenging course very difficult. The wind rolls down the hill at high speeds at times and can make any disc act strangely.

It is crowded some days, but it's not very slow playing as in the 3 months that I've played playing through hasn't really been an issue. However, some days (very few) are quite bad and it can be as long as a 5-10 minute wait per tee. Recommend playing after 3pm as it's usually lighter in load.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I think I need a V8

1    8/2/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: Firefinger
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice open course, easy to find and many people around playing... long holes to practice up on your drives...
Cons: over half the course is at a slant so bring your V8 with ya!! It can be awfull muddy there... tees turn to ponds when it rains...

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Popular Course

5+    5/19/2007   7/19/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of hilly terrain. Really what adds the most difficulty to this course. Really fun to throw down the huge 500' long hill on #7. Mix of really open holes and well protected holes.
Cons: OVERCROWED !! With either lots of disc golfers who do not always let you play through or with people just walking their dog oblivious to disc golf.
Lots of similar shots playing back and forth from one hole to the next.
Tee boxes are in really rough shape as they are just gravel that has been washed away over the years.
Other Thoughts: Get there early if you want to be alone and bring water in the summer can get very hot. Course not open in winter due to use of hills for sledding. I believe that they are in the process of getting the funding to get concrete tees.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 pretty sweet

5+    6/24/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: DanDwyer
Played: 40  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: so close to where i live and pretty wide open, besides a hole or its hard to lose one here
Cons: stays a little wet and WAY TO CROWDED!!! i like to play when everyone else is still sleeping
Other Thoughts: eastern rochester needs another 1 but ellison is a blast, and the dog park kicks ass

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

5+    6/17/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: Tmart
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge variation of holes involving lots of elevation shots.

They added teepads making this course much better!
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure what this guy movieguy84 is talking about, hole #4 is close to 400ft and I've never heard of anyone acing it. He must be thinking of hole #6 which gets aced like every other day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    5/26/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of open shots and there is no water on any hole so the chances for loosing a disk are very low there are some long uphill and beautiful down hill shots and four is a very ace-able hole.
Cons: When i said hill i meant hills the hills are atleast six holes that you just keep walking up and down.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Relatively open hillside course

2-4    4/24/2009   4/28/2009
Review By: Aragorn
Played: 36  Reviewed: 19
This review was updated on 1/1/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has some big elevation changes which I always find fun. Holes 13-16 have a nice shady wooded feel. Course flows well.
Cons: Tee pads are strait-up bad, simple as that. Tees are a very uneven dirt surface that will only expand as people stand off to the side. A disc fading left on #7 tee could nail someone putting on #4. Walking from #8 basket to #9 tee is a back track right into people teeing off on #8.
Other Thoughts: The side of a very large hill dominates this course. Most of the holes throw across, up or down the side of this hill. If you have problems with your disc fading too much on elevation throws you will probably wind up in another fairway.

This is a pretty average course. Not great, not bad. The big hill gives some interesting throws. #7 in particular is a very long downhill. Much of the course is open and grassy with relatively few obstacles compared to other courses. If I lived in Rochester I would certainly play here. Although, there are enough courses in the region that you could mix it up easily.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.