Layout Extinct

Rochester, NY 
Ellison Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 528ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun park course

1    8/19/2011   12/22/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a grassy park with scattered mature trees. Most of the course plays on a large hillside, and the design uses the elevation quite a bit to make tough uphill holes, fun downhill bombs, and some tricky sloped greens and landing areas. The course is pretty open, but a few holes have enough trees to make you hit some tighter lines and low ceilings. A few holes at the end have some brushy rough in play to add some punishment for errant shots.

There is a nice mix of hole lengths throughout, especially with the hills adding or taking away from the effective lengths. The few tighter holes call for some different lines to hit, and the wind makes you think a little in the more open areas of the course. The park is nicely maintained, with mowed grass and no trash or vandalism when I played.
Cons: The first two thirds of the course play very open, and get a bit repetitive. The hill shots are fun but there isn't a whole lot of variety or different types of challenges in this part of the course. These holes are also a bit crammed in and with the large numbers of newer players that seem to frequent this course it can be a bit of a safety issue with discs flying across adjacent fairways.

There are no tee signs, just distances painted on the tee pads. This makes it a little unclear where to go next after a few of the holes. A little signage at or between holes would go a long way. The baskets are a little older and don't always catch as well as newer targets. Te tees are a bit lumpy in some spots,though it sounds like they're a major upgrade over the previous situation.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun recreational course, and it seemed to be one of the most popular area courses. The distances are fairly reasonable, and less accurate throwers aren't heavily punished. More experienced players won't find too many interesting challenges, but it's a great place to play some fun elevation shots.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/5/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: gregbrowning
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Gorgeous, well-maintained course with scenic views. Great variety--you will need all of the shots in your arsenal to score well.
Cons: Navigation can be tough without a map. If you remember, the next tee location is shown on the tee sign.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if you are ever in western NY. I am hoping to make a return visit soon.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 IDragon

1    7/27/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: idragon
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide variety of holes, short, long, uphill, downhill, wooded. Long downhill hole really lets you let it all hang out! Nice mature park, course is beautiful!
Cons: Lots of walking up and down hills, you will get a workout.
Other Thoughts: Park is beautiful!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Did someone yell "FORE!"?

2-4    7/24/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The hill! This is obviously what Ellison is all about. You get big uphill and downhill holes here. There's a 500+' hole that many players will reach with a midrange and 300' holes that even REC players are throwing putters at. What disc golfer doesn't love to throw a disc from the top of a hill like this?? The first dozen holes are all about distance management. They aren't wide open, but the trees here aren't the main challenge. #13-15 bring some tighter lines and shot shaping-tree avoiding holes to the course. #16 is a cool shooting down a terrace hole. The course finishes with a good one-two punch of (#17) a 600' two placement shot hole with a tough hillside putt and (#18) a short 270' birdie hole. The baskets are old MachIII's, but still in good condition. Distances painted on the fly-pads seemed pretty accurate. Restrooms on site and ample parking spaces.
Cons:
Dangerous! On the hillside holes discs can come flying at you from all directions; some of them from tees that are pretty far away. The new rubber fly-pads are still in very good condition, however several of them are "lumpy" which makes me wonder if their installation was rushed and the ground not properly leveled first. This is a multi-use park so you will have to content with other park goers that consist of picnicers, dog walkers, and random aimless teenagers.
Other Thoughts:
If you're not used to playing courses with big elevation Ellison can eat you up. You'll be overthrowing downhill baskets by 100+' and leaving uphill upshots short by 75'. There seems to be a constant echo of "FORE!" ringing around the course as errant throws whiz by your head. The arrows painted on the trees of #13 aren't ridiculous mandos, instead they're path directions for horseback riders. Ellison isn't a technical course in the traditional sense of hitting lines through trees, it requires a different type of skill: elevation management. It has a pretty high fun factor to it.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Ellison is reliable

1    7/12/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: Spock
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 36.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery.
Good variety of hills/left right.
A couple of very nice "capstone" holes (7, 13, 17).
The new rubber tees are nice (but also see cons).
Cons: There are four holes that are closer to par 2 than they are to par 3 (5, 6, 11, and 12). Getting a 3 on these holes seems like a bogey.
The new rubber tee mats are too short for my typical run-up.
There's a lot of swampy ground around holes 1, 17, and 18.
There's a lot of doggy doo on the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a "must play" course in Rochester.
I really enjoyed the upgrades related to World's events in both 1999 and 2011.
Hole # 16 is my favorite. Slightly blind with interesting stepped elevation changes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rochester Classic

5+    5/26/2007   7/18/2011
Review By: AdirondackDGA
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 36.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open and easy on most holes. Very playable at all levels of skill. Friendly to newbies (but can be long in certain cases for newbs)
Cons: Wet. Standing water on first when last there, and a lot of it. Tees when I played were not the greatest, but I hear are better now. Some blind shots, but manageable with time and experience.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of Morley Field in San Diego and Pendleton King Park in Augusta. Two reasons. The courses layout, which gives you a really nice mixture of shots, and the courses history in the world of disc golf. Each are fixtures and should be sought out by avid disc golfers who want to say that they have played 'historic' disc golf courses.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

classic

5+    7/16/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 44  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: description. mostly open, very hilly course that runs up, down, and across the giant hill multiple times before heading into a slightly wooded area. signature hole is #7, a beautiful 528 foot downhill throw to the basket, which if you fly past will put you in the woods (had a friend do that once).

tees. brand new fly pads that look great. distance is written on tee and most holes have signs.

basket positions. it's cool to putt with the hill in play, whether uphill or downhill, and definitely affects the line/disc you choose for your drive/approach as well. for example, I prefer to throw a gator sidearm on hole number 6 so that my path is left to right at the basket and can putt uphill to go for the birdie.

variety of shots. at ellison you won't just throw your driver all the time, despite it being mostly open. some holes can be reached with a fairway, several with a midrange, or even a putter. I also like to throw sidearm on a couple of holes as well, so I feel like I get to throw a lot of different shots.

difficulty. I'd say moderate. the course makes great use of available trees and provides a challenge while giving you a lot of options in choosing your line. although a long course for beginners, it's fun and very memorable.
Cons: can be very wet at the beginning of the year due to water pooling at the bottom of the hill.

tees can get slippery with dirt on them.

can be very crowded at times.

dogs. a ton of people take their dogs to a stream close to hole 14 and occassionally you'll have one run onto the course.
Other Thoughts: first course I ever played in rochester. ellison is a classic course and fun to bring beginners, as it leaves a great impression with its scenic views, especially in the fall.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nostalgic but boring

5+    10/29/2010   10/29/2010
Review By: justinmd44
Played: 57  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: The steep hill at Elision helps to make a few interesting drives. Also a great hole with three levels.
Cons: I find this course to be incredibly boring. Almost all the shots are wide open and easy. This course has incredible importance in the history of disc golf but, that doesn't mean should flock to play it.
Other Thoughts: I don't like playing this course but you can't argue its importance.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 My local course

5+    10/16/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: Chiefstang
Played: 75  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2011
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Ellison is set on a fairly steep hill, and the course designers really made the most of it. There are some long, let it fly holes (#7), and some accuracy based holes on the back 9. Very well rounded and a lot of fun. Fresh rubber fly-pads have been installed. There are restrooms at the park.
Cons: Being the only course on the east side of town, it can get busy at times, but not too unbearable. Holes 1, 17, and 18 are perpetually soggy.
Other Thoughts: A good course that has my two favorite holes in Rochester. 7 is a huge downhill throw with highly entertaining hangtimes. Bring a few drivers to throw down this one! 16 is my other favorite. It's a blind throw down two tiers of what looks like the foundations of an old building. You can easily lay it up on the second "platform", but you will be rewarded for throwing for the tee. This course is minutes from my house, and I play it regularly. That being said, it never gets old. Quite the opposite, really. I'm kind of addicted to Ellison.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Needs Work

1    9/11/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: Tigger
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: nice open course. Locals are pretty friendly and helpfull.
Cons: tees are terrible - most are so rutted that people don't use them. The 9th tee for instance is probally 10x15 now due to people throwing from the sides and front.
Other Thoughts: We played around noon time.. we had traveled all day and need to use the bathrooms... they were LOCKED!!! This is a very popular park so you can't just "go behind a tree". We did enjoy playing tho.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.