Rochester, NY
Ellison Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 DG- one letter shy of DoG

1    6/3/2007   2/13/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park. Uses the elevation well. Hole 16 is a unique hole of a mini-cliff to a blind basket over some distinct landscaping and a wall. Hole 7 is monster downhiller, too.
Cons: Mostly open, some holes can interfere with other holes. Tee areas are very worn- we played out to the side of them.
This seemed to be the place where people come to walk their dogs. There were dogs being walked everywhere (along walking trails, not on the course, but still close). I prefer my DG courses without dozens of dogs, but that is just me.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty solid course. Worth playing if you come to Rochester.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Course

5+    8/20/2007   10/10/2008
Review By: nickstaudt
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Perfect mix of open holes, wooded holes, uphill, downhill, near and far. Easy to navigate and you get a good workout in the process. Well groomed.
Cons: I wish they would either make the tees concrete or add dirt and level them out again because some of them are uneven.
Other Thoughts: A great all around course regardless of ability level. Fun no matter how many times you play it. Very solid course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 a very good hike

1    7/20/2008   7/20/2008
Review By: bfaslewis
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2008
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was my first trip to Rochester, and i will definitely check this course out again. As it's been mentioned there is a degree of elevation change, and for me coming from Buffalo it was a welcome change as our course play mostly flat. The course has a few hyzers and annies, but the having to drive up, and back down the sledding hill is what really makes this course stand out.
Cons: I played today with timg and i'm glad i did otherwise i may have had some trouble negotiating the course. And it rained before we got there so the dirt "tee boxes" were just very large puddles. Other than that i thought was a good course, maybe a little on the short side.
Other Thoughts: multiple tee placement and concrete/asphalt tee boxes would greatly improve this course. score cards with a course map would also be nice for new comers such as myself.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Memorable

8/17/2007   6/2/2008
Review By: TenaciousMV
Played: 25  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very large variety of distances, shots required, elevation, and type of obstacle; not one hole that wasn't well thought out; elevation is used extremely well; the course demands you throw at a very high level to score well, yet doesn't unfairly punish beginners; beautiful area; some holes you will never forget (my favorites are 7, 14, 15, and 16) and several others you'll look forward to playing again
Cons: Lacks concrete tee pads; some minor trouble for newcomers to find the next hole; a few spots may cause beginners to have trouble finding their disc in high grass and weeds; can get busy; baskets are a bit old (this doesn't bother me at all, but seems to irk some)
Other Thoughts: I'm reviewing this course about 9 months after playing it and still remember it well. Most courses don't leave that type of impression on me - Rochester really has a solid course here. I moved out to Milwaukee from Rochester about 5 years ago, before I started playing disc golf. I played this course on a trip back there and I wanted to kick myself for not taking advantage of it when I could. We have some great courses of our own out in Milwaukee, but I had this one close by, it would be my go-to course for sure. I've given 2 courses out here a 4/5 but this one is just more fun. I'm glad my family is out there, because I'll be playing this course every time I visit from now on! This course is Excellent - 4.0.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Worht the trip

6/7/2007   4/4/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 133  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was definitely a well thought out course. There were a varity of holes. I love the 2 long down hill tee shots on the front nine. There were a couple of holes unlike any I have seen anywhere else. One hole on the back nine has a tee pad on a small bluff that plays anhyzer down over a series of tiers with very short but wide trees on the tiers. That was probably one of the top 10 holes I can ever remember playing.
Cons: The tee pads are horrendous. Once that is taken care of this will be an elite level course as it used to be. Modifications and new amenities are not a bad thing. There are lots of dogs...and dogs love discs. There was one hole where I raced a small dog for my disc on the back nine.
Other Thoughts: This is a very hilly course. If you are in poor physical condition, it will show up on your scorecard. I consider this to be one of the top 3 Rochester-area courses.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Ellison is aclassic that has stood the test of time!

2/20/2008   2/20/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation and good long and short holes. Easy to have a bad round and then play right afterwards and have a good round. This is my favorite Rochester area course to play.
Cons: As of Feb 2008 this course has the worst tee pads I have ever played on. Hopefully that will chnage soon.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun on the slope

10/7/2007   10/7/2007
Review By: MattK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 7.9 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Reasonably well signed course. Holes are mostly short enough to be enjoyed by beginners, but not pitch-n-putt short. Lots of fun with elevation change: some switchbacks, some ups and some downs. Not a dull hole in the bunch.
Cons: Most has already been said by others. Biggest issue is the course has only one set of tees and they are all mud holes. In addition some of the baskets near the middle of the course are rather close together - it's easy to play the wrong one the first time through or to throw into another fairway at times.
Other Thoughts: No course needs concrete tees more than this one. Other than that - a great place to play.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 a Rochester classic

5+    9/20/2007   9/20/2007
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2009
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great design. Perfect blend of open and wooded areas. Nice elevation changes.
Hole 7 is famous for the 500+ ft down hill shot.
Cons: signs are falling down. Tee pads are often flooded. Course can be crowded with players, dog walkers, and college stdents.
DOG POOP & POISON IVY (LOTS OF IT)
Course is not open all year.
Sometimes the grass can be pretty high on the leftside of hole 2 and other areas, but this is not too much of a concern.
Other Thoughts: 1/4 mile away is a Pizzeria (it's called sonny's now I think) during the summer they have a decent selection of discs.
This course is a nice workout, be prepared to walk up and down the hill several times.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great place to play disc golf!

9/6/2007   9/7/2007
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The layout is very good and there is a good variety of challenging holes. I like the different uses of the elevation.
Cons: The tee boxes on many holes are completely wore out. some are dug down two feet or more. I was told that new concrete will be coming soon. Some of the tee signs are knocked over or missing.
Other Thoughts: Concrete tees will make this course be awsome, or even just some fill to level the natural tees. Loved hole 7, 528 feet all down hill. my first drive went 30 feet past the basket.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Big elevation changes and nice grass.

8/2/2002   8/2/2007
Review By: Olorin
Played: 294  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 34.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/6/2008
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Big elevation changes; in the winter this is a sledding park. Nice grass too.
Cons: In 2002 most tees were gravel and dirt and many were quite uneven. Some tees could be improved. Some tee signs were missing. There were some drainage problems after rains.
Other Thoughts: Favorite Holes: #13. 600 ft., so it's a long hole, downhill with a dogleg to the right through trees at the end. #7. 528 ft down a steep open grassy hill. This was the hole that Sam Ferrans parked with a putter when he won the '84 Worlds.
The front 9 is mostly grass holes.
Fairways: 12 Straight/ 2 Lt/ 4 Right.
The site of the 1984 and 1999 PDGA World Championships.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.