Quakertown, PA 
Nockamixon State Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #12 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 64
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Sticks and Stones....and Rocks!

2-4    9/4/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Fishfood
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.5 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I've enjoyed my rounds at Nock. My initial impression was it was crudely designed and built when I first played it several years ago. Time went by and took another crack at her. What a gem! As I played hole after hole, I was reminded of the beauty within....great mixture of terrain that challenges many aspects of your game. Some holes have multiple pin placements...check the info board for that intel. The amount of rocky terrain brings a new obstacle to the game...no extra distance on the skip and if it hits the ground hard..look for the ricochet. Not going to go into specific holes...but I loved the back nine, especially 14, 16 and 18. Just alot of fun.
Cons: The rocky sections...be careful where you step..had a few mis-steps and some difficult lies to get a halfway decent footing for a shot.
Signs were o.k., not very informational for the first round...after that, not really necessary.
Other Thoughts: Tyler is my home course, so I'm used to what a good disc golf course should play like. Nockamixon really shines as an all around excellent 18 holes of challenging fun! Put this one on your must do list...and do it!

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Slippery when wet.

2-4    12/7/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/10/2012
34 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Championship level course. Nearly as scenic as Jorelemon and as tough as Iron Hill.
Course is difficult but fair. Mostly generous fairways that punish you if you veer off, but still provide a small hope of recovery.
Course is rocky and heavily wooded with a good amount of elevation, and several risk vs. reward opportunities with risky basket positions.
Holes 6-8 are memorable holes with a view of the lake:
Hole 6 is on a very steep slope making your putt very risky. Hole 7 is an elevated tee where you can get some serious hang time on the disc, just be careful not to turn over your driver. 8 is a steep uphill shot to a hanging basket. Several scenic holes in the back 9 picture fairways covered in glacial rocks and walls of trees on each side. I won't go hole by hole since there are already 48 other reviews.
Nice Rubber Tee pads and hand made signage.
A few holes had multiple baskets. If that 600 foot hole is not difficult enough you can make it 800+.
Superb maintenance.
Bathrooms on site (when unlocked)
This was one of the few courses where I used every single disc in my bag.
Cons: The only option is to play a gold level layout with a majority of blind holes.
Holes feature some decent distance, but you need to learn to throw from a stand still because good footing is very rare. The rocky terrain and slippery mud makes getting a run up nearly impossible.
Definitely a chance of disc loss, especially if you attempt this course solo.
Sign missing on hole 11. (possible victim of the Hurricane)
Even with signage you may find yourself wondering where baskets are on occasion.
Other Thoughts: This course is a long course. Don't plan on an hour and a half round this one will take some serious time.
The terrain is tough, this is not a course for children or strollers. If you want to play with your children try Sellersville.
Hurricane Sandy has caused some damage and taken down some trees, but the clean up effort is clearly already underway and is quickly being cleaned up.
It is very clear there is a lot of local support for this course, it was very well maintained.

34 of 43 people found this review helpful.

 Beast of the East

1    7/27/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Tough! With an average length of over 500', many elevation changes, some extreme, and wooded-fairways frequently strewn with rough rocks, the holes on this par-67 course provide a real litmus test for up-n-coming players to measure themselves against.
Cons:
Not for the faint of heart - inappropriate for beginners, too much too soon for non-masochistic intermediates. Wear stout shoes!

Single tee/basket position. Frequent chances for disc loss.
Other Thoughts:
Why did I like this course so much, despite feeling as if I had just gone 18-rounds with a heavyweight boxer, who enjoyed toying with me?

- There are no "unfair" shots required from the tee - if you can throw straight, and/or have good command of when/how much your disc turns/fades, you will be in a reasonable spot after your first throw - however, reasonable might not be good enough.

- There are no "unfair" fairways - yes, there are plenty of trees and branches to avoid, but nothing ridiculously tight, nor bizarre shapes to throw.

- There are no "unfair" basket positions. There are certainly challenging ones, such as open-but-steeply-sloped #6, #14 down-slope and near the creek, and #16, under a rise and surrounded by shallow water, but no jail cells or such.

To score well on this course, you are continually challenged to be accurate on each and every shot - lose focus, you're likely adding a stroke, if not two. For the longer holes, if you hit the "sweet spot" with your drives, the next shot, while still challenging, will provide you a good opportunity to reach the basket on your approach. However, miss the optimal spot, and you'll often have a much more awkward second shot, and will be scrambling to save par. For the six par-3 holes, major elevation changes and/or wooded-tightness must be overcome to have a birdy opportunity.

If anywhere in the area, and looking for a serious challenge, consider playing this course. Be forewarned, however, that it is quite tough, especially the longer, less open, rougher back nine.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Totally Radical

1    5/20/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: TheBirdGuy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place is extremely cool. I had no idea what I was getting myself into.
- I showed up and at hole 1 there were restrooms and a bulletin board with a map of the course on it.
-The course is absurdly wooded (in a good way) and there are also plenty of rocks/boulders being swallowed by the ground.

I am so overwhelmed with joy about this place, I am finding it hard to write anything that makes sense.

-There are a few open holes with BEAUTIFUL backdrops... #6!!!! It's absurd. The hole overlooks a massive lake with a dock of sail boats, motor boats, jet skis, you name it. It is so pretty. You'll find yourself taking 1 hour to play that hole because of how pretty it is.
- There is some awesome elevation change with all sorts of terrain, from fields of grass, trees to maneuver through, rocks-grass and trees, you name it, they have it covered.
-Hole 8 was awesome because the pin is being hung from a tree, which is so unique and cool.
-The course starts and finishes right next to each other (by the parking lot).
- There is pond which the course circles throughout the day. You start to the left of it and eventually end up playing back on the right side of it.
-This course covers a BUNCH of land. You will walk so much. At hole 12-15 you will be walking up and down, so be prepared to work those legs. 12-13 is like climbing a cliff. It's awesome because it is such an extreme elevation change from hole 12-15.
-They have rubber tee pads with signs which tell you what # hole you are at.
-Overall Pro: This course has it all and will not disappoint you.
Cons: There is no signage for the holes. You need to take a picture of the map, or print it out and carry it with you. The numbered metal signs have the Par and Length scratched in by hand, so look for that.

They need to make some signage which also tells you where the next hole is. With some directional sense, you can figure it out quite easily, but at some parts of the course it gets a bit confusing without help of a map.
Other Thoughts: -This course is by far the most difficult course I have ever played and the people we talk to along the way agree. Definitely not a beginner friendly course. You will need to be accurate because some holes (like 17) have a bunch of trees and more importantly boulder-like rocks which won't be shy about eating your discs.

-You might say that it isn't well maintained in the wooded parts of the course, but that is something that is quite charming to me. It gives it this natural feel which makes it that much better to play.

This course is definitely a favorite of mine, and I plan on coming here plenty more. Very memorable, difficult and fun.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Tough wooded challenge

1    8/23/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2011
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through thick woods with some rolling elevation changes. The hills aren't huge, but they are used well to add some challenge and variety. The woods are thick enough to provide pretty tough punishment for errant shots, but the rough isn't so nasty that it's going to eat discs on every shot. The tees are nice level rubber pads, and the baskets are in fine shape. The course has good flow with no major navigation issues and two 9 hole loops back to the parking lot.

The layout is long and tough, definitely not for the faint at heart. I really enjoyed throwing multiple drives on many holes, I love having to think about landing zones to set up a second shot especially on a course that brings rocks into play to mess with your footing on many fairways. There is a great mix of shot shapes both off the tee and further down the fairway, making you throw every disc and every shot you've got. The fairways have enough room to work your lines, but are tight enough that you've really got to throw accurately to stay out of trouble. The big hole distances make you want to go for big distance but you'll pay for biting off more than you can chew.
Cons: My biggest issue here was with the complete lack of descriptive signage. There are large numbered signs, and many of them have distances sharpied on, but with long blind holes it's a lot of walking to figure out where to throw. The course holds a lot of water after a rain, and can get pretty gross and muddy in some spots. With how rocky the fairways are, I can't imagine trying to keep them mowed. That said, some were pretty overgrown in spots which can get a little frustrating.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will hate this course. It's long and tight with plenty of rough to punish inaccurate drives. Experienced players will be truly tested here, you need distance and accuracy on all kinds of lines to score well. If you don't like tight wooded shots, you're not going to have a great time here, it could get old if that's not your kind of fun.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Tough

1    10/27/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2011
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very tough review for me because my game is not ready for this course. I have been playing for about 2 years and this course made me feel like a beginner. I do not want to give it a bad review because my game isn't great. It is a challenging course and will make you realize your true control abilities. The course is awesome but I did not have a good time. I do appreciate the course for what it is, and when/if I get alot better I will be back.
Other Pros:
-orange flags on the baskets
-amazing setting in a woods will lots of boulder deposits
-nice sized fairways but the long distances make them seem narrower
-many holes worthy of signature holes elsewhere
-clever/unique pin placements
-clean and safe
-the first nine loop back in case you can only fit in 9 holes or need the restroom located there
Cons: I think my biggest complaint is the tee markers do not show the pin position. I am not against blind holes but because of the length of some holes it gets hard to figure out. (The tee markers do have hand written distances on them.) The navigation to the next tee is easy enough but bring a map for those pin positions.
The rocky terrain makes a stepping approach very tough once you're off the tee. This definetly exposed my weaknesses to me. It can also chew up the inexpensive plastics. Watch your step.
Other Thoughts: To the locals who have worked on the course: Your hard work was noticed! The rock formations, cleared out fairways, clean woods, walkways, and everything else was great!
My favorite holes was #16 because of the elevation changes, awesome pin placement, water/boulder hazards, and under 400ft throw!

18 holes will give you quite a workout, make sure to come prepared!

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Nockamixon

1    5/10/2009   3/8/2010
Review By: ClovvnDust
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2010
0 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: This course offers a large coverage area. It makes for great views. Presents as challenging and technical.
Cons: A lot of rocky areas, especially in the middle of the fairway. Increased potential to lose discs.

0 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 The Good the Bad and the Ugly

5+    6/8/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: Grip N Rip
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New first 4 holes are great to kick off the day. The new holes have few trees on the fairway, except for #3. This course is pro caliber course when it comes to the pars on these tough holes. Great use of terrain with hills, trees and water. Outstanding view of the lake on some holes. There is a bathroom with a water fountain. Every hole on this course has it's own different play and feel. Never does it feel as if your playing the same hole twice.
Cons: Boots or old sneakers is the way to go. This course has rock gardens with rocks ranging from pumpkin size to boulders. Off of fairway is a jungle so track your disc like a hawk. Honestly this park is a disc thief so don't take your eye of your throw. On Hole #7 and #9 the grass towards the pin is not cut and very long. At Hole #10 there are carpenter bees all about the bathrooms but they aren't a problem. Hole #17 has a little pond to the left of the fairway about 250 ft down. Also, on the same hole a big pond is right behind the pin so tone the shot down. The course par is not forgiving one bit, every throw must count. If you don't bring your A-game don't even think about bringing a scorecard.
Other Thoughts: New Hole #1 is located at the bottom of the lot near old hole 6 (now 10) Hole #3 has a mean dogleg to the right about 100-120 ft out. Hole #8 has the pin hanging from a tree. (i rolled a disc because I was behind a V tree and it hit the roots and popped in for birdie...yeah I'm bragging) Great course just stay on fairway with safe shots and you will have a fine day.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Rockamixon Baby!

2-4    2/28/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: Noel757
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.3 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The layout & length of this course is truely a pro caliber course (tho only 14 holes) Long requiring accurate drives. Mostly wooded but even open holes have plenty of trees. Once close range there is enough space to work. Lots of tough elevation changes. Tons of beautiful streams & photogenic background holes. Extremely photoworthy in SUMMERTIME. In my opinion one of the most challenging/ my favorites in PA.
Cons: Tee pads & pin positions can be hard to navigate if you've never been there or don't have a course map. Needs just a few more bridges at some points too(Unless you mind crossing on jagged rocks, I dont!). Also if your a newer/recreational player may cause you never to want to play again. lol. Can also be muddy in the wrong season. Lastly this course will truly beat up your discs. Tons of rocks in & on the ground will punish even the best shots. (good for working in newer discs for sure!!
Other Thoughts: This course is an awesome top performer course, but I can't believe they need help maintaining this course (I found out talking to some locals). I don't live in the region, but I encourage all locals!! make this your home course and help maintain this beauty before it gets lost forever. Definatley worth your time!!

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging yet absolutely beautiful

1    12/29/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nockamixon has to be one of the most challenging courses in PA. Although an unorthodox 14 holes at this time, this course handles you like few 18 hole courses can. Nockamixon offers a wooded, boulder laden, hilly and extremely challenging 14 holes of disc golf.
Holes 1-5 are relatively open with an assortment of elevation. Hole 1 is a mildly wooded long hole. Hole 2 has one of the fastest greens ever, if you miss the basket you are guaranteed a long roll down the hill so playing it safe generally is the best idea. Hole 3 is a long downhill shot and hole 4 is a long uphill drive to the signature hanging basket. Holes 6-14 play through dense woods interspersed with multiple creeks and lots of elevation change. Hole six is an incredibly long hole with multiple doglegs. Holes 7 and 8 have lots of water in play. The pin placement on hole 7 is magnificent. Two creeks cascade down either side of the basket to create a serene beautiful placement. Hole 8 is a steep uphill drive over a creek. Hole 9 is a long straight drive with the pin placed on a cliff overlooking the creek below. Hole 10 is a tight fairway skirting a creek. Holes 11 and 12 feature long drives through densely wooded fairways. The pin placement on hole 12 is surrounded by water and looks very pretty. Hole 13 is another long tight fairway with the pin placed next to water. Hole 14 finishes off with a tight dogleg to a pin placed near the restrooms adjacent to the parking lot.
Nockamixon is only 14 holes but the length of the holes, extreme elevation changes and rocky terrain make this course play like 18. This course is extremely challenging and will humble many a player. This course also has no filler holes, every hole is unique and challenging.
There are signs at each tee and signs directing you to the next hole. The tee pads are rubber and are generally in decent shape.
The baskets each have a large orange flag which makes it easier to spot from the tee. Due to the sheer length and elevation changes of many of the holes this was a big plus.
This course is absolutely picturesque, the terrain is beautiful and on the back nine it was so quiet and the stream waterfalls were very peaceful. The views over the Mariana are amazing as well.
Cons: This course is wet. I am assuming that the many creeks running through the course don't help much. Bring good footgear and old pants.
The course is pretty spread out and if you miss the little signs directing you to the next hole it could easy to get lost (especially on the back 9). I didn't have much trouble, just be sure to follow the signs.
This course is a bear, so be forewarned it will tax your endurance and patience both physically and mentally.
Other Thoughts: The course is close to several other great courses in the area including Unami, Tinicum and the Bethlehem area courses even Tyler State Park isn't too far away.
There are restrooms located at the far end of the parking lot near hole 6 although they are closed for the winter months.
It would be nice if it was a full 18 holes but its not necessary.
This course is tough, but still well worth playing! A must play for anyone in the area.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.